MEDICINE, SURGERY, DENTISTRY, DISEASES, ETC.
PHYSICIANS and surgeons are needed wherever human beings sojourn, and accordingly the settlement of this county was no sooner begun than doctors appeared. The first at Appleton was Dr. S. E. Beach, who arrived in 1849. For several months he was the only one, and then came Doctors Maake, Murray, Merriman, Williamson, Mosher, Mayer and others. Byron Douglas was the first dentist. Dr. N. J. Howard was the second “surgeon dentist”; also a physician in 1853. As early as January, 1850, the Brown County Medical Society was in existence. Beach and Mosher were the leading physicians and almost the only ones at Appleton on 1853. This year the Wisconsin Medical Society was organized at Janesville.
“Cholera Among the Oneidas. — We have heard of eight deaths out of over fifty cases of disease resembling cholera.. Among the dead is M. Brade, eldest son of Chief Brade.” — (Crescent, August, 1854.)
Cholera appeared in this county in July, 1854. By August 5 there were seventeen deaths from that disease at Little Chute. Nearly all afflicted were persons of foreign birth and fearly all newcomers. A panic spread to the workmen on the river improvement and to the residents of the village, and many fled to escape the danger.
Notwithstanding the intense heat and the prevailing sickness in neighboring towns, not a single case of cholera or severe attack of any other disease appeared at Appleton during the summer of 1854. There was not a single death in Grand Chute township for several months during the summer. Fever and ague were the only annoyances. Thus Appleton was declared to be one of the healthiest cities in the west.
The attention of the people of Appleton was called to the card of Dr. Mayer, a homeopath, who had lately located in Appleton for the practice of his profession. He was a German, a graduate of Leipsic University, and had lately arrived from the old country; he announced himself a practitioner of medicine, surgery and obstetrics.
In 1857 the leading physicians at Appleton were S. E. Beach, H. R. Merriman; physicians and surgeons, M. Mayer, a homeopathic physican from Germany, and I. A. Torrey; the latter had his principal office at Neenah.
In 1858 Dr. L. M. Tracy was president of the Homeopathic Association of Wisconsin; T. J. Patchin was corresponding secretary. W. M. Williamson, M. D., was the homeopathic physician in Appleton at this date. Dr. Byron Douglas was a prominent practitioner at Appleton in 1858. He practiced dentistry as well as medicine and surgery. His office was over Theodore Conkey‘s store. He announced that particular attention would be paid to the insertion of pivot or gold plate. Dr. H. R. Merriman, physician and surgeon, had an office one door west of the Crescent Hotel.
Late in 1858 the leading doctors at Appleton were H. R. Merriman, W. M. Williamson and Byron Douglas; the latter was the principal dentist.
W. M. Williamson, M. D., a homeopathic physician, practiced in this city in 1859 and 1860. He pronounced Appleton too healthy to make a residence here profitable and accordingly removed to Florida.
Among the physicians at Appleton, April, 1862, were Thompson & Fuller, Dr. Earle Ostrander, J. Sutherland, G. R.. Shaw and others.
In July, 1863, diphtheria raged fatally in the town of Ellington. Many children and even adults died in spite of physicians and good care.
It was noted in May, 1864, that there never was so much sickness in the river valley as at this time. The mortality among children was enormous. Diphtheria and various lung complaints were the diseases. The cause was not known unless it was due to the unexampled severity of the previous winter or the drouth of the summer.
In May, 1864, several cases of smallpox appeared in the eastern part of Appleton, and the authorities immediately took steps to prevent its spread. The cases upon examination proved to be of a mild type, and the physicians became involved in a newspaper controversy over whether it was smallpox or chickenpox.
It having been disputed whether the sickness in Appleton was smallpox or not, Dr. M. F. Page was asked to make an examination and a report. He described fully the symptoms of measles, chickenpox, smallpox, scarletina, etc., in an official bulletin which was printed and circulated. This doctor criticized severely the physician who had pronounced several cases smallpox, and declared that one physician diagnosed a case at a distance and pronounced it smallpox when it was nothing but prairie itch.
Dr. J. Sutherland of Appleton in June, 1864, wrote an article entitled “Quackery” in the newspapers, in which he explained the difference between a duly licensed physician and a quack. He insinuated that several of the latter were endeavoring to gain a foothold in this county. He said: “Let a man say that he came from some large city, let him rent a house in a respectable street, put on the door in large gold letters ‘Physician and Surgeon,’ furnish himself with a case of medicine bottles, buy a horse and buckboard, dress himself invariably in black, drive like Jehu up and down the streets telling everybody who will listen that he has an immense number of patients; let him tell of extraordinary cures he has made, making of the slightest colds and sore throats cases of typhoid and diphtheria; let him do all this and you may set it down that he knows nothing or less than nothing about the properties of medicine or the character of disease.”
In July, 1864, Dr. M. Page again came out with a circular concerning facts and figures to enable people to distinguish between chickenpox, smallpox and other diseases. As a matter of fact there was a decided difference of opinion between the physicians themselves at Appleton concerning the nature of smallpox. Several declared that a person broken out with the disease could pass through the streets and come in contact with people without any danger of spreading the affection. Others denounced this statement in strong terms.
In October, 1864, Dr. H. R. Merriman, long a physician of Appleton and an esteemed citizen, died at Baton Rouge, Louisiana. He was assistant surgeon of the Fourteenth New York Cavalry and became very expert. He was attacked with consumptive chills.
In the fall of 1865 Dr. M. J. E. Hulburt located in Appleton for the practice of medicine and surgery. He advertised particularly to treat chronic affections and diseases of women and children. He issued a separate card for surgery, stating that he possessed a full outfit of instruments, and gave excellent references to prominent people and hospitals where he had previously practiced. He was a member of the Eclectic School of Medicine. Doctors Fuller and Reeve were physicians and surgeons with a large practice; the same of Sutherland and Graham.
By March, 1866, the physicians of Outagamie county had not yet organized a society, but several of them already were members of the Winnebago County Medical Society and attended its meetings regularly.
In March, 1866, Dr. Hulburt of Appleton removed a malignant tumor from a lady living in the town of Grand Chute. The operation, though of a delicate nature, was successfully performed.
In June, 1866, Dr. Hulburt removed a tumor from a young lady of Monroe county, the operation being entirely successful. It was an arterial growth and therefore the operation was very delicate.
The newspapers in 1866 declared that Appleton was one of the most healthful locations in the state. Only one adult person died here during the summer of 1866. There were no severe winds to produce lung troubles, chills or consumption; nor stagnant swamps or morasses to create dysentery or malarial fevers. It was demanded by the newspapers that it was time to institute a record of mortality in Appleton and to have monthly reports thereafter.
Dr. S. G. Fuller was re-appointed city physician and health officer by the Appleton council for the year 1866-7. It was stated he richly deserved the continuance owing to the improved health conditions which he had been the means of instituting.
In March, 1867, Dr. Boardman, a practitioner of Homeopathy, located in Appleton and offered his professional services to the city and county.
In February, 1868, Dr. M. J. E. Hulburt left Appleton permanently and located in Aurora, Illinois. He had built up an excellent practice while here and was still doing well; but for reasons unknown departed.
In the spring of 1868 Dr. E. M. Stansbury was city physician. He was paid a regular salary for his services. Dr. M. F. Page presented a proposition for the position of city physician at $125 per year, the council having previously agreed to pay Dr. Stansbury $150. Additional action was taken by the council and the pay of city physician was fixed at $200 per year. His duties were declared to be those of city physician, health officer and surgeon. The council balloted on who should be this official. On the final vote Dr. Stansbury received 1, Dr. Graham 1, and Dr. Reeve 4. The latter was declared duly elected to that office.
In 1868 Dr. Brunschly located in Appleton for the practice of medicine. He had served as surgeon in the Twelfth Michigan Infantry and had practiced medicine in the Lake Superior region for many years. He came highly recommended. Other doctors here at that time were Page, Sutherland, Reeve, Graham and Stansbury.
The Homeopathic Medical Society of Wisconsin was incorporated in 1868 by Henry Pease, T. J. Patchin, J. S. Douglas, L. E. Ober, M. F. Page, H. L. Bradley, P. Moore, A. B. Nichols, H. B. Dale and H. L. Hart. Pease became president; J. S. Douglas vice-president; H. B. Dale secretary, and T. J. Patchin treasurer.
In the spring of 1869 there were a few cases of smallpox in Hortonia, but the physicians soon managed to check it and in the end prevent its spreading.
George Parker, a dentist, came to Appleton from Oshkosh in 1869, opened an office and advertised assistance for those needing his services.
In the spring of 1870 Dr. E. Stansbury was elected city physician and his salary was fixed at $200 per year.
“Appleton has a corner on medicine. On the northwest corner of Lawrence and Allen streets Dr. Stansbury will doubtless soon take up his residence; on the eastern opposite corner Dr. Page will soon be found. Directly north across the street is Dr. J. T. Reeve. West of Dr. Reeve, across Oneida street, is Dr. Graham, also T. J. Ward’s drug store.”-(Crescent, July 26, 1873.)
Emory Stansbury was city physician in 1870. The famous Chicago surgeon, John B. Murphy, was formerly an Appleton boy; he came here occasionally to attend the local medical and surgical sessions.
The Northwestern Surgical Institute was established at Appleton in 1875 by Dr. Heineman and others. It was intended for the treatment of chronic and complicated diseases.
Doctor Mueller was city physician in 1875; his salary was $200 per year. Dr. Graham suicided in 1876; be had formed bad habits, could not quit them, and hence ended all in death. Dr. W. H. Chilson of Appleton was president of the State Dental Society in 1878.
The physicans of the county met at the office of Dr. J. T. Reeve, May 12, 1877, for the purpose of organizing a medical society. Dr. Reeve was called to the chair and Dr. Hardacker appointed secretary. After an interchange of views on the subjects it was resolved to organize such a society, to be known as the Outagamie County Medical Society, whereupon a permanent organization was effected, and the following officers were elected: Emory Stansbury, president; J. T. Reeve, vice-president; H. J. Hardacker (of Hortonville), secretary; A. H. Levings, corresponding secretary; Dr. Heiddesson treasurer, and Reilly, Levings and Ford censors. The latter then were chosen to draft a constitution and by-laws to be presented for adoption at the next meeting to be held at Appleton, May 22. At this time Dr. J. T. Reeve was secretary and treasurer of the State Medical Society.
Dr. M. C. Enright permanently located here in 1880; he made a specialty of acute and chronic diseases. Dr. Ed M. Kanouse also located here about the same date.
Dr. A. H. Levings and Dr. J. R. Reilly performed excellent surgical operations about this time; they removed a tumor from a lady on one occasion, the operation being both delicate and dangerous. In 1882 the Northwestern Surgical Institute was established at Drew and Edwards streets by Dr. Miller, who became manager. He really began in 1875, and made a specialty of chronic diseases. Dr. Smith became associated with him.
A temporary organization for the Appleton City Hospital, later Prescott Hospital, was effected in May, 1884, by the election of the following officers: A. H. Levings, president; J. M Reilly, vice-president; T. T. Beveridge, secretary; Levings, Reilly, Beveridge, Mrs. Edward West and Mrs. James McGillan, directors: Mrs. G. H. Richmond, Mrs. Edward West, Mrs. C. Dunkersley, Mrs. G. T. Moeskes and Miss Angie Smith, financial committee; Mrs. McGillan, Mrs. H. Richmond, Mrs.West, Miss Angie Smith and Mrs. Moeskes, visiting and supply committee. The association secured rooms over Leonhardt’s store. Mrs. Maynard, who had extensive experience as a nurse, was engaged to take charge of the hospital.
Smallpox appeared in Black Creek in 1884. Dr. Reeve, who was secretary of the state board of health, was called on the cases; seven families were quarantined. Previous to August 28, seven persons were afflicted, of whom four died. A German family just from the old country brought it there. The greatest obstacle to stamping it out was its concealment by those having it. All meetings there were forbidden and the afflicted were isolated. Dr. Ostrander there attended the cases.
The officers of Prescott Hospital in 1885 were as follows: A. H. Levings, president; J. R. Reilly, vice-president; T. T. Beveride, secretary; Mrs. Edward West, treasurer. The highest number under treatment at any one time was 8; average stay, 34 days; anaesthetics were administered 29 times; 21 operations were performed upon 18 patients; 16 were cured, one improved and one died; the receipts since the organization were $1,312.25, and expenses $1,308.21; assets, $118.04; liabilities, $247.20. This report was up to September 14, 1885.
The Fox River Medical Society was organized at Green Bay in September, 1886, and the following first officers were elected: Dr. Russell, president; Dr. Allen, first vice-president; Dr. Crane, second vice-president; Dr: Beveridge, secretary and treasurer; and Doctors Allen, Lewis, Levings, Steel and Brett, censors. Doctors Stansbury, Brett and Crane were appointed committee on constitution and bylaws.
Dr. Douglas of Appleton was treasurer of the State Dental Society in 1886-7. The Fox River Medical Society met in Appleton in October, 1887. Dr. A. H. Levings contributed a paper on “Strumous Inflammation of the Joints.” H. D. Hardaker, physician and surgeon, was located at Hortonville in 1887 and before. Silas N. Buck, dentist, was at Appleton. Dr. G. L. Loope was located at Black Creek.
In May, the State Medical Society in a body visited the Northern Hospital and were cordially received and shown around by Dr. Wigginton, the physician in charge. Dr. Beveridge reported a case of smallpox on Spencer road, near the poorhouse. The patient was a girl who worked in the paper mills. Precautions were taken to prevent its spread.
The regular meeting of the Fox River Valley Medical Society in 1887 was held at Neenah. Dr. Levings read a paper on “Inflammation of the Joints.” The following were the physicians and surgeons in Appleton in 1887-8: T. T. Beveridge, H. E. Ellsworth, William Hambroer, A. W. Kanouse, A. H. Levings, Charles A. Mahveke, J. T. Reeve, John R. Reilly, E. Stansbury, C. W. Stoelting, Ferdinand Wilke, Rush Winslow. J.P. Mertes was dentist in 1887.
Doctors Tanner of Kaukauna and Beveridge of Appleton attended the meeting of the Fox River Valley Medical Society at Green Bay in January, 1888. Beveridge was secretary, and Reeve and Tanner were censors.
In 1889 there were several hundred cases of diphtheria in this county and all the doctors were very busy. In February, 1890, Dr. J. T. Reeve was re-elected secretary of the state board of health. The State Dental Society met here this year. At Prescott Hospital this year Doctors Reilly, Levings, Beveridge and Conkey removed successfully an ovarian tumor weighing thirty pounds from a lady residing in Waupaca county. Scarlet fever and diphtheria were again epidemic in 1892-3. Prescott Hospital reported for the fiscal year 1892-3, receipts, $1,889.24; disbursements, $1,625.87. One year before it was in debt $400. The greatest number of patients at one time was nine. Dr. Comerford performed many difficult surgical operations about this time. In 1894 scarlet fever and diphtheria raged in different parts of the county and several cases of smallpox appeared at Hortonville.
In 1893-4 the board of health gave orders to have all children attending the public schools vaccinated. Smallpox was threatened, and this step was ordered by the state board.
Diphtheria was so prevalent in 1894-5 that several of the schools at Appleton were closed temporarily by the board of health. Several cases of smallpox appeared in January, and vaccinations parties appeared but were not popular. Dr. Ellsworth was health officer at this date; he instituted many reforms looking to better health. Dr. J. R. Reilly died in May, 1897; he came here in 1877, and was prominent in his profession.
A new law in 1897 required the county clerk to keep a record of the names of all physicians practicing in the county; this requirement was pursuant to an order of the state board of medical examiners.
At the meeting of the Fox River Valley Medical Society at Kaukauna in April, 1894, a fee bill was adopted and a paper on pneumonia was read by Dr. Comerford.
Dr. Herbert B. Tanner was a graduate of the Medical College of Indiana in 1878; he located at Kaukauna in 1880 and became prominent in his profession and otherwise.
In February, 1899, smallpox again made its appearance in Appleton. It was here six years before. Health Officer H. E. Ellsworth took charge of the cases.
Dr. Emory Stansbury died early in April, 1899; in his long illness Doctors Reeve and Ritchie were his physicians. He came to Appleton in 1868, was a graduate of Long Island Medical College and was a Mason and a Methodist.
Both smallpox and chickenpox prevailed here in January, 1901. It was at this date that Dr. M. J. Rodermund declared that smallpox was not contagious, smeared himself with the virus and passed through the crowded streets here, at Milwaukee, probably at Chicago and many other places, according to the alarming and frantic reports. At this time there were seven smallpox cases in one family at Little Chute; they were attended by Doctors Beveridge, Kanouse and Boyd of Kaukauna. Several cases appeared at Appleton.
In October, 1900, there were nearly thirty cases of typhoid fever in Appleton. Considerable alarm was manifested. There were a few cases of scarlet fever and malarial fever.
Doctors Ellsworth, Winslow and Mills announced late in January, 1902, that an epidemic of smallpox was then in progress in the city; seventy-five cases had been reported within three months; no doubt there were others which were kept concealed. The question of quarantine arose. The doctors recommended re-vaccination of everybody not recently vaccinated, and what amounted to quarantine. The doctors who signed the bulletin were Rush Winslow, J. T. Reeve, Robert Leith, Henry W. Abraham, James S. Reeve, H. E. Ellsworth, V. F. Marshal, S. S. Willis, N. P. Mills, F. W. Jones, A. M. Freund, G. A. Ritchie, A. W. Kanouse, F. H. Kreiss and T. T. Beveridge.
In the spring of 1902 trouble between Dr. Harlan A. Trask, owner of an X-ray machine, and the St. Elizabeth Hospital corps of physicians arose over professional etiquette. In June smallpox existed in the town of Greenville and was spreading owing to the lack of quarantine rules. There were still cases in Appleton and other portions of the county. Dr. Harry K. Pratt succeeded Dr. J. W. Crawford, dentist, in September, 1902, at Appleton.
At a meeting held at the offices of Doctors Sanborn and Brooks in February, 1903, the Appleton medical club was organized, with J. V. Canavan president; G. A. Ritchie, vice-president; J. R. Scott, secretary and treasurer. Meetings were planned for every other month at the hotels. The charter members were: J. V. Canavan, G. A. Ritchie, J. T. Reeve, Robert Leith, H. W. Abraham, J. S.Reeve, Elizabeth Boyer, N. P. Mills, A. M. Freund, F. W. Jones, E. A. Morse, E. H. Brooks, A. W. Kanouse, M. J. Sandborn and J. R. Scott. The object was the cultivation of sociability among its members; mutual improvement in the science and art of medicine and surgery; the maintenance of a high moral and ethical tone in all professional relations, and mutual aid in avoiding bad accounts by undeserving persons.
There were several cases of smallpox in Cicero in March, 1903; Dr. James Hittner of Seymour attended them. By the middle of April Appleton was declared free of smallpox; an isolation hospital had assisted to stamp it out. Dr. Rush Winslow died in 1903; he was prominent professionally and otherwise.
In March, 1904, about thirty dentists of Fond du Lac, Oshkosh, Neenah, Menasha, Appleton, Kaukauna, Depere and Green Bay met at the Sherman House to organize the Fox River Valley Dental Society. The following were the first officers: W. H. Chilson, president; J. W. Madden, vice-president; Dr. Hartings, secretary; F. R. Houston, treasurer. Byron Douglas of Appleton was elected honorary president. Several committees were appointed and future meetings were arranged.
Early in 1905 Appleton physicians adopted a new fee bill as follows: Ordinary day visits $1.50; night visits $2; country work same and 75 cents a mile; ordinary confinement $15; complicated confinement minimum, $20; assisting midwife minimum $15; office consultation minimum 50 cents. This bill was signed by the following physicians: H. W. Abraham, Elizabeth D. Bayer, T. T. Beveridge, J. V. Canavan, E. W. Cooney, William Comerford, Jr., H. E. Ellsworth, A. M. Freund, G. M. Henbest, W. O. Kenyon, A. W. Kanouse, F. H. Kreiss, Robert Leith, N. P. Mills, E. H. Ostrander, G. A Ritchie, C. E. Ryan, J. T. Reeve, James S. Reeve, H. Schaper and M. J. Sandborn.
Dr. Henry Lummis died suddenly in April, 1905; he had resided here and practiced for nineteen years. At this time the county board abolished the office of county physician and also refused the $500 voted for the hospital. Doctor William Comerford died July, 1905; he had practiced here for eighteen years. Dr. A. M. Freund planned a private hospital at this time. Smallpox appeared at Seymour in December; schools and churches were closed to assist in preventing its spread. Dr. James T. Reeve died in November, 1906; he had practiced here since the close of the Civil War. He was very prominent in his profession; was secretary of the state board of health and a useful citizen. Dr. T. T. Beveridge died in April, 1906; he assisted in establishing St. Elizabeth hospital and was an excellent physician. Dr. C. H. Ellsworth was county physician in 1906 at a salary of $350 per year. In 1906-7 measles were prevalent at Black Creek and other portions of the county.
At the annual meeting of the Outagamie county, Medical Society in March, 1907, the following officers were elected for the ensuing year: W. N. Nolan, president; H. W. Abrahams, vice-president; M. J. Sandborn, secretary and treasurer; delegate, Dr. Shepard. It was decided to hold bi-monthly instead of quarterly meetings. About thirty-five physicians were in attendance.
Dr. F. H. Kreiss died suddenly in September. Dr. Perie Comerford died in March, 1907; he was born, reared and educated in Appleton; he practiced at Black Creek. Dr. W. 0. Kenyon died in January, 1908; he had practiced here twenty-three years.
On March 3, 1908, the annual meeting of the County Medical Society was held at the Elk’s club roooms. “The Value of the Medical Society” was the subject considered in the essay of Dr. Edward W. Quick. Dr. Byron Douglas died in March, 1908; he was the first dentist in Appleton, locating here in 1852. He was prominent in all general movements tending to benefit and advance the interests of the community and his character was above reproach.
In 1909 large numbers of tuberculosis stamps were sold in this county. Dr. J. V. Canavan was county physician this year at a salary of $350.
The annual convention of the Wisconsin State Osteopathic Association held a two days’ session here in February, 1910; the visitors were entertained in a banquet at the Sherman House. The Fox River Valley Dental Association met at Oshkosh, March 8, 1910. Almost every dentist of this city attended. Dr. W. L. Conkey had a paper on “Retrospection and Conservatism.” Drs. E. W. Douglas and Q. J. Herrick, table clinic, “Dental Curios;” Dr. W. E. O’Keefe, table clinic, “Extension of a Bridge When in the Mouth;” Dr. R. I. Cole, table clinic, “Lower Anterior Bridge Attachment.”
At the annual meeting of the county medical society held in Stephenson hall, March 1, 1910, the following officers were elected: M. J. Sandborn, president; J. V. Canavan, vice-president; F. P. Dohearty, secretary and treasurer; G. A. Ritchie, censor. Addresses were delivered by Dr. Thomas H. Hay of Stevens Point and Dr. Charles Mix of Northwestern University. About thirty physicians enjoyed the banquet at the Sherman House in the evening.
In February, 1911, Dr. H. W. Abraham was elected president of the Fox River Valley Medical Society. In June of this year the county board considered the advisability of owning and conducting a sanitarium for consumptives, but postponed to a future date definite action thereon.
An interesting session of the county medical society was held early in March, 1911. A clinic at St. Elizabeth hospital was conducted by Dr. W. E. Schroeder of Northwestern Medical College and Professor Ravenell of the medical department of Wisconsin University spoke on communicative disease. The annual banquet was held at Hotel Ritger. The following officers were elected: V. F. Marshall, president; J. J. Laird, vice-president; E. P. Dohearty, secretary- treasurer; C. G. Maes, censor.
The Appleton physicians of 1910 were as follows: H. W. Abraham, Elizabeth D. Bayer, E. H. Brooks, James V. Canavan, E. W. Cooney, Eliza M. Culbertson (Osteopathic), H. E. Ellsworth, A. M. Freund, W. J. Garbutt, G. M. Henbest, H. T. Johnson (Osteopathic), A. W. Kanouse, Marshall & Quick, N. P. Mills, Joseph P. Morneau, office Appleton Junction; Edwin A. Morse, D. J. O’Connor, Albert E. Rector, J. S. Reeve, Chas. Reineck, George A. Ritchie, Clement E. Ryan, M. J. Sandborn, H. Schaper, J. R. Scott, M. D. Wentworth.
COUNTY AFFAIRS AND MISCELLANY 1880-1911.
THE special committee on new courthouse reported in March, 1880, that such a building was needed and ought to be built, and that part of the money for that purpose should be raised at once by taxation covering several years, and the balance be raised by issuing county bonds running for a term of years and payable in installments and that a committee having the construction of such a building in charge should be appointed. It was resolved that the petition of certain persons to detach purely farm lands from Appleton and join them to the adjacent towns was just and the members of the legislature were asked to secure the passage of a law making such alterations. Safes for the offices of register of deeds and county clerk were ordered purchased.
The act of March 5, 1880, authorized the commissioners of public lands to loan a portion of the trust funds of the state, not exceeding $30,000, to Outagamie county, to enable it to construct a courthouse; and the county was authorized to borrow that sum of the commissioners and to issue certificates of the indebtedness so contracted.
The county fair of 1880 was a success, the attendance on the best day exceeding 2,000. There were about 800 entries. Prof. Joseph Gomes ascended in his balloon over 2,000 feet. This was the first ascension ever shown in the county. There was fast trotting by Oxford, Little Mac and William G.
In January, 1880, a resolution introduced in the county board to build a new courthouse at a cost not to exceed $30,000 was duly considered. An immense farmer’s convention early in 1880 considered many important subjects of great interest to agriculture. A Farmers’ Industrial Association was the outgrowth of this convention; it met regularly thereafter. Several previous county treasurers had not been fully settled with, but in 1880 their accounts were investigated and several were found behind considerable sums and were required to make up the deficiencies.
The courthouse committee in June, 1880, recommended the early construction of a courthouse to cost not to exceed $40,000. They had visited other cities and had estimates of buildings ranging from $27,000 to $40,000. They finally advised the completion of the building by September, 1882, that the price should not exceed $40,000 and that a building committee having the whole matter in charge should be appointed, and to raise the means by taxation and bonds. These results were not reached until after a long and arduous struggle in the council. The contract was given to D. Stephens for $36,750. The building was constructed in 1881-2.
At the laying of the corner stone of the courthouse late in June, 1881, there was a large crowd in attendance many being strangers. The ceremonies were conducted by the officers of the Grand Lodge of Masons. The procession formed at Appleton street and College 452 avenue and headed by the Crescent City Band marched to the courthouse site. The stone was duly laid according to the Masonic ritual. Hon. J. P. C. Cottrill, P.G.M., delivered an appropriate address. O. E. Clark addressed the audience on behalf of the county board.
The population of the county in 1880 was 28,716; in 1870 it was 18,440. At a big plowing match near Stephensville in June, 1881, the first prize was taken by Ira Scott, second, Fred Torry and third J. M. Zart. In a dispute between the county and city over the assessment of the latter, $650 was accepted by the city to settle the difference. Col. William Johnston died this year; his son, John F., was the first settler of Appleton. The county fair of 1881 was not up to standard; it rained nearly the whole time. Telephone lines were established this year. Captain Young’s cheese factory was near his trout ponds in Dale. Late in the seventies the Outagamie Cane Growers’ Association was organized and met regularly.
For the year ending September 30, 1881, the following outdoor poor relief was furnished in this county:
The county fair of 1882 was held in a beautiful grove near Hortonville and continued to be held there in subsequent years.
The people of that community deserve the greatest credit for successful fairs held thereafter, year after year, after Appleton had practically abandoned the field.
In 1881 the acreage of sorghum in Outagamie county was 65 and the syrup produced was 10,400 gallons. In 1882 140 acres were grown and 14,500 gallons of syrup were produced. Mr. Perrot reported these statistics to the government from information furnished him by W. A. Scott.
In Louis Perrot’s report to the government of his cheese making for 1882 the following information is gleaned: Factory opened May 15, and closed October 30; average number of cows, 100; pounds of milk, 304,390; pounds of cheese made 31,217; value of cheese $3,121,70. He made 550 pounds of butter from his own dairy, before his factory was opened; amount of milk to each pound of cheese, 9:75.
In November, 1882, the county board appropriated $600 to assist Maine in building a bridge on Wolf river, and appropriated $800 to assist Kaukauna and Buchanan in building bridges at Little Chute and Kaukauna.
In 1882 Appleton was the center of a large and rapidly increasing wool trade. The county fair receipts in 1882 were $1,135.17 and the expenses the same less than $23.80 on hand. This year Frank Wolcott and Fred Glied made in Grand Chute 1,950 gallons of amber cane syrup for forty-three farmers in sixteen days. The old county building, fence, safe, etc., were sold for $436.
Early in May, 1882, when the new courthouse was occupied, the county board ordered it illuminated and the public were invited in to inspect the interior of the structure. A meeting held in the courtroom was called to order by A. H. Conkey. The Germania band furnished music. Mr. Conkey then on behalf of the county board welcomed the citizens to their courthouse. He was followed with speeches from Judge Sam. Ryan, Judge G. H. Myers, Judge J. E. Harriman, William Kennedy, B. T. Rogers, G. T. Moeskes, H. D. Ryan, Hon. W. S. Warner, Hon. George Kreiss, John Goodland, Joseph Rork, A. J. Reid, Hon. T. D. Kanouse and G. Ullman. The speeches of Judge Myers and H. D. Ryan were particularly fine, appropriate and eloquent.
In May, 1882, the board received a petition to detach a portion of Maple Creek town and attach the same to Liberty. It appeared that the courthouse contractor, D. Stephens, lost $5,516.02 on the contract. This was caused by a sudden advance in the price of materials and labor. In view of all the facts he asked the county board to reimburse him for the loss. A committee was appointed to examine his figures and report on the case. The sum of $800 was voted to the town of Maine to be applied in building a bridge over Wolf river there.
In March, 1882, the county board accepted the new courthouse; it cost in round numbers $47,000.
At this time John Dey was secretary of the Farmers’ Cooperative Association of Greenville. The Grand Chute Horticultural Society was in operation with Mrs. D. Huntley, secretary. Sheriff Lennon was removed from office in 1882 on severe charges and B. T. Rogers was appointed to succeed him. In 1883 there were eighteen insane persons in this county. Swamp land irregularities were investigated in 1883.
In one month in 1883 there was shipped from Medina station 510 boxes of cheese weighing 30,210 pounds, all the product of factories in that vicinity. A Medina factory was receiving 7,000 pounds of milk a day in July, 1883.
The county fair at Hortonville in 1883 was excellent; there were over 950 entries, John Dey was president; that village deserved and received great praise for the fine success of the fair.
The county fair at Hortonville in September, 1884, was also a great success. Over 6,000 people attended on Thursday, the best day. John Dey was president; Mathew McComb treasurer, and F. W. Harriman secretary. The live stock shown were never better. Every department was unusually excellent. The total receipts were $850 and the disbursements $800. The declamation contest was won by Eda Silverfrieund.
In 1885 the county poor expense was $2,481.32; insane $1,712.44. The total receipts of the county in 1884-5 were $77,910.07; total expenses, $62,140. Certain lots in the village of Medina, town of Yale, were vacated in November, 1885, upon the petition of Oscar J. Angus and B. F. Humphrey.
The county in July, 1885, contracted with the Patent Rotary Jail Company of Chicago for the iron and steel work in the jail, the contract price being $14,500.06. The work was to be completed December 1, 1886, but was delayed until March 1, 1887. On July 22, 1886, the county contracted with Henry Paepke of Neenah to build the jail for $8,835. Later the contractor agreed to build the third story for $500. In November, 1886, the contract for the steam heating apparatus at $723 was signed. These various contracts were changed somewhat and prices were altered to correspond. Kaukauna was given $815 to be used on bridges in that town. Now Appleton, Kaukauna, Seymour and the Third ward, New London, were excluded from general county affairs.
The county fair in 1885 at Hortonville was also excellent; the races were specially good. Horses, cattle and poultry were, never better. On election night in 1884 five prisoners in the county jail escaped.
A committee appointed to consider building a county jail reported favorably in April, 1886, the cost to be about $25,000; the present jail was insecure and continually needed repair. They recommended the construction of a new jail to cost that sum, to be paid for by the sale of county bonds. There was a minority report against this improvement. The majority report was adopted by the vote of 17 to 14.
The county fair was held at Hortonville in October, 1886. The weather was good and the number of entries very large. Live stock and farm products shown were unusually good.
The tax commissioners filed their report in August, 1887; it showed many changes of the assessment of the county board and justified Appleton in its contentions. The commissioners said, “We hereby determine and certify that said decision of said county board was unjust and that the valuations of the real property in Said county as fixed by said decision were unequal.” The county board had assessed Appleton $2,088,920 on realty; the commissioners placed the figures at $1,618,756.34. Kaukauna city was greatly increased by the commissioners — county board, $318,000; commissioners, $418,000. Black Creek, Buchanan, Center, Cicero, Dale, Deer Creek, Ellington, Freedom, Grand Chute, Greenville, Hortonia, town of Kaukauna, Maine, Maple Creek, Fifth ward, New London and Osborn were increased by the commissioners. Bovina, Liberty and Seymour town and city were not changed from the figures of the county board. The sum of $470,163.66 was deducted from Appleton and added tb the towns and cities above mentioned. The city was thus a gainer of $3,577.04. This change was affected by changing Appleton’s assessment tax in 1888. Appleton was taxed 29 per cent and paid that per cent to the tax commissioners.
On June 2, 1887, the last prisoner in the county jail was discharged and for the first time in many years that institution was empty; the jailer’s occupation was gone, and the county for a time ceased to pay wicked men’s board bills. Silas Webster was the first prisoner in the new jail — charged with selling liquor on the Oneida reservation.
Dreadful fires occurred in July, 1887, and caused immense losses throughout Northern Wisconsin. Appleton raised $1,500 for the Marshfield sufferers in a few hours.
Representatives of the State Fish Commission established here in 1887 a state fish hatchery; the canal company agreed to give the hatchery water free of cost. The site selected was at the lower end of West’s canal near the blast furnace and another near Telulah Park at the foot of the Hyde and Harriman canal.
The Medina cheese factory in 1887 handled 371,264 pounds of milk and manufactured 37,093 pounds of cheese. The county fair at Hortonville in October, 1887, was a fine success. The County Teachers Institute in August, 1887, was attended by 85 teachers.
The Legislature in 1885, authorized the formation of farmers institutes; one was organized at Hortonville, Co-operative Union, in February, 1888. John Dey, Daniel Huntley, Henry Culbertson, Mr. Sayer, L. B. Mills, Theodore Lewis, Peter Tubbs, Charles Sweetzer, Mathew McComb and Philo Root were active at the first meeting.
The county fair at Hortonville in 1888 was very successful. The exhibit of horses, cattle, sheep and poultry was never excelled in this county; the same of vegetables, fruit and grain. There were declamations and a baby show and a vote on the most popular gentlemen.
It was at this time that a committee of the county board reported in favor of building a county asylum for insane persons; the cost was estimated at $35,000 for the building and about $15,000 for the farm attached thereto. The old jail building was sold for $110. A large bunch of copper was found in a well on the farm of C. Schuh of Freedom.
The total cost of the county insane asylum was $82,485; of which $56,778 was paid with bonds. The farm cost $15,000; building complete $51,985; equipment $8,500; running expense one year $7,000 estimated. All was ready late in 1889. Mr. Downer became superintendent and Dr. J. R. Reilly, physician.
In 1889 the total tax in the county was $208,877.83; for schools $48,187.16; for streets and bridges $26,698.15; current expenses $91,236.74. Of the total tax raised $119,000 was raised in Appleton. The Postal Telegraph Company established an office in this city early in 1890.
The county treasurer early in April, 1889, sold the $55,000 county bonds issued to pay for the insane asylum farm and buildings. Keen & Company, Chicago bankers, took them at $56,780.50. The contract price for the building was $30,778.
The artesian well at the county asylum showed a test capacity of 216,000 gallons; the water was pure, good and quite soft. The Horticultural Society met regularly and did much to improve the fruit varieties. The monthly cattle shows at Appleton were already famous; the farmers were taking great interest in efforts to improve their products and surroundings. The first trustees of the insane asylum were John Bottensek, H. T. Hardacker and Thomas Reese. The county fair in 1889 was one of the very best ever held in the county; there were about 1,100 entries and a large sum was paid in premiumns. There were special attractions to increase the attendance.
In January, 1890, Mr. Downer brought from the Dodge county asylum twenty-three patients belonging to Outagamie county. In February twenty-two more were brought from the state asylum; five patients cared for privately were brought to the asylum. Thirteen Calumet county patients were cared for. The asylum was in excellent condition.
The population of the county in 1890 was 38,647; in 1880 it was $28,716. Kaolin or pipe clay was found in considerable quantity in 1890. The county fair in 1890 was a great success; the receipts were $2,078.47, and the expenses $1,883.42. The Farmers’ Institute at Hortonville in February, 1891 was well attended, there being 500 farmers present during the session. Mr. Morrison state superintendent of institutes lectured. The county assessment this year was $9,278,700. The big Freedom ditch was commenced this year, designed to reclaim over 600 acres. Several farmers began this year to raise sugar beets. The drouth was so great in September and October that several peat swamps took fire and several forest tracts were burned. The county fair receipts in 1892 were $1,865.18. The county board appropriated $50 for the Wisconsin building at the World’s Fair; they called for a huge white oak log.
The Outagamie County Dairy Board assembled regularly in Appleton in 1892; Matt. Brill was secretary; eleven factories were represented at the August meeting. There were sold 800 boxes of Chedder cheese at 8-7/8 cents per pound and 300 boxes of Flats at 9 cents a pound. In September 37 factories were represented at the board meeting; there were offered 2,853 boxes chedders and 365 boxes twins, prices low. The dairy season began May 20, 1892, and closed November 18. There were marketed during the season 6,400 chedders and 4,375 flat.
A log 108 feet in length, from which 12 feet were taken, was hauled to Appleton from the farm of Ed Laird near Shiocton. The stump measured 34 inches in diameter and the top of the log 9 inches; it was a white pine.
In 1893 the county board appointed a committee to investigate the feasibility of having its own plants for both water and lights for the county buildings. The county was charged too much by the companies. In 1892 it paid for gas $290.86 and for electric light $156.32, or a total for light of $447.18; for water in 1892 it paid $370. Therefore the committee recommended that an artesian well should be bored on the county grounds.
On the farm of Dr. E. A. Erb in Freedom is the famous Kokolo spring which possessed high medicinal qualities. Each gallon was found to contain 4.1 grains of bicarbonate of sodium; 1.7 grains bicarbonate of calcium; 1.8 grains bicarbonate of magnesium; 1.4 grains sodium sulphate and .8 grain chlorate of sodium. It is good for heart, liver, kidneys and generally the serous and mucous membranes.
Louis Perrot died in May, 1893; he came to the county from Canada in 1858 and became one of the most progressive farmers of the county.
The county board concluded late in 1893 to bore an artesian well of its own, owing to the high cost of the city water — $370.50 in 1892.
In the fall of 1894 a committee of nine was appointed by the driving club to make arrangements for a county fair at Appleton in 1895. This committee was Humphrey Pierce, John B. Darboy, John Berg, John Dey, J. J. Sherman, J. M. Baer, John Conway, John Fose and P. T. Parish. They prepared to build a fine half mile track.
The county fair at Hortonville in 1894 was a fine success; 5,000 persons were present on the best day. The speakers were Congressman Minor, John Dey and Henry Kreiss. In December the Cheese Makers’ Protective Union was organized with G. Lightheart, president; J. L. Murphy, secretary and P. Fasshender, treasurer.
A cooking school was introduced in 1895 as a department of the Farmers’ Institute; this was intended by the state as a benefit to farmers’ wives.
There were many damaging swamp fires throughout the county in the fall of 1895 –Black Creek, Osborn, Center and elsewhere.
The Horticultural Society met regularly in the ’80s and ’90s and usually was well attended. Much good was accomplished by enabling the fruit growers to keep abreast of the times with the best and hardiest varieties. Often prominent horticulturalists from other points were present as lecturers, etc. The women took much interest in these meetings. Mrs. C. E. Bushnell was secretary in 1895.
The Fox River Valley fair of 1895 was the most successful ever seen in the valley. On the last day — Appleton day — there were 5,000 persons present, mostly residents of the city. On the day before — Fox river valley day — there were 8,000 persons present. The total attendance in three days was estimated at 16,000. On the first day — Wheelmen’s day — there were present 3,000. A long bicycle program entertained the crowd. The receipts were sufficient to pay all expenses and the premiums. Citizens, the fair association and the cycling club combined with hard work brought about this fine suc- cess. The races were excellent, many fast horses participating. Kaukauna, Hortonville, Seymour — all took much interest in the success of this event, despite the fact that the last two had fairs of their own. The farmers came in crowds.
The county board in April, 1895, appropriated $2,900 for an iron bridge over Wolf river in Ellington.
The Fox River Valley Fair Association made elaborate preparations for a great fair in 1895; seats to see the races were prepared for about 2,000 persons. The electric line was to run cars there; the track was put in splendid condition; the newspapers advertised the coming event far and wide. As a result there was an immense crowd and an excellent fair as a whole. On Appleton day there were present about 8,000 people. Prizes were paid for horse races, wheel races, etc. This was really a racing fair. The association had tried to unite with the county fair at Hortonville, but the latter was unwilling to the union. It was about this time that farmers of Outagamie county began to attend the state college of agriculture; they found that those institutions could teach them something valuable about farming and stock growing.
The county board passed the workhouse resolution in April, 1896; it was determined to make tramps work; a structure was erected at the quarry in the fall and cost $3,500. Other counties began to send their insane to the Outagamie county insane asylum in 1896; there were 126 inmates by October. The fair at the Driving Park was not as good in 1896 as it was in 1895. The county treasurer’s report in 1896 showed receipts $183,162.98; expenses $147,257.95; cash balance $35,905.03.
The Fox River Valley Fair Association reported the total receipts in 1896 at $6,076.10 with that in hand in addition. The disbursements were $6,447.78; leaving $40.96 on hand.
The earnings of the county insane asylum in 1896 were $20,932.84; the net earnings were $8,044.72; the asylum property was valued at $98,233.54. Mr. and Mrs. George Downer were superintendent and matron respectively.
In December, 1896, the county board appropriated $500 annually for the Children’s Home in consideration that the Home should care for the county’s dependent children.
The Fox River Fair and Driving Association in 1896 bought the property of the Appleton Track and Driving Club and also secured the lease of the latter to portions of the poor farm.
In January, 1898, the county board appropriated $300 for the Prescott Hospital instead of $500 the amount requested. Previous to the middle of November the total number of commitments to the new workhouse was 75, of which 39 were drunk and disorderly. The sentences amounted to a total of 1188 days. John A. Fose was superintendent in 1898. In 1898 twenty-six insane patients were taken for treatment to the state hospital.
In 1899 residents in the northern part of the county favored a new county to be composed of parts of Brown, Shawano and Outagamie counties with Seymour as the county seat. This step was specially to be desired providing the proposed electric line from Seymour to Appleton was not built.
In March and April, 1897, fishermen along Wolf river slaughtered pike by the thousands with boats, torches and spears. An observer counted 15 boats thus engaged and said that one boat secured 140 in two hours; the fish ranged from 2 to 8 pounds each.
The State Federation of Labor met in Appleton, Harmonic hall, in June, 1897. There were about fifty delegates present representing about 100 trade unions in different parts of the state. One delegate represented 18 different unions. One lady delegate was present.
Anthrax made its appearance in this county in 1897; Charles Wasmund of Freedom lost several cattle with that disease; the herd was quarantined and the disease was prevented from spreading. The county fair at Hortonville was well attended and successful in 1897.
In August, 1900, nearly a dozen Indians were confined in the county jail — three from Seymour charged with burglary and the others United States prisoners; they spent most of their time in jail playing euchre; they were religious and model prisoners. The Post called the jail, “An Indian Camp.”
The county fair at Hortonville in 1900 was a success in spite of the rainy weather; there was paid out about $1,200 in premiums; there were $1,210 entries and the gate receipts amounted to over $600. The displays were unusually good.
Cabbage growing around Shiocton was a great industry by 1901. Between 600 and 700 acres of cabbages were harvested that year, the yield being from 12 to 15 tons per acre. The industry was commenced in 1897 when G. H. Lonkey planted a small patch. A few others started up in 1898 and the business grew. The Shiocton News said cabbage was king.
In 1902 the county board ordered a survey of the Black Creek waterway with the view of draining between 3,000 and 4,000 acres in the towns of Cicero and Black Creek, unfit for cultivation owing to about three miles of dead water in Black creek. The petition for a division of Kaukauna town was granted and the new town of Vandenbroek was created at this date.
In the summer of 1902 rural free delivery was extended to portions of the county. The county board planned a poor farm in 1902.
By the act of the tax commission Appleton was reduced from $10,955,800 to $9,988,006.18, Seymour town was increased from $905,000 to $1,004,550, Kaukauna city was decreased from $2,739, 900 to $2,533,037.55. Most of the country towns were increased. The valuations determined by the special commission appointed to equalize the county assessment in September, 1903, were as follows:
In 1903 there were raised in the county nearly 1,000 acres of cabbage. The county tax was $57,775.95; state tax $24,848.29; school tax $37,180.
The annual report of the Fox River Valley Fair and Driving Association in December, 1904, showed the receipts at $6,197.11 and expenses at $6,295.80. There was on hand at the beginning of the year $100.01 and at’the close $1.32.
The only farmers’ institute in the county in 1904 was held at Black Creek in December. It was made a sort of mid-winter fair; school children took part in the program.
Many wolves were seen in the county in December, 1905; a large pack was in the town of Maine. The county bounty was $10 and the state bounty the same. This caused vigorous hunts for the scalps.
Early in 1905 the county jail was in bad condition, $3,000 was needed to put it in fair condition. The recent jail deliveries showed that something better was needed.
In November, 1905, the county board voted to tear down the existing jail and erect a new one; five supervisors voted against this step. The cost of the new structure was fixed at $16,000.
In 1905 Dale had 6 cheese factories, Black Creek, Center, Deer Creek and Cicero 5 each and the other towns from one to four — Bovina 1, Kaukauna 2, Stephensville 1, Ellington 1, Liberty 3, Seymour 4, Maine 3, Vandenbroek 1, Greenville 4, Maple Creek 1, Buchanan 3, Grand Chute 2, Osborn 3, Hortonia 1, Freedom 1. The creameries were as follows: Ellington 2, Dale 2, Hortonville l, Greenville 1, Maple Creek 1, Hortonia 2, Bovina 1, Welcome 1. This did not include creameries in cities. The money received for cheese and butter factories in 1905 was $462,914. The county had 56 cheese factories and 13 creameries; 219,878 pounds of butter were made.
The county assessment in 1904 was $39,235,300 and in 1905 was $40,552,801. It was said in the spring of 1906 that the farmers of the county had “gone cabbage mad.” The fair circuit in 1,906 included the cities of Appleton, Oshkosh, Fond du Lac, Plymouth and New London.
In January, 1906, the county board appropriated $8,000 for the construction of a fire fighting system at the county asylum.
The Farmers’ Institute of Outagamie County met at Greenville in January, 1906, and was conducted by L. E. Scott. There was a large attendance and much interest was shown. Soils, tillage, sugar beets, preparation of soil, silage, dairy cows, care of and feeding calves, winter eggs, sheep and other subjects were considered.
The $15,000 of county jail bond, sold for $15,850 in the spring of 1906. The Fox River Valley Telephone and Telegraph Company absorbed many small lines at this time. This year the great success attained by the Shiocton Garden and Land Company in reclaiming about 4,000 acres of land near the village of Shiocton was apparent and others began to imitate the operations of this company. Swvamp land boomed in value. Immense quantities of flower bulbs were grown on the Shiocton tract. Portions were leased to Vaughan, the flower dealer of Chicago, and Crawford & Company, of Ohio.
The new jail was finished by November, 1906, at a cost of about $19,000. The county bought 36.92 acres addition to the insane hospital farm this year, paying $80 per acre. This year about 200 acres of sugar beets were grown in the county. A good roads convention was held in December.
In March, 1907, John Dey was elected president of the Outagamie County Pioneer Association for the thirtieth time. About 200 were present. Humphrey Pierce delivered the annual address. A. A. Raisler of Outagamie county was chosen a vice-president of the state fair in 1907.
For many years Canada thistles had been seen in the county; it was said the seed was imported with oats brought here when the country was new, fed to horses and thus scattered all over the county in the timber clearings; now systematic efforts were necessary to get rid of it. In 1907 the Driving Club offered $3,100 in prizes. The San Jose scale was discovered on fruit trees in Appleton this year. This year the annual meeting of the Wisconsin Horticultural Society was held at Shiocton, a decided compliment to the industries so well conducted there. About seventy-five of the most prominent horticulturists of the state were in attendance at the opera house. They visited in a body the fields of the Shiocton Garden and Land Company, where 3,000,000 bulbs of various kinds were growing.
By the middle of September, 1908, so severe and long continued was the drouth that forest and prairie fires began to do damage in various parts of the county. The extraordinary drouth continued and by the middle of October great damage had been done in the vast stretch of country from New London to Green Bay. “During the September fires there was some danger on the Oneida reservation and also in the vicinity of New London and Black Creek, but it is said this danger is nothing compared with the fight the farmers in these districts now have on their hands. Almost an unbroken line of fire is raging along the railway from Seymour to Green Bay. It is also claimed that in the swamps and marshes where there are fires the ground is so dry that the peat or muck has taken fire, making it an herculean task to rid a district of flames.”–(Post, October, 1908.)
At the Seymour Dairy Board during the season of 1908 (April 14 to December 10) 22,116 boxes amounting to 960,000 pounds of cheese were sold. But this did not represent the cheese made. Twenty years before there was but one cheese factory in that locality.
The Shiocton Garden Company bought additional tracts in other adjacent towns and prepared to enlarge operations. Celery and sugar beets were added to the products. There was a 15 cent bounty on crows. F. Charlesworth was appointed county treasurer in place of Mr. McCarty, deceased. In 1908 many farmers of this county attended the Farmers’ National Congress at Madison. The fair of the Driving Park Association in 1908 was unusually fine and successful. There were several extras to please the large crowd. A foot race between an Oneida Indian and the young men of Busbey’s Business College attracted attention; the Indian was badly defeated. A bicycle race was hotly contested. About 8,000 people were present on the best day. The stock fair at Appleton in December was excellent.
The Farmers’ Institute at Shiocton in January, 1909, was one of the best ever held in the county. “There is perhaps no small town or village or organized community in this county or in Wisconsin where there is any more downright business enterprise and foresight than there is in Shiocton. To the merchants, dentists, doctors and others who have business interests is due the great success of the Farmers’ Institute.” — (Post.) Among the subjects discussed in detail were — live stock, dairying, sugar beets, cows, swine, good roads, good feeding, silo and silage, sheep, etc. Messrs. Matteson, Stiles, Roberts, McCormick, Hint, Zahrt, McKerrow and others made addresses. Many prizes on nearly all garden and field products were awarded. The cooking school by the ladies was not the least of the attractions. The Ladies’ Auxiliary of the Congregational church netted about $30 for their splendid meals.
About the middle of January, 1909, the mercury marked 28 degrees below zero at Appleton and 32 degrees below at Hortonville.
A session of the American Co-operative Society of Equity was held at Stephensville in January, 1909, there being present delegates from Little Chute, Seymour, Black Creek, Shiocton, Ellington, Kaukauna and Grand Chute. The session was held in Kroeger opera house. The central idea of this organization was to do away with competition and organize the farmers and merchants of the county for co-operation. Among the speakers were Messrs. Hohn, Nichols, Long, Lehr, Keller, Fuller and others.
John Brill, secretary of the Appleton Dairy Board reported that the value of cheese bought and sold from April, 1908, to April, 1909, was $243,116.25. This board comprised a membership of about seventy-five cheese buyers and sellers. During the year 32,415 boxes of twins were offered on the call board; each box contained about 60 pounds. This was only one of several such institutions in the county.
In 1909 the farmers of Outagamie county were paid $1,174,231 for cheese and butter; the cheese factories were supplied by 21,591 cows and the creameries by 7,715 cows. There were 79 cheese factories and 20 creameries. The cheese departments had 2,103 patrons and the butter industry 888 patrons. The cheese receipts were $878,307 and the butter $295,924. There were over 1,000 acres of sugar beets grown this year. The Garden Company near Shiocton raised 160 acres worth about $60,000. The great advance in the price of all farm products were a great encouragement to farmers at this date. This year Gregory and Updike of Chicago bought 3,000 acres of low land in Maine and Deer Creek and prepared to drain it for garden purposes.
By 1909 there were many different country telephone lines extending to all portions of the county. Scarcely a neighborhood was without this up-to-date and valuable improvement. In November the county board ordered that Oneida be organized in all respects as an independent town.
In February, 1910, Judge Ryan was the orator before the Pioneer Association. About $3,000 was spent to improve the fair grounds at Appleton. In January cabbage was $25 a ton, there being a great shortage. Again it was declared that, “Cabbage is King.” This year the county refused to establish a training school for teachers. The spring was dry and many forest fires occurred. Many wolves appeared in the vicinity of Welcome.
The Fox River Valley Pomona. Grange met in South Greenville hall. Among the subjects considered were — “A Woman in the Grange,” “Seed Corn in Its Production,” “Domestic Science at the Agricultural School,” “Why Should We Raise Fine-Bred Stock?” “Cow Testing,” “The Winnebago County Agricultural School.”
The South Lawrence Butter and Cheese Company of Snidersville reported a total business of $30,853.61 for 1910. Nick Huss was president and manager.
The Holstein cow Phebe Paul 77,777 owned by R. J. Schaefer, Appleton, gave butterfat one year 733.4 pounds. His cow Caroline Paul Parthenia 77,784 produced 92.373 pounds of butterfat in the month of October, 1910.
In December, 1910, the first herd of imported Guernsey cattle ever received in this county arrived, having been purchased in the East by Charles Smith, there were eighteen animals, for which an average price of $250 was paid.
In 1910 John L. Jacquot built an immense cheese (4,000 pounds) for the National Dairy Show, Chicago, October 20 to 29; the factories here made the best tests and were awarded the honor to build the cheese by the National Association.
The project of building a large iron bridge across the river at Kimberly was before the citizens this year. It was planned to cost $25,000. The town of Vandenbroek which was to pay only $2,000 voted against the proposition. The fair of the Fox River Valley society in 1910 was one of the best ever held; the total attendance was over 12,000. The cattle exhibit was a great feature — pure Jerseys, Holsteins, Guernseys and Short Horns being shown. The races were unusually good.
Judge Thomas H. Ryan was elected president of the Twelve Corners-Mackville Telephone Company in September, 1910. The company had 160 members though but a year old.
The Guernsey cattle sale of 1910 was an important event. Ninety animals were offered for sale, 60 of which were registered and 30 were high grades. John Conway was one of the leaders of this sale. The prices varied from $125 to $600 — the highest ever paid in this county. There were present 200 buyers, and 81 head were sold the first day. This fall two other large cheeses were made, one weighing 2,000 pounds and one less. The Appleton Cheese board sold in 1909 1,671,765 pounds of cheese and in 1910 sold 2,229,615 pounds. A parcels post was demanded by the farmers all over the county at this time.
A petition was circulated in January, 1911, asking the court to appoint commissioners for the proposed drainage of 12,000 acres in Black Creek, Cicero, Seymour and part of Bovina towns.
The county board favored the repeal of the tuberculosis test law early in 1911 by a vote of 20 to 9.
In January, 1911, the Greenville Creamery and Cheese Factory, owned by Potts, Wood & Company, reported a business of $24,540.53 for the season of 1910.
In March, 1911, the history of Outagamie county was planned to be compiled and published under the editorship of Judge Thomas H. Ryan assisted by the following advisory board: Henry D. Ryan and J. N. Stewart, of Appleton; John D. Lawe and C. E. Raught, of Kaukauna; Peter Tubbs, of Seymour; Eben E. Rexford, of Shiocton; Louis Jacquot, of Hortonville, and John Dey, president of the Pioneer Association. The publishers were to be the Goodspeed Historical Association of Chicago.
Late in February the county board ordered the county books back for another six years audited — 1901 to 1907; they also ordered that thereafter the books of all county officials should be audited each year by an expert accountant; a friendly suit to learn what was lawful as to register’s fees was instituted. At this time the following shortages were announced to exist:
This was the shortage for the past four years. Much of this shortage it was admitted was due to carelessness in keeping the books and accounts.
In May, 1911, the county had in its treasury $97,000 and was out of debt, the most favorable condition in the history of the county.
The auction of Guernsey cattle at the Northwestern house yard in May, 1911, was an important event. Seventy registered animals (twenty-five imported) were put on the block. There were sixteen consigners to the sale, ten of whom were Greenville men; thirty-nine head came from that town and sixty from Appleton. The average price of the first twelve sold was $265, and there were present thirty-three buyers, of whom twenty-three came from outside the county and bought seventy-three head for $17,510. Dr. O. N. Johnson managed the event. John Conway, “father of the Guernsey industry in Outagamie county,” was present. The highest price paid was $800 for a fine Guernsey bull.
Early in June, 1911, George H. Downer, superintendent of the county insane asylum, commenced suit for libel against Peter Tubbs and E. J. Westphal placing the damages at $7,000.
In June, 1911, four young ladies of this county were drowned on Little Lake Butte des Morts by the upsetting of their sailboat during a sudden squal; Bertha Pollex, Gertrude Kuschel, Agnes Geenen and Elizabeth Brill; five others were rescued.
It was shown in August, 1911, that in the twenty-one years of its existence the county insane asylum had made $20,473 for the county. The asylum had cared for 441 patients, care and clothing amounting to $459,783.79. Of these 270 patients were those of Outagamie county. At this date the plant had 437 acres. George Downer was still superintendent. The plan of reclaiming a large tract in the northwestern part of the county — in Maine, Liberty and Bovina towns was taken up in the spring of 1911.
In September, 1911, the Fox River Valley Fair was a gratifying success. On “Appleton day” there was an immense attendance. The mayor asked business houses to close in the afternoon, and the request was generally complied with. A cheese weighing six tons was built here in August for the Chicago Dairy Show late in 1911. Thirty-five cheese makers were employed over the immense vats. It cost $7,500. Many persons assembled to witness the interesting event.
RELIGION, TEMPERANCE, BENEVOLENCE, MUSIC, ETC.
DIVINE services were no doubt held in the residences of the first settlers of Appleton in 1848 and during the winter of 1848-9. Several of the first arrivals — Rev. A. B. Randall and Rev. W. H. Sampson and others — were ministers and it can be concluded with certainty that they would not permit the entire fall and winter to elapse without preaching on Sundays and holding mass and prayer meetings at private houses on Sundays and perhaps on week days.
The history of St. Mary’s Catholic church begins with the celebration of mass in the year 1848 in Hippolitus Grignon’s log house. This was not only the first mass in Appleton; but it was celebrated in the home of the first white man to settle within what is now the city limits of Appleton, Hippolitus Grignon having come to Appleton from Green Bay in 1835. In 1848-9 the famine was driving the manhood of Ireland to America, and from revolution stricken Europe was flowing to the United States the best blood of that continent. Some of these were attracted to the Fox River Valley by the prospects of work on the government canal and by the opportunity to acquire land in the vicinity of their labors. Patrick Shields, Louis Heintz, Adam Mertes, and a few others came to Appleton in the early ’40s. In 1850 John Nolan, Timothy Garvey, Richard Farrel, Mr. Bradley, Frank Wirtz and a few others were added to the Catholic colony in Appleton. Missionary Fathers attended to their spiritual wants at first. Dr. Salzman, Father Casper Rehrl, Father Fusseeder, Father Pfeiffer, Father Louis Dael, and Father James Coulton were some of those devoted fathers who visited Appleton during the first decade. The latter was the first Irish priest to visit Appleton. During this period there was no church; but mass was celebrated in various places, viz.: in the home of Hippolitus Grignon, in the home of Adam Mertes, in the John Nolan boarding house, in the Third ward school and in the old courthouse.
On the 29th of April, 1859, Theodore Conkey, M. L. Martin and A. B. Bowen donated, for church purposes, lot 1, in block 41, Third ward, city of Appleton, to John Henni, bishop of Milwaukee, and the Catholics of Appleton forthwith erected thereon a frame church at a cost of $1,700.
On October 24, 1862, Father Louis Dael, J. McCaghery and J. Smuddie purchased for St. Mary’s congregation lot 4, and a little later lots 2 and 3, in said block 41, and a parochial school was erected thereon. Thus in 1864 the first parochial school in the city of Appleton, and one of the first in the State of Wisconsin, was opened. Missionary Sisters from Barton taught in this school. They did not remain long, however, and were succeeded by a Mr. Johnston. The school was discontinued after a short time for lack of funds.
Father Louis Dael was the first resident priest, coming in 1860 and remaining till 1867. He was succeeded by Rev. Father Wilkins who was pastor for one year. It was during the latter’s administration that the German Catholics withdrew from St. Mary’s and established St. Joseph’s congregation, the mother church paying the new congregation $3,000. Rev. Father Walsh, who succeeded Father Wilkins, remained but a few months, giving place to the Rev. Father Verberk, who was pastor of St. Mary’s from 1868 till 1872.
The Servite Fathers, who had their headquarters at St. Patrick’s church, Menasha, were in charge of the parish from 1872 to 1875, and were represented at Appleton by the Rev. Father Baldi. It was under Father Baldi’s administration that the parish erected the present brick church. The late Thomas O’Keefe was the architect. The true Christian zeal of the pioneer is illustrated by the following: Patrick Morrissey, Edmond Haffner, Owen Merity and James McCaghery, members of St. Mary’s, mortgaged their homes and lands to procure the necessary funds (which for that time were quite considerable) with which to erect and complete the new church.
Scarcely was the church enclosed when the Servite Fathers were withdrawn and were succeeded by the Rev. Ferdinand Tanquay who assumed charge of the parish in August, 1875, and remained its pastor until his lamented death which occurred November 25, 1887. During his pastorate the church was completed, the debt thereon liquidated, a new parsonage erected and the parish grew in strength and unity and took its place among the foremost in the diocese.
November 1, 1887, the present pastor, Rev. W. J. Fitzmaurice was appointed assistant to Rev. Ferdinand Tanquay, and upon the latter’s death succeeded him as pastor of St. Mary’s. The first year of his pastorate the parish purchased four lots and erected a parochial school and convent. The school was opened in September, 1889, and placed in charge of the Dominican Sisters of Sinsinawa, under whose efficient and devoted labors the school soon ranked among the best in the city. During the first eight years of the school’s existence a high school was conducted under the management of the same Sisters, and was an accredited high school. Unfortunately, for lack of funds, the high school department had to be discontinued.
Realizing the desirability of the Church touching every phase of human life, and bringing it under the benign and wholesome influence of religion, the parish, now having grown stronger financially, determined to erect a building where its members could meet in social intercourse under conditions free from danger to their faith and morals, and promote that good fellowship which is necessary for human society. For this purpose in 1894, they bought property and erected the Columbia hall which has since been the scene of all the parish social activities.
Shortly after the present pastor took charge, the parish had grown so large numerically that he was unable to adequately attend to the wants of the people, hence he was assisted in his work by the following clergymen: Rev. M. H. Clifford from March, 1894, to July, 1896; Rev. George Clifford from August, 1897, to July, 1898; Rev. Michael Lauth from November, 1898, to October, 1900; Rev. J. M. Phelan from November, 1901, to September, 1902; Rev. Conrad Ripp from June, 1903 to July, 1905; Rev. George A. Casey from July, 1906, to September, 1908; Rev. A. VanDyke from September, 1908, to August, 1909; Rev. E. Vassiere from August, 1909, to August, 1911.
Glancing back over the half century of its existence and clearly recognizing the many blessings that Almighty God had bestowed upon them as a parish and individually, the members of St. Mary’s deemed it fit and proper to make some public recognition of those favors received. Consequently on the eve of their Golden Jubilee they set about renovating and adorning the church. Mrs. Catherine M. Baldwin made the munificent donation of the beautiful marble altar in memory of her deceased husband, George Baldwin. Another friend donated the beautiful marble and onyx communion railing. Other generous friends donated beautiful memorial windows in memory of their deceased parents and children. Two beautiful side altars were also given by two members of the parish in memory of their deceased. Others of the parish, less blessed with this world’s goods, but rich in generous faith, gave freely of the little they possessed in order to complete the beautifying of the House of God.This jubilee offering amounted to about $30,000. The completion of the work was duly celebrated in a solemn, religious and civic manner September 18, 1911.
The St. Joseph’s Catholic Congregation with its spacious and artistically decorated church, its beautiful monastery, its two large modern school buildings, its capacious hall for social gatherings and amusements, occupies a fore-position in the moral, intellectual, social and religious uplifting and development of the city of Appleton and the county of Outagamie.
St. Joseph’s parish dates its origin back to the year 1867. On January 1 of that year the German members of the congregation of St. Mary’s met under the presidency of the pastor, the Rev. Louis Dahl and decided to separate from the English members, resolving to build their own church and school. A committee of three was nominated, consisting of John Berg, Michael Pauly and Gerhard Kamps. The consent of the Rt. Rev. Bishop J. M. Henni of Milwaukee, to whose diocese Appleton then belonged, was granted on March 19, the feast of St. Joseph. A parochial school was established between Seventh and Eighth streets near State street, and John Stolzer was engaged as teacher on January 15, 1868. After the first church had been built, a room in the basement of the same served as class-room. The following year on February 25, the Rt. Rev. Bishop came personally to Appleton to preside at a parish meeting, in which all the disputed points were adjusted, and the separation became effective.
Peter Reuter, Anton Karls, Jr., Anton Hipp and Eberhard Kamps were elected as building committee. They purchased about four and one-half lots, 155 feet by 188 feet, the present site of the church and monastery from John D. Pierce, who liberally granted into the bargain a lot, 30×120 feet on the opposite side, which was in turn relinquished on August 1, 1894, in favor of the city for the construction of Elm street. The deeds bear the date of August 16, 1868. For the sum of $150 the old frame schoolhouse of the Third ward was bought and moved upon the lot, at present Elm street. The building was enlarged and furnished, serving as the first St. Joseph’s church and school. It was dedicated by Bishop Melcher, the first bishop of Green Bay, on the third of December the same year. Until the end of February, 1869, St. Joseph’s parish was attended as a mission from Menasha by the Rev. Frank Uhlemayer; when the Rev. Joseph Nussbaum assumed the resident pastorate which he maintained until February 23, 1870. Until August 15, when the pastor’s residence was completed, Father Nussbaum made his home with Louis Leimer. He also installed two bells to call the German Catholics to divine services. The Rev. Ferdinand Stern was then appointed. The next month he called the St. Agnes Sisters of Fond du Lac, to take charge of the school. They were succeeded by the Notre Dame Sisters of Milwaukee in the fall of 1873. They began with 68 pupils. Father Stern built a new brick church 50×100 feet with a tower 150 feet high according to the plans of W. W. Wilson. The dedication was performed by the Rt. Rev. Bishop Melcher on the first Sunday in November, 1872. Four years later the site of the school building was bought; it formed part of the estate of Anson Ballard; consideration $1,050.
Owing to some grave and deep-rooted misunderstandings between the pastor and the people, leading even to the excommunication of the leaders, the Rev. Ferdinand Stern resigned April 15, 1877. Rev. G. Hormish, who had come to Appleton on March 27 of the same year to assist Father Stern, remained a few weeks longer. To establish peace and harmony, to save a congregation whose members were in danger of becoming estranged from their religion, and to remove the great financial difficulties, the Capuchin Fathers consented to take charge of this parish after the repeated and urgent request of the Rt. Rev. F. H. Krautbauer. Through their noble, disinterested, zealous work they have made the congregation one of the largest and best parishes of the Green Bay diocese. Their labors were not confined to Appleton. From its foundation the monastery has been a center of moral, spiritual, religious, educational influence. The Fathers extended their spiritual ministrations to the outlying townships; they were ever ready to assist the secular clergy, far and near, in pastoral work; they conducted missions and spiritual revivals, they gave effective advise and consolation sought by thousands at the door of the monastery and in the church, and all this was done with the affability, simplicity, self-sacrifice, disinterestedness and charity that are the characteristics of the founder of their Order, the poor man of Assisi, St. Francis, and which should adorn all his true sons and followers.
The first Capuchin pastor was the Rev. Didacus Wendl who came to Appleton April 26, 1877. It was his ambition to gain the confidence of the people, and to diminish the heavy debt of $12,256 which then rested on a comparatively small and poor parish. As soon, however, as the people perceived that the Fathers had their welfare at heart and meant to remain with them, they gave practical proofs of their appreciation, developing generosity, which is seldom found in families of their standing. The cemetery, comprising twenty acres, was bought for $1,000 on September 1, 1878. It is one of the most favorably situated and most beautifully kept burial grounds in the state. July 17, 1879, Father Didacus Wendl was recalled and replaced by the Rev. Lawrence Henn, until October 16, when the Very Rev. Bonaventure Frey took charge of the parish. This prominent member of the Capuchin Order had just completed two churches in New York, and was entitled to a short respite, but he at once set to work energetically. The number of school children had increased rapidly. In the steeple of the church a class-room had been arranged. The kneeling benches of the church serving as seats for the little ones; also two rooms had been rented on College avenue, on the lot now occupied by Mr. Marette’s blacksmith shop. True to his characteristic trait to proceed with a wise view to the future, Father Frey displayed keen forethought and foresight of the coming growth and development of the city and congregation.
For although the standing indebtedness $18,520 and there were but 250 children he erected a stately building at an expense of $22,000. The firm of Loeffler frescoed and decorated the church. The parsonage was enlarged to meet the demands of community life. Despite these material improvements the debt was reduced to $13,935.
From 1882-1885, Rev. Francis Haas, remarkable orator, devoted his efforts to the interior life of the parish. A better religious spirit was instilled into its members. The attendance at church and school increased and became more regular. Installed organ $3,000. From 1885-1888 Rev. Bernardine Schmitz worked in the spirit of his predecessor, and particularly paid great attention to the several societies of the congregation and established new ones — was succeeded in March, 1888, by Rev. Pacificus Berlemann, a prominent missionary, died of cancer of the stomach, October 11, 1889, and was interred at Mt. Calvary, Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin. The interim till 1891 was filled out by Rev. Lawrence Henn, when also the church was enlarged and decorated at an expense of over $25,000. Also monastery built. From 1891-1894 Rev. Honoratus Schmitt, noted for looking up lukewarm Catholics, also bought site for St. Joseph’s Hall from Leda B. Clark for $1,500 and built hall $14,000. Installed hot water heating in school, $2,000, 1894-1897 Rev. Timothy Grossmann — electric light installed in church and boys’ playground acquired; 1897-1900 Rev. Ignatius Ullrich well liked — church fresco painted and decorated $2,200. Five harmonious bells installed, $1,280. Hot water heating system put into church, $1,820.95. St. Anthony’s chapel added to the church. Mr. Robert Richard furnished the chapel; 1900-1909 Rev. Lawrence Henn, who had already endeared himself to the parishioners, when stationed here before New school east of St. Joseph’s hall built in 1907, cost $12,000. Another sacristy built on the west side of the church — 1909.
The necessity of satisfying the spiritual wants of the Catholic people in the Fourth ward of the city of Appleton by means of a resident pastor with church and school, had for years impressed itself upon the Rt. Rev. S. G. Messmer, Bishop of the Green Bay diocese. No sooner, therefore, became it known that the German Methodist Society of said ward were to vacate the property with church and dwelling for many years used as their headquarters, than Revs. J. J. Fox, V. G. and W. G. Fitzmaurice, pastor of St. Mary’s congregation, secured same by purchase for a new Catholic congregation to be formed as soon as the approbation of the bishop, then absent, could be obtained. This came about in 1898, the fall of which brought the appointment of Rev. John Kaster, formerly of Shawano, as first pastor, or rather organizer of the Catholics south of the Fox river, a territory known as “Fourth ward” of the city of Appleton. The location of the recently acquired property was in block 20 of West’s addition, corner Harrison and Monroe streets, on block east from the interurban car line. The organizing was fraught with unforeseen difficulties; the Fox river, being by nature and will of the Bishop, the northern boundary line of the new parish, was disregarded as such by those who rightly or wrongly withheld affiliation with the new parish on the ground that it was to be merely “German,” as well as by those who desired evading personal sacrifices for the new undertaking, or were mistrusting all possibility of success. To this we may add a claim set up by the German Catholics in the “lower Fourth” or eastern portion of the Fourth ward, namely that church, school and Priest’s house ought to be in a more central location. Undaunted by these drawbacks Rev. J. Kaster made great efforts to start a good nucleus for a parish, and, to his great joy, he succeeded.
On October 9, 1898, Bishop Messmer, being assisted by many neighboring priests, blessed the church. St. Joseph’s Society was present — corpore. The church was a plain frame, 40×56 feet, without basement, altar or any furniture useful in Catholic services. A small barn, standing behind the old church, was transformed into a “school,” over which Anna Jacobs, now Sr. M. Leona of St. Agnes, was installed as teacher. At a regular meeting of the parish on December 31, 1898, William Scheer and John Faas were elected secretary and treasurer respectively, furthermore it was agreed to incorporate under the name Sacred Heart Congregation, Appleton, Wisconsin.
At a regular business meeting held February 12, 1899, the parish decided to erect a suitable school, with an expense not to exceed $6,000. A plan drawn by Herman Wildhagen was accepted, and Messrs. John Melcher, John Loos, Lawrence Sommer, were chosen to act as building committee with Rev. Kaster. In consequence of a very successful Fair held at St. Joseph’s hall, no less than by generous contributions by members and friends, the congregation was enabled to refund the original purchase price of the property, which was $2,000. In the meantime a hot-air furnace was placed in a dugout below the church, fixtures for electric light, an altar and furniture for same was purchased. Regular religious services, a mission given by P. Neumuller, S. J., house-to-house visits made by Rev. Kaster on his collecting tours, the cheerfulness of the children in the improvised school — all combined to draw out religious fervour among the people, many of whom had for a long time been indifferent to their religious duties. God’s grace made precious wheat appear, where unsightly cockle had thrived.
The construction of the new school progressed steadily and swiftly, so that on June 9, 1909, it could be dedicated by Bishop Messner, who on this joyous occasion was assisted by many priests. A large gathering of neighbor societies with banners and a great conflux of Catholics in general enhanced the celebration.
July 9, 1909, at a regular business meeting the congregation decided to borrow $1,200 from the Catholic Knights of Wisconsin; it was further decided to prepare for a second Fair.
October 5, 1900, Rev. J. B. Scheyer was appointed successor to Rev. J. Kaster, who, however, upon request managed successfully the impending Fair, which was held in the armory. A great measure of credit for its financial profits was due to Rev. W. J. Fitzmaurice, pastor of St. Mary’s church; he, like P. Ignatius, O. F. M. of St. Joseph’s, at the first Fair, gave generous assistance to the efforts of Rev. Kaster.
October 25, 1901, following upon the resignation of Rev. J. B. Scheyer, the Rev. Fred. L. Ruessmann, formerly of St. Francis’ church, Portage, Wisconsin, succeeded as pastor. Things, at that juncture looked very discouraging. A rickety little frame church, an uninviting, uncomfortable, neglected priest’s house, a school in need of many finishing touches, and a debt of over $9,000 had to be faced. First of all, the hall in the school was provided with a ceiling, the windows finished, the walls plastered and provided with wainscoting. This hall was used for religious services on weekdays during winter. Hardwood floors throughout the house, painting, papering, coal stoves, gas stove and fixtures had to be provided.
June 8, 1905, at a meeting of pastor and trustees, Messrs W. Sinkule and J. Schindler, it was decided to gather subscriptions with a view to putting the church in decent shape. The subscriptions, together with a welcome donation of $1,000 given by Henry Heyman of St. Joseph’s church, warranted the undertaking. Consequently the building was lengthened by 36 feet; an 8-1/2 foot basement with solid stone wall put under it, the interior received a new hardwood floor, a new coat of plaster and fine decorations towards which Messrs.William Scheer and Henry Goosen, donated personal artistic work, who also painted and decorated a new high altar, two side altars and communion railing. A large wardrobe and vestment case was bought for the Sacristy; the whole roof was reshingled and the exterior covered with new clapboards and two coats of paint. On the, morning of November 19, 1905, Rt. Rev. J. J. Fox, D. D., the new Bishop of Green Bay came to Appleton to bless the church. This ceremony, in which many priests and Catholic societies from the neighborhood participated, was followed by solemn high mass, at which Very Rev. P. J. Lochman, V. G., Revs. W. J. Fitzmaurice and P. Luke, O.F. M. of St. Joseph’s acted as Celebrant, Deacon and Subdeacon respectively. Rev. M. Clifford of Oshkosh was master of ceremonies. The Revs. A. Seubert and the pastor assisted the Bishop in the sanctuary. After mass an appropriate sermon was given by the Bishop; for visitors, dinner was served at the school hall, the clergy being entertained at the parsonage. On July 29, 1906, the pastor and trustees decided to accept with thanks from Mr. John Conway, proprietor of the Sherman House, a steamboiler, which, however, was in need of repairs after having been in active use for some time at the well known hostelry. Messrs. C. Verbrick, John Vette, W. O’Neil, offered to donate their personal labor in putting up and repairing said furnace, the contract for the completion of the whole steam plant was given the W. L. Patterson Company, consideration of $400.
In the summer of 1911 the congregation had to replace its old wooden sidewalks with cement, which meant the covering of nearly 3,260 square feet. A large room in basement of school was also covered with a cement floor and a large cement cistern built just along the south side of said room, outside of school wall, adding to this a new basement and solid stone foundation and cement floor and cistern under parsonage we find the parish buildings all complete, with an indebtedness, however, of $7,000 still resting upon the school. Since September, 1899, the congregation has kept up a teaching force for eight grades; four sisters de Notre Dame have had charge of four rooms, and their work has always been of the best. The enrollment for 1911-12 shows a decrease in the number of pupils, this is in consequence of the fact that several families with many children have emigrated. At present quite a few families are anxious to go to better fields; the men, now subsisting and supporting families on mill wages are dreading the time when they will get tired of the dinner pail and night work; their sons, at least such as acquire some schooling after finishing the eighth grade, look beyond the city for future operations.
Of church societies belonging to the Sacred Heart parish, the Men’s Society, of a beneficiary character, takes first rank. Mr. John Melcher is its present president; it has a membership of nearly one hundred and is in good financial condition. Then follow the association of christian mothers, the Congregation B. M. V. for the young ladies, and St. Aloysius Sodality for boys.
Religious services were held in the law office of Frederick Packard, September 1, 1850, and were conducted by Rev. Robinson of Neenah. On December 18, 1850, the society was regularly organized as Presbyterians. In December, 1851, the name was changed to First Congregational and the change was perfected January, 15, 1852. The original members were James Gilmore, Catharine Gilmore, Frederick Packard, John McPherson, Alexander Edgar, Eliza P. Smith and Julia Smith; in all seven persons, six by letter and one by profession. On December 27, 1850, Frederick Packard and James Gilmore were elected deacons after a day of special fasting and prayer. Among the early additions to the church were Charles W. Monroe and Mrs. Susan M. Monroe in 1851. In 1852 nine additional members were received. In December, 1851, the name and policy of the church was changed from Presbyterian to Congregational. Even as late as 1870 the church continued and still sustained its connection with the Presbyterian and Congregational conventions of Wisconsin. For the local and better organization of the church and congregation, a meeting was held January 15, 1852, and the name was changed to the First Congregational Church and Society of Appleton. The lot on which the church stood was a gift from Amos A. Lawrence. The first meetings for worship were held on the north side of College avenue, a few doors west of Oneida street, next to Hanna’s block, and afterwards in a hall opposite the old church. The construction of the first church commenced in February, 1852, Those interested went five miles into the forest and cut and hauled the timber and by their personal labor and self sacrifice erected the church.
The building was 36×45 feet; it was not completed until the fall of 1854 and cost a little less than $2,000. Of this amount $250 came from the Congregational building fund, $250 from certain brokers of Wall street, through the efforts of the pastor; $125 from the ladies sewing society, and $50 from Mr. Dwight of Clinton, New York. The house was dedicated in January, 1854. The bell weighing 1,000 pounds was purchased by the ladies’ sewing circle. The lamps first used were donated by a gentleman from Boston and cost $27. The chandeliers costing $155 were presented by the Sabbath school sewing society. In 1869 a pipe organ valued at $2,000 was obtained by subscription and installed in the church. The first pastor was Rev. Charles W. Monroe, a minister of the American Home Missionary Society. In 1854 H. H. Benson succeeded him. In 1858 Franklin B. Doe became pastor. Rev. Mr. Dickinson came in 1869. The principal revivals of the church were held in winter of 1854 when twenty-four persons united; in 1857, in 1862 and in 1865. In 1865 the revival was important and the pastor was assisted by Rev. Mr. Potter of Connecticut. This revival added many to the membership. During the early years the membership was increased as follows: 1851, 17; 1852, 15; 1853, 7; 1854, 36. By 1869 the aggregate membership reached 407, but was reduced leaving 242 as the actual membership in December, 1869.
On April 29, 1851, a religious convention was held at Neenah, to voice public sentiment against desecrating the sabbath by running boats on the river and lake. The following persons from Appleton were present: Rev. A. B. Randall, Rev. W. H. Sampson, R. R. Bateman, Henry L. Blood, J. F. Johnston, L. C. Randall, R. 0. Kellogg, A. W. Kellogg, Charles H. Monroe and Frederick Packard. A call for a Sunday school convention was issued at this meeting.
“The new Presbyterian church has just received its first coat of paint. We hope to see it open for worshippers this summer.” — (Crescent, April 23, 1853.)
“Another Church. — The Catholic denomination have received a donation of a building lot in the vicinity of the courthouse and will, we are informed, proceed to erect a spacious church upon it this summer. This denomination is not numerous in Appleton, but they outnumber all others in the county.” — (Crescent, April 23, 1853.)
“The fair held on Tuesday evening at the ‘Edgarton’ by the Ladies’ Sewing Circle in aid of the Congregational Church was attended by a large number of the ladies and gentlemen of this place and Menasha and passed off very pleasantly. The net amount received was about $120. There was quite a tasteful array of useful and ornamental articles and the supper was excellent.” — (Crescent, July 30, 1853.)
“Rev. Mr. Crampton spoke here in behalf of the Maine law on Tuesday evening. He was listened to with marked attention and appreciation by a large concourse of our citizens.” — (Crescent, October 8, 1853.) The Outagamie Division, No. 119, Sons of Temperance, was in existence at this time. Among the members were William H. Sherwin, Samuel Ryan, Jr., Orson W. Clark, Cyrenus E. Bement, Chauncey D. Foote, Ransom Law, John C. Ryan, Andrew T. Sherwood, William H. Rogers, James W. Letcher and L. L. Hulse. The lodge was just established by grand officer Mr. P. Freeman. The Crescent favored the Maine (prohibitory) law.
“The Methodists have held meetings, almost every evening in the chapel of the University during the present month and over eighty persons have professed a change of heart and life.” — (Crescent, December 17, 1853.) * * “The Methodist denomination is by far the largest in this village; we presume the membership is about 120. The sum of $2,000 has already been subscribed toward a church.” — (Same.)
“More Churches. — A subscription for the erection of an Episcopal church in Appleton has been in circulation the past week and $950 is subscribed. The new Congregational Church in this town will be completed and dedicated in a few days.”-(Crescent, December 17, 1853.)
On January 19, 1854, Rev. J. C. Crawford preached in the schoolhouse at Appleton. The Sons of Temperance also had an organization called Outagamie Division, No. 119, which met in the hall over Bowen’s hotel.
The Methodist ministers who attended the Appleton district of the Wisconsin Conference were Elmore Yocum, W. H. Sampson, Edward Cooke, R. O. Kellogg and S. C. Phinney. Rev. E. Atkinson attended Grand Chute. Rev. Mr. Yocum attended Kaukauna. The lectures of President Cooke of Lawrence University were genuine treats to the early settlers of this community. He was a finished scholar, a man of broad gauge and earnest piety and the depth of his discourses, the beauty of his language and his eloquence called out large audiences whenever it was announced that he intended to speak. The chapel of the University was crowded to the doors on such occasions.
Early in 1854 the Methodists prepared to build a large church on college grounds a short distance east of Edgarton house. They secured from the university authorities a perpetual lease to the ground and the citizens generally contributed to the erection of the building. So great was the rush of the students at the university in the spring of 1854 that Edgarton house was transformed into a boarding house for their use. Even then the demand was not half satisfied and private families were obliged to receive many of the students.
Early in February, 1854, the ladies of Appleton gave a donation party for the benefit of destitute widows and others needing assistance. There was a large attendance, the net results being $120.87. Sales of articles made afterwards increased the amount to about $150. Among those active in this movement were Mrs. Mary Parish, Mrs. Emily Smith, Mrs. Caroline S. Robinson, Daniel Huntley, Judge W. Johnston, R. A. Lawe, G. M. Robinson and Waite Cross. Of the above amount a few persons in Centre township contributed $20; their names were not given. In February, 1854, the following citizens gave a donation or benefit party for the benefit of Rev. Elmore Yocum, the Methodist pastor, at the National Hotel in Appleton: Judge W. Johnston and lady, A. C. Darling and lady, William Rork and lady, J. G. Brownell and lady, Henry L. Blood and lady, Prof. J. M. Phinney and lady, Samuel Ryan, Jr., and lady, Robert Morrow and lady, John F. Johnston and lady, George H. Myers and lady, James W. Letcher and lady, Dr. Mark A. Mosher and lady, D. C. Weston and lady, James Hanchett and lady, W. T. Richmond and lady, Dr. S. E. Beach and lady, Mr. Adkins and lady, Dr. Byron Douglass and lady, John P. Parish and lady, John Moodie and lady, G. M. Robinson and lady, R. R. Bateman and lady, Messrs. C. C. Roberts, Duncan Johnston, Prof. R. O. Kellogg, James Ryan, J. A. Loomis, S. W. Harris, W. P. Stowe, T. R. Hudd, John Elliot, M. S. Beach, Leigh Randall, DeWitt C. Bowen, Ansel B. Buggs, Alexander Atwell and the Misses J. A. Rork, Jane I. Adams, Dayton, Weston, E. S. Darling, E. A. Maxwell, F. M. Tiffany, H. E. Woodward, L. A. A. Smith, Lorinda Blood, M. A. Dartt, Ada M. Grant, L. A. Sprout, E. A. Bailey. Early in 1854 Rev. Charles Munroe was the Congregational pastor at Appleton.
Appleton in early years was noted for its liberality and toleration in matters of religion. In the winter of 1853-4 a donation party for the benefit of two widows, one a Catholic and one a Methodist was largely attended and the donations from all classes and sects were made without regard to religious affiliation. It was believed that nowhere else in the West could such toleration be found. This fact was published by the Crescent to refute a statement going the rounds of the press, that no one could live in Appleton and prosper unless he belonged to the Methodist church.
The cornerstone of the Methodist Episcopal Church was laid late in May, 1854, with appropriate ceremonies. There were a procession, music, singing and an able address by President Cooke.
In July, 1854, at a missionary meeting in the Methodist church at Appleton, held in the chapel of the university, there was contributed the amount of $114.75. On this occasion the leading speaker was Rev. J. L. Williams of Green county. He was followed by Prof. N. E. Cobleigh who was recently called from Lawrence University to the presidency of McKendree college in Illinois. President Cooke also addressed the assembly. It was noted at the time that all citizens contributed, regardless of creed or sect. The Crescent asked, “What eastern village of equal population can excel Appleton in this particular?”
By the first of July, 1854, the frame of the new Methodist church building was enclosed and work was in progress on the steeple. The building contained a basement, but the church proper was reached above by a flight of stairs. This congregation previously met at the Congregational church. President Cook was given much credit for bringing the work to its present state of completion.
The Methodist Episcopal Church of Appleton was 50×60 feet and located on College avenue, nearly opposite the University. It was built in 1854, seated about six hundred persons and cost $5,500. The society was organized in connection with the Oshkosh Mission in 1844 and first consisted of twelve persons. The first sermon preached in Appleton was by Rev. A. B. Randall of the Oshkosh Mission, in what was known as Johnston’s Shanty. Until the erection of the church, services were held in the chapel of the academy, which was afterward burned. Following Mr. Randall were Revs. Cornelius Smith, W. A. Thompson, C. G. Lathrop and S. W. Ford. In 1852 Appleton was set apart as a separate station. The pastors thereafter were Yocum, McDonald, Redfield, Pease, Aspinwall, Himebaugh, Bennett, Anderson and Fallows, up to 1864. Previous to that date there were three or four immense revivals connected with the history of the church. The membership at this date numbered 283. The Sunday school was first organized in March, 1849, by Rev. A. B. Randall. It was reorganized in the September following and W. Rork was elected superintendent. The school numbered 180 scholars in 1865, and H. L. Blood was superintendent.
An important organization of the ladies of Appleton early in 1854 was a sewing society to which nearly all belonged. At times over two hundred ladies were engaged in the charitable work. This movement reflects the highest credit upon the early settlers of this community. Thy usually met at the National Hotel. They extended aid not only to charitable objects, but to the churches and the pastors and all praiseworthy movements. During the, winter of 1853-4 there was received from membership fees $32.25 and the total receipts amounted to nearly $200. A branch of this organization was called the “Ladies’ Parsonage Aid Society” which was organized October 19, 1853, its principal object being to furnish the parsonage suitably. At the time of organization it had only 14 members, but by March, 1854, it numbered 63 ladies and 49 gentlemen.
In February, 1854, President Cooke delivered a memorable address on the “Authenticity of the Bible.” The subject was announced in advance and the chapel was crowded to the doors. Many were obliged to retire owing to the impossibility of getting inside. It was a powerful address fully appreciated by all who had the good fortune to hear it.
The literary exercises at Lawrence University were attended usually by the citizens of Appleton and vicinity. They were held Saturday morning of each week and much interest was shown by the citizens and a sharp spirit of rivalry was exhibited by the students themselves. There were several societies and the contests were interesting and instructive.
The committee appointed at the donation party held at the house of John F. Johnston in February, 1854, reported that the amount contributed by all reached the sum of $125.77. Of that amount $24.27 was in cash. Large amounts of clothing and provisions were donated and distributed by the committee. The ladies acting at this donation were Mrs. John P. Parish, Mrs. Geo. M. Robinson and Mrs. Perry I. Smith. The donations were intended for the benefit of Mrs. Toner and Mrs. Coffin. Connected with this movement were Daniel Huntley, C. Johnston, Rolla A. Law, Geo. M. Robinson and Wait Cross.
The Baptist church at Appleton was first organized at a school house in 1854 with sixteen members. A building was erected in 1859, 38×58 feet, and seated about 350 persons. It cost about $3,000, but improvements later increased the cost to about $5,000. By 1865 the membership including the Ellington branch of fifteen members, comprised eighty-three members. Of these twenty-eight were members in 1861. The church was originally supplied twice a month by Rev. James Andem whose labors extended less than one year. In November, 1855, Rev. S. Hewett succeeded him and held the position five years. In June, 1861, Rev. D. H. Cooley became pastor and under him the membership in four years was more than doubled. At this date, 1865, Mr. Cooley also ministered to, fifty members of a church at Menasha. In 1865 the Sunday school numbered about 100 with B. B. Murch superintendent. The church possessed a school organ valued at $150.
The Congregational church in 1865 had an organ-melodeon valued at $350 and the Methodist church one valued at $525.
Late in 1854 a paper was circulated to secure subscriptions with which to build an Episcopal church in Appleton. Meetings were held and the subscription list was much increased. There were Methodist, Congregational, Episcopal and Baptist religious services here at this time. In December the Methodists temporarily occupied the basement of their new church although it was yet in an unfinished condition; religious services were held there every evening late in the summer.
The Fond du Lac Union in 1854 called Appleton a “Puritan Village.” The people of Appleton accepted the appellation as a compliment. The remark was occasioned by the fact that this community refused to tolerate saloons. “Liquor selling is not permitted by the Appleton Puritans,” it was declared. The united Sunday schools of the Protestant denominations of Appleton held a celebration early in October. The Appleton Saxhorn Band furnished the music. The procession was long and attractive and a picnic dinner was enjoyed by several hundred children. Rev. E. Yocum and Prof. N. E. Cobleigh addressed the children at the picnic grounds. In the fall the Methodist appointments for this locality were as follows: A. E.Yocum with A. B. Randall as supply; Lawrence University, E. Cooke, D. D., N. E. Cobleigh, J. S. Prescott, agent, all three being members of the Appleton Quarterly Conference. I. M. Leihy was tract agent at Appleton.
At the meeting held in the Methodist Episcopal church in January, 1855, for the purpose of raising funds to complete the building, there was secured the sum of $510. There was thus left only about $700 of indebtedness on the church. The following were the ministerial appointments of the Methodist Episcopal church in this conference: In the Appleton district E. Yocum was presiding elder; C. G. Lathrop was missionary to the Oneida reservation; J. Rinehart was stationed at Hortonville; Edward Cooke was president of Lawrence University; N. E. Cobleigh, R. Z. Mason, professors, were likewise ministers of the church, and J. S. Prescott, agent of the University, was also permitted to preach in the conference. All of the above were members of the Appleton quarterly conference.
In January a large audience assembled to the Methodist church to hear S. M. Hewlett, state lecturer of the Sons of Temperance, on the subject of prohibition. He was a strong speaker and delivered an address of unusual power. His sallies of wit, humor and mimicry were far beyond all comparison. In January, 1855, the Appleton Saxhorn band gave a concert at the courthouse for the benefit of Mr. Johnston. He was leader of the band, had freely given his services to its progress and success, and now should be rewarded, it was said.
The Fond du Lac Ministerial Association met at Appleton, February.
Sermons were preached by N. E. Cobleigh, M. M. Bennett, M. Himebaugh and I. M. Leihy. Essays were read by E. Yocum, E. Cook, J. S. Prescott, R. Z. Mason, W. E. Sampson, William Spell and F. G. Lathrop. Remarks were made by F. C. Golden, A. B. Randall and N. Himebaugh.
In March, 1855, a donation for the benefit of Rev. E. Yocum was held in the basement of the Methodist church in Appleton. There were present R. R. Bateman and lady; William Johnston and lady; Major S. Macy, Jr., and lady, S. C. Darling and lady, J. G. Brownell and lady, Stephen Sherwin and lady, D. M. Johnston and lady, George M. Robinson and lady, B. F. Barron and lady, John Rosenkrans and lady, Rev. J. S. Prescott and lady, Matthew Wright and lady, George W. Gregory and lady, C. G. Adkins and lady, J. C. Brownell and lady, Capt. A. Story, S. S. Randall, Mark H. Lyon, Thomas E. Brown, George Johnston, Mrs. Johnston, Miss H. E. Woodward, Miss Beech, Miss Maxwell and Miss Kellog. There were present over 300 persons. All took supper and the donations in all aggregated about $170. It was said by the Crescent that, “It was altogether the pleasantest party ever assembled in this village.”
In March the report having been circulated that the family of widow Grignon, residing a few miles west of the courthouse was in a state of distress from sickness and poverty, a donation party was given them to supply their needs. The Sons of Temperance tendered the use of their hall, notices were given in the churches, and on Wednesday evening a large crowd assembled. The Crescent said, “And such a crowd; there was hardly standing room; ladies and gentlemen, young and old, were there with their mite; the sum received in all was over $130. A committee consisting of Mrs. Sherwin, Mrs. Stephens, Mrs. Lawe, Mrs. Conkey and Mrs Letcher, were appointed to dispense the donation. Power was given the committee to relieve from this fund other needy widows and their children. This was the fourth donation within two months, making in the aggregate over $450 in contributions; and at least $50 more was contributed privately during that time to the relief of others. A man having died on the improvement works leaving his family in destitution, the Irish and Dutch laborers unostentatiously raised over $140 for their relief. “Actions speak louder than words.” These instances were given by the Crescent to show the generosity and humanity of the people of Appleton.
In May Rev. E. Atkinson preached in the church at Appleton; Rev. J. W. Preston preached in the courthouse and Rev. Dr. Randall held services in the Methodist church. Rev. E. Yocum, Rev. Prof. Cobleigh and Rev. J. W. Preston preached regularly in Appleton, Menasha and Neenah. In May the Methodist denomination at Appleton was unable to raise the whole amount necessary to complete their church. The community were asked to come forward and assist in the completion of that structure. Between $500 and $600 additional was necessary. Late this year the Baptists, though few in numbers in Appleton, made preparations to build a church the coming season. In the meantime they occupied the courthouse for religious services. Rev. Mr. Hamilton, a man of merit and ability, preached to this congregation.
In February, 1856, a large meeting was held at the Methodist church in Appleton to consider the practicability and expediency of enforcing the liquor law in this village. Joseph Stowe was chosen chairman and Daniel Huntley secretary. The meeting passed strong resolutions against the liquor traffic. One of which was as follows: “that we appoint a vigilance committee of five to act for the temperance interests, whose duty it shall be to notify the proper authorities of all violations of the liquor laws coming within their knowledge.” This committee was as follows: S. P. Ming, Jackson Tibbits, R. R. Bateman, Samuel Ryan, Jr., and Dr. Edward Cooke. Another resolution was as follows: “that we appoint a committee of three, consisting of W. S. Warner, Waite Cross and Joseph Stowe, whose duty it shall be to obtain the names of those who are willing to be assessed and the amount to pay expenses of prosecutions.” The house at this meeting was filled to over-flowing. There was sharp debate, some favoring stringent measures and others doubting the advisability of severity. The resolutions adopted represented the true sentiment of the better class of citizens and meant eternal hostility to the liquor traffic.
The anniversary meeting of the Outagamie Bible Society was held in the university chapel late in February, 1856. The meeting was addressed by Rev. Mr. Elliott, the state agent, and by Rev. Messrs. Hamilton, of the Baptist church, Benson, of the Congregational church and McDonald of the Methodist church. A subscription of about $75 was taken up after which the following officers were chosen for the coming year: President, Rev. H. H. Benson; vice-presidents, Revs. McDonald and Hamilton; secretary, Prof. N. E. Cobleigh; treasurer, Prof. J. M. Phinney; directors, Rev. Dr. Cooke,Waite Cross and Prof. R. Z. Mason.
In the spring of 1856 the Catholics of Appleton made preparations to build a church in the Third ward during the coming summer. The Catholics were now more numerous than any other religious denomination in the county. They already had a large church at Little Chute and one in the town of Freedom. In the immediate vicinity of Appleton they were numerous and wealthy.
“Bishop Simpson of the Methodist Episcopal church preached the best discourse in the College chapel on Sunday last which we have ever heard in this state. His God-like advice to ministers to go up into the Mount and not to meddle with sectarianism was worthy to be emblazoned in letters of gold. He told them that they must beware how they plunged into the political maelstrom; that they would find as sincere Christians in the ranks of the other side as in the ranks of their own; and that they should be careful not to turn the pulpit into a political engine.” — (Crescent, October 4, 1856.)
In December an important protracted meeting was held in the Congregational church, Appleton, under the ministration of Rev. H. H. Benson, pastor. It continued for three weeks and a considerable accession to the membership was secured. Rev. Parker of Michigan assisted Rev. Benson. Much of the credit for the success of this revival was due to ten or a dozen ladies of the congregation who spared no effort to make it effective. During the revival 100 persons were converted or reclaimed and joined the church.
In January, 1857, a large revival meeting was conducted in the Methodist church in Appleton; for some three weeks meetings were conducted day and night and a considerable accession to the membership was secured.
On January 25, the anniversary meeting of the Outagamie County Bible Society was held in the College chapel. Rev. Mr. Elliot the agent was present and delivered an interesting address. About $60 was subscribed for the society. Other addresses were made by Revs. McDonald and Benson. The following officers were elected for the coming year: Rev. H. H. Benson, president; Rev. Dr. Edward Cooke, vice-president; Rev. R. Z. Mason, secretary; H. S. Marsh, treasurer, and Anson Ballard, James M. Phinney and Rev. A. Hamilton, directors. Resolutions organizing village or branch societies throughout the county were passed. The places selected were New London, Stephenville, Apple Creek, Medina and Freedom. The Catholics selected the site for their church in the Third ward and made preparations to build a large structure during the coming year. They were presented with a lot by Adam Mertez. Early this year the Methodists of the Third ward selected a site for their new church and hoped to have it ready to be occupied within eighteen months at the farthest. About the middle of March the members of the Congregational church of Appleton surprised their pastor, Rev. H. H. Benson, with a donation visit, on which occasion they left him a goodly sum of money. In March the parishioners of the Baptist church at Appleton, numbering in all about 400 persons, called upon their pastor, Rev. A. Hamilton, and left him in money and presents a substantial testimonial of their regard for his exertions in their behalf.
It was announced in May that an Episcopal church was soon to be organized in Appleton. Occasional services of that denomination had been held here by Rev. Mr. Edmonds late of Green Bay. At this time Amos A. Lawrence of Boston donated a lot in Appleton where it was expected the new church would be built. Mr. Lawrence was in Appleton at this time While here he was greatly honored by the students of the University and by the citizens generally; his noble contributions of the past were not forgotten by the people of this community.
The Third Ward Methodist church was organized early in August and elected the following trustees: Edwin Atkinson, Samuel Ryan, Jr., Wm. Griffis, Joseph Rork, Byron Douglas, S. P. Sherwin, T. W. Brown, E. Spencer and John Dillon. The trustees called for subscriptions to be used in building a new church. They expected to locate the site shortly and designed to erect the house yet in 1857.
In September the Congregational church was presented by a number of its members and by the music loving citizens of Appleton was an organ-harmonium. The Methodist church in the Third ward was located at College avenue and Cherry streets; by the last of September about $1,000 was subscribed towards its erection. The subscription committee were E. Atkinson, Joseph Rork and Samuel Ryan, Jr. In October the Congregational church organized as such and prepared to enlarge their house of worship. A subscription was raised and steps looking to that result were taken. The trustees of the church were Anson Ballard, Jackson Tibbits, Alfred Galpin, James Gilmore and Joseph McNeil.
The winter term of Lawrence University ended about the middle of March. The Crescent said, “A number of the wildest young scamps that ever cursed a community will now take their leave we hope, never to return. If men who spell God with a little g can’t produce better behaved sons they had better stop shrieking over the bad government in Kansas and spend their time in improving their own domestic relations.” It was announced that Prof. M. C. Cobleigh of Lawrence University had just been elected president of McKendree college in the southern part of Illinois. The people here hoped he would not accept because they did not wish to lose so able, useful and prominent a man.
In 1858 a wave of spiritual manifestation swept over the country, reached Appleton and occasioned much interest and even excitement. Several spiritual seances were organized and persons were converted to that belief.
“A very extensive religious revival prevails among the Catholic churches and congregations in the Valley of the Fox, some six or seven devoted, exemplary priests being constantly engaged in ministering to the spiritual welfare of the people. Over 11,000 persons scattered between Oshkosh and Green Bay and on the Peninsula have partaken of the holy communion this spring and a very excellent state of religious feeling prevades the hearts of old and young. God speed the good work.” — (Crescent, June 5, 1858.)
In March the Congregational church members in Appleton gave a donation feast to their pastor, Rev. H. H. Benson, and left behind a substantial sum of money and other desirable things. The Baptists were building a church near the Second ward school house. A project of putting up a large hotel by a joint stock company was being discussed. W. S. Warner built a large frame store, and E. Goodwin a large shoe store. By the middle of April the Baptists had nearly completed their fine new church in the Second ward. Within a few months it was expected that they would occupy the new building.
In 1858-9 Rev. J. H. Jenne was presiding elder of the Appleton District. Rev. P. B. Pease was stationed at Appleton; Rev. E. Peterson at New London and Hortonville; Rev. D. Lewis at the Oneida Indian Mission, and Rev. J. T. Suffron at Greenville. The president and several professors of the Lawrence University were members of the Appleton Methodist quarterly conference, and as such could hold religious services any where within the limits of that district. In April Mrs. C. M. Stowe of Fond du Lac delivered two lectures here on the subject of Spiritualism. Large and intelligent audiences listened to her addresses, which were delivered in Cronkhite hall.
In July, 1858, the First Congregational church of Appleton was left without a pastor by the resignation of Rev. H. H. Benson. He preached his farewell discourse to an immense audience. The Baptist, the Second ward Congregational and the Third ward Methodist Sunday Schools of Appleton held a union picnic on the bluff above Grand Chute late in August, 1858. The day was beautiful and the little children enjoyed themselves immensely. Ferris’ band supplied the music. Addresses were delivered by Revs. Pond, of Neenah, and Pease, Cobleigh and Hamilton of Appleton. The tables were loaded with good things for the little ones and the day was passed pleasantly and happily. In November the Methodist congregation surprised their pastor, Rev. P. D. Pease, with a donation visit, on which occasion they left a valuable testimonial of their high high regard. The Congregational church was enlarged by the addition of thirty feet on the rear. In December the president of Lawrence University purchased a large dwelling at the corner of Lawrence and Durkee streets recently owned by Mr. Webb, and fitted it up in excellent style as a dormitory for the accommodation of young ladies attending the university.
In February, 1859, the Second Ward Congregational Church, which had been enlarged and greatly improved, was again opened for services. In March the pastor of the Second Congregational Church surprised his audience by denouncing in unqualified terms the use of tobacco. Up to this time little had been said against the use of that weed, but from this time forward the temperance cause included tobacco in its campaign. The Crescent said: “It is hard to teach old dogs new tricks. Not one in a score of confirmed users of the weed can stop at once without endangering health and perhaps life.” In May the Crescent said that in Outagamie county there were eight churches and twenty-one ministers. This was stated in reply to a published article which gave Outagamie county only two churches and one minister. In June, over two hundred children belonging to the different Sabbath schools of Appleton were feasted at the Baptist church and enjoyed themselves. In June, the Baptists held a festival at their church which netted about $70. A splendid supper was given to which tickets were sold. The ladies deserved and received great praise for bringing about so excellent a result on short notice. The Grand Chute band furnished music. Brief remarks were made by Dr. Cooke, Rev. Doe and others.
Late in July, 1859, the Sunday schools of Appleton united and gave a celebration on the beautiful grounds of Mr. Pierce on the bluff in the Third ward. The schools represented here were the Baptists, Third Ward Methodists, First Ward Methodists, Congregationalists, and the school in Kling’s neighborhood. Through a mistake other schools in the county were not present. About 300 children and adults formed in procession and, headed by the home band, marched through the streets until the grounds were reached. The Appleton Belle brought down 110 from Fond du Lac and about 400 from Menasha. Through another mistake the Appleton schools began their feast before the arrival of the Neenah delegation. The Presbyterian, Methodist and Congregational schools of Neenah, to the number of 490, accompanied by a brass band, arrived on the steamer Appleton Belle on the second trip. In all there were about 2,500 persons present. The assembly was addressed by ex-Governor Seymour and Mr. Douglas of New York, Revs. Pease and Doe of Appleton, and Revs. Baldwin, Marshall and Hoyt of Fond du Lac, and others. The splendid picnic dinner was enjoyed by all, particularly the little folks. In July, Rev. H. N. Strong, a Swedenborgian, lectured at the College chapel on the doctrines of that denomination. A large audience assembled to hear what the new religious faith meant. By the last of July, the Baptist church in the Second ward of Appleton was nearly completed, and its dedication was announced for the early fall.
The frame of the second new church for the Catholics was erected in the Third ward early in August. The building was a frame, 40×66 feet, 25 feet high, and stationed a few rods west of the courthouse. During the summer the Congregational Church gave their pastor, Mr. Doe, a vacation of six weeks and $100 to defray his expenses. Late in August, the Catholics of Appleton erected a substantial church in the Third ward. It was a large and commodious building and was immediately occupied by that denomination.In August, the Baptist church of Appleton was dedicated with the usual imposing ceremony. The services were conducted by Rev. Mr. Hamilton, pastor, assisted by Revs. Pease, Miner, Sharp and Jenne. The discourse was rendered by Mr. Hamilton. From the report of D. C. Jenne, one of the trustees, the church and grounds, including the fittings, cost a total of $2,900, of which $2,300 was already raised, leaving a debt of only $600. In August, the members of the First Congregational Church of Appleton presented their pastor, Franklin B. Doe, with a purse of $100 and gave him six weeks’ vacation.
The ladies of the First Congregational Church held a fair December 22, the receipts amounting to about $175. The fair was held in Cronkhite hall, there being a large attendance. The receipts were to be devoted to the purchase of the bell for the church building.
In 1859, J. H. Jenne was presiding elder of the Methodist Church of this district; Rev. D. Lewis was pastor of the Oneida Indian Mission, and Rev. L. L. Krok was pastor at Lawrence University. Late this year it was announced that Rev. F. B. Doe, who had been active pastor of the Congregational Church in Appleton during the previous year, would be installed as permanent pastor of that congregation. The installation sermon was preached by Rev. Mr. Helmer.
The Episcopal Church at Appleton was organized in the spring of 1860 in what was called McCaughey’s hall. Rev. Mr. Atkinson was the first pastor and officiated one year. Owing to the smallness of the society for the succeeding two years, few services were held. In July, 1862, Rev. Simeon Palmer recommenced services first in the courthouse and afterward for about one year in Warner’s hall, where they were continued until January, 1864. After that date the society occupied the Baptist church. Ulnder Mr. Palmer the first church structure was undertaken and built, and was highly a credit to him and the congregation. He was succeded by Rev. Lewis P. Tschffely. By March, 1865, the membership numbered 123, and the congregation averaged between 100 and 150. The Sunday school, under the superintendency of Mr. Wilbur, numbered between fifty and sixty scholars. The church was built on a large lot which was partly the donation of P. H. Smith. The first communion services of the Episcopal Church were held by a pastor from Fond du Lac.
The Catholic church in Grand Chute, at the corner of State and Seventh streets, was completed in October, 1860, after which services were held regularly to a rapidly increasing, congregation. This church was first organized by Rev. Father Pfieffer, who was stationed at Little Chute in 1859. In 1860 the society numbered sixty-seven; in 1865 it had over 140 members. It was announced in the spring of 1865 that the size of the church would be increased under the ministry of Father Dael.
In January, 1860, the young ladies of Appleton organized themselves into a charitable society, the object being to supply clothing for those children whose parents were unable to do so, in order that they might attend Sunday school. Another society, a branch of the former, was composed of little girls, which was interested in the same cause.
The Episcopal Church at Appleton was duly organized in March and April. By a vote it was decided to call the church “Grace.” The wardens chosen were Edward Atkinson and W. L. Malone. The vestrymen were Samuel Ryan, Jr., R. P. Eaton, L. L. Randall, T. G. Reed and William Johnston. Services were held every Sabbath at McCaughey’s hall on Oneida street.
The Good Templar’s celebration in June, under the trees near the Grand Chute, was a memorable and enjoyable affair. J. F. Johnston was chairman and speeches were delivered by E. F. Edgarton and others. Grand Chute band furnished the music. Delegations from Neenah, Menasha and Hortonville were present.
The members of the Congregational Church paid a donation visit to Rev. Atkinson in September, 1860, passed an agreeable evening in social conversation; the ladies provided a liberal supper and the guests left $36 in money as the token of the high esteem in which their pastor was held. In the autumn, after the completion of the Catholic church, a series of lectures on religious topics were delivered in that building by eminent priests of this county and of outside districts. Among the subjects of the lectures were “Evidences of Christianity,” “The Christian Religion Substantiated,” etc. This movement of the Catholic Church resulted in a large accession to its membership.
In 1860, M. Himebaugh was presiding elder of the Appleton Methodist district; P. S. Bennett was stationed at Appleton; C. J. Fairbanks at Greenville; D. Lewis at New London and Hortonville, and L. D. Tracy at the Oneida Indian reservation. The faculty of Lawrence University were likewise ministers, of this conference.
In December, the Methodist church in the First ward was large enough to accommodate the congregation. It was furnished with a gallery and seated about 600 persons. Rev. B. S. Bennett was pastor. The membership of the church at this time was about 250. The Congregationalists had a large church which also included a gallery, and was capacious enough to seat 250 people; its membership was over 100; Rev. F. B. Doe was pastor. The Baptist church was probably the best religious structure in the city at this time, and could seat 450; the membership was small, being only about 35; Rev. Hamilton was pastor. The Catholic church in the Third ward was new and the membership was approximately 200; the church seated about 500; Rev. Mr. Dael was pastor in charge; he was formerly located at Fond du Lac. The Methodist church had a melodeon and the other three had organs.
The ladies of the Methodist Church of Appleton prepared Christmas trees and a good time for the members of that congregation. A fine supper was supplied in the church and a reasonable price charged therefor. The Congregational Church likewise celebrated with Christmas trees and realized a goodly sum for church expenses. Rev. Mr. Thompson and the children of his Sunday school gave a concert in December, which was largely attended. The singing was above the average and a considerable sum was realized from the sale of tickets.
In January, 1861, the Protestant churches of Appleton organized a Sunday institute, where subjects connected with religious duties were introduced and discussed by the members. They were well attended and the best citizens took part in the debates.
Late in February, the ladies of the Congregational Church at Appleton held a fair and festival in Adkins hall. As a prelude beautiful songs were sung by a quartet of the best vocalists of the city, with piano accompaniment. Among the subjects represented were “The Fortune Teller,” “Mother,” “Evening Prayer,” “Contentment,” “Pocahontas,” “Mrs. Partington and Ike,” “The Pleiades,” and other interesting tableaux. About $90 was realized by this fair.
Late in June, the Methodist Society held a strawberry festival in Appleton and realized about $60. The ladies surpassed themselves in furnishing a splendid repast for a comparatively small price. In the fall, Rev. Mr. Himebaugh was presiding elder of the Appleton district; Joseph Anderson was pastor of the Methodist Church in Appleton; D. Lewis was pastor at New London; W. Willard was pastor to the Oneida Indian Mission.
In July, the Baptists of Appleton secured the services of Rev. D. H. Cooley as pastor. He was an able minister and became greatly beloved by his congregation. The Sabbath school of the Congregational Church of Appleton presented a beautiful bible to W. H. Patton upon his departure for the field. The presentation speech was made by Rev. Mr. Doe.
The Baptists held a church festival late in November, 1861, but owing to bad weather there was not a large crowd present. Rev. E. J. Goodspeed of Janesville delivered addresses on “Shakespeare” and “The Bible.” The Crescent said the lectures were rare masterpieces of literature and abounded in beautiful comparisons. The supper was excellent. The following evening Rev. Mr. Goodspeed assisted A. L. Fuller in rendering select readings from Shakespeare, which entertainment delighted the audience. The supper was repeated, and the proceeds were devoted to the use of the society. Rev. Mr. Goodspeed was a cousin of the publishers of this history.
By November, the Congregational church had become so crowded owing to the increased membership, that it was necessary to remove the orchestra and add a number of extra pews. Rev. F. B. Doe was still in charge and was very popular. Christmas in 1861 was observed on an extensive scale by all the churches of Appleton. The ladies of the Congregational society planned a splendid supper in Adkins hall. At the Catholic Church midnight mass was observed by a large congregation. The church was beautifully trimmed and perfectly illuminated; Rev. Father Dael officiated. On Christmas day, in the afternoon, the Baptist society held a social reunion, on which occasion they enjoyed a fine feast and listened to addresses from several prominent members. The Methodists also held a festival and the church was filled until standing room was at a premium. Two large Christmas trees reached to the ceiling and were loaded with presents for the members. At all of these Christmas services the children were given first place in consideration. The pastors delivered short and eloquent addresses to the Sabbath schools and to the members of the churches.
During Christmas the Congregational and Methodist churches gave their usual Christmas tree festivals, amid the proper religious services. The time-honored custom was emphasized on these occasions, and the entertainments rendered were enjoyed by large audiences.
By January, 1862, the Methodists of Appleton succeeded in lifting the heavy debt which had for many years hung over their church. Rev. Joseph Anderson was given the credit of effecting this result.
The following is the substance of a description of Hortonville published in the Crescent, January 11: “The neat church stood on an eminence commanding a fine view of the surrounding country; another church still larger was in process of erection; a large two-story schoolhouse was occupied; one of the best taverns and one of the largest in the state was in this village; there were several large stores, mills and numerous shops.” Previous to February, the Methodists of Appleton were provided with good music by a select choir of young people of the church, but at this date the older members of the church decided to make a change and have congregational singing. After this was tried a few times all were very willing to return to the old order of affairs and permit the choir mentioned to conduct the singing. During the latter part of February, the Congregational and Baptist societies united and held revival services in Appleton. Much interest was awakened. Several ministers were present and large audiences assembled and goodly accessions to the membership were secured. By the middle of February, the Methodists began a revival which was likewise well conducted and successful.
“Great religious interest is still manifested in the different church societies in town. Meetings are still held nightly, and quite a number of persons have evinced a determination to lead a better life. It is some years since so general a revival has been enjoyed in our City.” — (Crescent, March 1, 1862.) The religious meetings continued well into March and the excitement and interest seemed to grow in volume. Rev. Mr. Marble of Oshkosh assisted the local ministers. Rev. Joseph Anderson and Rev. Mr. Himebaugh conducted services at the Methodist church.
The revival meetings continued during the latter part of March. Rev. Mr. Morrison of Oshkosh assisted. Forty persons in one week experienced a change of heart. The Methodist church was crowded nightly and addresses were made by different revivalists. This was reported as one of the most interesting and successful revival periods ever enjoyed by Appletonians.
It was announced March 22 that the converts in the different churches during the revivals already numbered nearly 150.
St. Patrick’s day, in 1862, was celebrated on a grand scale by the Irish citizens of Appleton and vicinity. High mass was celebrated in the morning. Rev. Dael preached in St. Mary’s church. In the morning a procession under the command of Matthew London proceeded to Adkins hall, where they enjoyed a feast and listened to speeches from several local orators. Numerous toasts were responded to by leading Irish citizens.
April 5, the Crescent said that as a result of the union revival in progress during the last six or seven weeks the Methodist Church secured additional members to the number of 86. The other societies, it was believed, secured nearly as many more. Late in April, Rev. Joseph Anderson’s congregation surprised him with a visit and made him a present of $100 in money and many useful articles of wearing apparel and a considerable quantity of edibles. The Methodist society gave Rev. Joseph Anderson, their pastor, a social visit and left with him a substantial sum of money.
It was announced late in May that the Episcopalians would soon begin the erection of their church on the northeast corner of Edwards and Appleton streets, and that the building would be an ornament to the city.
It was stated in July, that owing to the energy and tact of Rev. Reeder Smith, the Methodist Episcopal church at Menasha was saved from a sheriff’s sale. The Baptist convention, held in September, at Appleton, brought together a large concourse of people. The exercises were elaborate and interesting; many ministers from outside districts were present and addressed the audience which gathered in the church. Upon breaking up, the convention passed resolutions thanking the church and the citizens of Appleton for their Christian hospitality and interest in the meeting.
Early in October, 1862, the Catholic gave a great picnic for the benefit of the church. T. R. Hudd, J. C. Neville and Frederick Packard were invited to address the assemblage. Refreshments were served in the woods. The procession formed at the church and marched to the park of John D. Pierce in the Third ward.
About the middle of October, at a missionary collection taken in the Methodist church at Appleton, $88.50 was contributed. This was an unusually large amount considering the hard times. On Christmas the Methodist and Congregational societies united to furnish entertainment for their Sunday schools. They prepared large Christmas trees and loaded them with presents and gave a bountiful supper to the members of the churches and Sunday schools.
The Methodist Church on Christmas disposed of a Christmas tree and substituted therefor a representative of Santa Claus. There was a large crowd and a creditable performance by members of the Sunday school. The Baptist society had a Christmas tree on which was displayed many fine things for the children. The Congregational society did not observe the occasion publicly, but united with the Methodists in their celebration. The religious services in the Catholic church were impressive. The church was brilliantly illuminated at midnight when high mass was celebrated by a blaze of lighted candles reflecting beautifully upon the gilded altar and the rich church ornaments. The room was crowded with members and their friends. Father Dael officiated at high mass and preached the Christmas sermon.
In January, 1863, Revs. F. B. Doe, J. Anderson and D. H. Cooley, pastors of the churches of Appleton, invited President Mason and the professors of Lawrence University to take an equal part in the union revival meetings, and asked that the former deliver the closing address at the college chapel on the subject, “The Government of the Passions.” Mrs. Theodore Conkey in January was instrumental in securing money, clothing and provisions for the family of a German who was killed by the Indians.
The ministers of the Methodist church of this district held a ministerial association in April, 1863, in Appleton, on which occasion many interesting services were held. Sermons, essays and criticisms were the order of exercises. The occasion ended with a Sabbath school demonstration. In August a large improvement was made to the Congregational church by which twelve feet and the bell tower were added to the front of the building.
In the fall of 1863, Rev. M. Himebaugh was presiding elder at Appleton. Rev. S. Fallows was the regular pastor at that point. Rev. W. Teal was situated at New London and Rev. W. Willard at the Oneida Indian Mission. In October and November, Rev. S. Palmer, pastor of the Episcopal society in Appleton, visited the east and while there secured subscriptions amounting to $1,000 to be used towards erecting a new church edifice in Appleton. On his return here he still further increased this amount so that the erection of the building in a short time was assured. Rev. Mr. Fallows, in November, attracted the attention of church-goers by his eloquent sermons. He spoke extemporaneously and his utterances were of the highest order of eloquence and piety. Under his pastoral labors the church was growing rapidly in numbers and in grace. Late in December, E. V. Wilson, a spiritualist lecturer, addressed a large audience in Adkins hall. Strange as it may seem, the members of the local churches took great interest in this lecture and many of them attended, no doubt from curiosity.
Early in February, 1864, the Catholics of Appleton called a mission for the period of one week. The exercises were conducted by Rev. A. Damen, the first Jesuit Father to preach in Appleton. Father Damen was known throughout the United States as an en- terprising and beloved missionary priest. He was loved by the Protestants as well, and among them made many converts to his faith.
In February and March a revival session was held in the Methodist church at Appleton and quite a large accession to the membership was secured. A donation given the Rev. Samuel Fallows late in April netted upwards of $100. This was considered a deserved tribute to his excellent service and faithfulness to his congregation. Late in May, Rev. McNeill, a Universalist, preached at Odd Fellows hall and took steps to organize a society of that denomination in this county.
In September, 1864, the Spiritualists held a convention in Appleton, which was largely attended. Over 100 delegates from different parts of the state were present and Col. Smedley of Oshkosh presided. The leading speakers were Rev. Benjamin Todd of Illinois; Rev. Moses Hull of Kalamazoo, and Mrs. E. S. Warner of Berlin. The exercises consisted in discussions and in the free interchange of opinions relative to spiritualism, orthodoxy receiving revere chastisement. A large number of citzens attended, the hall being comparatively crowded.
Late in June, 1864, the cornerstone of Grace church was laid by Right Rev. John Kemper, in accordance with the beautiful and impressive ceremony of the Episcopal ritual. A large number of valuable articles were deposited in the cornerstone. The pews in Grace church were to be free. In July, the Catholics of Appleton and vicinity held a most enjoyable picnic, with dinner, music, speeches, etc., at John D. Pierce’s park in the Third ward. They marched from the church to the park in a procession and paraded College avenue with banners and made a creditable appearance. About 4,000 attended the exercises. In October, S. P. Leland, who had previously been a spiritualist, but who had forsaken that faith, lectured in Appleton and professed to expose Spiritualism as a fraud. Before October, the Methodists of Appleton provided themselves with an excellent choir of male and female voices. They had had a choir earlier, but it was disbanded and this was really a reorganization. Their music alone drew many to hear the services. During Christmas, the Methodist, Baptist and Episcopalian Sunday schools gave Christmas trees and other interesting proceedings to large audiences. They held their meetings at different hours during the day.
Religious revivals were held in January, 1865, by the Methodists, Baptists and Congregationalists; all secured converts and accessions to their memberships.
On the fifth of March, 1865, thirty-three persons were received into the Congregational Church at Appleton; twenty-six by profession and 7 by letter. The present pastor, during his ministry here, had received 87 on confession of faith and 49 by letter; total 136.
By March 11, the religious revival in that church still continued. A converts’ meeting and an inquiry meeting were held regularly and were of great interest. Mr. Doe was greatly beloved by his congregation.
Early in April Rev. Samuel Fallows was succeeded in charge of the Methodist Church at Appleton by Rev. G. A. England, who had formerly been a student at Lawrence University. Early in June, a collection was taken in the Catholic Church of Appleton, under Father Dael, the pastor, for the benefit of the Wisconsin Soldiers’ Home, and amounted to $45.15. This was a good example, which the newspapers urged should be imitated by the Protestant churches. Of the Appleton Methodist district in 1865, P. S. Bennett was presiding elder; 0. J. Cowles was assigned to Appleton; I. Coles to New London; F. I. Bell to Hortonville, and J. Howd to the Oneida Indian Mission.
The religious societies in Appleton on Christmas, 1865, held their usual festivals, with Christmas trees, presents and a good social and religious time generally. The ladies of the Congregational Church in December, 1865, gave a splendid entertainment in Cronkhite hall, at which an immense crowd assembled, the receipts amounting to over $300.
During the early summer of 1866, the Catholics erected a church in the northwest corner of Greenville township. At the same time the Methodists were constructing one in the village of Hortonville on a lot donated by S. Collar. The Catholics were engaged in furnishing their church in Hortonville. The Catholics of Grand Chute and the town of Freedom also erected churches this year. In May, a meeting was held in the First Ward Methodist Church to further the cause of temperance, and was followed immediately by another held in the Congregational church. The principal speakers were Revs. Doe, Bennett and Cooley. The object of the meeting was to create a healthy public sentiment concerning the dreadful use of intoxicating liquors, by inducing the people to discard them totally from their homes. So long as people introduced liquor by their firesides, so long would intemperance prevail, it was argued.
In 1866, P. S. Bennett was appointed presiding elder of the Appleton district of the Methodist Church. G. M. Steele was appointed temporary pastor at Appleton. Hortonville was to be supplied. J. Houd was appointed to the Oneida Indian Mission. Appleton had the following religious societies: Catholic, Protestant, Episcopal, Methodist, Congregational and Baptist. The Lutherans held occasional meetings and the Spiritualists had started services. A Presbyterian Church was talked of and also a Synagogue.
The ceremony of blessing the Catholic cemetery near Appleton occurred in October, 1866. Before proceeding to the yard High Mass was sung in the church by Rev. Mazand of Peshtigo; then a sermon was preached on the subject of “Immortality of the Soul.” A procession was formed and marched to the cemetery, which was located on the eminence near Fox River. The people following numbered among its party Irish, Americans, Hollanders, Germans, French and Belgians. Upon reaching the cemetery the people erected a large cross, and the usual routine set forth in the Catholic ritual was observed. Concerning the cross the speaker said: “It is a sign or emblem of Christianity; a sign of faith; a sign of which we should not feel ashamed; the first sign or standard erected in America by Christopher Columbus; the first sign of civilization, religion and redemption planted in our own state of Wisconsin by the famous French missionaries. Additional, it is a sign of the love of Jesus Christ toward man.” The services as a whole were conducted by Rev. Father Dael.
On Thanksgiving day, 1866, the Congregational, Methodist and Baptist churches united and all listened to the sermon, delivered by Rev. G. M. Steele, president of Lawrence University, in the Congregational church, which seated the largest number. This sermon was published in full in the newspapers, and was one of great power and piety. It was really a courageous, far-seeing, eloquent and appropriate discussion of religion and politics combined. This service was held at the request of Revs. Doe, Olmstead and Cooley, pastors of the three churches. In December, the Crescent began to devote a department of its issue to the interests of religion. The rector of Grace Church secured one column of the first page, of which he had control regardless of the opinion of the paper. This he continued to conduct for a specified period of time. Church people enjoyed this department more than any other.
In January, 1867, the church debt of the Congregational society of Appleton was about $1,900. Much of this was owed to Anson Ballard, who threw off $900 in consideration of the early payment of the remainder, which was soon raised, and thus the entire indebtedness of the church which had existed so long was liquidated to the delight of the congregation. About the first of February, the Congregational, Methodist and Close Communion Baptists began a series of revival meetings under the auspices of Rev. J. D. Potter, a professional evangelist with a high reputation. The local pastors prepared to assist him in every way possible, and the meetings began with a large attendance and much enthusiasm.
Rev. D. H. Cooley, who severed his connection with the Baptist Church of Appleton in 1867, accepted a call from the Baptist society at Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He left for that point in November, 1867. St. Joseph’s Benevolent Association of Appleton was incorporated in March, 1868, with Rev. Wilkens, Fred Essar, Peter Kohl, Henry Hoffman, Gerhard Kamps, Jacob Kober, Johan Kuerten, Peter Mueder, Joseph Berg, Alexander Reuter, John Berg and Peter Reuter as the original incorporators.
The Fourth of July, 1867, was passed pleasantly but quietly at Appleton. A terrible storm the day before prevented a large attendance. The Methodist Sunday school paraded the streets in wagons decorated with flags and enjoyed a picnic near their church. Many other small picnic parties went off by themselves and enjoyed the day. The Lieder Kranz enjoyed a picnic and outing at Pierce’s beautiful park in the Third ward. They left the principal streets in a procession accompanied by a band and upon arriving at the grove appropriate remarks were made by several members of that organization. Doctor Davis delivered the principal speech. C. A. Hamer was called upon to deliver an address in German. In the afternoon there was target shooting, singing, running races, etc. At the close of the day the procession reformed and marched back to the avenue and dispersed. A grand ball at Adkins hall closed the services of the day.
C. H. Holbrook, a talented teacher of music, commenced giving vocal lessons in the Baptist church to a large number of scholars, the price of which was $2.50 for the winter term, 1867-8. By the spring of 1868 this class rendered several entertainments in public to large audiences, and their efforts and progress were highly appreciated by the citizens.
In January, 1868, at the annual meeting of the First Congregational Society of Appleton, the pews were rented for a total of $1,778; there were a few remaining and were later sold and in the end about $2,000 was realized from this source. The trustees announced that the expenses of the church during the previous year had all been met when presented. In January, C. P. Palmer organized singing classes as follows: At Stephensville, Woodward, Hortonville in Odd Fellows’ hall, and the schoolhouse two miles west from Young’s Corners. Rev. George Gibson, rector of Grace Church, Appleton, accepted a call from St. Stephen’s Church, Chicago, and left for his new field in February. He had been in charge of the local parish for two years and his going was greatly regretted.
Late in January, 1868, a considerable party of ladies and gentlemen from Appleton visited the Episcopal mission on the Oneida reservation, which was in charge of Rev. Mr. Goodenough. The attendance of the Indians was large; all were neatly dressed and were attentive and devotional; the singing and chanting were particularly fine. They were accompanied by music on an organ by an expert Indian musician. While there the visitors witnessed a marriage between a young Indian and a squaw. Both were apparently very bashful — one about as badly scared as the other.
It was announced in June, 1868, that the Methodists of Appleton intended to erect immediately a new church to cost upwards of $16,000, and that the present building would then be used either for Sunday schools and class meetings or else be sold to another denomination. Serious difficulties arose between the German Catholics and their former associates in the Catholic Church in Appleton in 1868, by which several suits resulted. All difficulty was finally settled by the payment of $2,000, the balance agreed upon between the Germans and other members of the congregation. The Germans prepared at once to build themselves a new church.
In the spring of 1868, the Lutherans of Appleton prepared to build a church for themselves to be called St. Paul’s Lutheran Church. Proposals were called for the stone work and the framework and plans and specifications could be seen at the business houses of George Kreiss and Louis Schintz. There were a sufficient number of that faith already here to warrant such a step. “A negro preacher held forth at the Methodist Church in this city on Saturday evening last. He was from Fond du Lac, and is engaged in raising money to furnish an African church in that city. We are bound to presume that a large amount was contributed, because nobody has furnished us with a statement thereof.” — (Crescent, August 15, 1868.) The resignation of Rev. F. B. Doe as pastor of the First Congregational Church of Appleton, after ten years of successful and popular ministry, took effect in September, 1868. He left to begin work under the auspices of the American Home Missionary Society. The church secured the services of Rev. C. H. Dickinson for one year, to be his successor.
The German Catholics of Appleton, formerly a part of the Catholic congregation of the Third ward, purchased the old school house of the Third ward, built an addition to it, and used it as a temporary church. They moved it to their lots near the College avenue ravine bridge. The Germans prepared to secure a German priest, while the older congregation continued to be presided over by an Irish priest.
At the annual meeting of the Outagamie Bible Association held in the college chapel on June 13, 1868, the following proceedings were had and the following officers were elected: Rev. G. M. Steele, D. D., president; Anson Ballard, vice-president; J. B. Pond, secretary; J. J. Watson, treasurer. The treasurer reported the total receipts at $370. The depository of the society was at the store of J. J. Watson, and there all religious books could be secured. The Equal Rights Association of Wisconsin, composed of women who desired the right of suffrage, held its second state convention at Fond du Lac in September. On the 13th of December, the venerable Bishop Melcher of Green Bay dedicated the German Catholic church in Appleton with the impressive ceremonies usual on such occasions. It became known as St. Joseph’s Catholic Church.
The Congregational Society of Appleton held a mammoth Sunday school festival in Metropolitan Hall about the middle of January, 1869. There were present at least 500 persons, old and young. It was a general affair, thrown open to all, and was participated in by the various local Protestant denominations. The clergy of the different congregations made short addresses. Medals for good conduct were distributed by the superintendent, Mr. Adkinson. His school presented him with a purse of $30 in token of its appreciation of his efforts in its behalf. In February, Rev. H. C. Dickinson received and accepted a call to the Congregational church in Appleton and was duly ordained on the fifth of February. The candidate sustained an examination in the church as to his Christian experience and doctrinal belief and acquitted himself with great credit. The services on this occasion were extremely interesting and several prominent clergymen from abroad were present. The old pastor, F. B. Doe, listened to the services. It was announced in February that Rev. Nussbaum, a German Catholic priest, had been appointed by the Bishop to officiate at the German Catholic Church in Appleton. The church at this time was very prosperous and growing rapidly and desired an able and permanent pastor to take it in charge.
In February a small society of Universalists held services in Metropolitan Hall. Miss Tupper of the Neenah and Menasha society preached to a large audience, many of whom came to hear a woman and to understand more of the Universalists’ faith. Services were advertised to be held by that society monthly thereafter. Miss Tupper’s rare oratory was greatly enjoyed. The members of the First Congregational Church of Appleton prepared greatly to enlarge their building during the spring and summer of 1869. They designed to build and enlarge so as to accommodate 200 more members. This was the third enlargement of their church. It was believed that their wisest policy was to construct a church with sufficient capacity for present and future needs and to cost not less than $2,500.
In March, St. Mary’s Catholic Church gave a fair and benefit in Metropolitan Hall during two evenings, and netted approximately $300. This was one of the largest sums ever raised aere in a similar manner for religious purposes. The Appleton Cornet band was present and furnished music and the entertainment and supper were exceedingly good. In March, the Congregational Society of Appleton prepared to purchase a pipe organ and circulated a subscription to secure funds with that object in view. They first decided to purchase one worth only $175, but many believed such an instrument would be too small for the church, and later it was resolved to buy a larger and costlier one.
In March, Rev. Mr. Robinson of the Baptist Church and Rev. Davenport of the Episcopal Church both resigned, though for what reason is unknown. By the first of April, the amount subscribed to the pipe organ for the Congregational Church was about $700. The church at last designed to purchase one costing about $1,000. It would have to be brought from Boston, where such instruments were manufactured.
Father Welch, priest of St. Mary’s Catholic Church, was transferred to Fort Howard. The Catholic society of Appleton, in April, 1869, bought a new lot at the corner of Durkee and Lawrence streets of William Hayes of Chicago for about $1,100. It was designed to erect on that lot some time in the future a church building to cost about $30,000. Several of the congregation objected to this location.
In April, it was announced that a discussion of the subject of spiritualism was to be held in Metropolitan Hall for five successive nights between Dr. Mason and Rev. Mr. Haddock. The question discussed was as follows: Resolved, that modern spiritualism is conducive to the moral good of human society. About the middle of May, representatives of the Boston Company installed in the Congregational church in Appleton the first pipe organ in the city, the cost being $2,200. It had fifty-four pipes and was in all respects an up-to-date and excellent instrument. The amount paid for this organ was raised almost wholly within the church itself, only about $100 coming from outside sources.
In May, Bishop Melcher of Green Bay consecrated two new beautiful bells donated to the German Catholic Church in the Third ward by the people of Appleton. The ceremonies were very interesting and were witnessed by an immense crowd of people. While here the Bishop administered the rights of confirmation to over eighty persons and baptized about as many infants.
“Spiritualism Discussed. — The discussion in this city closed on Saturday night last, five nights having been occupied in the debate. Rev. Mr. Haddock was better qualified with arguments and authorities than his opponent, Dr. Randall, who did not appear to have prepared himself for the fray. The interest in these discussions increased each evening, so that on Saturday night there may have been about 600 persons in the hall. On this last evening the raking up of all the dirtiness to be reached in the past history of some habitues connected with one of the churches in this city did not aid Mr. Randall’s side of the question, and disgusted many or most of those present. It was easy to notice which way the audience decided the result of this discussion in their own minds by the manifestations at different times during the evening.” — (Crescent, May 1, 1869.)
Concerning the sermons on Universalism preached by Rev. Miss Tupper in Metropolitan Hall in 1869, the Crescent said: “She is a gifted lady and preaches a sermon having depth of logic and eloquence unsurpassed in this city. Her congregation is rapidly increasing here.” In May, Rev. Mr. Peake of the Episcopal Church accepted a call from Appleton, Neenah and Menasha to come to Appleton to reside. Rev. J. W. Hanson, D. D., editor of the New Covenant, Chicago, a minister of the Universalist Church, preached in Metropolitan Hall in May to a large attendance. His great ability and profound learning made his lecture or sermon of great interest to the educated people residing in Appleton.
It was reported in August, 1869, that a representative of the Mormon Church was visiting Black Creek township and was making many converts, with the idea of either establishing a church there or of taking or inducing the converts to go with him to Utah.
The ladies of Grace Church, Appleton, in November held a fair and festival which netted over $130. A large attendance witnessed their interesting performance and participated in and enjoyed a splendid supper. Vocal and instrumental music was among the enjoyments. The Appleton cornet band gave their services gratuitously to the management. The proceeds were applied towards liquidating the indebtedness of their church. During the summer Rev. Miss Tupper appeared in Appleton every Sabbath and preached to a congregation of Universalists in Metropolitan Hall. The public generally were invited and many attended. Quite often the room was densely crowded.
The twenty-third session of the Wisconsin annual conference met in Appleton in September. Bishop Levi Scott presided. There were present nearly 150 visitors from all portions of the state and from many adjoining states. The proceedings were very interesting, many of the sermons being extremely eloquent and instructive. The citizens of Appleton enjoyed to the utmost the splendid exercises of this conference. Rev. P. D. Pease became presiding elder of the Appleton district; Revs. J. Houd and T. Orbison were assigned to.the Oneida Indian Mission; Rev. D. Lewis was assigned to Osborn and Rev. W. Woodruff to New London.
In 1870, St. Mary’s Catholic school was conducted in a small house near the church. It was started previous to 1861 under Rev. Father Dael, but later was closed for some time. In January, 1870, the school was re-opened and placed in charge of two Catholic sisters — Mary Thomasina and Mary Magdalene. The course of study was primary, and the enrollment by April was 129, with a daily attendance of about 95. In March, the County Sabbath school convention met in the Methodist church in Appleton. There was a comparatively small representation from other schools of the county. G. C. Haddock presided. Rev. Mr. Tilton of Fond du Lac and Rev. Hiram Foote addressed the convention. The proceedings were interesting and lasted throughout the day and evening. The building occupied by the Central school was formerly the Edgarton House. Rev. W. P. Gibson, a Presbyterian, conducted services in this building in November, 1870, with the view of forming a society of that faith.
Mrs. Maggie Van Cott, the first woman ever licensed by the Methodist Church to preach, held a series of meetings in the First Ward Methodist church in January, 1871; she was eloquent and persuasive and drew large audiences. The Lutherans held a festival in Bertschy’s Hall in February, 1871, at which there was a large attendance; about $300 was realized, which was applied on the church debt.
The Appleton District Ministerial Association held its annual meeting at Appleton in April, 1871. Among those who took part in the exercises were the following: Revs. J. Anderson, J. T. Gaskill, P. B. Pease, G. C. Haddock, G. M. Steele, P. S. Bennett, G. Fallows, W. P. Stone, R. S. Hayward, W. G. Miller, R. Henry, J. H. Waldron, J. Jones, W. J. Olmstead, W. D. Ames, J. Wiltse, M. V. B. Bristol, J. L. Hewitt, T. Orbison, J. Banta, S. W. Ford, J. C. Robbins, J. Cole, J. H. Howe, A. C. Huntley, H. Garwood, T. Walker, A. C. Squire, W. Averill and L. L. Knox. Among the subjects considered were the following: Covetousness; A Denominational Press; Christian Holiness; Popular Amusements; Distinctive Features of Methodism; Is it Advisable for a Minister to Engage in Secular Business? Is it Advisable to Preach Against Popery? Do the Scriptures Teach the Restoration of the Jews to Jerusalem? Is it Desirable to Make Attendance on Class Meetings a Test of Membership? The Woman’s Missionary Society met at the same time and was addressed by Mrs. Dr. Steele, Mrs E. Coleman, Mrs. P. S. Bennett, Mrs. M. A. P. Humphrey. Rev. Samuel Fallows was present at the close.
The ordination of Rev. J. L. Steele, rector of Grace Church, took place in May, 1871. The services were solemn and impressive. Right Rev. W. E. Armitage, S. T. D., bishop of the diocese, conducted the services, and was assisted by Rev. John Leach, rector of Christ’s Church of Green Bay, and Rev. R. N. Parke, rector of Trinity Church, Oshkosh; Rev. W. Dafter, dean of Fond du Lac convocation and rector of St. Paul’s Church, Fond du Lac, and Rev. C. N. Spaulding, private secretary of the bishop. The ordination occurred in the Episcopal church before an immense audience. Splendid music was furnished by Messrs. Mason, Robertson, Kohler, Conant, Richmond, Budd, Bangs, Hamilton and Mrs. Fernandez at the organ. Bishop Armitage preached a powerful sermon from the text, “Save Thyself and the People that Hear Thee.” The church was beautifully decorated and communion was celebrated with a new silver service, the gift of Mrs. Andrew J. Smith.
The twenty-fifth anniversay of the Pontificate of Pope Pius IXwas duly observed by the Catholics of this county in June, 1871. At daybreak nine guns were fired and the bells were rung. All Catholics for forty miles came — delegations and processions from Buchanan, Snidersville, Kaukauna, Little Chute, Freedom, Center, Ellington, Hortonville, Greenville, New London, etc. Right Rev. Joseph Melcher, Bishop of Green Bay, was present. St. Joseph’s and St. Patrick’s societies were out in full regalia. The church was beautifully decorated and an immense crowd gathered there to observe high mass conducted by the bishop. Mass was sung by Rev. Father Dael. Present were Fathers Lemagie, Hackl of Buchanan, Superior Morini, Fathers Garibaldi, Verberk and Stern of Appleton, and Gunterscheidt of Greenville. Music was furnished by the combined Catholic choirs of Appleton and was fine and grand. The bishop spoke in English and Father Stern in German. After the services the procession, the largest ever seen in Appleton up to that date, formed and marched through the streets to Pierce’s park. It was stated that fully 4,000 persons took part in this event. At the park Fathers Dael, Verberk and Hackl addressed the people. The celebration was a great success.
The Emmanuel Church of the Evangelical Association, a German denomination, was organized in Appleton early in 1872. The first board of trustees were N. Engler, F. Kutler, F. Uerlan, J. Dryer and S. Appel. Anson Ballard donated a lot for a church at Durkee and Fisk streets. A frame church to cost $3,000 was commenced at once. Rev. F. Nickle was pastor.
In March, 1872, Rev. H. C. Dickinson resigned as pastor from the First Congregational Church of Appleton owing to ill-health.
The pioneer Methodist church in Appleton was burned in the spring of 1872, whereupon the members prepared to build anew a large and costly edifice.
In 1872 the Congregationalists built a new church in Freedom on land donated by Michael McCann on section 8; it was a brick structure. In May the cornerstone of St. Joseph’s Catholic church, Appleton was laid by Bishop Joseph Melcher assisted by Fathers Lemagie, July, Verstegen, Welch, Hackl, Verberg, Morini and Stern. The procession was long and the ceremonies beautiful and impressive. St. Joseph’s and St. Patrick’s societies were out with regalia and banners. The church stood on Lawrence street in the Third ward. A Congregational church was organized at Stephensville in May, with a membership of 16. Rev. C. P. Osborn was pastor in charge.
The German Evangelical church in Appleton was dedicated in June. The entire church debt was provided for. Father Willard the great temperance advocate of the Catholic church in the West addressed audiences throughout the county in 1872-3 and secured many signatures to the pledge. He spoke at Stephensville to an overflowing church. The cornerstone of the Methodist church at Lawrence and Morrison streets, was laid in October, 1872. Bishop Haven preached the sermon. A large audience was present at the elaborate ceremonies.
In 1873 David Smith agreed to furnish the new Methodist church with a bell costing $1,000 on condition that William Whorton should buy for it a $3,000 organ. The offer was accepted.
It was announced that in the town of Black Creek there was a settlement of Mormons. They claimed to be of the Apostolic succession — were followers of the teachings of Joseph Smith. A short time before a preacher of the Latter Day Saints filed his ordination papers at the county seat. The Crescent said, “If anybody wants to become a Mormon he is entitled to the same protection in his belief as the Israelite, the Catholic, the Protestant, or the Infidel, just so long as he does not violate the laws.”
The St. Mary’s church fair held in September, was a social and financial success, netting about $500. Father Willard the temperance apostle delivered an address. A gold headed cane was voted to the most popular gentleman. W. G. Whorton received 110 majority and won the cane. As high as $10 worth of votes were bought at one time. This contest netted the society about $200.
In October, Rev. T. G. Grassie, a Scotch Congregational minister, was duly installed as pastor of the First Congregational church of Appleton. Present were Revs. White, Doe, Crawford, Chamberlain, McLeod and Clinton. A large audience witnessed the services.
A Congregational church was built in Freedom in 1873, a brick structure and was dedicated late in the year by Revs. Doe, Grassie and McLeod. They had had a small log structure about fourteen years before, and a class was organized about tour years before with twelve members at the house of Mrs. Sykes. The new church cost $1,200 and was fully paid for at the close of the dedication services.
The Methodist society occupied the basement of their new church with services early in January, 1874, for the first time.
Early in April, 1874, for the first time in Appleton a band of temperance ladies conducted a crusade against the saloons, by visiting them and pleading with the proprietors to cease their trade and close up. They were treated courteously, but the saloons were not closed. The ladies planned other and stronger measures. When Rev. Father Willard ceased his temperance labors at Stephensville the St. Patrick Temperance Society there had 84 members and included 24 families; many of the men had formerly been hard drinkers.
The cornerstone of St. Mary’s Catholic church was laid with impressive ceremonies in June, 1874, in the presence of a large concourse of people. Solemn high mass was celebrated by Rev. Joseph Hackl, of Buchanan. Acting Bishop Deams preached a beautiful sermon. Revs. John Verstegen of Freedom, Thomas Moreschen of Menasha and F. Stern were present and assisted in the ceremonies, as was Father Baldi pastor of the church. The ceremonies ended with a fine repast at Bertschy’s hall, all the Catholic societies participated in the ceremonies of the day.
The temperance crusade grew in numbers and fervor. Large crowds collected at the saloons where the crusaders made their appeals and the walks and streets were blockaded. This led to much complaint and finally to a mass meeting of the liquor element and their friends at Turner hall, on which occasion G. N. Richmond served as chairman and H. W. Myer as secretary. Speeches were made by the chairman, W. Kennedy, Herman Erb, George Kreiss, H. D. Ryan and others. A committee on resolutions reported and their resolutions were unanimously adopted. The acts of the crusaders were deplored and denounced and the city officials were asked to enforce the Sunday and liquor license laws and thus prevent such unlawful assemblages and such interference with a properly licensed business.
St. Patrick’s Society of Appleton was reorganized in August and the following officers were elected: E. Finnegan, president; W. Vaughn, vice-president; James McCaghery, treasurer; J. Peerenboom, secretary, and J. Crow, corresponding secretary. It was made a mutual benefit society conformatory to the rules of the Catholic church.
In August, Rev. P. S. Bennett was acting pastor of the Metholist church; Doctor Steele conducted services at the Congregational church; Rev. Colin Tate assisted by Rev. George Vernor presided at the Episcopal church; services were held in St. Mary’s Catholic and St. Joseph’s German Catholic churches; the Evangelical church services were conducted by Rev. E. Seikman; and the German Methodists on Durkee street held regular services.
The St. Mary’s church fair held in September, was conducted by Maggie O’Keefe, Sarah Gordon, Mrs. James McGillan and Mrs. William Hafner. They were assisted by James McGillan, William Hafner, James McCaghery, P. Morrissy, H. P. Tormey, Daniel O’Keefe and John O’Keefe. Their object was to finish and furnish their fine church.
At a temperance meeting in St. Mary’s Catholic church in June, conducted by Rev. Fr. Gurst, about 200 persons signed the pledge under his fiery denunciations and eloquent and humane appeals. St. John’s Total Abstinence Society was growing rapidly at this date. Rev. J. W. Wells, a renowned evangelist of the Baptist church, held a two weeks’ revival in Appleton in May and June. The Young Men’s Christian Association was organized in 1875 with the following first officers: J. E. Peck, president; H. C. Simpson, vice-president; T. A. Spicer, secretary; Thomas Curren, treasurer. At the start there were but nineteen members.
Rev. S. F. Gale was installed as pastor of the Congregational church in November, 1876. Among those present were Revs. H. F. Rose, 0. P. Clinton, S. V. Fisher, William Crawford and A. Little. Mr. Rose preached the sermon from the text, “There were giants in the earth in those days.”
The German Evangelical Association of the county was prosperous. It recently completed two fine churches — one in Center and one in Ellington; the former was dedicated in September by Rev. Mr. Schiep and others and the latter in October by Bishop J. J. Esher of Chicago and others. — (Post, September 21, 1876.)
The District Evangelical conference was held in Appleton in October, 1877, at the church of that denomination. Present were Revs. F. Homuth, F. Nickel and H. Shelp of this county. Each member read an essay on subject previously assigned him and regular discourses were delivered by a half dozen of the leaders.
In 1877 the Capuchin Friars took charge of St. Joseph’s church; after that there were here four priests all the time and five priests most of the time. When the monastery was built the congregation and the fathers agreed that if the former would appropriate $7,000, any additional cost of construction would be borne by the latter. The fine monastery building actually cost $16,000, of which $9,000 was borne by the fathers. In 1908 they gave $2,500 to the church which was used in building a sacristy or vestry at the northwest corner of the structure.
The Sunday School anniversary and picnic of 1877 was an elaborate and enjoyable affair. Sunday was clear and warm and 1,000 children immensely enjoyed the outing. Sunday schools arrived from Dale, Ellington, Greenville, Hortonia and other towns. The order of the procession was as follows: The stars and stripes at the head; next the Fond du Lac cornet band; next the schools in the following order: Congregational, Lutheran, Baptist, Evangelical and Methodist. The country schools were assigned places with their respective denominations. At Pierce’s Park the following exercises were observed: Singing, prayer, singing, address of welcome by Rev. Haddock, music, address in German by Rev. Seikman, singing, remarks by Rev. Nichols, music, refreshments, music, amusements. This outing was one of the most enjoyable ever held in the county.
In June, 1877, the annual convention of the Catholic Total Abstinence Mission of Wisconsin was held in this city in Bertschy’s hall. Rev. Father O’Malley called the convention to order. Various committees were appointed. It was shown by the report of the secretary that there were 38 societies in the state with a total membership of 2,000, an increase of 600 since the last convention. Rev. O’Malley was re-elected president for another year. In the evening the convention listened to the temperance address by Father Willard; all were delighted with this splendid discourse. Other speakers were Fathers Connelly, O’Mally and by William Kennedy. Mrs. James McGillan sang for the audience. On the second day religious services were held in St. Mary’s church. On this day a procession with mottoes and banners paraded the streets — seven brass bands, the city officials, the fire companies decorated, St. John’s, St. Joseph’s, St. Peter’s and St Francis’ society were in the procession. It made a beautiful appearance and was witnessed by the whole population. At the park the exercises were music, speaking, amusements and a fine dinner; a dance at Bertschy’s hall, closed the day.
An Appleton man on his way to Christmas services in 1877 bought a music box intended as a present to his son. During the long stillness before the first hymn was sung, he accidentally touched the spring and the congregation were surprised, if not delighted with a fine rendition of the old ballad, “Sich Agittin Up Stairs I Never Did See.” The Temple of Honor, a temperance organization, had lodges at Appleton, New London, Hortonville, Black Creek, Stephensville, Seymour, Shiocton and elsewhere.
The ladies of St. Mary’s Catholic Church held a fair in October, 1878, that was signally successful, $1,200 net being realized for the reduction of the church debt. In the fall the ladies of the Congregational church at Kaukauna organized a mite society and gave entertainments once a week when the weather was fair during the winter This organization accomplished a great deal of good. The Good, Templars held regular meetings all winter. Rev. Rode was pastor of the church of the Holy Cross at Kaukauna in the fall of 1878. The Presbyterians in November, finally decided to hold regular services and accordingly rented the hall over Mrs. Perkin’s restaurant and engaged Rev. J. B. Andrews as pastor. They also began to consider the erection of a church on their lot at the southwest corner of Morrison and Lawrence streets.
The new Methodist church at Appleton was dedicated in November, 1879, with beautiful and formal ceremony. Seated in the pulpit were Dr. R. M. Hatfield, Dr. J. W. Carhart, Rev. W. H. Sampson, Rev. P. S. Bennett, Rev. A. W. Ford and the pastor of the church, Rev. G. S. Hubbs. The music of the choir was magnificently grand and the audience was large and appreciative. Dr. Hatfield preached the dedicatory sermon from the text: “I was glad when they said unto me let us go into the house of the Lord.” After this powerful sermon the congregation pledged $2,600 toward paying the church debt, which amount was increased to $3,200 at the evening meeting, leaving a balance of only $3,500, out of about $40,000 which the whole church cost. The movement to build this church was started in 1871-2 and was hastened by the burning of the old church in March, 1872. Gilbert Hoddes laid the cornerstone in October; one year later the basement was ready for occupancy. Work was suspended on the building after $26,168 had been expended thereon, including a debt of $7,000. In February, 1879 work was again resumed, and about $10,376 was expended during that year. The Ladies’ Aid Society raised $1,626 for carpets and upholstery. W. G. Whorton gave $3,000 for the organ and David Smith $1,000 for the bell.
In 1879 new churches for the Methodists and the Presbyterians were being erected. The cornerstone of the latter at College avenue and Drew streets was laid in August with great ceremony under the guidance of Rev. Mr. Andrews. In August Bishop Krautbauer confirmed at one time 135 boys at St. Mary’s church. Fathers Tanguay and Willard assisted him. Also 125 others took communion.
Before Father Wendel was transferred from Appleton he made preparations to build a large schoolhouse near the German Catholic church; the foundation of this building was laid in 1879, but was found defective and had to be rebuilt by order of the Superior of the Capuchins — Rev. Father Bonaventure Frey. The new house was 81×92 feet, showing three stories on the north side and two stories on the south, east and west. The upper two stories on College avenue were of brick, the others of stone. There were numerous large class rooms for boys and girls; there were apartments for the Sisters. On the second floor was the exhibition hall 52×81 feet and 18 feet high. The total cost of the structure was about $14,000. The building was erected under the direction, superintendence and care of the Capuchin Fathers who advanced the necessary means. Father Bonaventure was at the head of the Capuchin Order here; he came here from New York city. — (Motor, 1880.) The cornerstone of this building was laid in May, 1880, under the guidance of Bishop J. B. Vertin of Marquette, Mich. It became known as St. Joseph’s school. The St. Joseph’s Society was out in full regalia with a large number of little girls dressed in white and carrying banners in the procession. The secretary of the Order of Capuchin Friars addressed the audience in German. Mayor Pierce and William Kennedy also addressed the immense audience assembled.
The St. Joseph’s school building was dedicated by Bishop Krautbauer in November, 1880. He brought from Green Bay St. Bonificius Society and the French Cornet Band, all in full regalia and uniform. The Appleton Germania band also attended. The procession through the streets was very imposing. “A large audience assembled in the hall where, after music, the bishop addressed the people in English, highly complimenting the St. Joseph Society and church for their efficiency and successful efforts in securing this fine schoolhouse, alluding very happily to the efforts also of Rev. Father Frey of the Capuchin Fathers under whose personal fostering, superintending care the edifice was secured and trusted that it might prove a blessing to the church and city as it was an honor to all. He was particularly complimentary to the St. Joseph Society of this city, stating that of all the parishes in his diocese that of St. Joseph caused him the least care and solicitude. He was followed in the German language by Rev. Father Antonius of the Milwaukee Capuchins, a man of fine presence and a fluent speaker.” — (Crescent, November 13, 1880.)
The new Presbyterian church cost about $17,000. The church was duly dedicated in February, 1880. Many ministers and a large audience enjoyed the stately ceremony and the splendid music. The Catholics of Kaukauna raised at one time $110 for the Irish relief fund. Union revival meetings were conducted in January and February, 1880, by the Congregationalists, Presbyterians, Baptists, Methodists and Evangelical Lutherans. Revs. Andrews, Carnahan, Gale, Hubbs and Zickerick in turn conducted the services. The annual session of the Methodist State Conference was held in Appleton in October, 1880, with Bishop Harris presiding. The case against Rev. G. C. Haddock was considered.
In 1881 the church lecture course included the following entertainments: Mrs. Livermore, Robert Burdette, A. P. Burbank, Chicago Male Quartette, George R. Wendling and the Royal and Bell Ringers. Union services were again held in the Protestant churches, Rev. John D. Willard became pastor of the Congregational church this year. Several church conventions were held. The Presbyterian synod convened here in October. Rev. H. H. Beach was pastor of the Baptist church. The construction of a synagogue was commenced this year. Rev. Andrews resigned from the Presbyterian church. Rev. S. W. Ford left the Oneida mission in 1883 after a pastorate of fourteen years. The observance of the Passover by Zion Congregation of Hebrews was attended by members of every other church in Appleton in 1883. Revs. Moses, Hammel and Banks conducted the services. Mayor Richmond and John Goodland delivered addresses.
The new German Lutheran Church (Zion) at Oneida and Winnebago streets was duly dedicated May 25, 1884. A large congregation of Oshkosh attended in a body. The Germania brass band furnished music. Rev. Allwardt spoke in the German language. Rev. Max Hein was duly installed as pastor. Rev. Hemnminghaus of Van Dyne was present and spoke. The day ended with a fine feast in the park at Appleton and Superior streets. About 2,500 persons were present. Rev. Seigert addressed the audience in German. Rev. Lempke preached an interesting sermon.
The Sunday school convention for the Methodist Episcopal schools of Medina, Hortonville, Stephensville and New London met in the church at Medina late in March, 1886. Rev. W. D. Cornell presided. This was the fifth meeting of the kind without organization; now, however, an organization was effected, Philo Root becoming president; C. A. Walker, secretary; S. C. Torry, treasurer. There was a large attendance and much inteerst.
The annual session of the Wisconsin conference of the Methodist church was held in Appleton in October. Bishop C. H. Fowler presided at the first session; 130 ministers answered to their names. This was a meeting of great importance. Interests vital to the church were discussed. A sermon by Bishop Fowler was a powerful and remarkable effort, listened to by all who could gain admittance. Rev. J. D. Cole became presiding elder; Rev. J. C. Jackson was assigned to Appleton; Rev. W. W. Woodside to Kaukauna and Wrightstown; Rev. J. Howd to the Oneida Reserve; Rev. D. W. Coxe, to Seymour and Black Creek; Rev. B. P. Raymond as president of Lawrence University; Hortonville and Medina, Rev. W. W. Wilson.
The rededication of St. Joseph’s Catholic Church occurred in November, 1889. A vast throng of people witnessed the solemn proceedings; many came from Kaukauna. Bishop Katzer and Vicar General Kersten conducted the ceremonies. The Bishop was assisted by six priests. Pontificial mass was celebrated by the Bishop. Rev. Kersten preached a sermon of unusual beauty and eloquence. The splendid music was a bright feature.
On April 25, 1889, the old Congregational church was occupied for the last time. The old building was not abandoned without real grief by many whose prayers and hopes had been offered there so often; the altar was buried in a wilderness of flowers. Rev. Mr. Doe delivered a sermon of great pathos and piety. Rev. Faville read a beautiful poem by Mrs. Stansbury. The new church was then dedicated with stately ceremony and rare music. Among those delivering addresses were Revs. Schofield, Tibbits, Grassie, Down, Gardner, Rowland, Raymond and Mr. Peabody. The dedication sermon was delivered by Rev. F. W. Gunsaulus of Chicago. “Each sentence was a cut diamond,” said the Post. Frances E. Willard lectured here in June.
The third annual convention of the Young Woman’s Christian Association met in the Congregational church in February, 1890; there were present about one hundred and four young ladies from all parts of the state. They laid the foundation for more effective work. Many ministers addressed this brilliant gathering. It was shown at this time that the local Young Men’s Christian Association was in a prosperous condition. The attendance for 1889 was 12,620; receptions 300.
The fourth annual convention of the Christian Endeavor organization was held here in October. There was a large attendance and great interest was shown. In her will Mrs. Pfennig left $1,000 to the First Congregational church. The Young Men’s Christian Association bought the old Congregational church property. They first occupied rooms on Oneida street and first consisted of but thirteen members. They made a gymnasium of the old Congregational church. In February, 1892, the Ladies of the Guild netted about $250 by the presentation of the old fashioned “Deestrick Skule.” Rev. W. H. Sampson died in February, 1892.
Immense revival meetings were held at the armory in January, 1893, by Evangelist M. B. Williams, assisted by the local pastors. By the 25th of January the converts were reported at over 500; the revival lasted over twenty days. In April the “old brown church” at Appleton was destroyed by fire; it had stood since 1852, when it was erected on a site donated by Amos Lawrence. St. Joseph’s Society planned a new hall to cost about $20,000, to be located opposite the society’s school. In 1893 a class of Jewish children were confirmed in that faith with impressive ceremonies under the direction of Rabbi Gerechter. There were oral prayer, recitation, profession of faith, meditation, address to parents and valedictory. Rabbi Gerechter preached a brief sermon. The music was exceptionally fine and beautiful. A ball in the evening closed the festivities. The new Methodist mission church in Oneida was dedicated in June; on that day 26 new members joined. Revs. Ford, Mead and others addressed the audience; the church cost $5,200, and seated 500 in the auditorium and 200 in the lecture room. The new St. Paul schoolhouse was dedicated in November, Rev. Gensike delivering the address. Rev. Paul Brockman addressed the children. Three choirs furnished the joyous music.
The eighteenth annual session of the Young Men’s Christian Association of Wisconsin was held in the Methodist church in October, 1892. There was a large attendance. Early in 1892 the Y. M. S. E. was organized at the house of Rev. Faville, there being at first twenty members. The object was to hold Sunday evening services in order to attract the presence of young men. In a short time the club had a membership of 360. At this date (1892) the city had 12 churches and 60 saloons. In 1893 the Baptists planned a new church to cost about $8,000. A Sunday school excursion of over 1,000 persons went by steamers to Mobley’s Point on Lake Winnebago in July, 1893. The Columbian Club hall costing about $16,000, was dedicated with splendid ceremony in December, 1894, there being present Bishop Messmer and Revs. Morrison, Rhode, Geissler, Desmond, Clifford, O’Malley, Fitzmaurice, Nugent and others. A long procession of school children and others paraded the streets.
The new St. Johannes Evangelical church on West College avenue was dedicated in March, 1895; Rev. P. R. Albert conducted the services. Rev. F. Moeckli, Rev. Mack, Rev. Schuh and others assisted in the beautiful ceremony. In the evening Rev. E. Albert and Rev. E. Grauer addressed another large audience. The music both day and evening was rare and beautiful.
The general convention of Congregational churches of Wisconsin held its 55th annual session in this city in Septeimber, 1895, Hon. C. H. Baxter serving as moderator. The work of the church was reviewed and examined in detail. Many prominent ministers and members were present.
The Young Men’s Sunday Evening Club gave the following course of entertainment in 1897-8: Schumann Ladies’ Orchestra; Rev. J. J. Lewis — The Passion Play of Oberammergau; Mrs. Maud Ballington Booth — The Criminal Problem; Rev. Robert Nourse — Rev. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde; Allie Torbell Concert Company; Lieut. Robert Peary — Arctic Explorations; George Riddle and the Beethoven Orchestral Club.
In January, 1898, the religious census of Appleton gave the following statistics: Number of Baptist families, 71; Catholic, St. Joseph’s, 594; Catholic, St. Mary’s, 370; Christian church, 1; Christion Science Association, 15; Congregationalist, 501; Episcopalian, 72; Evangelical, Rev. Albert, 63; Evangelical Association, Rev. Barowski, 58; Hebrew, 28; Lutheran, St. Paul’s, Rev. Sauer, 276; Lutheran, Zion, Rev. Martin, 297; Methodist, English, 234; Methodist German, 33; Presbyterian, 101; Unitarian, 2; Universalist, 7; Indeterminate, 32; no church preference, 26; non-church goers, 47; refused information, 12. Of these families 742 were American; 1,526 German, 212 Irish, 59 French, 78 English, 40 Dutch, 17 Danish, 16 Scandinavian, 31 Scotch and 10 Belgian. A new chime of bells for St. Joseph’s church was baptised and blessed in March, there were five of them and each was blessed in the name of a saint. Vicar General Fox preached the sermon.
The convention of the Catholic societies was held late in May, 1898; there being present fully 3,000 delegates and many thousands of visitors. A religious drama, “Theodotus,” was rendered in St. Joseph’s hall by local talent; receipts over $150; it was repeated. High mass was celebrated at St. Joseph’s church. The parade was one of the most magnificent ever witnessed here. The gilded banners, bright Zouave suits, striking knights uniforms, plumed helmets blazing in the sun; the brilliant uniforms of the cadets and bands and the long procession of gaily dressed people — transformed the quiet and squalid streets into wonderland. Pontifical mass was celebrated by Archbishop Katzer. Vicar General Fox preached a sermon of great power and beauty. Bishop Verlin and Father Untraut took part in the rare and ceremonious proceedings.
Little Chute held a three days’ Catholic church carnival in 1898; there were present 10,000 people. High mass was celebrated each morning. Band music and games were enjoyed. A large sum was realized. “The shrine of Father Van den Broek in the old church has attracted more attention than any other single item in the entire list of features of the celebration. The bones of the old priest are displayed. Those seen being the skull and the larger bones in the body.” — (Post, June 16, 1898.)
Sacred Heart Church in the Fourth ward was dedicated in October, 1898, in the presence of 3,000 people. Bishop Messmer was present. All met and marched to the new building. After blessing the church the bishop addressed the audience in the open air in both German and English. Present were Fathers Phillips, Honoratus, Fitzmaurice, Brunner, Kneggel and Steinbrecker. There was organized in Appleton in October the first council in the state of the Catholic Relief and Beneficiary Association, with 27 charter members; it was instituted by Supreme President Thomas H. O’Neil assisted by the State Deputy.
In November a proposition to establish a hospital in the city was received from the Franciscan Sisters by the city council. Father Kaster called a meeting and explained that the sisters desired to take charge of a hospital in Appleton and that the meeting had been called to secure assistance. Of this meeting T. B. Reid served as chairman and Gus Keller secretary. A committee was appointed to solicit subscriptions. Father Kaster said that the sisterhood had secured a tract about 700 feet square where they designed to erect a hospital to cost $25,000.
The Woman’s Christian Temperance Union held a county institute at Hortonville in August, 1900. Six local unions were represented. Mrs. Della Cox, national lecturer, was present. Ministers addressed the audience. Numerous important topics were considered.
The fiftieth anniversary exercises of the Congregational church were held late in December, 1900. The church was beautifully decorated with evergreens, carnations and chrysanthemums. Rev. T. B. Doe, who was pastor from 1858 to 1868, was present. Dr. Reeve read letters from other former pastors. A splendid feast was enjoyed. Many speakers addressed the joyous assemblage.
The old Baptist church was torn down in 1900; it had stood since 1860. The timbers were as sound as when placed there.
St. Elizabeth’s hospital was dedicated May 16, 1901. A large audience witnessed the interesting proceedings. Much credit for this fine enterprise was given Sister Carola, mother superior of the Franciscan Sisters; she was largely instrumental in raising for this purpose over $50,000 in one year’s time. It was one of the finest in the state, costing all told about $76,000. On the hospital staff of physicians were Rush Winslow, T. T. Beveridge, A. M. Freund, S. S. Willis and V. F. Marshall. Much of the furnishing was done by private donations. During the first two weeks nearly a dozen operations were performed there. About January 1, 1901, the convent building attached to St. Mary’s church was burned, and soon steps to build another were taken, the new one to cost $4,000. The sisters temporarily made their homes in Columbia hall.
The new Zion Lutheran church was duly dedicated late in February, 1903, several thousand persons attending. The services were solemn, beautiful and impressive. Several church dignitaries were present from abroad. An orchestra and three choirs furnished the music. President Schuette of Columbus and Prof. Hemminghouse, founder of the Appleton congregation, were present. The services during the day were in German and in the evening in English. Dr. Schuette preached a powerful sermon.
In August, 1905, thousands of people knelt in the church of St. Joseph and offered prayers to gain the indulgence of the Portiuncula. The monks of St. Joseph sat in confessional to listen to the penitent confessors. The festival of Portiuncula is a regular event in certain orders of the Catholic church. It is the name of a church near Assisi, Italy, memorable for an indulgence which St. Francis gained for this little chapel. For 200 years this indulgence was not extended beyond the walls of the little Italian church. Finally Pope Gregory XV extended the indulgence to the churches of the three orders of St. Francis and to the orders of the Black Friars and the Capuchins. So St. Joseph church of Appleton thus came to be honored and blessed. At this time all the work of confession was undertaken by the Capuchin Frairs, owing to the absence of Father Fitzmaurice who was making a retreat at Green Bay.
The monks of the Capuchin order are not allowed to engage in business from which profit in money can be obtained. This order came directly from the Vatican. This was brought about by the Carthusians and the Benedictine monks who with their well known liquors found many imitators among other religious orders. Pope Pius X deprecated commercial pursuits among monks and nuns, believing such interfered with their religious duties.
Late in 1905 a Jewish religious society to be known as Congregation Kueseth Israel was incorporated at Appleton by a body of Russian Jews who had been holding services at the residence of E. Ressman. Twelve members were incorporated. The erection of a temple was considered. The Men’s Brotherhood of the Baptist church was successfully launched in October, 1908, with Miles Meidam as president. It met once a month; its object was to furnish labor, skilled and unskilled, in all fields of industry, including domestics. The Catholic Federation of Societies of this county held quarterly sessions; eighteen different societies were thus united.
In January, 1909, the First Congregational church had a membership of 224 men and 531 women; 25 new members were enrolled in 1908; the average attendance at the Sunday school was 416. The Men’s Class had a membership of 75. The Woman’s Union was an important branch. The Men’s Sunday Evening Club of the Congregational church held periodical entertainments that were attended by large numbers. In July Father Arnold Van Dyke, assistant of Father Fitzmaurice, was transferred to Marinette. At all times the Capuchin Frairs were ready to assist the local St. Joseph congregation. Father Basil Gummermann, O. M. Cap, succeeded Father Laurentius Henn as guardian of St. Joseph Capuchin Monastery.
The Evangelical St. Paul Lutheran church costing about $30,000 was dedicated February 24, 1907. It stood at Franklin and Morrison streets. There were three services during the day and about 4,500 persons in all attended. Many came from Kaukauna, Menasha and elsewhere. As a volunteer offering $750 was contributed. The pastor was Rev. T. J. Sauer. Addresses were delivered by Rev. Christian Dowidat and Rev. G. E. Boettcher and Rev. Adolph Spiering.
Three thousand persons attended the dedication of the Catholic church at Kimberly in September, 1907. Fifty farmers on horseback escorted Bishop Fox from Little Chute to Kimberly; the Bishop conducted the dedicatory services and was then conveyed in an automobile from Kaukauna to Kimberly. The roadway was lined with humanity which received his blessing as he passed. Father Nistelrooy conducted solemn high mass; he was the newly appointed priest of the parish. The Bishop preached the dedicatory sermon. The music was unusually grand. This congregation started with fifteen families; it now numbered 125 and embraced practically all the Catholics in the vicinity of Kimberly.
The Holy Name Catholic Congregation of Kimberly held a bazaar in August, 1907, which realized about $1,500; it was held four days; valuable prizes were awarded — gold headed cane, umbrella, lady’s gold watch, silver tea set, lounge, etc. There was a large attendance. The net receipts were used for the church.
The Woman’s Christian Temperance Union met at the Baptist church in July, 1909; many distinguished women were present; an interesting program was observed. By this time the First Church of Christian Scientists was strong enough to plan the erection of a church to cost from $7,000 to $10,000. It was started about 1901 and numbered about 30 members. At a sister’s retreat in Appleton in 1909 conducted by Father Superior Basileus there were present thirty-five Sisters from Notre Dame, among them being Mother Superior Scholastica of the convent at Marshfield; she was reared in this city as Miss Herb and was well known to many. The Sisters of St. Joseph’s school entered the retreat.
In September, 1910, there were enrolled in the three Catholic schools of Appleton about 1,200 scholars; at St. Joseph’s, old and new buildings, the enrollment was about 600; at St. Mary’s school about 400; and at Sacred Heart over 200. The principal of St. Joseph’s school was Rev. Basil Gummermann; Mother Superior, Sister M. Ernstine; christian instruction by the Caupchin Fathers of St. Joseph’s church. The faculty of St. Mary’s church were the Sisters of the Order of St. Dominic. In September Francis J. Rooney, president of the confederated Catholic societies of this county, was elected president of the state federation.
The Evangelical Reformed Church recently organized in Appleton, renovated and decorated the old Methodist chapel at Lawe and Hancock streets and after August 1, 1910, used it as their church.
A new synagogue was planned in the autumn of 1910 at Morrison and Sumner streets for the Moses Montefiore congregation. A church census taken in 1910 showed that about one-half of the people did not attend any church.
A charity ball held at the armory under the management of Mr. Wettengel and others in January, 1911, cleared about $450; the proceeds were divided among the various relief societies. The occasion was a great and shining success both financially and socially. Governor McGovern was present. Later an informal banquet in honor of the governor was given by Mr. Wettengel whose guest he was; more than 100 representative business men here attended and partook of the viands, listened to the speeches and enjoyed the wit and humor.
In 1911 the old Ballard residence on Franklin street was transformed into the First Church of Christ, Scientist. At this time the church had two readers — Mrs. Oliver Russell and Mrs. Bertha Waterhouse. The congregation was organized July 13, 1896, and services were first held in the Pardee building and later in the Bissing building and for five years in the Knights of Pythias hall. Services were held in the Ballard building in June, 1911.
Early in January, 1911, the Congregational, Baptist, Methodist and Presbyterian congregations observed a week of “united and universal prayer” at the Presbyterian church; Revs. Wiltsee, McKinney, Faville and Moore conducted the services which were elaborate and effective.
An important event in Catholic circles are the quarterly meetings of the Outagamie County Federation of Catholic Societies. In 1911 the county secretary was Frank A. Wentink and the president Henry Schuetter.
At All Saints church a company of Boy Scouts was organized in 1911. The Local Purity League had a membership of 150 in the spring of this year. In March, Dr. Emma F. Drake of Denver lectured at the Congregational church on subjects connected with social purity. She sharply criticised home and family relations in view of the statement of Dr. M. J. Sandborn that there were 850 cases of venereal diseases in this city. She declared that such a state of affairs was worse than an epidemic of scarlet or typhoid fever. It was realized that hard and important work was before the league. In September St. Mary’s Catholic church held its golden jubilee, one of the grandest religious events ever held in this county, forty clergymen and an immense audience being present.