WILLIAM J. KUBITZ
WILLIAM J. KUBITZ, who has been rapidly coming to the front in the business activities of Appleton, Wisconsin, is one of the younger generation of business men in this city, and has already proved in the few years that he has been identified with commnercial matters here that he is possessed of more than ordinary ability. Kubitz was born March 23, 1884, in the city of Appleton, a son of Albert and Albertina (Schmidt) Kubitz. The parents of Mr. Kubitz were natives of Germany, and came to the United States in 1881, settling in Appleton, where Albert Kubitz began to work as a mason, a trade which he had learned in the Fatherland; and he is still in business here. He and his wife had ten children, as follows: Annie, who married Albert Breitung, a resident of Fond du Lac, Wisconsin; William J.; Clara; Ernst; Elizabeth; Gertrude and Gerhardt, twins; Rudolph; Leona and one child, Albert, who died in infancy. William J. Kubitz secured his education in the public schools of Appleton, and as a young man devoted his time to learning thoroughly every branch of the grocery business. When he had reached the age of twenty-one years he embarked upon his first venture, opening a grocery establishment at No. 736 Richmond street, and so assidiously did he devote himself to the business that he had soon assured himself that it would be a success, and he at once began casting around for a location for another store. This he found in January, 1911, and now, at an age when most men are satisfied with but one moderately-paying store, he is the owner of two well-established houses each with an assured trade, demanding the services of five employes and the operation of two wagons. Mr. Kubitz is possessed of much executive ability, and is now devoting the most of his time to the new establishment at No. 479 Cherry street, to make it the success that the other has proven. The Kubitz family has always been connected with Zion Lutheran Church.
JOHN DEY, one of the old and honored residents of Greenville, Wisconsin, president of the Outagamie County Pioneers’ Association during the past thirty-five years, veteran of the Civil War, successful agriculturist and stockman, and public-spirited citizen, was born in 1825, in Root township, Montgomery county, New York, a son of James and Hannah (Russell) Dey, the former born in New Jersey, August 28, 1763, and the latter in Schoharie county, New York, January 7, 1797. James Dey in early life learned the trade of shoemaker, following his trade by traveling from house to house until he had gained his majority, when he bought a farm of 100 acres in Schoharie county, New York. He was there married to a lady of that vicinity, by whom he had one child, and some years after the death of this wife and child, he was again married, there being six children born to the second union, all of whom are now deceased. In 1823 he was married a third time, and they had a family of three sons and two daughters, as follows: John; Catherine, born December 18, 1827, widow of Henry Collier, a resident of Schenectady, New York; Louis, born May 29, 1829, deceased, was a resident of Schoharie county, New York, and died in 1909; Jacob, born April 22, 1832, deceased, was also a resident of that county; and Sally Marish, born February 10, 1835, deceased, was the wife of a Mr. Mallot, of that county. James Dey died September 10, 1845. Mr. Dey had three brothers in the War of the Revolution. and he was able to recall many of the stirring occurrences that happened in those troublesome times. One of his favorite reminiscences was of the time when he stood under an apple tree on the old home place in New Jersey and watched General George Washington pass with his men, and being a very close observer remembered well the troubled look on the great general’s face. John Dey received his education in the schools of his native township, and on October 9, 1845, was married to Eveline Kling, who was known as “the handsomest girl in York State.” She was born in Sharon township, Schoharie county, New York, October 18, 1826, daughter of David and Nannie (Chase) Kling, natives of that county, where her father was always a farmer until September, 1849, when he came to Outagamie county, locating near Appleton, where he purchased one-quarter section of land and followed farming until his death during the second winter following. His widow did not marry again, but continued on the homestead for several years and then sold out to make her home with her children, her death occurring in Appleton about 1890, at the home of her daughter. The following children were born to Mrs. Dey’s parents: Rebecca, the widow of Charles Fisher, of Hamilton county, Iowa; Emma, wife of Daniel Fisher, a resident of The Dalles, Oregon; Elizabeth, widow of Nelson Mereness, of Appleton; and Marion, now residing at Elmhurst, Wisconsin, who is a veteran of the Civil War, having served as a private in Company D, Twenty-first Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and served nineteen months as a prisoner in Libby Prison. Mrs. Dey was the oldest of her parents’ children. John Dey worked for his father until his majority on the home farm, and after his marriage rented his mother’s farm for one year, at which time he left his bride of a year with her father and went to Chicago. He lived there for one year with an uncle, and at the end of that time his wife joined him. He learned the cooper’s trade, and after working for some time in Chicago, started for Appleton with his wife, their two children, and his wife’s people. They made the journey in a covered wagon, drawn by ox-team. After working for his wife’s father one year, and then began coopering, an occupation which he followed until 1852, when he moved to his present homestead a tract of eighty acres given him by his father-in-law for his assistance. He located on the property in March of that year, and during April he was elected township treasurer. Dey cleared his homestead as fast as he could, and spent his spare time at coopering, and in November of the same year set out about twenty apple trees, the first that were planted in this county. All of the money that he could accumulate he used in improving his home property, and he has continued to engage in agricultural pursuits here to the present time. On August 1, 1862, Mr. Dey was enrolled as sergeant of Company D, Twenty-first Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and during his first battle was taken prisoner by the Confederates. He was confined at Camp Chase until the battle of Chickamauga, when he was exchanged and rejoined his regiment at Chattanooga. Later, at Atlanta, he was wounded in the hip, and the surgeons, not being able to find the bullet, despaired of his life and sent him home to die. Later, the ball was found and removed by a young German physician, who complimented Mr. Dey heartily upon his bravery and endurance, and the latter rejoined his regiment and was detailed to hospital service, in which he continued until his discharge. He had a record for brave and faithful service, and during the three long years that he was a member of the Union army was always ready to do any task at which he was set cheerfully and well, winning the respect and friendship of his superior officers and the confidence of his men. Mr. Dey is still hale and hearty and attributes the fact to the reason that he has never used tobacco or liquor in any form. He is a faithful member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and since Fremont’s campaign has been a Republican in politics. In addition to serving as township treasurer during the second year of his residence in this township, he has been chairman, assessor, etc., and was at one time a candidate for the State Assembly. Nine children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Dey, as follows: Martha Jane, born August 7, 1846, wife of Leroy Jewell, a farmer of Franklin, Minnesota, is now a great-great-grandmother; Sarah Melvina, born January 11, 1848, wife of Henry Calkins, a farmer of Mattoon, Wisconsin; Nannie H., born November 20, 1851, died aged fourteen months; David J., twin of Nannie H., night watchman at an electric light plant in Milwaukee; John Wesley, born February 8, 1854, a mason of Black Creek, Outagamie county; Eveline Elizabeth, born December 12, 1857, widow of Jacob Respel, a farmer of Greenville township; Ella L., born September 1, 1861, deceased; Nettie May, born February 16, 1867, wife of George Berry, a laborer of Chicago; and Anna L., born April 13, 1869, wife of Emil Frank, who lives with Mr. Dey and assists him in operating the old homestead.
HENRY WILLIAM MEYER
HENRY WILLIAM MEYER, one of the foremost German newspaper editors in the State of Wisconsin and a man highly esteemed by all who knew him, died at his home in Appleton on September 1, 1911. He was of German nativity, born in Bossum, Kingdom of Hanover, August 3, 1843, the son of Arendt H. and Anna Meyer, and when but three years old was brought to America by his parents. The journey across the Atlantic was made in a small sailing vessel and required three months, but they finally sighted land and came to Milwaukee by way of the Great Lakes. Shortly thereafter they removed to the town of Newton in Manitowoc county and there settled on a wild and unbroken tract of land. Henry W. Meyer grew to man’s estate on the old homestead and experienced all the trials and hardships incident to pioneer life. His ambition rose beyond the farm, however, and he was sent to public and private schools in Manitowoc and to Concordia College, Fort Wayne, Indiana, from which latter institution he graduated in 1862. For four years he taught in the district schools of Manitowoc county, then in Whitewater, Wisconsin, and in 1869 came to Appleton and here for two years taught a private school for the Schul-Verein. In 1870 he acquired a half interest in the “Volksfreund,” and shortly afterwards became sole owner. This publication at that time had but a few hundred subscribers, but through the untiring efforts of Meyer, who was editor, pressman and solicitor, the circulation increased rapidly until it was not only one of the most widely circulated but also one of the most influential papers in the state, and is still regarded as such. Mr Meyer always took a keen interest and part in public affairs of importance, but steadfastly refused to hold office though many such were offered him and urged upon him. He preferred to work for the people through the medium of the Volksfreund which he regarded as his life’s work. On November 17, 1872, he was united in marriage with Miss Wilhelmine Harbeck, and to them these children were born: August H., secretary and manager of the Langstadt-Meyer Construction & Supply Company, of Appleton; Richard J., associated with the management of the Volksfreund; William T., assistant cashier of the Langlade National Bank of Antigo, Wisconsin; Henry W., Jr., associated with the Langstadt-Meyer Construction & Supply Company; and Mrs. Julchen Meyer- Seeger. The sudden death of the latter, the only daughter, in February, 1910, was a fatal shock to Mr. Meyer, and he died as he had lived, an honored and respected man. He was buried at Riverside Cemetery, Appleton, on Monday, September 4, 1911. Mr. Meyer was a member of the, Masonic fraternity, the Modern Woodmen of America, Odd Fellows and other social and benevolent organizations. His widow survives him and resides in Appleton.
JOHN CULBERTSON, deceased, was one of the early pioneers of Outagamie county, Wisconsin, and a son of John Culbertson, Sr., who was born in the highlands of Scotland, in Argylshire, near Campbelltown, and came to America in 1822, locating in Jefferson county, Indiana, where his four sons and four daughters were born. John Culbertson, the immediate subject of this sketch, born October 8, 1827, was the third son in his father’s family. He possessed the same sterling qualities of integrity .and uprightness that characterized his father and which distinguish the sons of Scotland. In 1850 he came to Wisconsin to view the new country which was destined to be his future home, the journey being accomplished mostly on foot. He visited his father and brothers at Appleton, then but a collection of a few houses and stores, but after a short stay he returned to Indiana. In 1852 he again returned to Wisconsin to make it his permanent home, driving by horses and wagon. He located in the town of Greenville, ten miles west of the city of Appleton, near his father, and brothers, James, Matthew and Alexander. The country was then in its primitive state, deer and wolves abounding, and he experienced all the trials and hardships incident to pioneer life. In December, 1853, he married Miss Rachel E. Prentice, who was born in New York State in 1837, and here they lived until moving to the city of Appleton in 1895. Mr. Culbertson died May 1, 1905. He had seven children, four of whom, with his widow, are still living, they being; Mrs. Charles Benedict of Farmville, Virginia, Mrs. Benson Dawson, of New London, Wisconsin, Dr. Eliza M. Culbertson and Mertie I. Culbertson at home with their mother. Miss Mertie I. Culbertson has been a teacher in the Wausau schools for the past seven years, and Dr. Eliza M. Culbertson, the third daughter, received her education in the country school and at Oshkosh Normal school. She then taught several years and became assistant principal of the Fourth Ward school, of this city, a position she held for two years, then entered the American School of Osteopathy of Kirksville, Missouri, from which she was graduated in 1903. She practiced in London, Canada, for one year, then returned to Appleton where she now has a large practice and numerous acquaintances and personal friends in and outside of the profession. She is a member of both the State and National associations.
KUNO F. KELLER
KUNO F. KELLER, was born in Pfullendorf, Baden, Germany, November 20, 1837, and died at Appleton, Wisconsin, May 1, 1906. He was a son of Dr. Joseph Keller, a practicing physician and Theresa Keller, both dying when he was a child scarcely three years old. He received his education in the elementary and high schools of Germany. Leaving school he learned the trade of watchmaker. In the spring of 1860 he left the fatherland, emigrating to New York City, where he plied his trade until he removed to Appleton in November, 1873, and established the jewelry business of K. F. Keller. In May, 1892, his son Gustave became a partner in the business, the firm name at that time being changed to K. F. Keller and Son. In 1902, the other sons were admitted and the firm name was again changed to K. F. Keller & Sons. The business is now being conducted by Gustave, Charles and William Keller. Mr. Keller was the father of nine children, five of whom are still living, and all residing at Appleton, as follows: Gustave, born at Hoboken, New Jersey, January 17, 1868. He received his education in St. Joseph’s parochial school and Deland Business College, spent three and one-half years in New York, perfecting himself as a watchmaker, and a like period in Kansas City, Missouri, where he worked at his trade. He returned to Appleton in 1892, joining his father in business. In 1893 he was married to Theresa M. Leimer, daughter of Louis and Mary Leimer of Appleton, and has a family of eight children: Charles, born at Hoboken, New Jersey, July 15, 1870, married Helen Knoernschield, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and has five children; William, born at Rondout, New York, October 21, 1872, married Anna Stengle, of Woodville, Wisconsin, and has a family of five children; Louis H., born November 13, 1878; and Anna M., born July 2, 1881, both single, reside at home. The mother of these children, who was born January 12, 1839, in Singen, Baden, Germany, survives her husband and makes her home in Appleton. She is a member of St. Joseph’s Catholic Church, as are her daughter and all of her sons and their families.
LOUIS H. KELLER
LOUIS H. KELLER, is one of the enterprising and progressive young business men of Appleton, Wisconsin. He was born in Appleton, November 13, 1878, a son of Kuno F. and Theresa (Mattes) Keller. He received his education in St. Joseph’s parochial and the High School of Appleton. After leaving school he entered the jewelry business, conducted by his father and brothers and continued in same until the spring of 1904, at which time he became connected with the Prudential Insurance Co. of America. In the fall of the same year, he was appointed district manager for the Company, for Appleton and the surrounding country, where with a staff of four agents he is conducting a most successful insurance agency. Mr. Keller is a member of the Knights of Columbus and St. Joseph’s Benevolent Society, having for years taken an active interest in Catholic Fraternal Organizations and having held official offices in both of the societies of which he is a member.
DEXTER PUTNAM NICHOLSON
DEXTER PUTNAM NICHOLSON, who died April 28. 1907, at Appleton, was one of the ablest educators of the Middle West and a man of unblemished reputation. He was born near Eureka, Winnebago county, Wisconsin, on January 8, 1859, was reared to early manhood on the farm and after attending the country schools in boyhood was a student at Lawrence University from 1877 to 1881. From this institution he was granted the degree of Bachelor of Science From 1883 to 1888 he was professor of Natural Science at York, Nebraska, then entered Johns Hopkins University as a post-graduate student and there remained until 1890. For one year he then filled the position of professor of Natural Science in the high school of Fort Smith, Arkansas, and the succeeding year occupied a similar position in Yankton College, Yankton, South Dakota. Returning to Appleton, he became professor of Natural History, Geology and Geography in Lawrence University. Thousands of men and women, prominent in all walks of life throughout the Union, have been benefitted as students under the tuition of Professor Nicholson and by them his teachings have been held in cherished remembrance. On June 24, 1896, Harriet E. Hammond, of Appleton, became his wife, and one daughter, Margaret, was born to this union. Professor Nicholson was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
HON. HUGH J. MULHOLLAND
HON. HUGH J. MULHOLLAND, who is successfully engaged in the insurance, real estate and contracting business at Kaukauna, Wisconsin, has been a prominent man in this section for many years and has served in numerous offices of trust, honor and responsibility. His life has been a more or less interesting one to consider, filled as it has been with the successful efforts of an earnest and virile man. He is yet in middle life, his birth having taken place April 7, 1852, at Belfast, Ireland, a son of Daniel and Ann Mulholland, who passed their lives in Ireland. In the spring of 1870 Hugh J. Mulholland came to the United States and after spending one week in the city of New York, went to Indiana and remained there until following the great Chicago fire in the following year, when he went to that dismantled city by the lake but found no particular business opening there to claim his attention at that time. He had learned the art of telegraphing and in 1872 secured a position as clerk in a store at Clay Banks, Wisconsin, with the additionial duties of attending to the telegraph office. In 1874 he paid a visit to his brother then living at Indianapolis, and in November, 1875, came from there to Manitowoc, where he was employed as an operator in the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Southern Railroad offices and also made himself useful as assistant to the superintendent. He remained there until the spring of 1876, when he took charge of the station at Reedsville, Wisconsin, for the Lake Shore and Western Railroad, resigning in July, 1880, in 1882 coming to Kaukauna and was placed in charge of the station and telegraph office of the same company in this city, resigning in 1884. He then purchased the Lake Shore House and operated the hotel for a year and then sold, and in the meanwhile, during the first administration of President Cleveland, was appointed postmaster of this city. He embarked in the real estate and insurance business and continued along that line until 1889, when he was elected clerk of the Circuit Court and during the two terms of his incumbency lived at Appleton. When he returned to Kaukauna he resumed his former business activities here, going also into contracting, being numbered at present with the clear-headed and far-seeing business men of his city. Politics have always, more or less, claimed his attention and he served again as postmaster during the second administration of President Cleveland; was a member of the board of supervisors for some years; for twenty-seven years has been a member of the school board; and during 1901 and 1902, was mayor of the city. On August 8, 1876, Mr. Mulholland was married to Miss Catherine Herr, of Manitowoc County, Wisconsin, a daughter of Michael and Catherine Herr, and they have had five children: Mrs. Julius J. Martens, of Kaukauna; George W., in the contracting business; Mrs. Dr. Chaffee, of Illinois; Gordon, who is a High School student, and Hugh, the third son, who is deceased. Mr. Mulholland and family are members of the Catholic Church. He belongs to the Elks, the Knights of Columbus and to the Catholic Knights of Wisconsin.
N. H. BROKAW
N. H. BROKAW, deceased. In the death of N. H. Brokaw, which occurred October 30, 1900, at Kaukauna, that city lost one of its most representative men, and one who was for many years connected with the business, religious and social interests of the section. Born at Centerville, Michigan, in 1857, he was a son of William C. and Mary (Hoffman) Brokaw, the former a native of Ohio and the latter of St. Joseph county, Michigan. William C. Brokaw was a millwright by trade, and for several years operated a mill at Centerville, Michigan, but in 1874 sold out and moved to Three Oaks, Berrien county, Michigan. His wife, who died in 1889, at Kaukauna, Wisconsin, was a daughter of Philip and Catherine (Bowman) Hoffman, early settlers of Three Rivers. N. H. Brokaw was educated in the public schools of Centerville, in the high school at Three Rivers from which he was graduated in 1874, and the college at Kalamazoo, from which he was given the degree of B. S. in 1877. He then studied law at Three Rivers, and in 1878 was admitted to the bar, but after spending one year in practice he decided to accept the position of superintendent of the pulp mill at Three Rivers, where he had spent his vacations while attending college and law school. In 1881 he became manager of the Marinette and Menominee Paper Company, and moved to the latter city, where he superintended the erection of two paper mills, and three years later organized the Falls Manufacturing Company, at Oconto Falls, where were built a ground wood pulp mill, a sulphite plant and a paper mill employing 120 men. Mr. Brokaw’s ability as an organizer was demonstrated when he organized the Kaukauna Fiber Company, after being identified with the firm of Bradner, Smith & Company, in their Little Badger mill at Kaukauna, later sold to the Badger Paper Company. He was identified with the Kaukauna Fiber Company as secretary-treasurer and manager, and in 1889 superintended the erection of its large buildings, which were destroyed by fire in June, 1893. New structures were immediately built under Mr. Brokaw’s supervision. He was a member of the Methodist Church, of which he was a trustee, and from the time of its organization until his death he served as superintendent of the Sunday school, trustee of Lawrence College and president of the Pulp Wood Supply Company from its organization until his death. Politically he was a staunch Prohibitionist, and his fraternal connection was with the Masonic fraternity at Kaukauna, in which order he had become a Knight Templar at Appleton. Under an unassuming and unobtrusive exterior, Mr. Brokaw had the force to plan and carry out ventures of a large nature, and his death undoubtedly took from Outagamie county one of its most able business men. His charities were many, but he was so modest in his philanthropy that the extent of it will never be known. September 1, 1880, Mr. Brokaw married, in Climax, Michigan, Miss Kate Edmonds, the estimable daughter of Rev. L. M. Edmonds, pastor of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Climax, Michigan. One son, Norman Edmonds, was born to them on the thirteenth anniversary of Mr. and Mrs. Brokaw’s wedding.
HERBERT BATTLES TANNER, M. D.
HERBERT BATTLES TANNER, M. D., of Kaukauna, Wisconsin, was born February 13, 1859, at Whitewater, Wisconsin, a son of Ford and Mary Ann (Battles) Tanner. Dr. Tanner’s ancestors came from the western part of England to Rhode Island, in this country, in 1650, and he belongs to the seventh generation of his early ancestor, William Tanner. His. grandfather, Dr. Cuyler Tanner, was a surgeon in the army during the war of 1812 and his great-grandfather, Abel Tanner, served in the Revolutionary army. On his mother’s side the Battles family were early settlers in Massachusetts, his grandfather, Dr. Jason Dyer Battles, of Boston, removed from there to Illinois in 1840, and practiced his profession at Griggsville. Herbert Battles Tanner was five years old when his parents removed from Wisconsin to LaFayette, Indiana, and he there received an elementary education in the public schools. In 1872 the family removed to Chicago where he obtained further education in the public schools of that city. In 1876, he visited Philadelphia for the dual purpose of attending the Centennial exposition and selling baskets for a Chicago firm with which his father was connected, but in the fall the family moved to Indianapolis, Indiana, and a favorable opportunity offering he matriculated as a medical student in the Indiana Medical College, which was the medical department of Butler University, graduating in the class of 1878. He settled in Kaukauna, Wisconsin, July 27, 1880, where he began the practice of medicine and has been a resident of this city ever since. A condensed record of his public service would read about as follows:
For 20 years a district surgeon for the Chicago & Northwestern Railway Company; a member of the American Medical Association, Wisconsin State Medical Society, Outagamie County Medical Society, Fox River Valley Medical Society, serving as secretary and treasurer for four years and one term as president of the latter; in the State Medical Society he was secretary of the committee on laryngology in 1890, chairman of the committee on materia medica in 1889, chairman of the committee on obstetrics in 1892, and secretary of this committee in 1895; a member of the committee on practice in 1893, and one of the censors of the society for a number of years; city physician continuously from 1886, to 1893; elected a director on the school board of the north district in 1885; served three years as clerk of the school board of the south district during which time the Nicolet school building was erected; was elected the first Republican mayor of the city of Kaukauna, April 3, 1894, re-elected for a second term in 1895; elected a member of the common council for a term of two years in 1898; was the prime mover in the establishment of the free public library, obtaining a grant of money from Andrew Carnegie and the donation of the land for a site from the officers of the Green Bay & Mississippi Canal Company that made possible the present beautiful building; was the first president of the library board serving in this capacity for a number of years; served four years as a member of the United States pension examining board: served six years as state inspector of illuminating oils for Wisconsin, receiving his appointment at the hands of Governor William H. Upham, and reappointment from Governor Edward Schofield; was president of the Kaukauna Building & Loan society and a member of the board of directors for a number of years; president of the board of directors of the Thompson Club, the railway department of the Young Men’s Christian Association for ten years; is a member of the Blue Lodge, Chapter and Commandery of the Masonic fraternity and also of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Modern Woodmen of America and Independent Order of Foresters, Knights of Pythias, the Elks, and is also a member of the Congregational church. He is a life member of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, a Republican in politics, has always taken an active part, locally, in the activities of his party, having been elected a delegate to county, Congressional and State conventions many times until the primary superceded such gatherings. Dr. Tanner was one of the promoters who organized the Rio Tamasopo Sugar Company, owning a sugar refinery and large tracts of land in Mexico. This company was organized in 1903, and the Doctor is now, (1911), serving his sixth term as president of this corporation having retired from the practice of his profession six years ago, and now usually spends his winters on the company’s plantation in Mexico. On September 1, 1881, he married Miss Mary G. M. Boyd, daughter of James M. and Maria M. (Lawe) Boyd, of Brown county, Wisconsin, a granddaughter of Col. George and Harriet (Johnson) Boyd, and a great-granddaughter of Joshua Johnson, a pioneer of Maryland, the first United States consul appointed to London, England, by President Washington. Col. George Boyd was a brother-in-law of President John Quincy Adams and served the Government in different positions of responsibility all his life.
The children of Dr. and Mrs. Tanner are: Kenneth Boyd Tanner, born July 20, 1883, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin and now residing in Mexico; Blanche Lawe Tanner, born January 25, 1885, a graduate of Milwaukee Downer College in 1905, and in 1911, a student in Columbia University, New York City; Harold Ford Tanner, born November 24, 1887, a student in U. W. 1907-08, married Zula Grey in 1909, and has one son, born December 6, 1910, named Herbert Battles Tanner, Jr., now living in Texas; Herbert Johnson Tanner, born March 17, 1894, now a student in Pennington Seminary, New Jersey. Dr. Tanner is much interested in historical matters, having written a number of historical papers for the local societies as well as one recently published in the Kaukauna “Times,” on the names of the streets of Kaukauna; he has a large collection of documents pertaining to the early local history of the state to which he is adding as opportunity offers. Dr. Tanner, for many years, has been one of the foremost men of Outagamie county. He was an able physician when devoting himself to his profession. He is a forceful writer, a keen student of public events, and a loyal friend and neighbor.
ALEX. ZENIER, pianist, organist, teacher, director and critic. Coming to Appleton a very young man in 1885 to teach piano at Lawrence College, conduct a chorus at the same institution, and act as organist and director of music at the M. E. Church, Mr. Zenier has been a most conspicuous figure in the advancement of the cause of music not only in Appleton but throughout the state as well, for his influence has been far-reaching, and what he has accomplished is a matter of history. He was instrumental in organizing the Mendelssohn Club in 1885, which was the first choral society formed here for the study of oratorios, taking up such works as The Messiah, Creation, Elijah, Hymn of Praise, etc.Mr. G. G. Freeman was director of the Club for a number of years, and the membership included such names as W. A. Clark, W. B. Murphy, Chas. W. Mory, Chas. Greenfield, Geo. Verity, B. T. Rogers, Jr., E. P. Humphrey, Fred Wheeler, Mr. and Mrs. Max Meyer, Mrs. Foye, Mrs. Bacon, Mrs. McGillan, Mrs. Stowell, the Misses Whorton, Graham, Babcock, Mead, McGillan, etc. It was by the invitation of this organization that the Wisconsin State Music Teachers’ Association met here in 1886, bringing together the principal musicians of the state in a session of several days’ duration, and the year following being privileged to participate in an orchestral festival in Milwaukee under the direction of Theodore Thomas. Mr. Zenier severed his connection with the college about this time and returned to New York for continued study with such masters as S. B. Mills, Wm. Mason, Dudley Buck and Frederic Archer. Returning to Appleton in 1890 he opened a studio on College avenue, which has become famous for its many concerts and entertainments, and where have appeared for the first time in this section of the country and in most cases in any city in the state outside of Milwaukee, such artists as Emilio Gogorza, David Bispham, Schumann-Heink, the Kneisel Quartet, George Hamlin, Scharwenka, Rider-Kelsey, Christine Miller, Evan Williams, Gadski, Reed Miller, Glenn Hall, Arthur Hartman, Fannie Bloomfield-Zeisler, Witherspoon, Ernest Hutcheson, Maud Powell, Elsa Ruegger, Olive Mead Quartet, Bruno Steindel, the Dolmetsches, and others too numerous to mention. These concerts (Artists’ Recitals) were instituted about the beginning of the new century, and had the backing of such people as Lyman E. Barnes, Bertin Ramsay, H. G. Freeman, Chas. W. Mory, E. P. Humphrey, M. F. Mitchell, Thos. Orbison, A. S. Galpin, Geo. C. Sherman, E. G. Jones, Miss Morgan, Mrs. F. C. Shattuck, Mrs. A. W. Patten, Mrs. Oborn, Mrs. Thos. Patten, the Stansburys, Van Nortwicks, Kimberlys, Smiths, Ullmans and others. Later Mr. Wertheimer became interested, also Mr. Conway, Mr. Utz, Mr. Erb, Mr. Gilbert and Mr. McNaughton, followed by Mr. Rosebush, and still later the younger generation, including Geo. and Chas. Baldwin, Fred F. Wettingel, Dr. H. Schaper, Albert Gilbert, Dr. Brooks, Frank Young, Wm. Hoyt, Mr. Walker, Miss Hartung, Miss Harriet Smith; Miss Buchanan, Miss Thom, Miss Ryan and others, and it would seem as if after all these years of continued success the concerts were now permanently established. This was the pioneer course, and has been copied by others in this vicinity, although differing from many in that its object has been to raise the standard of music with no thought of pecuniary profits. In the public schools Mr. Zenier worked for many years, turning out some excellent singers, readers and teachers. His pupils were also taught harmony, history, theory, and analysis, and with him contributed many volumes to the public library on these subjects. In his piano work he has perhaps been most successful, and many a well known celebrity can thank him for a splendid technical foundation. In 1892 with the co-operation of Miss Ida Graham, Clarence Shepard and A. M. Maeder, all local teachers, Mr. Zenier organized a series of quarterly Historical Recitals, at first, as an experiment to interest the pupils in obtaining a more thorough knowledge of compositions in general than could be crowded into a lesson of a half hour’s duration. The interest and enthusiasm in these concerts has steadily increased, and as they are now in their nineteenth year, a liberal education has been handed out free of charge to the pupils and their friends. Many works of all the old masters have been studied and illustrated, including compositions for clavichord, piano, violin, organ and cello, also chamber music, opera, cantata, oratorio, symphony, ensemble music, and the folk songs of various nations. In scanning the programs of these concerts, all of which have been preserved, one finds the names of Theda Clark, Blanche Ullman, Martha and Mary Van Nortwick, Edith and Edna Beveridge, Clara Hartung, Winifred Willson, Nellie West, Laura Erb, Alice Barnes, Hallie and Ethel Ramsay, Emma Patten, Georgia Hall, Ann Thomas, Madge Hoyt, Dora Heyman, Florence Brown, Gertrude Creedon, Edward and John Schlosser, Herbert and Wm. Harwood, Dr. C. E. Schmidt, Carl Schneider, Geo. H. Schmidt, Edward Hilfert, Morris Wilson, Arthur Shattuck, Lyman E. Barnes, Mr. and Mrs. Ledyard Smith, Mrs. Ramsey, Mrs. Wertheimer, Mrs. Oborn, Mrs. Voecks, Mrs. Clinedinst and many others–some whose names are now hardly more than a memory.
In 1909 the Philharmonic Society was organized with a membership of a little less than one hundred and included the principal vocalists of the city. It was the first choral society to take out a charter, and among its officers were Geo. I. Schmidt, its first president; Dr. C. E. Schmidt, vice-president; William W. Houston, secretary; and on the committees Miss Perry, F. F. Wettengel, John Buchanan, Miss Willson, Dr. Brooks, Fred V. Heinemann, Dr. and Mrs. Dohearty, Mrs. Victor Marshall, Mrs. George H. Peerenboom, Louis Kirchner, etc. Mr. Zenier was re-elected director in 1910. The Society has many fine entertainments to its credit, such as the Forty-second Psalm of Mendelssohn, which was given with Miss Vina Shattuck as soloist, Dubois’ “Seven Last Words” (two performances), with Miss Willson, Wm. Harwood and Wm. W. Houston as soloists, Rossini’s Stabat Mater (three performances), Miss Willson, Mrs. Oborn, Mr. Graber, and Dr. Schmidt in the solo parts; The Holy City with Fred V. Heinemann, the operas of the Chimes of Normandy and Pinafore (each two performances) with large orchestras and stage accessories, and in which operas the young people were given an opportunity to display their talents vocal and histrionic, and in many instances the right to lay claim to being professionals. It is the hope of Mr. Zenier and of many members of the Society that the time is not far distant when the Philharmonics will have a home and hall of their own, equipped with pipe organ, grand piano, library, etc. The Society is not affiliated with any church or school, and welcomes all singers who have good voices and a knowledge of music.
Mr. Zenier’s preparation as an organist was most thorough, for besides the teachers already named, he was also a pupil of Widor and Libert in Paris, and did considerable work in composition with Albert Lavignac. He is also a program-maker of no mean ability; in fact there are few musicians who approach him in versatility. Those who know and understand him best are his pupils, for they are his friends and his associates. Many of them are a great credit to his teaching, and when it comes time for him to lay down his work he will be consoled by the thought that his labors have not been in vain. His studio is one of the most attractive in the United States, and has been the wonder and delight of many visiting artists. Maud Powell in sending him an autographed photograph inscribed on it: “To Mr. Alez Zenier, Art Connaisseur and Humorist, Musician and Bon Camarade.”
LOUIS C. SCHMIDT
LOUIS C. SCHMIDT, president of the Standard Manufacturing Company, of Appleton, since its organization in 1900, was born October 22, 1853, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, a son of Carl and May Schmidt, who were natives of Germany. The father, a carpenter by trade, came to America in 1850, and located at Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He later moved to Appleton, Outagamie county, and here died. Louis C. Schmidt was educated in the public and private schools, and when a young man entered the cigar and tobacco business which he followed for a period of thirty-five years. The Standard Manufacturing Company was organized in January, 1900, with a capitalization of $40,000. The corporation is at present officered as follows: Louis C. Schmidt, president, R. O. Schmidt, vice-president, George H. Schmidt, secretary, and L. J. Schmidt, treasurer. The company has grown and prospered through the indefatigable efforts of its officials until it has become one of the recognized solid and substantial establishments of the city manufacturing sash, doors and interior wood furnishings, store, office and bank fixtures, show cases, etc. When twenty-one years of age Louis C. Schmidt married Mary Annie Rippel, and to this union five sons and one daughter have been born.
REV. FREDERICK L. RUESSMANN
REV. FREDERICK L. RUESSMANN, pastor of Sacred Heart congregation, at Appleton, is a native of the Prussian Province of Westphalia, Germany, his birth occurring September 6, 1864, in the parish of Elspe. His parents were John and Angela (Petz) Ruessmann, the father being a farmer and mining contractor by vocation. The early education of Father Ruessmann was acquired in the German parochial schools, subsequently taking up the study of the classics in a private school and finishing in the gymnasium at Paderborn. In the fall of 1882, he came to America and until the summer of the following year studied the English language in a common country school at Westphalia, Clinton county, Michigan. From the fall of 1884 to the fall of 1885, he studied philosophy in St. Francis Seminary, near Milwaukee, then went to Rome, Italy, where he completed his philosophical and theological training under the direction of Professor Sbaretti, the late Cardinal Lorenzelli, and Cardinal Satolli, in the College of Propaganda. After his ordination, which took place November 1, 1889, he pursued one year more of theological study at the same college, and then had conferred upon him the degree of Licentiate in Theology. Succeeding this Father Ruessmann visited with his parents, then returned to America to engage in missionary work. He pursued his labors at Montague, Pentwater, Hart, Claybanks and Elbridge, in Michigan, and at Eagle River, Portage, Aniwa, Phlox, Mattoon, Norrie, Parrish, Crandon and his present location in Appleton. Father Ruessmann was appointed pastor of Sacred Heart congregation, October 25, 1901, by Bishop Messmer, of Green Bay, and much good has been acconmplished through his able ministration and teachings.
HUMPHREY PIERCE, ex-mayor of Appleton, Wisconsin, who has been prominently identified with the public life of the city for a period covering more than forty years, is a member of an old New England family which originated in England, and members of which participated in the Revolutionary War. The old Pierce home, a stone structure at Joppa, Massachusetts, where the family first settled, is still standing, its loop-holes recalling Colonial days when the early settlers were compelled to repel the attacks of the savages. Humphrey Pierce, the great-grandfather of Humphrey of Appleton, served with his brothers during the Revolutionary War in the Colonial army, and members of the Lord family, with which Mr. Pierce is connected on his mother’s side were also participants in that struggle. Charles Pierce, the father of Humphrey Pierce of Appleton, was born August 8, 1801, at South Hampton, New Hampshire, a son of Moses Pierce. He followed the trade of mason contractor at Gorham, Maine, until coming to Illinois in 1845, and there followed farming for a few years near Peoria. He died at Alton, Madison county, Illinois, February 4, 1861, whence he had gone to spend the last years of his life. Charles Pierce married Hipsabeth Lord, who was born in 1801, in New England, of English extraction, and she died near Gorham, Maine, in about 1849, in the faith of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which she and her husband had been members for many years, he serving for a long period as deacon. They were the parents of eight children: Charles, Mary, Henry, Julia, Angelina, Humphrey, Jonathan and Moses, the last named being killed in the battle of Vicksburg during the Civil War. Franklin Pierce, president of the United States from 1853 to 1857, was a cousin of Charles Pierce. After his father’s death, in 1861, Humphrey Pierce, who was born February 5, 1847, at Gorham, Maine, came to Appleton, to live with an uncle, John D. Pierce, the latter having settled here in 1849, becoming one of the city’s prominent and influential men and an extensive dealer in real estate. After taking a scientific course in Lawrence University, at Appleton, Humphrey Pierce entered Harvard Law school, from which he was graduated in 1866, and in 1868 returned to Appleton and was admitted to the bar. At once entering upon the practice of his profession, Mr. Pierce became one of the shining lights of the Outagamie bar, and in connection with his law practice he became largely interested in the real estate business. His profession naturally led him into politics, and he was elected city attorney, alderman, district attorney in 1872 and 1873, and mayor in 1882 and 1883. In 1882 he was sent to the State Legislature, and while there was a member of the joint committee on Appropriations, Corporations and Charters; was bitterly opposed to the railroad land grant, and made an excellent legislator, having moral courage in his advocacy of the great principles of justice, morality and equal rights. Both for his own high character and his unquestioned ability he commanded the respect of his fellow legislators, and while a member of that body wielded a large influence. On his return he resumed the duties of his profession and his business, and in 1884 was elected a delegate to the State Democratic Convention held at Madison, Wisconsin, and in the spring of 1893, he was again elected to the mayoralty of Appleton. In 1869 Mr. Pierce was married to Emily J. Hauser, daughter of Captain Hauser, who was drowned when his vessel was wrecked on Lake Erie in 1875. Eight children were born to this union; Dudley H., Frederick H., Florence J., Jessie E. and Ella C., twins, Genevieve A., Lawrence R. and Byron W. Mrs. Pierce is a member of the Congregational Church. In his fraternal affiliations, Mr. Pierce is connected with the Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias, the Modern Woodmen of America, the National Union and the Royal Arcanum. He is a director in the Citizens National Bank, of Appleton, and is also interested in several manufacturing enterprises.
FRANK CALMES, who conducts the leading implement establishment in Appleton, is a native of Belgium, and was born July 30, 1850, a son of Michael and Annie (Shear) Calmes. Mr. Calmes’ parents followed him to this country in 1871, he having come the previous year, and his father bought a farm in Wyoming county, New York, where he spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring in March, 1906. Mrs. Calmes died in 1904, having been the mother of six sons and five daughters, five sons and one daughter now living. Frank Calmes came from New York to Wisconsin in 1886 and located in Appleton, where for a time he conducted a saloon and hotel, but in 1901 he entered his present business and has made it the leading establishment of its kind in the city. He carries a full line of implements and accessories, and his goods may always be counted upon as trustworthy and reliable. In 1874, Mr. Calmes was united in marriage with Mary Miller, who was also born in Belgium, a daughter of Michael Miller, who came to New York during the same year that marked the coming of the Calmes family. Twelve children have been born to this union, namely: Mary, who married Nicholas Kline, a plumber of Grand Chute, Wisconsin; Frank, Jr., who died in 1910; Josephine and Annie, who are deceased; Theodore, a blacksmith of Appleton, working for his father; John, who is conducting the saloon established by his father; Bertha, who is deceased; Lydia, who married Chris Jensen; Fred, who is employed in his father’s wagon shop; Edward, who is also employed by his father; Bessie, who is residing at home; and one child that died in infancy. Mr. Calmes and his family are connected with St. Joseph’s Catholic Church, and he is a member of the Catholic Knights. His political belief is that of the Democratic party, and he has been active in local affairs for a number of years,
FRANK FRIES, president, manager and stockholder of the Appleton Brewing & Malting Company, and president of the Outagamie County Bank of Appleton, the latter having been recently organized with a capitalization of $50,000, was born in this city in 1856, a son of Michael and Barbara (Kitter) Fries, natives of Germany. The father was born in Luxemburg, of the old country, and in 1852, accompanied by his wife, came to America and Wisconsin, where he continued agricultural pursuits until 1869. That year he bought an interest in a brewery at Appleton, later known as the Star Brewery, with which he was connected until his death in 1876. His widow survived him ten or eleven years. They had a family of three children, as follows: Susan, who married Jacob Kohl; Elizabeth, who married John Kohl; and Frank. Frank Fries received his education in the common schools of his native city, and his early experience in the brewing industry was secured with his father. He was at one time part owner of the Walter Brewery, of Neenah and Menasha, which took the name of Walter Brothers & Fries, and of which he was manager, but disposed of his interests, and from 1891 to 1899 was connected with the Appleton Marble & Granite Works. In December of the latter year he organized the Appleton Brewing & Malting Company, the present officers of the firm being: Frank Fries, president and manager; John Haug, vice-president and brew master; and Nick Dohr, secretary and treasurer. The brewery has an output of 19,000 barrels per year, specializing in “Mellow Brau” and “Prime” beer, and the firm does all of its own bottling, makes its own malt and uses home barley exclusively. The plant employs about twenty men and the product is sold by wagon throughout Appleton and in the country within a radius of twenty miles. Mr. Fries is a Democrat in politics, and is fraternally connected with the Eagles. His religious connection is with St. Joseph’s Catholic Church. In 1882 he married Miss Emma Miller, a native of this county, who died in 1883, leaving one daughter, now married and residing in Appleton. Mr. Fries’ second marriage was to Johanna Nicholay, of New Holstein, Wisconsin, and the following are the names of the children now living born to this union: John M. and William J., associated with their father in business; Frank and Edward, attending school; Matilda S., who married Frank Kasel, February 22, 1911; Lucia, who married Paul Abendroth in July, 1911; and Alwina, living at home. Mr. Fries is one of the solid, substantial business men of Appleton and a credit to the city he calls his home.
J. D. STEELE
J. D. STEELE was born May 23, 1879, in Appleton, a son of William H. and Zulma (Dorr) Steele, who came from New England to the West in the late ’60s. Mr. Steele, the father, was prominent in lumber and manufacturing circles until his return to Vermont, where he engaged in the banking business. J. D. Steele, president :and manager of The Pettibone-Peabody Company, received a public and High school education in Vermont, and for five years was engaged in a manufacturing business in Boston and for three years was in the same line in New York City. In the fall of 1903 he came to Appleton to become superintendent of the Pettibone-Peabody store, a position he held until his election to his present one. In February, 1910, Mr. Steele was married to Helen Mary Roberts, of Waupaca, Wisconsin, daughter of Charles E. Roberts, and a graduate of Lawrence University, class of 1906. They are members of the Congregational Church, of which Mr. Steele is a trustee. He is a member of the Union League Club of Chicago and the Riverview Country Club of Appleton.
CHARLES M. COLE
CHARLES M. COLE, deceased, who was for many years a government inspector in the lumber districts of the Fox River valley, was born at Smithville, New York, March 10, 1841, and died December 6, 1908. He was a son of Milo and Marilla (Tousley) Cole, natives of Connecticut, the former of English and the latter of Scotch stock. The Cole family is one of the old ones of New England, the name formerly being spelled Cowles, and Charles M. Cole’s great-grandfather was an officer in the Continental army during the Revolutionary War, and was buried at Smithville, New York. Milo Cole was one of the early settlers of Shiocton, and was the namer of that city and of Bovina township. He was a lawyer by profession and was engaged in the lumber business, was sent to the legislature during the early ’60s, and moved to Appleton in 1863, where he was elected clerk of the court. He continued to live in Appleton until his death in 1877. Charles M. Cole was the only child of his parents, and he obtained his early education in the public schools of Hortonville, later going to Lawrence University until 1862, at which time he enlisted for service in the Union army, with Company I, Thirty-second Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and served with distinction in that company until the close of the war, being mustered out as sergeant of his company. Returning to Appleton he engaged in the lumber business with his father, and in 1871 entered the government service, continuing therein until his death as inspector and superintendent of improvements on the Fox River. On May 27, 1869, Mr. Cole was married to Sophie Nicoulin, daughter of Francois and Pauline (Parret) Nicoulin, natives of France, came to Wisconsin in 1852 and settled in Dodge county, where Mr. Nicoulin died in 1857. November 28, 1860, she married (second) in Dodge county, Francois Bernard, a native of Beaune, France, who came to Appleton in 1853.
Francois Bernard was born January 4, 1821, a cabinetmaker by trade and the first of his craft to settle in Appleton and also the first to open a furniture store. He disposed of his furniture business in 1865, was then in the grocery trade until 1869, and from the latter date until 1904 operated a billiard room in Appleton. Mr. Bernard was twice married, first to Asphasia Steffens, by whom he became the father of one daughter, Mrs. Anna S. Goff, of Tacoma, Washington. To his (second) marriage with Mrs. Nicoulin, there was also one daughter born, Minnie Bernard, of Appleton. Mr. Bernard died December 24, 1909. He made the moulds for the bricks used in building Lawrence University and the pigeon-holes for the first post office in Appleton. Mrs. Bernard died in Appleton, June 15, 1911.
Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Cole: Charles Melville, born April 4, 1879, a graduate of the Appleton High school and the State University at Madison, and a mechanical engineer, now superintendent of the gas works at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, married June 27, 1906, Leila Carroll Moore, of Kansas City, Missouri; and Laura, born in 1883, a beautiful, talented girl, who died May 8, 1909. The mother came to America with her parents in 1835. They settled in Massachusetts, where she married Francois Nicoulin, November 10, 1843. The father came to Massachusetts from France in 1834.
REV. WALTER J. FITZMAURICE
REV. WALTER J. FITZMAURICE, pastor of St. Mary’s Church at Appleton, Wisconsin, was born in Kossuth, Manitowoc county, Wisconsin, July 27, 1859. His parents, Michael and Bridget Fitzmaurice, were born in Ireland. After completing the course in the public schools he taught school for three years in Manitowoc county. In the fall of 1877 he entered St. Francis Seminary at Milwaukee and was graduated therefrom in 1883. He then entered the University of Salzburg, Austria, to continue his studies in philosophy and theology and was ordained to the priesthood at Salzburg, July 15, 1886. His first mass was celebrated at St. Augustine, Manitowoc county, August 19, 1886. His first appointment consisted of two parishes in Winnebago county, Wisconsin, viz., St. Mary’s at Winneconne and St. Mary’s at Omro, which appointment he held from September 1, 1886, until November 1, 1887, when he was made assistant to Rev. Ferdinand Tanguay at St. Mary’s Church, Appleton, Wisconsin. Upon the latter’s death, November 25, 1887, he succeeded him as pastor. On September 18, 1911, the Golden Jubilee of St. Mary’s congregation, together with Father Fitzmaurice’s Silver Jubilee, were celebrated. St. Mary’s congregation presented him with a purse of gold and the parish representative, who presented the same to him, among other things said: “Twenty-four years ago you came to us. You were then a young man, able, ambitious and enthusiastic. You found our congregation heavily in debt, without a parochial school, which is so necessary for the salvation of our children, and without proper parish social intercourse, which is so necessary for the welfare of society. You took up your work with courage and enthusiasm. You spared neither your muscle nor your brain. You crowded into a quarter of a century a life’s work, and today, as a result, St. Mary’s congregation, religiously, socially, educationally and financially is among the foremost in the diocese.”
GEORGE FREDERICK PEABODY
GEORGE FREDERICK PEABODY, deceased. In almost every community one name stands out with greater prominence than any other; one man has achieved notable success which ranks him foremost among his fellowmen; an individuality has left an indelible impress upon the history of a community. The life, character and achievements of George Frederick Peabody, who died Sunday morning, September 12, 1909, were even greater than this. His invigorating mentality, keen business foresight, his upright conduct and blameless life, his many acts of unostentatious charity, his public benefactions and his prominence as a citizen, ranked him among the foremost men of Wisconsin. Mr. Peabody was of New England nativity, his birth taking place in September, 1845, at New Milford, Connecticut. When a small lad his parents removed to Wisconsin and located at Portage, and he there grew to manhood and received his early scholastic training. At twenty years of age he began clerking in the store of C. J. Pettibone, at Fond du Lac, and there developed the mercantile instinct for which he afterwards became famous. In the year 1872 he was sent to Appleton by his employer to assist in the work of the branch store at this place, which had been established during the Civil War, and of which, after a brief period, Mr. Peabody was made manager. It is likely that he would have succeeded equally as well in almost any other career, for he was born to succeed; his mental and physical makeup, his indomitable energy, dauntless spirit and business acumen were the inevitable precursors of success.
In the early ’60s the general store founded in Appleton by C. J. Pettibone occupied the ground floor of a two-story brick building.The rear of the second floor was used as a carpet room, the front room being the home of the First National Bank, then the office of the Appleton Crescent, and later being utilized as the office of the Western Union Telegraph Company. When Mr. Peabody became manager of the store the business was confined to the retailing of dry goods, boots and shoes in a small building where now stands the present beautiful and commodious structure of the Pettibone-Peabody Company.
In 1903 the present magnificent four-story and basement building was erected on the old site. It was under the watchful care and directing mind of Mr. Peabody that the business so prospered that it became the largest retail mercantile establishment in Wisconsin outside the city of Milwaukee, and it remains an object of pride to the people of Appleton and surrounding country. When Mr. Peabody passed off the stage of life he was succeeded by J. D. Steele as president and manager.
Mr. Peabody did not center all his energies, however, on business. He was an enthusiastic believer in the coming greatness of Appleton as a business center, of the Fox River valley for manufacturing purposes and of Outagamie county as an agricultural community, and to all public enterprises tending toward the general good he was a liberal contributor. To enumerate his many public benefactions would of necessity involve the writing separately the history of Appleton, which is given elsewhere in this work. For a number of years his invaluable assistance as a member of the board of trustees of Lawrence University was of great aid to that institution. On October 3, 1875, Mr. Peabody united with the First Congregational Church upon confession of faith and of which for more than twenty-five years he was one of the trustees. Dr. Faville, the pastor of the church, in regard to Mr. Peabody, said:
“While he was a man absorbed in many business cares he was faithful to his religious duties as a church attendant, and was always greatly interested in the First Congregational Church of Appleton. He believed in it, he believed in its government, its democracy, and he was always a loyal member.”
In politics Mr. Peabody was democratic as well as a Democrat, but his activities in this direction extended only so far as to actively espouse measures tending toward the general welfare. In 1893 he was appointed by Governor George W. Peck state commissioner of fisheries for a term of six years. He served as president of the American Fisheries Society in 1898-99, and as secretary from 1901 until his death. Coming from a family of noted worth and achievement he fully sustained the honorable traditions of his people. He held active membership in the Reform Club of New York, the New York Yacht Club, the Oshkosh Yacht Club, the Diana Shooting Club and the Riverview Country Club. He acquired wealth by clean business methods and converted his means to the enjoyment of life as a rational human being and for the good of his fellowmen. He was widely read as to the best literature, and was equally well informed upon the current topics of the day, and had traveled extensively both at home and abroad. His domestic life was one of happiness, even though brief. In May, 1874, he married Miss Emma K. Pettibone, daughter of C. J. Pettibone. She died three years later, leaving one daughter, Mrs. Emma Peabody Harper, now residing in Appleton.
Mr. Peabody’s death was not altogether unexpected, but was nevertheless a shock when it became known. His loss was especially felt by his employes, to whom he extended fatherly kindness and substantial material aid. In a general letter to the public, dated September 16, 1909, the following tribute was paid Mr. Peabody by the corporation of the Pettibone-Peabody Company:
“Our beloved president, Mr. George F. Peabody, quietly passed away at his home at Appleton, Sunday morning, September 12, a few hours following the sixty-fourth anniversary of his birth. His death, though expected, came sooner than was anticipated, and the sudden realization that he would no longer be among us has deeply touched the hearts of those whose pleasure it has been to be associated with him. His genial manner, his gentlemanly bearing, his ability as a leader and manager, his greatness of heart, his thoughtful consideration of the welfare of his employes, and many other splendid attributes of mind and heart have led all who labored for and with him, not merely to respect him–but to love him. His death terminates forty years of active work in the upbuilding of a business which has developed with giant strides until today it stands as a mighty monument to his name. To maintain the present high standard of this business, established by Mr. Peabody through years of patient toil and thought, and to carry out the plans he outlined for the future, is the work that must now fall on other shoulders. For even such a time as this his foresight made provision, so that there are ready to step into the places of trust and responsibility, men who have been thoroughly trained to the work that is theirs to perform. To their assistance comes a host of employes embued through Mr. Peabody with a spirit of sincere loyalty and a sense of added duty that will be of inestimable value in further developing this institution and carrying its high standard through whatever fortunes the future may have in store.
“This brief, inadequate tribute we pay to the memory of Mr. Peabody because of our deep appreciation of the many admirable qualities of the man. Perchance the knowledge of our respect and love will not come amiss to others who likewise knew him.”
NICHOLAS FAUST, who is one of the old insurance men of Outagamie county, Wisconsin, having been continuously identified with this line since 1865, is, perhaps, as well known as any other citizen of this section, in which his standing as to business integrity has never been questioned. He was born in Germany, January 3, 1841, and is a son of Johann S. and Maria (Reinertz) Faust. The family came to the United States in 1846 and settled in what was then a wild section of country, although six miles from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The father cleared land and developed a farm on which he labored until 1854, when he removed with his family to Fond du Lac county, where he lived until 1856, when he sold and moved to another wild section, locating in Harrison township, Calumet county. That land he also cleared and then sold and retired to Menasha, where he died at the age of fifty-four years. The mother of Mr. Faust died in Outagamie county. They had the following children born to them: Nicholas; two babes that died in infancy; John, who was killed while serving as a soldier in the Civil War; Annie, who is the wife of Joseph Renn, residing in Outagamie county; Mary, who is the wife of M. Renn, residing at Appleton; Katherina, who is the wife of G. Howe, residing at Portland, Oregon; Anton, who died in California; and Louis, who died at Menasha, Wisconsin. Nicholas Faust had but limited educational opportunities and afterward, as the eldest son, had many responsibilities in connection with clearing up the wild farms with his father. In 1864 he enlisted for service in the Civil War, entering Company F, Second Wisconsin Cavalry, and was honorably discharged June 22, 1865, at Memphis, Tennessee. He participated in many sharp engagements and in the one at Egypt Station received a wound in the side and also, at one time, had his horse shot from under him. After his military service was over and he had returned home he spent a short time on the farm and at Menasha and then entered the insurance business, one in which he has met with much success. He was first located in Calumet county, removing to Kaukauna in 1890, in June, 1908, organizing the Fox River Health and Accident Company, of which he is president, August Heinz being treasurer and Charles J. Faust being secretary. He represents all the leading lines of life and fire insurance, doing a general insurance business and having important connections. On December 26, 1863, Mr. Faust was married to Miss Mary K. Furstenberg, who was born in Saxony, Germany, and came to the United States with her parents in 1855. Ten children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Faust, namely: Joseph J., who is in the well excavating business at Kaukauna; Louis S., who lives at Sheboygan; Henry L., who lives at Oshkosh; Charles J., who is with his father; Matt G., who lives in this city; Katie, who is the wife of Joseph J. Berendsen, of Green Bay; Edward and Tony, both of whom are deceased, and two babes that died at birth. Mr. Faust and family are members of the Holy Cross Roman Catholic Church. In politics he is a Republican, and on numerous occasions he has been elected to public offices, serving as county commissioner, as city assessor and treasurer of Kaukauna and formerly was supervisor in Calumet county. He is a. member of the G. A. R.
DR. JAMES THEODORE REEVE
DR. JAMES THEODORE REEVE, practiced medicine in Appleton for forty-one years, carrying on a general practice in addition to being active for many years in matters of public health. Born of American parentage, near Goshen, Orange county, New York, April 26, 1834, he received his preliminary education in the common schools and at Farmers Hall Academy at Goshen. He studied medicine at Castleton, Vermont, Ann Arbor, Michigan, and Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, and received the degree of M. D. from Castleton in 1854 and from Jefferson the year following, and the honorary degree of A. M. from Ripon College in 1882. Dr. Reeve was secretary of the Wisconsin State Board of Health from its origin in 1876 up to 1894; was secretary of the Wisconsin State Medical Society from 1871 to 1889, except for one year when he was its president; a member of the American Medical Association, the New York Medico-Legal Society, the Jefferson Alumni Association, the Fox River Valley Medical Society, the Outagamie County Medical Society and Appleton Medical Club, serving as president of the three last named societies; was delegate to the International Medical Congress in 1876 and a member of the Pan-American Congress of 1893, and medical director of the Wisconsin Department of the Grand Army of the Republic. Dr. Reeve began the practice of medicine at the age of twenty-one in DePere, Wisconsin, and continued in practice in that vicinity continuously for fifty-one years, seeing and actively participating in its growth from a primeval wilderness into a large commercial and educational center. When the Civil War broke out he drove with his wife from Green Bay to Madison, through 150 miles of unsettled country, and at the latter place enlisted and was appointed second assistant surgeon of the Tenth Wisconsin Volunteers. He was transferred to the Twenty-first Regiment and served throughout the war, his regiment participating in many severe engagements, notably the battles of Perryville, Stone River, Resacca, Kenesaw Mountain and Chickamauga. After the latter engagement he remained with the field hospital and was captured and taken to Libby prison for three months. On being exchanged he returned to the service, marched with Sherman from Atlanta to the sea, and was present at the seizure of Savannah, Averysboro and Bentonville. He was promoted to the position of brigade surgeon and at the close of the war was acting division surgeon with the rank of major. Immediately after the war he settled in Appleton, Wisconsin, where he engaged in active practice and identified himself with everything pertaining to the welfare of the community. He had a most extraordinary capacity for hard work. For several years he added a practice more than sufficient for one man’s strength to the office of secretary of the State Board of Health and that of state supervisor of inspection of illuminating oil, doing literally the work ot three men. As the first secretary of the State Board of Health he did an enormous amount of pioneer work in organizing local boards of health and rousing the state to better sanitary laws and customs. He was a devout member of the Congregational Church, and was for many years deacon and a member of the board of trustees. He was one of the founders of the city library and was secretary of its board. By nature he was unostentatious and retiring in the extreme, but his untiring industry and readiness to respond to any call upon him in matters of public welfare or civic duty led him to become identified with an extraordinary number of public activities which often overtaxed his strength, and many of which he continued during his last years, when overwork had strained his remarkable constitution beyond endurance.
Dr. Reeve was married November 27, 1857, to Laura Spofford, who survives him. They had six children, of whom three are living: James S.: Katherine M., who resides with her mother; and Howard D., an apple grower of Spokane, Washington. Dr. Reeve died November 4, 1906, of a complication of diseases, the foundation for which was doubtless laid during army service and aggravated by unremitting toil. He wrote but little for the medical press, but during eighteen years of work as secretary of the State Board of Health, he wrote thousands of letters to physicians and members of local health boards, urging the importance of organization for intelligent sanitation and for the investigation and prevention of the spread of epidemics. These and the editing and writing for the annual reports of the board constitute no small contribution to the progress of the highest branch of medical science.
JAMES S. REEVE, M. D
JAMES S. REEVE, M. D., a leading member of the Outagamie county medical profession, whose chosen field of practice during the past twenty years has been the city of Appleton, is a native of Groveland, Massachusetts, where he was born August 23, 1864, a son of Dr. James Theodore Reeve, whose sketch immediately precedes this. He received his early education in the Pestalozzian school, which was founded by Anson Ballard, an old pioneer of Outagamie county, Professor Jordan, now of Leland Stanford University, then being its president. Later he graduated from Lawrence University, and in 1885 entered Johns Hopkins University for a year’s postgraduate work. He studied at the medical department of Harvard College, and graduated from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of New York, and spent one year and six months at the Methodist Hospital, Brooklyn, after which he practiced for three years in Appleton. Dr. Reeve at this time took a trip to Germany and and Austria for a year’s study, and in 1891 returned to Appleton, where he has since been engaged in an extensive practice, having been associated with his father for sixteen years. By inheritance and choice Dr. Reeve became a physician, and the name which his father made eminent he has perpetuated. He is a member of the Alpha Mu Pi Omega and of the state, county and national medical associations, and holds the position of surgeon for the Northwestern Railroad. Dr. Reeve is a director in the First National Bank of Appleton.
On June 16, 1891, Dr. Reeve was married to Alfreda Noyes, of Georgetown, Massachusetts, daughter of Alfred B. Noyes. Dr. and Mrs. Reeve are consistent attendants of the Congregational Church.
GEORGE R. DOWNER
GEORGE R. DOWNER, one of Outagamie county’s prominent public men, who has for some years served as superintendent of the Outagamie County Asylum for the Insane, is a native of Lisbon township, Waukesha county, Wisconsin, born July 1, 1851, a son of William H. and Lucinda (Look) Downer. The great-grandfather of George R. Downer, a German by birth, founded the family in the United States when he settled in Oswego county, New York, and became a farmer, and his son, also an agriculturist, later came West and founded the family in Pontiac, Michigan, where he died. William H. Downer, father of George R., learned the trade of carpenter in his native Oswego county, New York, and at an early date became a settler in Lisbon township,Waukesha county, Wisconsin, where he followed that occupation. On removing, some years later, to Dodge county, he becalme well known in his business, and also served with distinction during the Civil War. Mr. Downer was married in 1842 to Miss Lucinda Look, who died December 7, 1885, aged fifty-nine years, and he survived her until October 31, 1892, dying when nearly seventy-three years old. They had six children, of whom two still survive: Silas T., who resides in Missouri, and George R. George R. Downer’s educational training was secured in the common schools of Dodge county, and until he was eighteen years of age he lived on the home farm, but later turned his attention to the lumber business and for eleven years was engaged therein, working for various parties. His next occupation was that of a contractor, but eventually he returned to the farm, buying a fine tract of eighty acres in Seymour township, of which he disposed in the fall of 1891. He was elected chairman of the town board for three years in Seymour towhship, and for four years served as street commissioner in the city of Seymour, and was also a member of the building committee that erected the Outagamie County Asylum for the Insane, of which he was appointed first superintendent in 1889, a position which he has held ever since. Since he first took charge of this institution, Mr. Downer has had the respect and affection of the unfortunate placed in his keeping and his administration over the affairs of the asylum has been such as to win the confidence and esteem of his fellow townsmen. On September 18, 1877, Mr. Downer was united in marriage with Ida M. Brooks, of Seymour, born June 15, 1858, in Waterloo, Wisconsin, daughter of Porter Matthew and Lydia (Streeter) Brooks, residents of Seymour who came to that city in 1864. Porter M. Brooks was born June 18, 1821, in Riga, Monroe county, New York, and September, 1831, found him in Medina, Ohio, and January, 1842, in Waterloo, Wisconsin, where he followed the carpenter trade. He was married there, June 3, 1845, to Lydia Streeter, and they had a family of nine children, of whom two are living: C. S., of Beaver, South Dakota., and Mrs. Downer. Mr. Brooks moved to Seymour, Wisconsin, in January, 1864. Mr. and Mrs. Downer have had two sons: William R. and Arthur George. Mr. Downer is connected with the Masons and the Odd Fellows, while his wife holds membership in the Rebekah Lodge of the latter order.
GUS W. RISTAU
GUS W. RISTAU, a progressive and enterprising business man of Kaukauna, Wisconsin, who is dealing in real estate and automatic pianos, is a native of the state of New York, birth occurring February 12, 1872, and a son of Gottleib and Minnie (Zimmerman) Ristau, both of whom were natives of Germany. Gottlieb Ristau was married (first) to Amelia Korth, who died in Germany in 1867, and he then took for a wife Minnie Zinmmerman. They came to the United States in 1871, locating in New York, and later went to Minnesota, where Mr. Ristau settled on a homestead. In 1874 the family came to Wisconsin, and here Mr. Ristau secured employment on the government dam in the Fox River at this point, and during that year he died. His widow subsequently married William Falkenberg and removed to Iowa, and there the early education of Gus W. Ristau was received. He came to Kaukauna in 1890 and for several years worked in the paper mills, later engaging for five years in the brewing business. He then opened and operated the Hotel Ristau with his brother, but sold out to the latter in 1905. Since that time he has been engaged in the real estate business, also handling automatic pianos, covering territory from Fond du Lac to northern Wisconsin and Michigan under the firm name of G. W. Ristau Land Company, and employing a number of salesmen. The company owns a great deal of desirable farming land in the vicinity of Riblake, Taylor county, and also does a large business in other sections. In 1901 Mr. Ristau was united in marriage with Miss Millie Zittlow of Wrightstown, Wisconsin, and they have had four children: Mildred, Alfred, Harold and Arnold. The farmily is connected with the Lutheran Church, and in politics Mr. Ristau is of Republican views. He is one of Outagamie county’s successful, self-made men, and enjoys the confidence and esteem of his fellow citizens.
CHARLES F. PLOEGER
CHARLES F. PLOEGER, farmer, stock raiser and large land owner of Seymour township, is one of Outagamie county’s leading agriculturists, and has been identified with various business enterprises and public movements during a period covering the last decade. Mr. Ploeger is a native of Outagamie county, born in Ellington township August 4, 1870, a son of Ferdinand and Fredericka (Hendricks) Ploeger. Ferdinand Ploeger was a native of Germany, who came to Ellington township by way of Green Bay and located on fifty acres of wild land, being one of the earliest settlers of this section. He built a log house and log barn, and with the rude instruments at hand started to claim the property from the wilderness, and after having put that tract under cultivation, bought seventy-three acres in Greenville township and eighty acres in Center township, all of which he eventually cleared. He erected a good house and barn, but left these in 1882 to come to Seymour township, locating on a partly improved property, now the home of his son Charles, on which at that time there was a small house and barn. He continued to reside on this place until 1890, in which year he turned over the management to his son and retired from active life on account of failing health. He passed away in the faith of the Lutheran Church, October 7, 1895, aged sixty-four years, and was buried in the cemetery at Stephensville, in Ellington township. Ferdinand Ploeger had served in the German army prior to coming to the United States, and during the closing years of the Civil War was a soldier in Company F, Second Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Cavalry. Mr. Ploeger was married to Fredericka Hendricks, daughter of Fred and Prudence Hendricks, and she died December 18, 1872, aged thirty-four years, eleven months, eighteen days. Mrs. Ploeger had one brother, Fred, a pioneer of Grand Chute township, who is now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Ploeger there were born five daughters and one son: Charles; Adolphenia, born April 9, 1857, who is the widow of D. D. Chapman of Bangor, Michigan; Bertha, born October 4, 1860, who is single and resides in Milwaukee; Lovina, born November 13, 1868, who died January 3, 1888; Lucy, born July 12, 1867, who married Ferdinand Muller, of Seymour township; and Minnie, born December 15, 1872, who married August Bunkelman, and died September 24, 1895, leaving one child, Vernon Leroy Bunkelman.
Charles F. Ploeger attended the district schools at Seymour and Ellington, and at the age of twenty years took charge of the home farm, his father’s health having failed. On the home farm of 120 acres he rebuilt the house; built a new barn, 36×166 feet, with a silo capacity of 400 tons; a stone hog barn, 18×65 feet; a tool shed, 90×36 feet; a granary, 18×42 feet; chicken coop, 12×38 feet; corn crib, 30×48 feet, with 3,000 bushels capacity. When Ferdinand Ploeger first located on this farm his livestock consisted of a team of horses and a few head of cattle and pigs, and now the farm stock boasts of a large herd of thoroughbred Holstein cattle, 70 milch cows, high-grade Percheron horses, 500 Shropshire, Oxford and Southdown sheep, and produces Poland China hogs, while the chickens include the Silver Spangle, Leghorn and Plymouth Rock breeds. In about 1901, Mr. Ploeger added to the acreage of the home farm by purchasing eighty acres near Isaar, Seymour township, which is now under cultivation, and during 1903 bought forty acres of partly improved land, adding to this tract by a forty-acre purchase two years later, all of this property now being under cultivation. He also bought, in 1903, another tract of eighty acres in Seymour township, now all improved except twenty acres, and then purchased forty acres which is located in the town of Seymour, thirty acres of which are improved, and two acres of which he sold for the Seymour City Cemetery. He successively purchased eighty acres adjoining his property, eighty acres of cultivated land at Isaar, the Hebner place of eighty-one acres, and in 1909 the Armitage place adjoining the old homestead, a tract of forty acres, there now being 320 acres of land under cultivation on the old homestead, making a total of 668 acres, all in Seymour township. Mr. Ploeger is a Republican in politics, and he has never missed an election. He served as township clerk during 1899 and 1900, has been township chairman for the past two years, serving in this capacity at present, and was district school clerk for nine years. He was a charter member and helped to organize the Cicero Mutual Fire Insurance Company in 1897, at which time he was elected treasurer, an office which he held twelve years, and was then made president, serving in that capacity at the present time. He was a charter member and has been president of the Seymour Mutual Hail and Cyclone Insurance Company since its incorporation ten years ago, was one of the organizers of the State Bank, of which he has always been a director, and is now serving his third year as president of the Seymour Driving Park Association, having formerly been vice-president of .that organization. Fraternally, he is connected with the E. F. U. of Neenah and the F. R. A. of Oshkosh, Wisconsin. On December 25, 1893, Mr. Ploeger was united in marriage with Miss Ida Bunkelman, who was born at Kewaskum, Washington county, Wisconsin, March 22, 1876, daughter of William and Fredericka (Leiter) Bunkelman, natives of Germany. Mr. Bunkelman came to Seymour township in 1881 and settled on a wild farm, which he improved, and there spent the remainder of his life in agricultural pursuits, his death occurring August 1, 1893, when fifty-eight years, eight months and twenty-one days old, while his widow survives him, she having been born in September, 1845. By a previous marriage Mr. Bunkelman had two children: William and ——. His marriage with Fredericka Leiter was blessed by the birth of ten children, as follows: Matilda, born April 27, 1864, married William Buddenhagen and resides at Neillsville, Clark county; August, born January 3, 1863, who died in August, 1909, married (first) Minnie Ploeger, and (second) Anna Warner; Sarah, born May 6, 1870, married Art Flint, a farmer of Neillsville; Albert, born April 6, 1868, married November 4, 1896; Herman, born March 5, 1875, residing at Fond du Lac, married May Singbush; Ida, who married Mr. Ploeger; Louie, born November 4, 1882, is single and resides in California; Emma, born September 22, 1883, married Thomas Sickles and lives in the State of Washington; and Elmira, born March 6, 1885, died single in January 1910. Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Ploeger: Sylvia B., born March 27, 1897; and Wealthy E., born December 6, 1900. Mr. Ploeger’s family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Mr. Ploeger employs a competent foreman and by thoroughly systemizing his work he is able to spend most of his time at his Waldorf farm, just three miles north of the city, where the visitor will find him with his genial wife always ready to welcome the coming guest.
F. J. HARWOOD
F. J. HARWOOD, president of the Appleton Woolen Mills, one of the largest manufacturing concerns of Wisconsin, has been prominently identified with the business interests of this city for more than thirty-five years. Born at Crown Point, Essex county New York, December 25, 1855, he is a son of Allen P. and Ann (Penfield) Harwood, the former of whom was engaged as an iron manufacturer for over thirty years and in 1874 came west to Wisconsin, locating on a farm near Ripon, where he lived retired until his death in 1894. F. J. Harwood came to Appleton February 15, 1876, and in the following year bought an interest in the business of which he is now the president. This firm, originally organized as Hutchinson, Fay & Ballard in 1861, sold out later to Fay, Ballard & Robinson, which in turn disposed of its interests to Hutchinson & Company, the firm consisting of W. W. Hutchinson, Dr. J. T. Reeve and F. J. Harwood. They continued to operate it until the mill property and the Appleton Chair Company’s plant were destroyed by fire June 17, 1881. The loss being too great for the one firm to stand, on June 30, 1881, the present firm was established, with A. P. Harwood, of Ripon, as president; C.A. Beverage of Appleton, vice-president; W. W. Hutchinson, secretary and treasurer, and F. J. Harwood, general manager. The business began manufacturing knitting yarns exclusively, but in 1888 a weaving plant was added, and in 1892 equipment was added for the manufacture of papermakers’ felts, etc. During the following year a large, three-story addition was built on the southeast corner of the plant, and in 1900 another addition was found necessary to handle the large amount of business, and was accordingly built, it extending along the entire length of the north side of the mill. Later, in 1902, the firm purchased the Reedsburg, Wisconsin, Woolen Mills, where cassimere for men’s wear is manufactured. The present officers of the company are F. J. Harwood, president and general manager; F. I. Phillips, vice-president and mill superintendent; D. V. N. Harwood, secretary and treasurer. The mills now use 450,000 pounds of wool annually, employ over 150 mechanics and workmen and market their product as far away as China. Mr. Harwood is a director of the First National Bank. He has served for nine years on the school board, was alderman of the First ward for six years, and served two terms as president of the council. Fraternally he is connected with the E. F. U. and the Temple of Honor. January 24, 1882, Mr. Harwood was married to Harriet A. Harwood, of Holly, Orleans county, New York, and they have had two daughters: Ruth, who married S. F. Shattuck, Neenah, Wisconsin; and Anna P., a graduate of Smith College, who is now engaged in teaching. Mr. Harwood and his family are members of the Congregational Church, and he has served as superintendent of the Sunday school for the past twenty-five years. He is a member of the board of directors of the Wisconsin Congregational State Association, and a director in the Young Men’s Christian state association. Mr. Harwood is a man of great executive ability, and has been especially successful as an organizer. His business interests have kept him very busy, but he has always found time to assist in forwarding those movements which he judges will be of benefit to his adopted city.
JOHN SMUDDE, deceased, was in all probability the first miller in Appleton. He was born August 2, 1808, in Holland, and was there reared and passed the early part of his life. He was a miller in his native country and, realizing the advantages to be had in the United States, immigrated to this country in 1852. He located in Appleton, Wisconsin, and here in partnership with Mr. Haas erected a mill which he conducted until 1864. He was compelled to discontinue this line of business owing to ill health, then engaged in street contracting for a time, and eventually traded his mill for a farm in Waupaca county. He died in 1895 at the ripe old age of eighty-seven years. His wife, formerly Mary Ann Salchert, was a native of the kingdom of Prussia, Germany, “a.nd came with her people to America, settling in Calumet county, Wisconsin. She died in 1898, aged sixty-eight years.
JOHN KLING, who is the owner and operator of a fine farm of 200 acres situated in section 14, Dale township, is known among the residents of his district as a good, practical agriculturist. He was born in Dale township, Outagamie county, September 16, 1865, and is a son of Jacob and Ricca Kling, natives of Germany. Mr. Kling’s parents came to the United States about 1851, and after living in the east for seven years came to Wisconsin, buying 110 acres of timber land in Dale township, where they were among the earliest settlers. He built a log cabin here and settled down to clear his land, continuing to farm until February 10, 1865, when he enlisted in Company A, Forty-seventh Wisconsin Infantry, with which organization he served until the close of the war, and then returned to his farm, which he worked until the death of his wife, April 23, 1891. At that time he retired and went to live with his children, and he died at the home of his daughter, Paulina, in Wausau, Wisconsin, March 27, 1901. John Kling was the next to the youngest of his parents’ six children, and he remained on the home farm until he was twenty-one years old, after which he worked for wages for five years in the woods. He then returned to the homestead, which he purchased, and he has been engaged in general farming there to the present time. On October 30, 1889, Mr. Kling was married to Ida Leek, daughter of Frederick and Carolina Leek, natives of Germany, who were married in Wisconsin, settled first in Winnebago county, and later came to Dale township and purchased forty acres of land, which Mr. Leek later sold to Mr. Kling, with whom Mr. and Mrs. Leek are now living. Mrs. Kling, who is the eldest of two children, was born November 26, 1872. Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Kling, namely: Walter, Irvin, John, Luella, Adeline and Harold. Mr. Kling now has 120 acres of his land under cultivation, all fenced with barbed and woven wire. In 1900 he remodeled the residence, having built a basement barn, 38×62 feet, the previous year. In political matters he is a Democrat and he and his family are members of the Lutheran Church of Hortonville.
ALEXANDER JAMES REID
ALEXANDER JAMES REID was born of Irish parents at Nunda, Livingston county, New York, September 22, 1846. He came to Wisconsin with his parents in 1862, and settled on a farm in Dodge county, near Oconomowoc. He continued to work summers and attend winter schools, until completing his course at the Horicon high school in 1864. After that date he taught school and associated himself with his brother, Thomas B. Reid, in establishing the Oconomowoc Badger. Under the editorial and business management of the brothers this paper was not classed as a back number in the field of Wisconsin journalism. In 1867 A. J. Reid came to Appleton and entered Lawrence University. In the spring of 1868 he associated himself with a fellow student in leasing the Appleton Post. The revenue derived from this source was sufficient to relieve them of financial embarrassments so long as they did not trench upon the domain of coveted luxuries. In 1869 he purchased the Appleton Post in company with G. M. Miller. He still continued his college work, but not to the detriment of the paper, as the editorial and local columns of the Post during those years bear witness. On January 4, 1875, he was married to Alice, eldest daughter of the late Theodore Conkey. The history of A. J. Reid’s life from his coming to Appleton to the date of his demise is so interwoven with the history of Appleton and Wisconsin journalism as to claim prominence and recognition in the public records.
President Arthur appointed him postmaster in 1883, which position he held until the incoming Democratic administration. In 1889, he was appointed consul to Dublin, Ireland, but resigned in 1892, after the death of his wife, which took place December 21, 1891, in Dublin.
In 1898 Governor Schofield appointed him captain on General King’s personal staff and he was stationed at the Presidio, in San Francisco, for a time while arrangements were being made to proceed to the seat of war. However, the war closed before he reached the Philippines. He refused all compensation from the government for his services and paid his own expenses while serving his country. A Republican in politics and a strong party man, he was not a partisan; and some of his best editorials were written in commendation of the acts of public officials whose election to office his party had opposed. His editorials were always able, fearless, dignified and truthful, as he understood the truth; and, while they may not have satisfied all of the correctness of his position, they certainly convinced all of his ability, honesty, sincerity and high purpose in life. He had a great command of the English language, and his style, which was peculiarly his own, was pure, clear, elegant and finished. Upon receipt of the Daily Post the reader usually first turned to read Mr. Reid’s editorials. As an editorial. writer he had no superior and few, if any, equals in Wisconsin. He was a man of profound human sympathy and the sufferings of his fellowmen appealed to him most keenly. His charities towards the poor were numerous and unceasing; but he performed them so unostentatiously that they were known to very few outside himself and the recipients of his gifts. Though a man of moderate means, his last will reveals most clearly those generous impulses. Besides the munificent gift to the citizens of Appleton of Alicia Park, which overlooks the Fox River, he made other substantial donations to Lawrence College, to the public library, to religion and to the poor. It may be truly said that no other citizen of Appleton of like means has been more public spirited in his testamentary bequests. He died January 18, 1910, and his remains repose in Riverside cemetery, at Appleton.
BERTIN RAMSAY, deceased, who was for many years engaged in business in Appleton, was born October 13, 1850, in Cheltenham, England, and was a member of one of the oldest and most honored families of Scotland, descended from Sir John Ramsay, Knight of Balmain and Fasque, County Kincardine, who was created by James III a lord of parliament in 1433, and sat under the title of Lord Bothwell. Adhering, however, to his unfortunate sovereign, against whom the nobles of Scotland rebelled, his lordship was outlawed, and his estates subjected to confiscation, in 1488, by the first parliament of James IV, while that monarch conferred the dignity of Earl of Bothwell upon Hepburn, Lord Hailes, whose descendant became the third husband of Mary, Queen of Scots, and was the last of his family that enjoyed the peerage. In 1498, the disgraced lord received, however, a royal pardon, but under the simple designation of John Ramsay, and he obtained at the same time some lands in the counties of Forfar and Wigtoun, which favors were followed by a charter, in 1510, of the Barony of Balmain. The grandson of this personage, Sir Gilbert Ramsay, was followed by Sir Alexander Ramsay, at whose death the title passed to Sir Thomas Ramsay, from him to Sir Alexander Burnett Ramsay, and from the latter to Sir Alexander Ramsay, the father of Bertin Ramsay. Bertin Ramsay received his education in Cheltenham college, in England, and in 1877 came to Appleton with Mr. Henry Hewitt of Menasha and his cousins, Falkland and Duncan MacKinnon. Mr. Ramsay soon became interested in lumber, furnishing the means for the erection of a mill, and decided to remain in this country. In his first venture he was associated with Charles Jones, and later they erected a mill at Menominee, Michigan, where they continued in business until 1896, and in this year the Wisconsin Malt and Grain Company was founded and a large plant erected. Mr. Ramsay was associated with this concern until his death, which occurred June 23, 1907. He was one of the leading members of the Episcopal Church, and was one of the principal contributors when the handsome new church of All Saints was erected, and served for several years as a warden. He was a Blue Lodge Mason and a member of all of the leading Appleton clubs. He was remarkably fond of his home, and was a man whose death is a distinct loss to his adopted city. On June 29, 1881, Mr. Ramsay was united in marriage with Kate Graveraet King, the estimable daughter of Daniel Webster and Sarah Ann (Graveraet) King, who settled in Green Bay and was there engaged in a drug business. Henry Graveraet, the father of Mrs. King, was a. native of Holland and became an early settler among the Indians, learning nine different Indian languages and making numerous treaties with them, and the United States Government. He married Charlotte Isabella Livingston, who learned three Indian languages and was idolized by the Indians, who called her the Daughter of the Little White Chief. Mr. and Mrs. Ramsay had two children: Hallie Ellen, who married R. B. Watson, a New York mining engineer, has one daughter, Patricia.; and Ethel Katherine, living at home. Both are graduates of Grafton Hall, Fond du Lac, and of Dresden, Germany, where they spent several years studying music, specializing on the violin and piano.
FRANK G. KURZ
FRANK G. KURZ, deceased. Probably in no city in the world can the rapid and wonderful development of the uses of electricity be studied to better advantage than in Appleton, Wisconsin, for here was started the first permanent electric street railway and subsequent developments have made this city supreme in the uses of this wonderful agent. Of such immense importance is electricity in modern life, those pioneers in this line, whose talent, energy, courage and patience in combination with their capital, must be recalled and remembered with admiration and gratitude. In this connection the late Frank G. Kurz mnay be cited, who, with his brother, W. D. Kurz, was largely responsible for the development of Appleton’s electrical interests. Here Frank G. and his brother, W. D., helped to install the first electric light plant used in America. Frank G. and his brother having had it in charge.
Frank G. Kurz was born at Ripon, Wisconsin, September 27, 1864, and died March 5, 1910, a son of G. D. and Augusta (Chaeve) Kurz. They were born in Saxony, Germany, and both came to America, with their parents, locating at Ripon, Wisconsin, at a very early day. In April, 1871, the father of Frank G. Kurz came to Appleton and opened a tinshop, which he conducted during all his active life. Both he and wife died at Appleton. Of their family of four sons and two daughters, Frank G. was the third in order of birth. His education was secured in the public schools and at Lawrence University after which he learned the tinning trade with his father. Of a natural mechanical turn of mind, he occupied himself during his younger years with inventing articles of more or less utility, and very early, in association with his brother, became interested in electricity, and before becoming connected with the Wisconsin Traction, Light, Heat anld Power Company, had been concerned with various electric light and power plants at Appleton for nearly a, score of years. In 1887 Frank G. Kurz succeeded his brother, W. D. Kurz, as superintendent of the Appleton Edison Light Company, and during the remainder of his life he was in the electrical business. He was claimed as a personal friend by Thomas A. Edison. In 1903, Mr. Kurz bought an interest in the electrical establishment of Kurz and Root. They manufactured electrical supplies and established electrical plants throughout the country, the only plant of the kind in this part of the state. The first electrical convention called by Thomas A. Edison was attended by only eight delegates, of which Frank G. Kurz was one. On August 11, 1891, Frank G. Kurz was married to Miss Mary Derleder, a daughter of Nicholas and Elizabeth (Tenner) Derleder. They were born in Bavaria, Germany, and came to Oshkosh, Wisconsin, in 1850, where they still live. Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Kurz: Louis and Estella. Mrs. Kurz is a. member of the Lutheran Church. Mr. Kurz belonged to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
JOHN B. JACQUOT
JOHN B. JACQUOT, one of the well-known farmer citizens of Greenville township, was born on the farm which he now occupies in Outagamie county, Wisconsin, March 8, 1869, and is a son of John and Mary (Linton) Jacquot. John Jacquot was born in Rosiers, France, on February 2, 1820, and came to the United States as a boy with his parents who settled first in New York State, where he grew to young manhood. When still a youth he came to Michigan securing employment in the sawmills of Manistee, and from that place, where he had served as head sawyer, he came on to Greenville township buying from a soldier a farm of 160 acres, a part of which now forms the farm of John B. Jacquot. Here he settled down to develop the land from its wild state, clearing and improving his land and paying his first taxes in 1851. He became widely and favorably known in this section, not only as a good, practical farmer, but as a public-spirited citizen and kind and generous neighbor. His death occurred December 28, 1882, after he had been incapacitated for work for some time from the effects of rheumatism. He was married in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, in 1849, to Mary Linton, who was born in Germany, March 19, 1830, and she continued to reside on the home farm until her death, August 30, 1891, when she was interred beside her husband in the Greenville township cemetery. She was a member of the Catholic Church. Mr. Jacquot was a stanch democrat in politics, but not an active politician, although he served as supervisor and in various other township offices to which his fellow townsmen elected him. He and Mrs. Jacquot had the following children: Alex, who is deceased; Cornelia, who married Albert Gerwin, chief of police of Marshfield, Wisconsin; Helen, who married John Schuh, a, farmer of Hortonville; Seraphine, the wife of Charles Westgate, a blacksmith who resides in California; Martin, a successful farmer of Greenville township; and John B. John B. Jacquot attended Greenville district school No. 1, and he was twelve years of age at the time of his father’s death. He then worked on the homestead under a guardian until he had reached his majority, at which time he inherited eighty acres of the home farm, and with his brother, Martin, engaged in farming the home place. After about ten or twelve years, however, they decided that they could work to better advantage separately, and John B. Jacquot subsequently erected himself a residence and new set of buildings, and since that time has carried on his farm alone, devoting it to general farming and some dairying and stock raising. As a prominent, prosperous farmer, a public-spirited, representative citizen and an honest friend and true neighbor, Mr. Jacquot stands high in the esteem of his fellow townsmen. He is a democrat politically, but has never aspired to public preferment. On December 22, 1898, Mr. Jacquot was married to Miss Amanda Diestler, born at Milwaukee, February 11, 1874, daughter of August and Johanna (Rush) Diestler, natives of Germany and early settlers of Milwaukee. Mrs. Diestler, who was previously married, had been a resident of Milwaukee for some time, where her first husband died. Mrs. Jacquot is the youngest of four children born to her parents, and has been the mother of six children: Raymond John, born November 5, 1899, who died November 22 of that year; John, born May, 1900, who died in infancy; Irene, born April 7, 1901; Ralph, born August 15, 1902; Lucile, born July 21, 1908, who died July 18, 1910; and Loraine, born May 3, 1911.
SAMUEL BOYD, deceased, was for forty-six years a member of the Appleton bar, engaged in the practice of law in this city. A native of England, where he was born November 8, 1836. In early childhood his parents moved to the United States and he was reared in and proved himself a devoted and creditable citizen of his adopted country. At the age of sixteen years he entered Lawrence University, at Appleton, Wisconsin, and was graduated in 1859 with the degree of A.B. and later received the degree of A.M. from the same institution. He pursued his law studies at Albany, New York, and was graduated from a law school there in May, 1861, in the following month coming to Appleton which continued to be his home thereafter until the close of a busy and useful life. He was never an aggressive politician but was a hearty supporter of measures universally conceded to be for the public good, and for years was elected by his fellow citizens to positions of responsibility and trust. He served for fourteen years as city attorney of Appleton, and was also justice of the peace, county judge and court commissioner. He was one of the solid men of the Appleton bar and in his earlier years was distinguished for his wit and readiness before a jury and also in the social life and public entertainments for which Appleton has won some fame. It was considered a treat to hear him as a toastmaster or after dinner speaker, all the more so as his wit was never tinctured with malice but easy flowing and exactly to the point. He was enriched through life with the friendship of both the great and the ordinary person and there were no more sincere mourners at his tomb than those who, as neighbors, had mingled with him in the incomings and outgoings of daily life. In his profession he had high ideals and lived up to them, and in his daily walk and conversation were shown the sterling characteristics which made him the worthy man he was. Judge Boyd was married September 15, 1864, at Rochester, New York, to Miss Cornelia S. Bowen, a native of Lyndonville, New York, and five children were born to them, the eldest daughter, Edna, dying in infancy; the second daughter, Bertha, is the wife of John King, of Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania; Florence Helen, the youngest daughter, married Curtis A. Bynum and lives at Fletcher, North Carolina; the two sons, Charles and Robert E., reside with their mother at Appleton. Judge Boyd died March 9, 1907, and his funeral was conducted under the auspices of the Masonic fraternity, of which he had long been a member.
HENRY A. FOSTER
HENRY A. FOSTER, one of the old and honored residents of Appleton, Wisconsin, where for forty-three years he was engaged in the drug business, was born at Fort Atkinson, Jefferson county, Wisconsin, a son of Alvin and Mary A. (Phelps) Foster, the former born in Union, Connecticut, and the latter in Madison county, New York. Alvin Foster was a millwright by trade, and in 1845 he left Fort Atkinson and in company with Chester May and others established the town of Maryville by building two sawmills and a grist mill. In 1857 he brought his family to Appleton, where he became the second mayor of the city, having served as sheriff of Jefferson county in 1839. He spent the remainder of his life in retirement and died in 1867, his widow surviving him until 1880. He was a Whig and later a Republican, and with his wife attended the Congregational Church. Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Alvin Foster, namely: Mary Ann, who is deceased; Edward C., who died in 1906; and Henry A. Henry A. Foster spent five terms in Lawrence University, and in 1861 he opened a drug store in Appleton, where he continued to operate during all the years of his business activities, his retirement being in 1904. He was successful in his business ventures, and was a popular fraternal man, holding membership in the Masonic order.
HERMAN O. E. DIESTLER
HERMAN O. E. DIESTLER, postmaster of Hortonville, Wisconsin, for the past six years, senior member of the well known building and contracting firm of The Diestler Company, progressive and enterprising business man and public-spirited citizen, was born September 3, 1861, in Germany, and is a son of Charles J. and Julia (Kluge) Diestler. There are six brothers and two sisters. Mr. Diestler’s parents were married in the Fatherland, and came to the United States in 1868, settling in Jackson, Washington county, Wisconsin, where Mr. Diestler was engaged in farming and buying horses for the government. On December 25, 1875, he sold his farm and came to Hortonia township, buying 160 acres, known as the Polar farm, which has been his home to the present time. After completing a preliminary education in the parochial schools of Washington county, H. O. E. Diestler took a business course in Milwaukee, paying his own way from the proceeds of a business deal which he consummated when only seventeen years of age in Clintonville. After completing his schooling, he returned to his home, where he worked for some time as a carpenter foreman on the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad, and at the age of twenty years was working as a bridge carpenter. On April 20, 1885, he bought a one-half interest in C. A. Nye & Company’s mill, and four years later induced to purchase the rest. In 1887 he bought the K. W. Rideout mill, which he still operates, manufacturing lumber, shingles, sash and interior work for churches and other buildings. In 1889 his father bought an interest in the mill. On June 7, 1897, his brother, Robert E., bought his father’s interest in the business and the firm style is now The Diestler Company. They are contractors and builders, and deal in coal, wood, building material, paints, oils and glass, and in fact everything except hardware used in the building trade. Mr. Diestler is a Republican in politics and for the past six years has served as postmaster, and was the first republican chairman of supervisors in 1892, before the village was organized. He has always been public-spirited to a high degree, and is known as a man who can be depended upon to give his hearty co-operation and support to any movement which is forwarded to benefit the village or county. His religious connection is with the Lutheran Church of which he has been treasurer and a trustee for sixteen years. On October 13, 1886, Mr. Diestler was married to Miss Elizabeth Foerster, and to this union there have been born seven children: Herman R., Edmond C., Henry A., Herbert, Rudolph, Adolf and Helen.
HERMAN ERB, president of the First National Bank of Appleton, Wisconsin, of which city he has been a resident since March 26, 1861, was born in Fulda, Germany, October 31, 1843, and was educated in his own land, both in the common schools and the gymnasium of Fulda. In September, 1860, Mr. Erb reached the United States and before locating permanently at Appleton, visited New York, Oshkosh and Milwaukee. His association with the banking business covers a period of fifty years. In 1861, he entered the employ of the Outagamie County Bank, and prior to 1870, when he first became identified with the First National, he had been also connected with the Appleton National Bank and the private bank of David Smith and Company. On the organization of the First National Bank, Mr. Erb was made cashier and continued as such until his election as president, in April, 1909. The First National Bank of Appleton has occupied its present building on the corner of College and Appleton streets since 1871. It commenced business with a capital of $50,000, and with deposits of $55,000. The capital stock was soon increased to $75,000, later to $100,000, still later to $150,000, while at the close of business on January 7, 1911, the report showed the capital stock to be $300,000; the surplus fund $100,000, and its deposit $2,400,952. The original offices and board of directors were as follows: A. L. Smith, president; E. C. Goff, vice-president; Herman Erb, cashier; the board of directors being made up of the officers together with G. W. Spalding, J. T. Reeve, W. S. Warner, W. J. Wharton, H. A. Jones and other capitalists living in the state of New York. The present officers and board are: Herman Erb, president; F. J. Sensenbrenner, vice-president; George H. Utz, cashier; L. O. Wissman, assistant cashier; A. O. Hecht, auditor, with directors: F. J. Sensenbrenner, P. Schlafer, J. H. Marston, J. S. Reeve, Herman Erb, F. J. Harwood and P. R. Thom. August 22, 1863, Mr. Erb was married at Oshkosh, Wisconsin, to Josephine Von Kurz, who died November 14, 1879, survived by four children: Mrs. Hattie E. Thickens, Mrs. Laura E. Scott, Herman Erb, Jr., who had served as Mayor of Appleton three terms and died April 30, 1900; and Josephine, who died May 12, 1908. Mr. Erb was married (second) May 26, 1881, to Julia A. Stahl, who was born at Sheboygan, Wisconsin, July 31, 1856, and died May 6, 1911. To this union were born Esther J. and Irma K., who are at home with their father, the former a graduate of the University of Wisconsin and the latter a student at Lawrence College.
BIRDELL NELSON, a leading citizen of Dale, Wisconsin, where he is the proprietor of a general merchandise business, was born in Medina, Outagamie county, Wisconsin, June 27, 1867, and is a son of John and Augusta (Riemenschneider) Nelson, the former a native of England and the latter of Germany. Mr. and Mrs. Nelson came to this country as children and were married in Medina, Wisconsin. Mr. Nelson was a carpenter by trade, an occupation which he followed as a young man, but about 1879 he purchased a farm just west of Dale, where he lived until his death in 1901, at the age of seventy-three years. His widow still survives and has attained the age of sixty-eight years. In 1861 John Nelson enlisted for service in the Union army, becoming a member of Company I, Thirty-second Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and served three years, being discharged at Memphis, Tennessee, on account of disability brought about by exposure. He was with Grant’s army and participated in all the battles of his command. Mr. Nelson was a member of the Grand Army of the Republic and is buried in the Methodist Episcopal Cemetery at Medina. Birdell Nelson was the second of a family of six children, and at the age of twenty years went to work at the cheese making business. When he was twenty-one he established a cheese factory and continued in that business for sixteen years, operating two factories during nine years of that time and continuing the business until 1907. In 1903 he purchased the mercantile business which he now owns from S. R. Wason, and since that time has lived in Dale, and he also is engaged in buying and selling potatoes. Mr. Nelson was married in September, 1890, to Miss Addie Spurgeon, daughter of Philip and Sarah (Lowe) Spurgeon, natives of Virginia and Ohio, respectively. They were married in Dale, Wisconsin, where Mrs. Spurgeon died in 1889, being buried in the German Reformed Cemetery near Medina, and Mr. Spurgeon now lives in Shawano county. Mrs. Nelson was the eldest of a family of three children, and was born June 1, 1869. She and Mr. Nelson have had three children: Arlo, who took a course in Williams Business College, Oshkosh, in 1907; Velma, who attended Oshkosh High School in 1908; and Neva. Mr. Nelson is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, and for the past five years has served as secretary of Dale Camp No. 3208. He is a republican in politics and has been a member of the school board for three years.
JOHN CONWAY, Probably there is not a better known hotel man in the state of Wisconsin than Mr. John Conway, who for more than twenty-three years has been proprietor of the Sherman House, the leading hostelry of Appleton, which is believed to be in every respect the most up-to-date and best-equipped hotel in the state outside of Milwaukee. Its genial proprietor, John Conway, was born at Appleton, Wisconsin, July 2, 1862, and in 1888, erected a small building on the present site of the office and lobby of the Sherman House, the building then having twenty-two guests’ rooms, and about eight persons were its working staff. Business advanced rapidly, but it was not until 1897 that the first addition was built, another being erected in 1899 and a third in 1905, this latter including a modern cafe and lunch room. In 1911, on its twenty-third birthday, a birthday celebration was held by Mr. Conway at the Sherman House, and at this time the Appleton Daily Post, spoke of the event in part as follows: “Twenty-three years of almost unbroken prosperity are very apt to make a decided change in the physical appearance of a city as well as its people. Naturally then, it is to be expected that the more influential business institutions of the city will have reflected in them the onward march of the times. So it is with the Sherman House. In the twenty-three years of its existence nearly 500,000 persons have partaken of meals in the dining room, to say nothing of the thousands who have been served in the cafe and lunch room and at banquets in the French room. Another noteworthy feature of the existence of this hostelry is the fact that in nearly its quarter of a century only one man has died within its walls. It is believed that this record is not equalled by another hotel the size of the Sherman in Wisconsin.” The working organization of the hotel now boasts of sixty-five employes and the pretentious structure has 118 guests’ rooms, in sharp contrast with the little structure of 1888. Mr. Conway is one of the best versed men in his line of business in the state, his long experience having given him the knowledge of what the traveling public most desires, and as a result his house is very popular. A thorough business man, and possessed of much executive ability, he is, nevertheless, an ideal host, genial, courteous and deeply concerned in the welfare and comfort of his guests.
HON. JOHN TRACY
HON. JOHN TRACY, The career of the Hon. John Tracy, of Appleton, Wisconsin, who started life with no advantages of any kind save those given him by nature and worked his way to a position of esteem and respect among the foremost men of his section, illustrates what can be accomplished by persistency, honest endeavor and a determination to succeed, when backed by a natural ability. Mr. Tracy was born in County Limerick, Ireland, April 18, 1852, a son of Edward and Johanna (Brown) Tracy, natives of the Emerald Isle, where the father died in 1862. The mother brought her children to the United States in 1865, settling in Appleton, Wisconsin, whence her two brothers, Richard and Patrick, had preceded her some twenty years, and she still survives her husband and resides in Appleton. She has been the mother of five children, namely: John; Edward, who died in 1868; Mary, whose death occurred in 1901; Kate, died in 1880; and Nora, who married a Mr. McDermott and lives in Chicago. John Tracy was the eldest child of his parents’, and he was given little chance to secure the education which he craved, it being necessary for him to go to work when he was but thirteen years old in the spoke and hub factory at Appleton. He secured what education he could in the night school, after the long, wearisome day in the factory was finished, and continued to attend that institution until he had reached the age of seventeen years, when he devoted all of his attention to his work. He had started to work for Jarrard & Mason, July, 1865, at a salary of forty cents per day, and during the same year J. H. Marston purchased the interest of Jarrard, the firm name becoming Mason & Marston Hub and Spoke Factory. In 1877 Mr. Tracy was given the position of foreman, which his attention to business, hard, persevering labor and general ability.entitled him, and he held that position for about twenty years. He now leases the mill in which he first started to work at forty cents per day, and is at the head of a firm that employs twenty men, uses 1,000,000 feet of logs yearly, and turns out hubs and spokes that are used all over the United States and Canada. On November 18, 1879, Mr. Tracy was married to Miss Maggie Powers, who was born in Massachusetts, daughter of William Powers, and seven children have been born to this union: Edward, who is engaged in business with his father; Margaret, who is deceased; Kitty, at home, a teacher; Emma, who died in 1910; Agnes, also a teacher; Mabel, living at home; and Florence, who is attending school. The older girls were given a high school education, while Agnes is a graduate of Oshkosh normal school and is now teaching at Appleton. The family are attendants of St. Mary’s Catholic Church. Mr. Tracy has always been a stanch and active supporter of the principles of the Democratic party, and his services have been recognized by his election to various positions of honor and responsibility. From 1882 until 1890 he served as a member of the City Council of Appleton, and in the latter year was elected to represent his district in the State Legislature, being re-elected in 1902. He has been chairman of the county board for the past sixteen years, and for the past thirty years has served as treasurer for the Fourth district. Mr. Tracy is the owner of a fine farm in Outagamie county, but makes his home in the city. Although he has been successful in his personal ventures, he has never let himself be governed by the wish for self gain or promotion, but has always been one of the leaders in any movement that his judgment told him would further the interests of the community at large.
HON. LYMAN EDDY BARNES
HON. LYMAN EDDY BARNES, deceased, was one of Appleton’s distinguished men and for years was both prominent in public affairs, and useful, earnest and conscientious in all those things which go to make up a community’s higher life. He was born at Weyauwega, Wisconsin, June 30, 1856, and died at Appleton, January 16, 1904. His parents were William and Lucy (Thomas) Barnes, the former of whom was born in Kentucky and claimed as kindred the Clays, the Bentons and the Harts of that state. The latter was of true Pilgrim stock, her ancestors coming across the Atlantic ocean in the Mayflower. William Barnes went to England when he was young, but at the age of responsibility returned to America, locating at Plymouth, Massachusetts, where he married and with his bride came to Wisconsin in 1849, a pioneer in the lumber business in the section in which he settled. Lyman Eddy Barnes attended the public schools of Oshkosh, Wisconsin, and then entered Columbia College and was graduated from the law department in 1876, coming then, in 1877, to Appleton, where he entered upon the practice of law until 1882, at which time he removed to Florida. For four years he resided in that state, and then returned to Wisconsin and was warmly welcomed by his old friends and associates and was elected district attorney, and in 1892, was still further honored by an election to the United States Congress. During his term at Washington he maintained the same broad–minded attitude in reference to public questions that had previously won him friends and supporters, and when he returned and practically retired from public life it was with an unstained reputation and a record for efficiency that many a statesman of many years’ standing had never achieved. He was an ardent democrat. He was a man of benevolent impulses and ever ready to participate in charitable movements, and was a devoted member of the Episcopal Church. On August 18, 1880, Mr. Barnes was married to Helen Byrd Conkey, a daughter of Col. Theodore and Cynthia. Byrd (Foote) Conkey. Five children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Barnes, namely: Theodora Byrd, who died aged nine years; Alice Alexandra, who is the wife of Lieut. Frank Lee Beals, a native of Virginia, a retired army officer, appointed military attache at American Embassy, Rio de Janiero, Brazil, in 1909; Thomas Hart, who is with the Payne-Lucas Company of Oshkosh; and Edward Talcott and Lyman Eddy, residing at home. At a meeting of the Bar Association, held in Appleton, February 3, 1904, a strong tribute was paid to the memory of Mr. Barnes, from which we copy the following:
“As a citizen and public official, he was faithful in the discharge of every duty; and although a strong partisan, he never sacrificed his state or country to his party. As a friend, he was courteous, congenial and companionable; as a man honorable, frank in his criticisms, positive in his convictions and tolerant of the opinions of his neighbor. As a lawyer always industrious, exact, thorough in his work, true to his clients, honorable toward his associates at the bar and courteous to the Court.”
HUGO WEIFENBACH, secretary of the Kaukauna Building and Loan Association and cashier of the Farmers and Merchants Bank of Kaukauna, Wisconsin, is one of the best known figures in Outagamie county’s financial circles, and his rise in the business world has been phenomenally rapid. He was born March 5, 1875, in Washington county, Wisconsin, and is a son of B. and Barbara Weifenbach, natives of Hesse Darmstadt, Germany, and a grandson of Casper Weifenbach, who founded the family in America in 1846. In September, 1884, Mr. Weifenbach’s mother brought her children to Kaukauna, and here Hugo was given a public and high school education. His first employment was as a printer in the Kaukauna Sun office, next as a bookkeeper in a machine shop, and he then held a like position with the First National Bank, where he remained five years. At the end of this time he became connected with the Bank of Kaukauna, where he remained five years and held the positions of bookkeeper and teller, and left there to accept the position of secretary of the Kaukauna Building and Loan Association. This association, organized in 1887, by N. H. Brokaw and H. S. Cooke, was composed of a number of the leading business citizens of Kaukauna, and it has grown steadily since its incorporation, and is recognized as one of the strongest institutions of its kind, its present authorized capital being $500,000. Its officers are G. W. Fargo, Jr., president; C. E. Raught, vice-president; H. Weifenbach. secretary; H. S. Cooke, treasurer; G. B. Husting, attorney; and a directing board composed of the following: P. Garney, J. B. Delbridge, H. S. Cooke, J. W. Claspill, F. Kowalke, E. T. O’Brien, C. E. Raught, G. W. Fargo, Jr., and A. P. Bayorgeon. Since Mr. Weifenbach has been acting in the capacity of secretary, the business of this company has been tripled. Mr. Weifenbach is engaged in the real estate and insurance business, and is secretary of the Kaukauna Advancement Club, and president of the Loan and Building Association League of Wisconsin. He is a Master Mason, has been secretary of the Elks and held similar offices in other organizations. He did most of the work of organizing for the Farmers and Merchants Bank of Kaukauna, which was incorporated May 18, 1911, with a capital stock of $30,000, John Schmidt being president, he is a farmer near Dundas, Wisconsin; Daniel J. Crowe, a retired citizen of Kaukauna, vice-president; and Mr. Weifenbach, cashier. There are eighty stockholders, all local people, and the bank is located in the Mill Building formerly occupied by the First National Bank. It was opened in July, 1911. On June 28, 1899, Mr. Weifenbach was married to Edna L. Freeman, of Kaukauna, and they have two daughters. Mr. and Mrs. Weifenbach are members of the Congregational Church.
HENRY REUTER, who is one of the proprietors of the C. F. Smith Livery and Transfer Company, at Appleton, Wisconsin, one of the city’s substantial business enterprises, was born at Appleton, January 1, 1865, and is the son of Peter and Gertrude (Borlinghousen) Renter. The late Peter Reuter was a prominent citizen of Wisconsin for many years. He was born July 5, 1838, in Belgium, and died at Kaukauna, Wisconsin, in 1905. In 1847 he accompanied his parents to America, they locating on a farm near Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where the father died three weeks afterward, leaving the mother with five small children, Peter being aged nine years at that time. Peter Reuter learned the carpenter’s trade and in 1864 came to Appleton as foreman in a hub and spoke factory, and four years later, with his brother, Alexander, built a hub and spoke factory at Kaukauna, fifteen years later buying his brother’s interest. Peter Reuter served Kaukauna several terms as mayor, and was a leading democratic politician of his section for many years, later becoming a republican. Since its organization he was president of the Bank of Kaukauna, and was serving as such at the time of his death. Both he and his wife were devoted members of the Catholic Church, and he was a member of the Knights of Columbus and of the Catholic Knights of Wisconsin. He was twice married, and three children were born to his first union and five to this second. Henry Reuter attended the public schools of Kaukauna and later Pio Nono College at St. Frances, near Milwaukee from which institution he graduated in 1881 after which time he took charge of the office of the hub and spoke factory that was being operated at Kaukauna by his father Peter Reuter and in 1886 when the plant moved to Rice Lake, Wisconsin, and incorporated under the name of the Reuter Hub and Spoke Co., he (Henry Reuter) became the Secretary and Manager of the concern which was later moved to Dexter, Missouri, in 1899; in 1901, Henry Reuter became the President and Treasurer of the concern, which position he held until 1903 at which time he sold his interests in the south owing to climatic conditions and returned at Wisconsin, locating at Appleton.
In 1905 he purchased the controlling interest in the C. F. Smith Livery and Transfer Co., of Appleton, Wisconsin, and through his energy and business ability has brought this concern up to a point that today it owns one of the finest and most modern livery and transfer businesses in the state.
Mr. Reuter was married (first) May 1, 1888, to Agnes Kamps, who died September 27, 1904. He was married (second) on June 16, 1909, to Mrs. Catherine Sacksteder, daughter of G. T. Moeskes, who was formerly a judge of the county court. Mr. Reuter has three children, born to his first marriage: Agnes, Helen and Gerhard, all of whom are proficient in music. Mr. Reuter and family are members of St. Joseph’s Catholic Church. He belongs to the Knights of Columbus, the Catholic Knights of Wisconsin and the Modern Woodmen of America.
RIVERSIDE FIBER AND PAPER COMPANY
RIVERSIDE FIBER AND PAPER COMPANY, of Appleton, Wisconsin, manufacturers of fiber, sulphide and writing paper, with capacity of 65,000 pounds of sulphide daily and 28,000 pounds of paper, disposes of its sulphide fiber all over the Fox River Valley. This concern was organized on January 30, 1893, as the Riverside Fiber Company, by H. D. Smith, president; Llames Olmsteade as vice-president and manager; W. B. Murphy, as secretary and treasurer and Thomas Pearson. H. D. Smith died in April, 1909. Mr. Olmsteade sold his interest a few years after organization, and W. B. Murphy died in January, 1910. At first the company manufactured fiber exclusively, but in 1902, built a paper mill on the site of the old shoe factory, with one machine, and a change was then made in the firm style, becoming the Riverside Fiber and Paper company, as at present. In 1902 the capital was increased and a number of stockholders added, and the present officers of the company are as follows: W. M. Gilbert, president; P. R. Thomas, vice-president; S. W. Murphy, secretary and treasurer, and Thomas W. Orbison. The late Thomas Gaynor was also a director. Employment is given 120 men, and the business is in an exceedingly flourishing condition.
S. W. MURPHY
S. W. MURPHY, secretary and treasurer of the Riverside Fiber and Paper Company, was born July 4, 1881, and is a son of W. B. and Viola Blanche (Stevens) Murphy, both of whom were born in New Brunswick, he at Andover, and she at St. John’s. They came to Appleton in 1880. Two brothers of W. B. Murphy, George Howard and Walter James Murphy, the latter of whom died April 22, 1910, had preceded them, coming about 1874, and going into the logging business at Appleton. For one year W. B. Murphy worked in the general store of Baily and Schlaefer, and from 1882 until 1891 was in the employ of Kimberly & Clark. Then, in association with Lyman Barnes, C. B. Clark and Colonel Frambach, he organized the Pulp Wood Supply Company and continued with that concern as manager until the organization of the Riverside Fiber Company, of which he was secretary, treasurer and manager until his death in 1910, when his son, S. W. Murphy succeeded him as secretary and treasurer of the present company. W. B. Murphy was a republican in politics, and fraternally was identified with the Masons. Three children were born to W. B. Murphy and wife, namely: S. W.; Frank S., who was born September 22, 1885, and is now with the Riverside Fiber and Paper Company; and Ethel S., who was born November 6, 1889, and now resides with her brother, S. W. The mother died March 25,1911. S. W. Murphy was married August 17, 1904, to Hilma A. Anderson, a daughter ot John Anderson, and they have three children: Dorthy A., born July 7, 1905; Beverly B., born June 7, 1907; and Frank A., born May 17, 1908. Mrs. Murphy is a member of the Presbyterian church. Mr. Murphy is identified with the Masonic Blue Lodge and with the Knights of Pythias.
JOSEPH J. FAUST
JOSEPH J. FAUST, a well known business man of Kaukauna, is a member of one of the old pioneer families of Wisconsin, the grandparents coming from Germany and settling in 1846, near Milwaukee, subsequently living in Calumet and Fond du Lac counties. Joseph J. Faust was born in Harrison township, Calumet county, Wisconsin, November 16, 1864, a son of Nicholas and Maria K. (Furstenberg) Faust. The father was about six years of age when the grandparents came to America. He was a soldier in the Civil War and is a member of the G. A. R. He is prominent in insurance affairs, being president of the Fox River Health and Accident Company, and has been a resident of Kaukauna since 1890. The mother of Mr. Faust was born in Germany in 1845 and came to Wisconsin when young. Their family contained ten children. After his school days were over, Joseph J. Faust traveled for a time for a nursery company but in October, 1879, he embarked in his present business, that of well drilling. He has complete equipment including modern machinery for this business and works from six to eight men. He was married June 28, 1887, to Miss Johanna Hoffman, who was born in Germany, and accompanied her parents to America in 1881 and to Calumet county, Wisconsin, where her father was a farmer and died in 1908, having survived his wife since 1892. To Mr. and Mrs. Faust nine children have been born, as follows: Susan M., who is a milliner; Louis J., who is in business with his father; and Bernard N., Peter C., who live at home; Tilly, who is deceased; Cecelia M., Michael A. and Gregory M., all of whom are at home, while the eldest, Katherine, died when aged eighteen months. Mr. Faust and family are members of the Holy Cross Catholic Church. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus, the St. Joseph’s Society and the Foresters, of which his son, Louis J., is also a member, while his wife belongs to the Lady Foresters. Mr. Faust has been active in other lines. For seven years he served as a member of the city fire department and was subsequently made chief of this brave and efficient body of men and served as chief for four years. He is a practical electrician and for two years was employed by the municipality as city electrician.
EDGAR G. WILLSON
EDGAR G. WILLSON, president of the Willson Manufacturing Company, manufacturers of meat blocks at Appleton, Wisconsin, is one of the substantial business men of this city, where the family is well and favorably known. He was born in April, 1866, in Appleton, and is a son of Walter W. Willson, inventor of the first meat block. Walter W. Willson was born in New York, from whence he moved to Michigan at an early day, and came to Wisconsin during the early ’50s, locating at Appleton, where he followed contracting and building for many years under the firm name of Willson & Snyder. In 1888 he conceived the idea of manufacturing meat blocks which he began manufacturing as a side line and subsequently continued until his death which occurred in 1890. Mr. Willson married Sarah A. Briggs, who was a daughter of Daniel W. Briggs, one of the pioneer citizens of Outagamie county, and she died in 1888. She was one of the first graduates of Lawrence University, at Appleton, and was the first lady Noble Grand to officiate at a public institution of the Rebecca Lodge of the I. O. O. F. Walter W. Willson was a prominent member of the Odd Fellows, filling all of the chairs and being a member of the Grand Lodge. In politics he was independent, his first vote being cast for John C. Fremont and those afterward for the parties whose principles he believed would be the best for the country. He and his wife were the parents of three children: Daniel W., who died at the age of two years; Theodore B., a resident of Appleton and who is the father of two children, his daughter being a student at the Art Institute, Chicago; and Edgar G. Edgar G. Willson received his education in the schools of Appleton, Wisconsin, and early in life associated himself with his father, taking over the business at the time of the latter’s death. He began to manufacture the sectional maple meat block, making them by hand and nailing them together, but in 1901 he put in the first electric power in the Fox River Valley, having a few machines and engines with a six horsepower. He now uses eight motors, with twenty- three horsepower capacity, puts out 2,500 blocks per year, which are disposed of to jobbers all over the United States, Canada and far as England, and are used by meat markets and in boot and shoe factories. From a small beginning Mr. Willson has succeeded satisfactorily. On February 11, 1888, Mr. Willson was married to Katherine M. Sorenson, of Neenah, and to this union there have been born two accomplished daughters: Winifred and Edna. Mr. and Mrs. Willson are members of the Christian Science Church. He is independent in politics, like his father, voting for the man rather than the party.
S. C. SHANNON
S. C. SHANNON, president and treasurer of the S. C. Shannon Company, wholesale grocers at Nos. 767-79 Morrison street, Appleton, Wisconsin, was born in England, March 5, 1870, and is a son of D. H. and E. B. Shannon, who came to the United States in 1874. The father of Mr. Shannon was formerly in the flour business but has been retired for the past fifteen years. Of his nine children, five sons and one daughter survive. S. C. Shannon was yet a school boy when he first embarked in the grocery business, to which he has devoted his main efforts all his life, being then only eleven years of age. That he possessed unusual business capacity may be inferred when, at sixteen, his father gave him charge of a grocery store, which he successfully conducted and built up a retail business that was second to none in the State. Mr. Shannon in 1903 organized his present company and incorporated it, with the following officers: S. C. Shannon, president and treasurer; H. J. Ingold, secretary, and George D. Downer, vice-president. Directors: S. C. Shannon, H. J. Ingold, G. D. Downer and G. P. Hewitt. Three buildings are occupied by the company, the main building being three stories high and with dimensions of 100×85 feet; the cold storage building four stories high, with dimensions of 35×50 feet; while the warehouse has dimensions of 45×85 feet, the structures covering half a city block. The company sends two salesmen to cover outside territory, gives constant employment to fifteen people, works four teams for local trade, and sells over a radius of fifty miles from Appleton. Mr. Shannon is the head and master mind of this large business, one that has been built up through his energy and good judgment. On February 24, 1910, Mr. Shannon was married to Miss Mabel Ottery, who was born at Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, and for eight years prior to her marriage had taught school at Appleton. They have one son, S. C., Jr. Mr. Shannon has been as active in the affairs of the city as he has been successful in his own concerns. For twelve years he has been alderman from the First ward and for the past two years has been president of the city council, and his public-spirited attitude on important questions has resulted advantageously for the city. For eight years he served as president of the Appleton Grove Association and for two years he was president of the Merchants’ Association. He is active also in fraternal life and is a member of the Masons and the Knights of Pythias.
JOHN GOODLAND, JR.
JOHN GOODLAND, JR., a member of the city council of Appleton, Wisconsin, where he has long been prominent in public life, was born in the old railroad house in Appleton, July 1, 1872, a son of Judge John and Caroline (Clark) Goodland. Judge John Goodland was born in England, in 1831, and came to the United States in 1849, locating in Oneida county, New York, from whence he came to Walworth county, Wisconsin, in 1854. He first taught school for some years, was later employed as a clerk in a store, and then engaged in a grocery business on his own account, but this place was destroyed by fire. He was then elected justice of the peace, but in 1864 removed to Chicago, where he was employed by the Chicago & Northwestern Railway until 1867, when he came to Appleton as agent for the same road. Seven years later he resigned his position to enter the insurance field, and while thus engaged he began the study of law, being admitted in 1879 to practice in the district and circuit courts. He was elected district attorney in 1888 and to the position of judge of the circuit court in 1891, but prior to his taking his seat a vacancy occurred and he was appointed to fill out the unexpired term. He was re-elected in 1897 without opposition, and again in 1903 and 1909, and he is now serving as an honored member of the bench. He was married in New York to Miss Caroline Clark, who died in 1893, leaving nine children, of whom five survive. One son, Walter S., is mayor of Racine, Wisconsin. John Goodland, Jr., received his education in the public schools, and during the years 1886 and 1887 he was employed in his brother’s printing establishment at Wakefield, Michigan. In 1888 he attended Deland Business College, and during the next three years he was a member of the staff of the Post and Crescent of Appleton. In 1890 he established himself in the meat market business in Appleton, but after one year bought the Telulah Springs, the water of which he sold in Appleton, also shipping outside; he continued in this business fifteen years. In 1900, he was elected city treasurer, acting in that capacity until 1911, when he was elected councilman. Mr. Goodland is a member of the Eagles, the Elks, the Knights of Pythias, the Appleton Boat Club and the Harmony Club. In 1891 he was married to Miss Anna Brandl, of Appleton, daughter of Jacob and Theresa Brandl.
REV. THEODORE KNEGTEL
REV. THEODORE KNEGTEL, pastor of the Roman Catholic Church at Little Chute, Wisconsin, took charge of this parish in 1890, having had numerous priestly predecessors as this is one of the old established churches of Outagamie county. Away back in 1833 it was founded by Father Theo. Van den Broek, a pioneer of the faith in a section that must have been little less than a wilderness at that time. In 1847 he went to Holland and left the church for one year in charge of Father Mannes d’Arco, but returned in 1848, again took charge of the parish and continued until his death in 1851. Father William De Jong took charge from 1851 until 1854; Rev. Edward Daems from 1854 until 1855; Rev. William Verhoet from 1855 until 1856; Rev. A. Monclerc from 1856 until 1857; Rev. W. Peiffert from 1857 until 1860; Rev. Egbert Spierings from 1860 until 1865; Rev. Anton Verberk from 1865 until 1869; Rev. Elzear De Wilt from 1869 until 1874; Rev. A. Wubbels from 1874 until 1879; Rev. C. De Louw from 1879 until 1881; Rev. Anton Verberk from 1881 until 1890, when Rev. Theodore Knegtel assumed charge and has remained. He has shown himself a faithful director of the spiritual affairs of a parish that includes some 1,800 souls and has also wisely looked after the welfare of the people in a material way. He has inaugurated reforms and has improved the church property, in 1894 building the large addition to the church and adding equipments to the school, which building was put up on the church grounds in 1883 and with its eight rooms is able to accommodate a large number of pupils.
FRED E. HARRIMAN
FRED E. HARRIMAN, one of the well known and highly esteemed citizens of Appleton, Wisconsin, was born in that city October 23, 1862, and by profession is an attorney at law, having been admitted to the bar March 3, 1885. He is quite extensively engaged in the real estate business, and together with his sons, Fred E. Harriman, Jr., and R. M. Harriman, are among the most extensive “Pure Bred” live stock breeders in the state. He is a member of one of Outagamie county’s most popular and honored families which has furnished men who have become prominent in various professions. He is a son of the late Judge Joseph E. Harriman, and Celia Pratt Harriman. Judge Harriman was born at Louisville, St. Lawrence county, New York, August 14, 1834. On coming to Wisconsin in 1852, he located at Eagle, Walworth county, and four years later moved to Appleton. In 1860, Judge Harriman was married to Celia P. Pratt, daughter of Miles and Deborah (Cooley) Pratt, and sister of the late Judge Thomas H. Cooley, of Ann Arbor, Michigan, one of the justices of the Supreme Court of that state, and a noted law writer, being the author of Cooley on Torts, Cooley on Taxation, Cooley on Constitutional Law, etc., and was the first president of the Interstate Commerce Comsion, appointed by Grover Cleveland. The family is descended from the Col. Putnam family of Revolutionary War fame. To this union these survived: Frank W., a prominent member of the bar and who has been probate judge, and city mayor, and has held numerous offices of trust and honor including that of postmaster of Appleton under the McKinley administration; Fred E.; Florian J.; and Flora L., now the wife of F. E. Perry, of Pomona, California. In 1860 Judge Harriman was elected treasurer of Appleton. Later he engaged in the mercantile business, and in 1864, and 1869, he was elected alderman. He served as justice of the peace from 1869, until 1873, and in the latter year, he was elected probate judge by an overwhelming vote. In 1877 he was re-elected, and again in 1881 and in 1885, with pronounced majorities, which position he occupied at the time of his death. In 1876, he was elected mayor after the hottest contest for that office Appleton had ever known. He was school treasurer of the second district from 1884, to 1887, when he removed from the district. In 1887 he was park commissioner. In 1886 Judge Harriman with others organized the Appleton Electric Street Railway Company, and put in operation the first public electric street railway in the United States, and was president and manager of the company at the time of his demise. To him, more than any other score of men, was due the erection of the magnificent Odd Fellows’ building, which was dedicated January 1, 1889, in which he took part and which was his last public act as an Odd Fellow. He was elected secretary and treasurer of the Appleton Cemetery Association in 1872, which he held at the time of his death, and it was due to his foresight, more than that of any other citizen, that Appleton is provided with a cemetery that has become famous for its attraction, natural and artificial. Endowed with a sturdy mind, fostered by an indomitable will, clothed with a conviction of right and justice, he became the leader of his time; so pronounced was his popularity that although the county and city was strongly democratic, he was the only republican at that date who ever carried the county and city, which testified to the citizens’ abiding faith in him. Twenty years has passed since the flags were displayed at half mast on all the public and principal buildings of the city, and more than three thousand people followed his remains to their resting place. Reverently and tenderly his remains were returned to Mother Earth at Riverside where green grass now covers his grave, blue skies span it, sweet birds sing near it, and the music of passing waters impart a quiet bliss to his final sleep. The memory and fame of Joseph E. Harriman is seen on every side, and long after the memory of man of the present day shall have passed away, there will still remain in the archives of human events of beautiful Appleton the record of his fidelity for progress, integrity and justice.
THE KAUKAUNA LUMBER AND MANUFACTURING COMPANY
THE KAUKAUNA LUMBER AND MANUFACTURING COMPANY, of Kaukauna, Wisconsin, one of the large industrial enterprises of this section, was organized and incorporated in 1884, succeeding Hewitt Bros. & Jansen. The first officers of the company were: Henry Hewitt, Jr., president; John Jansen, vice-president; and J. C. Mitchell, secretary and treasurer. Mr. Hewitt sold his interest in 1893 and Mr. Mitchell his interest in 1889. The present officers are: John Jansen, president; Joseph J. Jansen, vice-president; and John M. Jansen, secretary and treasurer. The plant occupies two and one-half acres on the island, operates its own saw mill and does a wholesale and retail business. It manufactures bank and office fixtures and high grade interior decorations and does a business of about $300,000 a year. Employment is afforded thirty people. This company installed the first electric circular saw in the United States. It operates Central Station electric plant.
John Jansen, the venerable president of the above company, who is now retired from much active participation, was born in the province of North Brabant, Netherlands, in 1835, and was fourteen years of age when he accompanied his parents from Holland to America. He was reared in the family of Capt. James Boyd, in Brown county, and learned to work hard and at heavy tasks in the woods and in saw mills. In 1868 he started to operate a saw mill for John Stovekin, later bought an interest in it and still later the whole mill and retained it entire until 1880, when he sold a one-half interest. Mr. Jansen has been thrice married, his present wife, prior to marriage, having been Frances Rademacher who was born in Buchanan township, Outagamie county. Henry, a son of his first marriage, lives at Marinette. John M., residing at Kaukauna, has a wife and two children. Mary is the wife of Edward Guessenhainer, and they live at Neuminster, Holstein, Germany. Clara is the wife of Frank B. Fargo and they live at Vancouver, Canada. Joseph J. is a resident of Kaukauna. Theresa is deceased. Sarah is the wife of Eugene Taylor, residing at Appleton. Frances married Theodore Ellsworth and they live in this city. Mr. Jansen and family are members of the Holy Cross Catholic Church. Joseph and John J. are members of the Knights of Columbus and Joseph is also identified with the Foresters, the Elks, the Mystic Workers and the Royal Arcanum. He is serving in his third term as alderman from the Second ward and has been a member of the water commission. In earlier days Mr. Jansen also served as an alderman from the Second ward.
CHARLES S. BOYD
CHARLES S. BOYD, president and treasurer of the Appleton Coated Paper Company, at Appleton, Wisconsin, of which he was the organizer, was born at Appleton, November 27, 1871, and is a son of Samuel and Cornelia S. (Bowen) Boyd. Samuel Boyd was born in England, and was a son of Major Thomas Boyd, an officer in the British army, who came to America with his family and took up 1,000 acres of land on the eastern shore of Lake Winnebago, Calumet county, Wisconsin. This entire tract he put under cultivation. He had five sons and two daughters, all of whom accompanied him to America in the early ’40s, and three of his sons were educated at Lawrence University, Samuel Boyd being a graduate of that institution. Charles S. Boyd graduated from Lawrence University in 1893, after which he attended the University of Chicago for one year, and then went into the line of business with which he has been identified ever since. His first work in this direction was with the Moser Paper Company, of Chicago, Illinois, and when he left that concern in 1900 he became traveling salesman for the Plover Paper Company of Stevens Point, and continued until October, 1905, when he organized the Charles S. Boyd Paper Company. He is still operating this plant. In 1907 he organized the Appleton Coated Paper Company. The officers of the former company are: Charles S. Boyd, president; Robert E. Boyd, vice-president, and John Lowe, secretary. This company was started in Kaukauna, but its machinery was moved to Appleton in 1910. It refinishes and markets various lines and grades of cover paper as its principal output. The Appleton Coated Paper Company was organized and incorporated May 7, 1907, with these officers: Charles S. Boyd, president and treasurer; Robert E. Boyd, vice-president, and Curtis Bynum, secretary. On account of failing health, Mr. Bynum sold his interest in 1909 and sought a milder climate, at which time John Lowe became secretary. This company first leased and then bought a factory formerly operated by a canning company, but later made improvements and additions that now give them 30,000 square feet of floor space. It manufactures coated papers and card boards, securing its raw stock from the local mills, and also uses an imported clay which is mined in England and is known as English coating clay. It is the only plant of its kind in Wisconsin and has a capacity of 12,000 pounds per day. The product is used for high grade catalogue and magazine work. The process of manufacture is very interesting. The paper when taken as raw stock is coated with a preparation of clay and casein, the latter a milk product, about 700 pounds of which is used daily. It is calculated that 100 pounds of milk will make three pounds of casein and it requires about 1,000 cows to supply the casein needed by this company. It is purchased from creameries. The company gives employment to sixty-five people. Shipments are made to the leading jobbing points in the Middle West.
HON. EDWARD A. EDMONDS
HON. EDWARD A. EDMONDS, a representative citizen of Appleton, Wisconsin, who is largely interested in lumber, timber, and paper manufacturing, was born at Mason, Michigan, May 2, 1868, and is a son of Rev. L. M. and Mary E. (Thorpe) Edmonds. Rev. L. M. Edmonds was born in Brown county, New York, a son of Jonathan W. Edmonds, who was born in Vermont, of Welsh and English parentage. Grandfather Edmonds moved from Vermont to New York and when past middle life moved to Iowa, dying at Clinton, in that state, when aged ninety-four years. L. M. Edmonds became a minister in the Methodist Episcopal church and served forty years in Michigan and ten years in Wisconsin, his death occurring in Wausau, Wisconsin, in March, 1910, at the age of seventy-eight years. He was buried in Riverside cemetery, Appleton. For many years he was presiding elder in Pentwater, Michigan. In 1858 he was married to Mary Thorpe, who was born in Jackson county, Michigan. Edward A. Edmonds attended school in boyhood in various places in which the family lived according to the appointments of the Methodist Conference, and in 1885 he was graduated from the high school at White Pigeon, Michigan, going from there to Albion College, at Albion, Michigan, where he was graduated in 1889. In the summer of that year he went to Kaukauna, Wisconsin, and entered the employ of his brother-in-law, N. H. Brokaw, who built the fiber mill of the Kaukauna Fiber Company, of which Mr. Edmonds was made foreman in February, 1890. Afterward, in the same year, he accepted the superintendency of the mills of the Oconto Falls Manufacturing Company, of which Mr. Brokaw was manager, and resided at the Falls for the succeeding thirteen years, during ten years of this time being chairman of the town board, and in 1892 was elected to the General Assembly. In the fall of 1903, he moved to Rhinelander, Wisconsin, where he became manager of the Rhinelander Paper Company, which during the following year built a paper and pulp plant. Mr. Edmonds remained in charge there for four years and then retired to Appleton, in 1907 purchasing a handsome residence on the corner of North and Durkee streets. His time is fully occupied in looking after his various business interests in the line above indicated, and in attending to the public duties incidental to the responsible positions to which he has at different times been appointed. In 1900 he was appointed a member of the board of regents of the State University, and served three years, and in December, 1910, was reappointed to the same office. He is also secretary of the board of trustees of Lawrence University. On November 17, 1896, Mr. Edmonds was married to Gertrude B. Cannon, a daughter of Leander and Charlotte (Boughton) Cannon. Her parents were pioneers in Kalamazoo county, Michigan, coming to the state from New York, Mrs. Edmonds was born on her father’s farm near Vicksburg, Michigan, and was one of five children. Mr. and Mrs. Edmonds have two children: Beatrice May, who was born May 15, 1900, on the 100th anniversary of the birth of her great-grandmother, Desire (Wolcott) Boughton; and Maxine Esther, born August 14, 1906. Mr. and Mrs. Edmonds are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Prior to 1893 Mr. Edmonds was a democrat in his political views, but since then has been an active republican and has served as chairman of the Republican State Central Committee. He is a thirty-second degree Mason and belongs also to the Elks.
HON. AUGUSTUS LEDYARD SMITH
HON. AUGUSTUS LEDYARD SMITH, This gentleman, whose death occurred at his residence in Appleton, Wisconsin, August 12, 1902, was a communicant of the Congregational Church, but his relation and that of his family to our first established educational institution of high grade, Wesleyan University, as well as his public services as an American citizen, justify and even require a suitable recognition in the history of Outagamie county.
From 1852 to 1857 Augustus William Smith, LL.D., was president of Wesleyan University. President Smith was an alumnus of Hamilton College, New York, was for some years principal of Cazenovia Seminary, and for twenty-six years Professor of Mathematics (*Copy of article in “Christian Advocate,” of September 4, 1902. Written by James M. Buckley, Editor.) and Astronomy in Wesleyan University, including the period of his presidency. Dr. Smith was a very distinguished mathematician and unsurpassed in popularity in this country as an instructor in that department. Subsequent to his incumbency as president of Wesleyan University he was Professor of Natural History in the United States Naval Academy at Annapolis, Md., where in 1866 he died.
Augustus Ledyard Smith was his youngest son and was born in Middletown, Connecticut, April 5, 1833, and was an alumnus of the Class of 1854 in Wesleyan University. After his graduation he became tutor in the University of Wisconsin at Madison, and in about three years became secretary and land commissioner of a large improvement company. For one or two years he edited the “Fond du Lac Union,” and resigned this to become assistant professor of mathematics in the United States Naval Academy. Later he returned and resumed his former position as secretary of the improvement company. In his thirty-third year he was elected to the Senate of Wisconsin, and held that position two terms. After closing his service there he became secretary and treasurer of the Green Bay and Mississippi Canal Company, the successors of the Fox River Improvement Company, with which he had formerly been connected. About the same time he was made a regent of the University of Wisconsin, and in 1870 was elected mayor of the city of Appleton. His residence in Appleton dated from 1859, when he assumed charge of the affairs of the Wisconsin & Fox River Improvement Company. He organized the First National Bank of Appleton and was for more than twenty years its president; he organized the Appleton Iron Company, of which he was president a long time. He was the leading spirit in organizing the Appleton Edison Electric Light Company, the first organization in the world to distribute electric light for commercial purposes, and owing to his active interest in all things pertaining to the electrical world, in 1894 he was elected vice-president of the National Association of Edison Illuminating Companies. From 1879 to his death, or shortly before it, he was a trustee of Wesleyan University, and remote from it as he lived, he frequently attended meetings. For a number of years he was trustee of Lawrence University in Appleton. In 1891 he was president of the Wisconsin Board of World’s Fair Managers. Mr. Smith came of an honored ancestry to which his career has added luster. On his mother’s side his ancestors were prominent in the Colonial and Revolutionary wars, the War of 1812 and the Mexican War. On his father’s side his great-grandfather, Eldad Smith, was one of the earliest volunteers from the state of Connecticut when the alarm was sounded from Lexington. We had the pleasure of his acquaintance from about the time of his graduation until his death. Probably no man was ever more beloved in the community where he resided than Mr. Smith. The Appleton daily papers have written about him in a manner equally honorable to him and to the city and its press. “The Appleton Daily Post,” after devoting much space to a summary of his services to that city and to his career in general, pays a tribute to him in paragraphs of unusual felicity of composition: “After virtues of honesty and industry have been enumerated it must be said that the strongest impression left upon the world by a man’s character is dependent upon the way he has met and mingled with his fellow-men. It was Mr. Smith’s hearty cordiality and affability that won for him such affection in Appleton. * * * The truest culture and refinement is the simplest and most democratic. Many people possess the disposition but lack the ability. He was brought up during the years when there was time enough for a man to learn a courtly bearing, and he kept it all his life. It is scarcely too much to say that all the social life in Appleton was built upon the foundation laid for it by Mr. and Mrs. Smith in their home in Lawesburg, beautiful for situation, and beautiful as an example of what an ideal home life might be.” “The Evening Crescent,” in speaking of him said: “In the presence of such an overshadowing bereavement, language can but feebly express the emotions of the great heart of this community, because of the breadth and abiding love and friendship existing betweeh Mr. Smith and the people of this city, he being, as it were, one of the family in his outgoings and incomings familiarly for all these years. The poor and distressed bear ample testimony to his open-handed, large-heartedness; in matters of public interest for the advancement of the city’s welfare and growth, morally, intellectually and commercially, his great manhood was ever manifested and with all matters of civic interest, while he was in health, his personality was interwoven.” Mr. Smith was sixty-nine years of age. His older brother, Mr. Perry C. Smith, resides at Newport, Rhode Island. His sister, Miss Helen Smith, has been for many years and is still preceptress of Wells College at Aurora, New York. The only other survivor of his parents is Mrs. Hill, of Newport, Rhode Island. These ladies were present at the residence during a part of his last illness, which, though he had been in poor health for more than a year, was, acute. Of his venerable mother, a woman of extraordinary grace and tact, who survived until a few years ago, an extended account was printed in this paper. Early last spring, being in Appleton on business, we called upon our old friend in the house described in one of the foregoing extracts, stood for a long time before the shelves of his library, looking over with him elegantly bound volumes and rare editions of the best works, ancient and modern. His whole house, in fact, was a library and art gallery. His two children reside at distant points: One in Madison, Maine, and the other in Milwaukee. His wife had died eight years before and he was living alone. Placed near the portrait of his wife were words of such beauty and pathos that we asked their origin and were told that they were written by a long beloved friend of the family. We asked for a copy, little imagining that before the year should close he would be reunited to her: “Since all her life’s long melody Was set to keys of love, She will not find the music strange That fills the courts above; But when her eyes, with rapture clear, Shall read the heavenly score, Hers in the endless song will be The part she knew before.” In recalling his expressions we fancy that his mind was then more upon the other life than this.
PETER TUBBS, vice-president of the First National Bank of Seymour, Wisconsin and president of the Security Loan and Guaranty Company, and proprietor of Woodlawn Farm, has been a resident of Seymour township since 1868, and during this time has not only achieved success for himself in a marked degree, but has aided materially in the development of this section of Outagamie county, and now may be regarded as one of its best types of good citizenship. Peter Tubbs was born in Erie county, New York, May 3, 1841, and is a son of Jacob and Clymenia (Cottrell) Tubbs, and a grandson of Peter Tubbs. Jacob Tubbs was born in New York in 1806, and his wife during the same year in Massachusetts, and their marriage took place in the former state, where Mr. Tubbs operated a farm and sawmill. In 1848 the family, consisting of the parents and seven children, of whom Peter was the only boy, located in Dodge county, Wisconsin, and settled on forty acres of land, which was then covered with wild timber. Peter Tubbs was only seven years old when the family came West, and his boyhood was spent much the same as that of other pioneer farmers’ sons, the hard labor of clearing a farm from the wilderness claiming most of his time and giving him but scant opportunity to gain an education in the little country school. Such chance as he had, however, he made the most of, and when he had attained to man’s estate he was a well-read and well-informed young man. At the outbreak of the Civil War, Peter Tubbs like other youths of his day felt that his country was in need of his services, but on August 14, 1862, he enlisted in Company I, Twenty-ninth Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, at Neosho, for three years or during the war, the regiment congregating at Hartford and being sworn in at Madison. The regiment left Wisconsin, November 2, 1862, for Cairo, Illinois, where orders were received for it to proceed to Helena, Arkansas, and later it went to Camp Solomon, Mississippi, where Mr. Tubbs was engaged in scout duty until the spring of 1863, when he entered the Vicksburg campaign and engaged in the battles of Port Gibson and Champion Hills, having drawn five days’ rations and seeing seventeen days of hard fighting. After the surrender of Vicksburg the regiment then went to Jackson,Mississippi, thence to Natchez and on to new Orleans, from whence it moved to participate in the battles of the Red River campaign. In January, 1864, it was sent to Madagorda Bay, Texas, but returned to New Orleans later. It took part in the capture of Mobile, at which city it was stationed at the time of General Lee’s surrender, and Mr. Tubbs received his honorable discharge at Shreveport, Louisiana, and the regiment was disbanded at Madison, Wisconsin, July 17, 1865. The Twenty-ninth was always known as a hard-fighting organization, willing and ready to be in the thickest part of any battle in which it participated, and its members made a name for themselves on many a bloody battlefield. Mr. Tubbs was always a faithful, brave and cheerful soldier, respected by his officers and popular with his comrades, and his war record is one of which no man would need be ashamed. After completing his services to his country, Mr. Tubbs returned to Dodge county, Wisconsin, where for a time he was engaged in working on his father’s farm and the one adjoining, but in September, 1868, he drove through the wilderness to locate on eighty acres of wild land situated on section 17, in Seymour township, Outagamie county, which he had purchased the year previously for four dollars per acre. At this time the country was heavily wooded, wild and uncultivated, but by three o’clock of the next day that he had arrived upon the land, he had erected a 14×20 board shanty with a slab roof. At this time Appleton was the base of supplies, it taking two days to make the trip to that city; the road past Mr. Tubbs’ house was only a trail, and there were but three houses in Seymour, those of Fred Muehl, Sr., “Aunt” Sally Munger and Willis Munger. Inside of two weeks Mr. Tubbs had cleared four acres and sown it with winter wheat, and at the end of three years he had cleared forty acres of land and erected a comfortable house and substantial barn. In spite of the advice of friends, who believed that this section of the country would never prove valuable, Mr. Tubbs stayed on his original purchase, adding to it from time to time, until it has now grown to 600 acres, upon portions of which his children have their homes. In order that just recognition be given to Mr. Tubbs and the immense industry which he has built up, a description of the buildings of Woodlawn Farm should be given. Woodlawn Farm is situated two and one-half miles from the city of Seymour, and its high-class produce, butter and eggs are shipped to many states in the Union. In addition to the handsome twelve-room residence, the buildings include a blacksmith and general workshop, used also for packing rooms and storage house for produce, 18×36 feet, and two stories high; a cow barn, 44×48 feet, composed of cement and plastered, well lighted, with basement attached, wherein each cow is named and numbered, and which is the very acme of cleanliness; a silo connected with the barn, 18×32 feet on the inside, with two-feet walls and composed of stone; and a horse barn, 50×50 feet, with cement floor, partitions and mangers, with a sheep shed attached. Feed driveways have been installed in these buildings, the feed being carried to the basement from the floor above by feed chutes, and the whole is ventilated by a modern and thorough system. Mr. Tubbs has his own threshing machine outfit and grinds his own feed by wind-mill power. In his dairy department a gasoline engine operates the cream separators and churns. Mr. Tubbs keeps Holstein cattle, Norman horses and Lincoln sheep, and also raises fine Poland China hogs and Brown Leghorn chickens. The hog house, which is 18×50 feet, with cement floors and troughs, and the hen coop, 14×50 feet, lathed and plastered, display the same cleanly and well-kept appearance that characterize the other buildings. In addition to these there are other modern buildings, including a grain barn, 36×50 feet, and a substantial ice house. A spacious lawn with many shade trees surrounds the residence, and a large apple orchard adjoins. Mr. Tubbs has been extremely busy with his own business interests, but he has still found time to assist in forwarding movements for the benefit of this section. He was influential in securing the Green Bay & Western Railroad station for Seymour in 1872, and in 1870, through the assistance of Judge Myers, accomplished the establishment of the post office at Seymour, being the first postmaster. He was one of the organizers of the First National Bank of Seymour, and in 1880 took the city census. He has held the office of president of the Seymour Driving Park, and he has also held a number of offices within the gift of the people, including that of chairman of the county board of supervisors for three years, during which time he was instrumental in establishing the county work house, which has saved Outagamie county thousands of dollars. In political matters he has always been a Republican. Since his locating in Outagamie county, Mr. Tubbs has been active in church work, and for years has been president of the board of trustees of the Seymour Methodist Church. For the past twenty-five years he has been local correspondent for the leading newspapers. On January 4, 1866, Mr. Tubbs was united in marriage with Phoebe Armitage, who was born in Dodge county, Wisconsin, a daughter of Joseph and Mary Armitage, and to this union there have been born a family of ten children: Lloyd H., a farmer of Seymour township, who married Effa Shepherd; Carrie J., who married Adelbert Carter, an agriculturist of Seymour township; Flory, who married C. R. Blancher, a farmer of Seymour township; Mary, who married Edner Nicholas, a farmer of Seymour township; Nora, the wife of C. W. Hillegas, carrying on farming in Clark county; Phoebe, who married S. Elmer Steward, a resident of Seymour and teacher in the High school; George, who married Lenina Hahn, residing on the farm with his father; John Herbert, also residing at home, who married Adelaide Geisler; and Eleanor and Frank, who are living at home. Mr. Tubbs’ father, who came to live with him during his last years, died in 1892, aged eighty-six years, while his widow survived him six years, being ninety-two at the time of her demise.
HON. FRANCIS R. DITTMER
HON. FRANCIS R. DITTMER, president of the First National Bank of Seymour, Wisconsin, postmaster of this city, and in 1887-88 a member of the Wisconsin State Legislature, has been so vitally connected with the progress and development of this place that he may be justly named as one of its most distinguished citizens. He was born February 26, 1848, at Friedeberg, Prussia, Germany, and is a son of Carl William and Ernestina (Krueger) Dittmer. The parents of Mr. Dittmer were natives of Germany and the father passed his life there, dying in middle age, the mother surviving until 1877, passing away at the home of a son, at Green Bay, Wisconsin, in her seventy-third year. The father was a freeholder and a carpenter and during life provided well for his family, but at death left but a small estate. Of the four children, Francis R. was the youngest in order of birth. Ludwig and William, the two eldest, reside at Green Bay, Wisconsin, while the only daughter, Augusta, died in Germany when aged thirty-three years. Francis R. Dittmer was eleven years old when his father died, but this domestic calamity did not prevent his securing an excellent education and before he began to learn a self-supporting trade he had passed creditably through the High school of his native place. He then went to Berlin, with the idea of becoming an engineer, but discontinued his efforts and was persuaded by his eldest brother to go into the boot and shoe business, with whom he learned the boot and shoemaking trade. When twenty years old he decided to accompany, and was the cause of bringing his brother William to America, and in 1868 they crossed the Atlantic ocean and landed at Quebec, Canada, and from there entered the United States. The older brother was pleased with the appearance of Green Bay, Wisconsin, and stopped there, but Francis pushed on to Milwaukee, where he secured his first work in the shoe factory of Bradley & Metcalf. He spent but a short time there, however, going then to Columbia county, and in the closing days of the year 1868 located at Green Bay. In spite of an excellent German education Mr. Dittmer already realized the hampering effect of an ignorance of the English language, and hence began to devote all his spare time to acquiring facility in its use. In the spring of 1869 he went to St. Louis, Missouri, but as the climate did not agree with him, one year later he went to Williamsville, Illinois, and from there back to Green Bay early in 1871. The fall of 1872 he came here for a short time and bought his first farm. In 1873 he came to Seymour and established himself in the boot and shoe business, in which he continued until 1881, when he turned his attention to real estate and insurance, being the pioneer in the insurance business here. He is now the representative of fifteen companies, the leading ones being: The Northwestern Mutual Life, the Wisconsin National Life and the Fidelity and Casualty Company of Baltimore, Maryland, and many other good companies. In 1902 Mr. Dittmer entered into the banking business, the First National Bank of Seymour being organized in December of that year, with a capital stock of $30,000, and began business in January, 1903, with J. H. Taylor, of Green Bay, as president, and William Larson, of the same city, as vice-president. The first board of directors was made up of the following capitalists: J. H. Taylor, William Larson and Samuel H. Cady, all of Green Bay; Jacob Freund, Peter Tubbs, Robert Kuehne and Francis R. Dittmer, of Seymour. In 1894 changes came about and Mr. Dittmer became president, Peter Tubbs vice-president, and Charles Freund cashier. Mr. Taylor and Mr. Larson as directors were succeeded by John Vecke and Fred Dorow. As a banker Mr. Dittmer enjoys the confidence of the public and in his able and careful management of the affairs of this financial institution he has but given another evidence of an unusual amount of business sagacity. Not only has Mr. Dittmer been an active agent in promoting the best business interests of Seymour, for his activities have been beneficial both to himself and his fellow citizens, but he has been a recognized leader in public affairs. His popularity has been shown in innumerable ways, his fellow citizens calling upon him to accept public responsibilities during a prolonged period, and the duties of official life have been performed with the same thoroughness and exactness that has marked his business transactions. His political convictions make him a Republican and he has filled every office in the gift of the people at Seymour. For a number of years he was supervisor of Outagamie county, was chairman of the board and served on all committees, at different times, and. during this time he applied his business methods to the curtailment of public expenditure. In two years he had brought about a saving of $2,600. For twenty-two years he has been a member of the school board at Seymour, and during his incumbency he has, mainly through his personal effort, secured the erection of the High school, at a cost of $25,000. In 1882 he was elected city clerk, and filled that office for twelve years, while for fifteen years he has been a justice of the peace, being the second justice elected at Seymour. In 1886 Mr. Dittmer was elected to the state legislature and served out his term with the greatest measure of usefulness. He was largely instrumental in having the Tramp law passed, which affects Outagamie and adjoining counties, and also secured beneficial legislation for Seymour, securing an amendment to the city charter making two additional wards and another justice of the peace. On November 15, 1897, he was appointed postmaster being the fifth incumbent of this office, his predecessors being Messrs. Dix, Mitchell, Le Mieux and Falck. When he took charge it was in the fourth class. After one year it was advanced to the third class, and when rural free delivery was inaugurated he applied to his Congressman for a route, the first one being started in 1902, and now five routes go out from this office. The volume of business has been increased one and one-half times. Mr. Dittmer is additionally interested, being secretary, treasurer and a director in the Security Guaranty and Loan Company of Seymour, which business enterprise was organized in 1903. Local improvements of a public character always claim his attention, and if his judgment approves, his liberal support. In 1884 the Seymour Fair and Driving Park was organized and he served two years as its president and seven years as its secretary. In 1871 Mr. Dittmer was married to Minnie Rost, a daughter of Carl Rost, and eight children were born to them. Francis, the eldest of the family, is manager of the Schlafer Hardware Company, of Appleton; Ella married Hans Hanson and they live at Green Bay; Edwin is a veteran of the Spanish-American War and participated also in the suppression of the Boxer uprising in China, and is now at San Francisco, California; Edith is the wife of Edward J. Falck of Seymour; Delia is the wife of Dr. J. F. Heintz of Green Bay; Roger resides at San Francisco; and Arthur and Alma are deceased, the former dying at the age of nine months and the latter when aged twelve years. The mother of the above family died January 21, 1889. On May 22, 1890, Mr. Dittmer was married (second) to Emily Vecke, a daughter of Rev. G. Vecke, and they have had three children, namely: Winfred Cyril Columbus, who is a student of law at Madison, Wisconsin; Beatrice, who died at the age of one year; and Cedric Kenneth, who is attending school at Seymour. Prior to her marriage Mrs. Dittmer was an acceptable school teacher and something of a social favorite. Mr. Dittmer is identified with the Royal Arcanum and with the different branches of Odd Fellowship at Seymour, and the Ancient, Free and Accepted Masons. By action of the circuit court, on November 14, 1878, Mr. Dittmer was made a citizen of the United States, having taken out his first naturalization papers in 1868.
CHARLES D. BOYD, M. D.
CHARLES D. BOYD, M. D., physician and surgeon at Kaukauna, Wisconsin, and a representative citizen along many lines, was born at Kilbourn City, Columbia county, Wisconsin, in 1869, a son of George A. Boyd, his mother’s maiden name being Zayde. The former was born in Connecticut and the latter in New York state. They came to Wisconsin in the ’50s. The father was a commission merchant and produce dealer for some years at Kilbourn City, Wisconsin. He died when the subject of this sketch was eight years of age, leaving Charles D. Boyd to earn his own way. Charles D. Boyd completed the High school course at Kilbourn City and afterwards spent two years in the Northwestern University at Evanston, Illinois, and subsequently entered Rush Medical College, Chicago, where he was graduated in the class of 1891. Later he took post-graduate courses in New York City and also at Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland. For the past two decades Dr. Boyd has been established in practice at Kaukauna and has been identified with medical progress in the county, serving as the second president of the Outagamie County Medical Society and president of the Fox River Valley Medical Association. He belongs, also, to state and local medical bodies and as a practitioner is well and widely known. He is no less prominent as a. citizen of Kaukauna, having been elected for twelve years as a member of the city council and in 1900 became mayor of that city. In 1899 Dr. Boyd was married to Miss Mary W. Lunt of Appleton, and they have had four children, two of whom survive. Dr. Boyd is past master in the order of Free and Accepted Masons and belongs also to the Elks and other fraternal societies.
CHESTER POE CORNELIUS
CHESTER POE CORNELIUS, whose Indian name is Geyna, was born September 7, 1869, on the Oneida Reservation near Green Bay, Wisconsin, being the eldest son of Adam Poe Cornelius and Celicia Bread, and the offspring of the two royal clans of the Oneidas. His paternal grandfather was John Cornelius of Oneida Castle, New York, who was one of the foremost Oneida chiefs, and brother of Jacob Cornelius of oratorical fame, who was the head chief of the Orchard faction at the south end of Oneida. The name Cornelius originated from a German or Dutch ancestor; which one, is still a matter of dispute. The war records claim that the original Cornelius came from Holland and that he was a trader among the Six Nations, and that he married an Oneida woman. Personal letters to, and traditions in, the family claim that this Cornelius was a German, who came to America as early as 1632, a visitor to the new land, and that, allured by the opportunities it offered, he remained a settler and drifted to northern New York, where he finally married an Oneida woman. Sufficient evidence has not yet been collected to prove either of these claims, and whether this small strain of white blood left in the Cornelius family of the present day comes from Holland or Germany remains still to be established. Whichever it may have been, the fact remains that there is a strain of Caucasian blood in the family. It must not be forgotten, however, that this strain was absorbed by the Oneidas and that with intermarriage backward into the Indian, it is almost lost. Tradition actually proves that Dagoawi, the great-grandfather of C. P. Cornelius, was so dark that he looked like a full-blooded Oneida. On the maternal side the grandfather was Daniel Bread, Deho8yadilun, the last head chief of the Oneidas, who was known nationally as the brainiest chief this people ever had. Through his resistance to move westward with the Jefferson-Monroe policy of removing all Indians in the United States to the west of the Mississippi, the Oneidas came to their present holdings in Wisconsin and at the same time fell heirs to the Kansas Claim. He was a man of regal bearing, a full-blood Oneida and quite dark, but possessed the high forehead of the Iroquois and the strong features of the forest type of Indian. As a diplomat he was known and feared by the statesmen of his time and it is a well-established fact that his oratory was always so fortified with logic that he compelled the attention of big minds. From him, no doubt, Chester P. Cornelius received the foresight and peculiar combination of mind which has given him his unusual creative as well as executive ability. The wife of Daniel Bread was quarter-bred English, descended from the Danforths. She was considered the most beautiful of Oneida’s daughters, and was born to the Turtle clan. In the matriarchal system it is, of course, through the mother’s blood that descent counts. Daniel Bread, for instance, was a man of the people; he was an elected chief. There were two kinds of chiefs in the latter days of the Oneidas; one hereditary and the other elected. But, the fact that his wife came from the strongest of the hereditary clans has given the royal right to his children and grandchildren. With the marriage of Celicia Bread into the Cornelius family, the two strongest hereditary clans of the Oneidas met. It is a matter of pride to the people that this union was one of the most ideal among them, and it has no doubt some bearing on the prospective achievements of their offspring.
Chester P. Cornelius attended, though he did not finish, Dickinson college at Carlisle, Pennsylvania, also the University of Pennsylvania at Philadelphia, summer sessions at Harvard, and received a diploma from the Eastman Business College at Poughkeepsie, New York. After some reverses in business in the west he finally studied law in Wisconsin and was admitted to practice. When Deho8yadilun died he was still fighting to get the monies from the Kansas Claim for the Oneidas. This task C. P. Cornelius himself completed but a few years ago. On several occasions he has put through directly or indirectly some Indian claims, among them being the $5,000,000 Cherokee Claim in Oklahoma, and as a result he is, perhaps, as well versed in Indian laws as any Indian in the country. The maps of Oneida, from which the other Indian maps of the country are being modeled, were made by him. But, perhaps, the biggest thing he has accomplished is what is to take place in the near future, in the installment on the Oneida land of what is the most highly organized system of scientific agriculture. Bringing with him a large experience in the business world and a large store of general knowledge, it is his intention to forsake his profession and devote his whole life to making Oneida a garden spot of the country. The Oneida Stock Farm, with its most modern barn in the county and its acres presaging such wonderful possibilities, is an example of his idea of bringing beautiful culture out of the wilderness. In co-operation with his sister, Laura M. Cornelius, who has originated a scheme for industrial organization for all Indians and who hopes to establish a Cherry Garden City for the Oneidas, C. P. Cornelius stands in a position to demonstrate to the world the large abilities and possibilities of the Indian race. Replying to the rebuke that he was foolish to give away so many of his ideas in improving farm machinery, which were not being patented, he replied, “There is nothing for which I have so much contempt as the social parasite. The man who has nothing to give to advance his fellows without the money first is one.” When asked if he was going to devote himself to the Indian entirely, he answered, “Dutchman and Indian are alike to me except in their opportunities.” Mr. Cornelius is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite and a Knight Templar of the Masonic fraternity, and also belongs to the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine.
WILLIAM MICHELSTETTER, who is well known in financial circles of Outagamie county as president of the Seymour State Bank, of Seymour, Wisconsin, was born May 12, 1851, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, a son of M. and Cecelia Michelstetter, the latter of whom died when William was but eleven years of age. William Michelstetter was an undergraduate of Ingleman’s Academy, on Broadway, Milwaukee, after leaving which he worked on a farm for three years and went to school winters near Oconomowoc, from whence he went to Baraboo and became an apprentice to the jewelry trade. After three years spent as a clerk in a dry goods store at Appleton, and being still but sixteen years of age, Mr. Michelstetter entered the law and abstract office in the office of Ballard & Schmitz, where he remained five and one-quarter years. He then went to Manitowoc, started books for an abstract office in the office of Nash & Treat, but after one winter there moved to Green Bay and spent the winter following in the abstract office of James Baker. He then spent one and a half year in the office of the registrar of deeds, and at the end of that time came to Seymour, where with his father he embarked in the hardware business under the firm name of Michelstetter & Son, a connection which continued about two and one-half years, when his father sold his interest in the business to G. H. Feurig. In the meantime he had given a great deal of attention to the real estate business and loans, and after selling his hardware business he decided to enter the financial field, the business being organized as a private institution in 1887, with Mr. Michelstetter as proprietor and S. H. Rondeau as cashier, and at this time the business was valued at $8,000, which included the building. This continued for fifteen years, and in 1902 the Seymour State Bank was incorporated, business beginning January 1, 1903, with a capital stock of $30,000, with Mr. Michelstetter president, Frank Falck vice-president and Charles R. Prosser cashier, the board of directors including the above-named gentlemen and Dr. James Hittner and Charles Ploeger. No change has been made in the officers of the company, but the capital stock has been increased to $60,000, with $7,000 surplus, and the stockholders have received nearly 100 per cent, dividends in the meantime. In real estate and farm loans there is about $1,500,000 among customers, and the whole business is valued at present at $2,000,000. Mr. Michelstetter is also extensively interested in farming lands. William Michelstetter was united in marriage with Emma Emelia Feurig, daughter of the Rev. Gustavus Rudolph Seigmund Feurig, a Moravian missionary, and Agnes Justina (Gruhl) Feurig, the formuer a native of Bethelsdorf, Saxony, Germany. Mrs. Michelstetter was born in Central America and has been the mother of four children: Adelbert Rudolph, assistant cashier of the Seymour State Bank, who married Jesse Benedict, a native of Kansas, and has one child, Seward Arthur; Mervyn, who died at the age of two years, seven months; Stella Alida, who died when twenty-seven years old; and Nita Leona, who married Charles R. Binckley. Mr. Michelstetter is a member of the Congregational Church and the Christian Endeavor Society connected therewith, in addition to taking care of the duties of a Sunday School teacher. He has been president of the Seymour city council for several years, and has filled the mayoralty chair efficiently and faithfully. He is interested in the upbuilding and development of Outagamie county, and holds membership in the Pioneer Association, being also treasurer of the Seymour Driving Park and Fair Association.
PERCY W. SILVERWOOD
PERCY W. SILVERWOOD, was born July 30, 1886, in Dane county, Wisconsin, a son of George and Ellen (Calder) Silverwood, the former of whom, a native of Yorkshire, England, came to Wisconsin in 1844. He has been a lifelong agriculturist in Albion township, Dane county, where he still survives, his wife having passed away in 1900 at the age of fifty years. Their children were: Thomas who is city attorney of Green Bay, Wisconsin; George, who is engaged in farming in Albion township; Percy W., subject of this review; Emma, Mary and Bella, deceased. By a former marriage George Silverwood had a daughter Anne, who is deceased. Percy W. Silverwood attended the common schools of Dane county, the High school in Rock county and the university at Valparaiso, Indiana, from which latter institution he was graduated in 1907. He then entered the law office of his brother at Green Bay, and on February 28, 1908, came to Seymour and here opened a law office under the firm name of Silverwood & Silverwood. At this time it was Mr. Silverwood’s intention to engage in legal practice, but, becoming convinced of the great opportunities offered in the real estate field in Outagamie county, and especially the possibilities which the opening of the Oneida Indian reservation presented, he turned his attention to the real estate business under the same name which the law firm bore. Later the concern became known as the Oneida Land Company, it first being a partnership company, but on August 19, 1911, it was established as a corporation, capitalized at $50,000, with C. A. Kerr of Chicago as president, G. L. Lonkey of Shiocton, vice-president and treasurer and Mr. Silverwood as secretary and manager. Mr. Silverwood owns a tract of 120 acres in the reservation, known as Silverwood Farm, designed as an orchard farm and valued at $9,000 on which twenty acres of cherry trees are now being set out. He is a Republican in politics and belongs to the County Central Committee. He is also president of the Seymour Library and has identified himself with many movements calculated to advance the educational, social and industrial interests of his adopted city. In 1910 Mr. Silverwood was united in marriage with Miss Mary O’Connor, who was born in 1883 at Green Lake, Wisconsin. To this union one daughter, Elizabeth S., whose birth occurred May 15, 1911, has been born.
JULIUS J. MARTENS
JULIUS J. MARTENS, president of the Julius J. Martens Company, general merchants at Kaukauna, Wisconsin, was born near Centerville, Manitowoc county, Wisconsin, October 12, 1871, and is a son of Joachim and Ernestine (Rosbery) Martens. The parents were born in Germany and came to the United States in childhood. For a. number of years the father conducted a hotel at Kaukauna, where he died October 6, 1901. He was a veteran of the Civil War. His family consisted of four sons and four daughters, two of the latter being now deceased. He located at Kaukauna in 1883 and here Julius J. attended school until old enough to become clerk in a store and continued in that capacity for seven years. Afterward he traveled for a grocery company for two years and later was in a machine business for one year and then went into his present enterprise. In 1899 in partnership with Joseph Vilas and William Overbeck, he formed a stock company that operated under the name of Martens & Overbeck, and later the company bought a stock of dry goods and both stores were operated until 1900, when Mr. Martens bought the interests of his partners. In 1901 the business was incorporated as the Julius J. Martens Company, with officers and directors as follows: J. J. Martens, president; Mrs. Ernestine Martens, vice-president; Hugo E. Martens, secretary and treasurer, with John H. Martens as an additional stockholder. The company erected a commodious two-story brick building, with dimensions of 75×90 feet, and have a warehouse. An immense stock is carried, including dry goods, groceries and crockery, and a very large amount of business is done. Mr. Martens is additionally interested in other successful enterprises, being president of the Herman T. Runte Company, and is vice-president of the Kaukauna First National Bank. He has been a very active and stable citizen for a number of years, serving three terms as alderman, during one of which he was president of the body, and in 1909 was elected mayor and was also president of the Board of Education, and in 1910 was appointed postmaster of the south side of the city and was reappointed. Mr. Martens was married in 1900 to Miss Lillian Mulholland, a daughter of H. J. and Katie (Hare) Mulholland, and they have two daughters: Alice L. and Helen M. He belongs to the Blue Lodge and Chapter of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons.
JOHN H. BEELEN
JOHN H. BEELEN, farmer and dairyman of Buchanan township, and one of the highly respected citizens of his community, whose farm of sixty-two acres is located in section 28, is a native of Holland and was born July 2, 1864, a son of Martin and Elizabeth (Toonen) Beelen, natives of that country. They came to America in 1868, settling in the town of Buchanan, where Mr. Beelen bought eighty acres of raw timber land. His first work on this property was to cut down and hew trees and build a log cabin, two stories in height, 18×24 feet, and in this house he lived until 1882, then built a frame structure, 18×28, two stories, with a wing 16×26, and in this house he lived practically all the remainder of his life, dying May 23, 1906, at the advanced age of eighty-one years. His wife passed away August 6, 1894, in her seventy-third year, and is buried in Little Chute, the father having been interred at DePere, Wisconsin. John H. Beelen was the youngest of four children, and he secured his education in the district schools, remaining at home with his parents until he was twenty-six years old. He then engaged in farming his father’s property, later farmed on rented property for eleven years and finally bought the place on which he now lives, the old family homestead, where he has been successfully operating since 1899. He was married in 1897 to Miss Anna M. Coonen, daughter of Martin and Catherine (Verstegen) Coonen, also natives of Holland, who were married in Little Chute, Outagamie county. They remained in Little Chute for about one year after marriage and then bought the homestead of Mrs. Coonen’s widowed mother in Buchanan, to which they moved, the father now being seventy-one years old and the mother sixty-two. Mr. Coonen was a soldier during the Civil War. Mrs. Beelen was the fifth of a family of eleven children, and was born November 12, 1874. Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Beelen: Catherine Elizabeth, Rosella Peternella, Martin Alexander and Richard Peter. Mr. Beelen has fifty-five acres under cultivation, all fenced with barbed and woven wire. He carries on general farming, markets dairy products, hay and grain, sugar beets and potatoes, and milks six cows, keeping the mixed Jersey, Holstein and Guernsey breed, and Poland China hogs. He remodeled his house in 1908, making it an up-to-date, two-story, frame structure of thirteen rooms, in addition to clothes closets, pantry and stairways and halls. His finished basement barn is 22×68 feet, and was built by Mr. Beelen’s father in 1871, and he expects to put up a new barn in a short time. Mrs. Beelen, like her husband, is of an enterprising turn of mind, and has had much success in raising White Wyandottes, Plymouth Rock and Rhode Island Red chickens. Mr. Beelen is a believer in the value of life insurance and carries a $1,000 endowment policy in the New York Mutual, as well as holding miembership in the Catholic Order of Foresters for $1,000. In political matters he is a Democrat, and for nine years has been a member of the school board. With his family he attends Holy Guardian Angels Church of Darboy.
FRANK E. DONALDSON, M. D.
FRANK E. DONALDSON, M. D., physician and surgeon in active and successful practice at Kaukauna, Wisconsin, making a specialty of surgery, was born in 1876, at Waupaca, Wisconsin, a son of Dr. E. S. and Anna C. (Coon) Donaldson. The father of Dr. Donaldson was born at Oconto, Wisconsin, a son of Rev. J. W. Donaldson, who came from New York to Wisconsin as a pioneer minister of the Congregational Church. He married Harriet Smith. The parents of Dr. Donaldson moved to Green Bay, Wisconsin, among the earliest pioneers in that section. The father served in the Civil War and was assistant surgeon under Dr. Ball at Paducah, Kentucky, enlisting at Green Bay, December 2, 1863, and continuing in the service until the close of the war. He then located at Oconto, Wisconsin, but later moved to Waupaca, where he engaged in medical practice until his death, September 7, 1893. His widow survives and lives at Whitefish Bay. They had four children, the two who reached maturity being Frank E. and Jessie Ann, the. latter of whom is the wife of Walter D. Corrigan, of Milwaukee. Frank E. Donaldson attended the common and High school at Waupaca, where he graduated in 1894. He then entered Hahnemann College the fall of 1895, his father’s alma mater, where he obtained the first two years of his medical training, the last two years being spent in a Chicago medical college, where he graduated in 1899. For six years he engaged in practice at Butte, Montana, but since 1905 has been established at Kaukauna, for one year being associated with Dr. Tanner, who is now retired. Dr. Donaldson is surgeon for the C. & N. W. R. R. Company, and has held this position for the past four years. He is a member of the American Medical Association and the county and state medical societies. He is identified with both the Masons and the Elks. Dr. Donaldson was married April 19, 1899, at Butte, Montana, to Miss Rosalind Main, who was born at Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, and they have two children: Elizabeth and Rosemary. Dr. and Mrs. Donaldson are members of the Episcopal Church.
HENRY FIESTEDT, who is widely and favorably known in Center township as an industrious farmer and citizen, is pleasantly located on his excellent property not far from Appleton, which he has brought to a high state of cultivation. He was born on the farm which he is now operating, March 15, 1872, a son of Joachim Fiestedt, a native of Germany who came to the United States as a young man and settled in New York State. He rented a farm there and remained for about five years, but decided that better opportunites for success presented themselves in the west, and accordingly came to Outagamie county, Wisconsin, purchasing a farm in Center township, upon which the only improvement that had been made was a log cabin and sheds. Here he resided until his retirement from active life in 1900, when he removed to Seymour, having become one of the well-known, prosperous agriculturists of his section. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Richie, and also a native of Germany, died in August, 1910, having been the mother of eight children. Henry Fiestedt has always engaged in agricultural pursuits, and with the exception of one year, when he worked out by the month, his life has been spent on the Center township homestead. This came into his possession at the time of his father’s retirement in 1900, and he has since made many improvements, the buildings being in an excellent state of repair, and the whole farm presenting an appearance that speaks well for the industry and good management of its owner. He has worked hard since the time he completed his education in the district schools, and whatever success he has attained has been through his own efforts. In 1900 Mr. Fiestedt was united in marriage with Emma Taege, daughter of Henry Taege, a well-known farmer of Center township. They are members of the German Lutheran Church.
JOHN COPPES, mayor of Kaukauna, Wisconsin, and one of the progressive and enterprising business men of that town, has been prominently identified with the building interests of this section for many years. He was born in Hollandtown, Brown county, Wisconsin, November 30, 1872, and is a son of Peter and Henrietta (Sarara) Coppes, natives of Holland, who came to the United States in 1871 and located at Hollandtown. Peter Coppes was a contractor and builder by occupation, and followed that business throughout this section, the majority of his work being done in Kaukauna, and after his son, John, had finished his education in the public schools, a partnership was formed between the two which lasted until the father’s death in 1897. John Coppes has continued the business established by his father, and has built up an establishment that required the employment of from thirty to forty skilled mechanics the year round, the building and contracting operations being carried on throughout Wisconsin and Michigan. Mr. Coppes has served as alderman for eleven years, having been a member of the council at the time the Kaukauna Water Works were built, and being largely instrumental in having this work done. In the spring of 1906 he was elected city treasurer, serving as such two years, and four years later, the spring of 1910, he was elected mayor. The fall of 1910 he was elected treasurer of Outagamie county, and thus, at the present time, is filling the offices of mayor of Kaukauna and treasurer of Outagamie county with credit to himself and satisfaction to his constituents. Mr. Coppes has applied his business methods to the settling of the town’s commercial problems, of water power and electric light for municipal use, and the result has been an economical and satisfactory administration. Mayor Coppes is prominent fraternally, holding membership in the Elks, the Eagles and the Foresters. He is a Democrat in his political beliefs and has always been a stanch supporter of the principles of that party. With his family he attends the Catholic Church. In 1898 Mr. Coppes was united in marriage with Miss Mary Milbach, of Kaukauna, daughter of John and Mary Milbach, and to this union there were born four children, of whom Elizabeth is living at home and three died in infancy.
WILLIAM G. JAMISON
WILLIAM G. JAMISON, a progressive, well-to-do agriculturist and land owner of Greenville township, who is giving particular attention to the breeding of high-grade live stock, was born at Springfield, Illinois, February 7, 1858, and is a son of Robert and Ann (Ralston) Jamison, natives of Jefferson county, Indiana, where the father was born December 19, 1836, and the mother December 25, 1837. In his early life Robert Jamison was a contractor and builder, and after his marriage went to Springfield, Illinois, where he died shortly afterward, in July, 1858. William G. Jamison was the only child of his parents, but there were six children born to his mother’s second marriage to David Culbertson, of Jefferson county, Indiana, whence she had returned after the death of her first husband. She now resides at Marion, Indiana. William G. Jamison received his education in the public schools and the Normal school at Danville, Indiana, and he remained with his mother until twenty-one years of age, at which time he went to Neenah, Wisconsin, and for six years thereafter worked at the millwright trade. He then purchased eighty acres of land in Greenville township and engaged in farming, operating his land in a general way until 1897, and in that year became interested in the breeding of pure Guernsey cattle. He started with a pure-bred sire, later adding a number of dams, and he now has a herd of about twenty pure-bred stock, and in addition keeps about fifty head of high-grade cattle. In the fall of 1909 he added another farm of 160 acres, which he has thoroughly equipped for the business, and he devotes his entire attention to his interests. He is a member of the various stock breeders’ associations, and is known as an excellent judge of cattle. Fraternally, he is connected wth the Modern Woodmen of Greenville; in political matters he is a Republican, and his religious connections are with the old Scotch United Presbyterian Church. In March, 1885, Mr. Jamison was united in marriage with Miss Ella Culbertson, who was born in Hortonville, Outagamie county, February 2, 1861, daughter of James and Abbie (Wickwire) Culbertson, the former a native of Jefferson county, Indiana, and the latter of Nova Scotia. Mrs. Jamison was an only child. Mr. and Mrs. Jamison have had eight children: Alice B., a stenographer, residing at Antigo; Robert; Clarence; Russell, who died in infancy; and Harvey, Stanley, Howard and Lida, residing at home.
EBEN EUGENE REXFORD
EBEN EUGENE REXFORD, whose gifts as poet and author have made him widely known, and whose songs possess that tender something that appeals to every heart, has been a valued and admired citizen of Shiocton, Wisconsin, since 1883, when he erected here his attractive residence. He is a native of New York, born at Johnsburg, in Warren county, July 16, 1848, and is a son of Jabez B. and Rebecca (Wilcox) Rexford. The Rexfords came to New England from England at an early day, and although military prowess has never been associated with the name, the solid, substantial qualities which make for good citizenship have alway belonged to the family. From Rhode Island the Rexfords moved into adjacent states and the grandfather of the distinguished subject of this sketch settled in Hartford township, Washington county, New York. He was the father of twelve children and one of these, Jabez B. Rexford, moved from Washington to Warren county, there married Rebecca Wilcox, and they reared a family of three children, the youngest of whom they named Eben Eugene. The eldest son, Jacob Rexford, moved to the far west, locating in the State of Washington, where he resides with his family. The second son, Sanford, died a few years before his father and is survived by children. In 1855 the parents of Mr. Rexford disposed of their property in Warren county and came as pioneers to Wisconsin, settling on a farm of ninety-five acres in Ellington township. In the clearing, improving and developing of his land, Jabez B. Rexford spent the remaining active years of his life. In many ways conditions of living were extremely hard, and during the earlier years on the pioneer farm much had to be endured, many hardships to which the family had never been accustomed.Eben Eugene was a boy of seven years when the family reached Wisconsin and easily recalls many of the adventures of the trip from New York and the subsequent settling in Ellington township, Outagamie county. The nearest market at that time was Appleton and journeys to and from were made with oxen. He remembers as a great occasion the time when the first team of horses was brought into this section, there being relatively as much excitement as when the first steam railway train went through. The father of Mr. Rexford survived the mother, his death occurring in 1888. Their burial was in the Ellington township cemetery. They were members of the Baptist Church, in which the father was a deacon. In the rather indifferent district schools of’ Ellington township, as they were at that time, Eben Eugene Rexford secured his preliminary educational training, which was supplemented by attendance at Lawrence University, at Appleton, Wisconsin, an institution which, in 1908, conferred on him the degree of Litt. D. By inheritance Mr. Rexford undoubtedly should have been a farmer, his forefathers, as far back as can be traced, having lived by the products of the soil. To this youth, however, came the love of growing things in a different fashion. From boyhood he has loved the ground and its products, not in a material way but as contributory to that inner sense of beauty which has made him a poet. The growing of flowers has been an enthusiasm with him for years and it is now his chief recreation. It has provided him with interesting subjects for books for many years, and an article on floriculture signed with his name in any periodical, commands the immediate attention of every intelligent reader. Between 1888 and 1901 he published “Home Floriculture”; in 1890, “Grandmother’s Garden”; in 1897, “The Swamp Secret”; in 1898, “Flowers–How to Grow Them”; in 1907, “Four Seasons in a Garden”; in 1908, “The Home Garden”; and in 1910, “Indoor Gardening.” Beginning to publish his writings when but fourteen years of age, Mr. Rexford has contributed to almost all of the leading journals of America, and attentive readers for more than forty years have been permitted to enjoy his productions. He has contributed stories and poems to the New York Independent, Outlook Magazine, Youth’s Companion, Lippincott’s, the Harper publications, St. Nicholas, Adcvance, Forward, Golden Rule and many journals of less note, all of these being permeated with the same vein of tender sentiment which makes them universally admired. He is the author of several romances and of numerous songs. His fame would be lasting were it founded alone upon two tender melodies which are included in the repertory of every American songstress and are included in every choice collection for the home vocalist, “Silver Threads Among the Gold” and “Only a Pansy Blossom.” Mr. Rexford is a member of the Boston Authors’ Club. He is identified also with the fraternal orders of Odd Fellows and Knights of Pythias. In his earlier political life he was a Democrat, and during the first administration of the late President Cleveland was appointed postmaster at Shiocton. He has subsequently served several terms as town clerk. At present he holds an independent attitude, having a liberal mind and no political ambitions, and casts his vote as his judgment dictates. On December 22, 1890, Mr. Rexford was married to Mrs. Harriet (Bauman) Harsh, whose lamented death occurred February 15, 1910. Her burial was in the Bovina township cemetery. For many years she had been active in the Congregational Church and was the center of a wide circle of appreciative friends.
JOHN BECKER, who is busy operating a fine farm of eighty acres located in Ellington township, is a native of Germany, and was born March 17, 1853, being three months old and one of the four children of Tattars and Josephine Becker when he came to the United States. The parents of Mr. Becker settled first in Milwaukee for one year, where he followed his trade of shoemaker, and then came to Ellington township and bought the farm now occupied by his son, John. Here Mr. Becker continued to reside until his death in 1864, his wife surviving him until 1903. They had four children in Germany and one in America. Tattars Becker died when his son John was but eleven years old, and when he was seventeen he was left in charge of everything on the home place. He was always frugal and industrious, and by 1885 by hard work had accumulated enough to buy the farm of eighty acres which he has developed into one of the finest properties of this section. General farming and dairy work have taken up his time, although he has also done some cattle breeding. His buildings are in an excellent state of repair, his land is well fenced, and a general air of prosperity prevails that gives evidence of able management. In 1879 Mr. Becker was married to Anna Kreutzberg, who was born in May, 1859, in Ellington township, daughter of Conrad and Barbara Kreutzberg, the former of, whom came from Germany to the United States in 1862, locating in Ellington township, where he became a prominent farmer. He is now living retired in the city of Appleton. Nine children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Becker, namely: Henry, John J., Anna, Mary, Conrad, Magdalena, Edward, Jacob and Celia. Mr. and Mrs. Becker belong to the Catholic Church of Greenville, and have been active in church and charitable movements. Mr. Becker takes an interest in local political results, but has never found time from his farming duties to engage actively in affairs of a public nature.
JACOB DIETZLER, one of the old and honored residents of Buchanan township, who is now living practically retired from farming activities, is the owner of ninety acres of land in section 34, which are being operated by his sons. He was born March 10, 1836, in Prussia, and is a son of John J. and Magdalena Dietzler, who came to America in 1842 and settled in Buchanan township, buying twenty-three acres of wild land, on which Mr. Dietzler built a log cabin that was the family home for six years. He then traded this tract for one of twenty-five acres in another part of the township, and about two years later sold this property and purchased forty acres more, on which he resided until his death in 1882, when he was seventy-three years of age. His widow survived him until 1903, and was eighty-seven years old at the time of her demise. Jacob Dietzler was the eldest of a family of fourteen children, of whom ten are now living, and he remained at home until he was married, in 1863, to Miss Eva Shoemaker, daughter of John P. and Rosa Shoemaker. They were natives of Prussia, who came to America at the same time as the Dietzlers, and they purchased the property now owned by Mr. Dietzler and resided here the balance of their lives, the father passing away in 1851 and the mother about 1900, aged eighty-four years. Mrs. Dietzler was the second of a family of four children, and was born January 5, 1841. Thirteen children were born to Mr, and Mrs. Dietzler, of whom seven survive, as follows: Anton, of Green Bay, who is married and has two children; Michael, living in Taylor county, who is married and has four children; John, who is single and living at home; Lena, who married J. P. Hass of Canada and has three children; Annie, who is the wife of Joseph Hendricks of Kaukauna and has two children; and Stephen and Martin, who are single and living on the homestead. After his marriage Mr. Dietzler engaged in farming on the present property, which he continued to operate for some timne, when his sons, Stephen and Martin, purchased all of the farm personal property and rented the land from him. Mr. and Mrs. Dietzler are building a home in Darboy in which they expect to round out their lives in quiet retirement. They are members of the Holy Angel Church of Darboy, and Mr. Dietzler is a Democrat in his political views, having served as assessor of Buchanan township for three terms.
MARTIN M. JOOSTEN
MARTIN M. JOOSTEN, one of the well-known agriculturists of the town of Grand Chute, Outagamie county, Wisconsin, is engaged in operating a finely cultivated farm on rural route No. 6, Appleton, and is a son of Martin Joosten, prominent among the early settlers of the town of Vandenbroek. The father was a native of Holland but came to America and Wisconsin as a young man, and in 1853 settled on a wild and unbroken tract of government land in the locality where he lived so many years. Here he experienced the many trials and hardships incident to pioneer life and gradually prospered. In 1909 he retired from the active cares of life to the village of Little Chute. His wife, whose maiden name was Mary Ver Hagen, was also born in Holland, and they became the parents of six children, as follows: Frances, who married Theodore Van Oudenhowen in 1890 and settled on a farm in the town of Vandenbroek; Mary, who became Mrs. Henry Heitpas in 1896 and resides on a farm near Little Chute; Simon, who married Minnie Molitor in 1899 and now farms in Wood county, Wisconsin; Katherine, who in 1903 married Henry Weyenberg and now lives on a farm in the town of Grand Chute; Martin M., the subject of this sketch; and John, who in 1910 married Anna Van Groll and settled on the old homestead. In 1909 Martin M. Joosten married Hattie Hendricks. All were reared and are believers in the Roman Catholic faith, are progressive agriculturists and stand high in the esteem of their fellow townsmen. Any movement that tends toward the growth and development of the community is sure to find staunch supporters in the Joostens, but none have sought public preferment, their time being claimed by their agricultural duties.
REV. BASILIUS GUMMERMAN, O. M. Cap.
REV. BASILIUS GUMMERMAN, O. M. Cap., pastor of St. Joseph’s congregation and guardian of St. Joseph’s monastery, Appleton, was born June 18, 1876, at Kirmsees, Kingdom of Bavaria, Germany, son of John and Anna (Scherm) Gummermann. The father conducted a bronze factory and owned a farm in Bavaria; he came to America in 1892 and now resides in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, retired from the active cares of life. Father Gummermann, who has won the love and esteem of his parishioners and the public, came to the United States in 1891. He attended the Bavarian schools between his sixth and fourteenth years and was a student for four years at St. Lawrence College, Mt. Calvary, Fond du Lac county, Wisconsin. Succeeding this, in 1895, he joined the Capuchin order at Detroit, Michigan, and after one year’s novitiate he went to Milwaukee and there, in the Capuchin monastery, spent two years in the study of philosophy and four years in theological studies. On July 27, 1902, he was formally ordained to the priesthood, and on September 20 of that year came to Appleton in the capacity of an assistant to the pastor. His sympathy and his helpfulness, especially to the younger classes, made him popular to an unusual degree, and he gave many spiritual retreats to sisters and brothers in different localities. For three years he had charge of the mission at Norrie, Wisconsin, going there from Appleton, and in July, 1909, he was appointed pastor of St. Joseph’s parish, Appleton, and guardian (Superior) of the monastery. Father Gummermann has particularly devoted much attention to the elevation of the educational standard in the school, and his efforts in this respect have met with gratifying success. By December 31, 1910, he had reduced the debt of the church from $15,000 to $10,000, and in addition was instrumental in having Lawrence street paved. During the year 1911 he has made vast improvements in the various departments with which he has been connected. His contributions to the local press has attracted wide and favorable attention, and Father Gummermann stands highly in the community as a man and as a citizen.
HON. GEORGE BALDWIN
HON. GEORGE BALDWIN, deceased, was one of the foremost men of his day in Appleton and a prominent figure in State affairs for many years. He was a son of Jonathan Baldwin, and grandson of Nathan Baldwin, the former born in 1798 and the latter in 1758. Nathan Baldwin enlisted January 16, 1777, from Stonington, Connecticut, as a corporal of Captain DeVarnajoul’s Company, second regiment, Light Dragoons Continental Troops, commanded by Colonel Elisha Sheldon, Revolutionary War, and he was discharged March 15, 1778. Nathan Baldwin with his wife, one son and six daughters moved to Rehobath, Massachusetts, to St. Johnsbury, Vermont, in 1807. Nathan Baldwin died in 1844 in his 86th year. George Baldwin, the son of Jonathan Baldwin, the subject of this sketch, was born in St. Johnsbury, Vermont, January 22, 1830, his father having died in 1842 while he was still a boy, and his mother died some years before his father. His literary schooling was completed in St. Johnsbury Academy, succeeding which he took a course in the Law School at Balston Springs, New York, which school was later moved to Poughkeepsie. For one year following his graduation he was connected with the Custom House at Derbyline, Vermont. In 1851, concluding that better opportunities for success were to be found in the west, he came to Wisconsin and established himself in the practice of his profession at Stockbridge, Calumet county, his monetary possesionsat that time amounting to about ten dollars. Natural ability, energy and perseverance led to his success. In 1853 he moved to Chilton in Calumet county, where he continued in active legal practice until 1875, when he was compelled to abandon it because of his extensive real estate interests. While living in Chilton Mr. Baldwin was repeatedly honored by his fellow citizens. He served as Mayor of Chilton, District Attorney, County Probate Judge, and in 1866 was elected a member of the Wisconsin State General Assembly. In 1870 he was elected to the State Senate, in which position he served two terms. Judge Baldwin moved to Appleton in 1885 and here he devoted his remaining years to an extensive real estate business, principally in the Dakotas, Michigan, Oregon, Washington and Wisconsin. He died December 7, 1907, and was buried at St. Mary’s Cemetery. A friend of Judge Baldwin had this to say of his character and accomplishments: “One of his marked characteristics was his retiring disposition, a trait which would not permit of his accepting publicity in any form. He was a thorough born business man, had accumulated large wealth, was a philanthropist in an unostentatious way, a loyal citizen and an advocate of all essential matters towards the upbuilding and betterment of the city in which he lived.”
In 1874 Judge Baldwin married Miss Catherine M. Plunkett, daughter of Peter T. and Anna Plunkett, the former a native of Dublin, Ireland, and the latter of English descent. Peter T. Plunkett owned and operated a grist mill at Chilton, Wisconsin, up to the time of his death, which occurred in the fore part of January, 1864, at about the age of 48 years, and Anna Plunkett died in the latter part of January of the same year at about 50 years of age. Two children were born to them in East Troy, New York, namely: John A. and Catherine M. Plunkett, the former on December 22, 1847, and the latter on the 16th day of March, 1850. John A. Pluikett served in the Civil War.
Three children were born to the marriage of Judge Baldwin and Catherine Plunkett, namely: George B., Charles F. and one who died in infancy.
George Benjamin Baldwin was born at Chilton, October 24, 1875. With his parents he came to Appleton in 1885. His education was received in the public schools of Chilton and Appleton, in Lawrence College and in the Northwestern University, graduating from Lawrence College with the class of 1897 and from the Northwestern University with the class of 1901. In 1901 he was admitted to the bar and to practice in the state courts of Illinois and Wisconsin and in the Federal courts. Because of the extensiveness of his father’s real estate interests, he was unable to practice his profession, except in so far as the same was necessary to carry on the business. As one of the trustees and manager of his father’s estate, his time is entirely occupied in handling said estate. Much of his time is spent in Oregon, Washington, North Dakota and Michigan. He is a trustee of Lawrence College and resides with his mother, Catherine M. Baldwin, at Appleton, Wisconsin.
Charles Frederick Baldwin was born at Chilton, May 9, 1879. He was educated in the public schools of Chilton, St. Mary’s parochial school at Appleton, the Appleton High school, Lawrence College and the Northwestern University. On August 3, 1908, he married Margaret Elizabeth Weiland, daughter of Nicholas and Margaret Weiland. Mr. Weiland was born in Trier, Germany, November 20, 1840. On February 2, 1868, he married Margaret Karn, who was born in Germany, December 10, 1846. Margaret Baldwin, their daughter, was born October 4, 1887, at Appleton. She was educated in the public and parochial schools of Appleton, the Appleton High school and St. Joseph’s Academy. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Charles F. Baldwin, namely: George Nicholas, May 27, 1909, and Charles Peter, March 11, 1911. Mr. Baldwin is engaged with his brother George in handling their father’s estate. It is but just to say that Wisconsin has possessed no better citizens than George Baldwin and his family.
FRANK F. BECKER
FRANK F. BECKER, president of the First National Bank of Kaukauna, Wisconsin, was born at Little Falls, New York, December 13, 1863, son of Charles and Anna (Waltman) Becker, both of whom were natives of Germany. In the year 1850 they came to the United States, landing in the city of New York, and after a short stay in that state they came to Outagamie county, Wisconsin, and engaged in farming near Appleton. This farm Mr. Becker cleared and developed and resided upon until 1875, when he moved into Appleton, making that his home until 1906, then lived with his son, Frank F., at Kaukauna, where he died January 11, 1911, and his wife June 17, 1908. Mr. and Mrs. Becker were the parents of five sons and three daughters, three sons now living. Frank F. Becker was educated in the country schools and in the city schools of Appleton, and after that he became a clerk in his father’s shoe store at Appleton for a short time, then was clerk in the postoffice under G. M. Miller for two years. Succeeding this he was with the Appleton Furnace Company and the First National Bank of Appleton for two years each, and for a like length of time was connected with the Commercial National Bank of Appleton. Having by this time acquired a practical knowledge of banking, he accepted the position of cashier of the First National Bank of Kaukauna. This well known financial institution of Outagamie county was established in 1887, capitalized at $50,000, and with Col. H. A. Frambach as president, M. A. Hunt, vice-president, and Hugo Kuehmsted as cashier. In 1889 Frank F. Becker became cashier, and on June 1, 1906, succeeded to the presidency, which position he still holds, the other two present officers being J. J. Martens, vice-president, and William J. Tesch, cashier. The First National Bank of Kaukauna is in a very prosperous condition, the report of the Comptroller of the Currency of June 7, 1911, showing the bank’s resources far above its liabilities and a healthy growth having taken place since the last accounting. The officers and directors are recognized as men of high reputation and personal character.
In 1900, with his associates, acquired the Grand Rapids Waterpower and Boom Co. on the Mississippi river at Grand Rapids, Minnesota, and in 1901 organized the Itasca Paper Co., and built a complete ground wood pulp mill and print paper mill at that point, holding the position of president of both these companies. In the spring of 1904, with others, organized the First National Bank of Brillion, Wisconsin, and since its organization has been vice-president of the Brillion bank.
Frank F. Becker was married June 5, 1895, to Miss Lois M., daughter of W. A. Poor, of Dubuque, Iowa, and to them have been born two sons: Deane S., born March 24, 1897, and Karl W., born February 6, 1902. Mr. Becker is a Blue Lodge member of the Masonic fraternity at Kaukauna, of which he is treasurer, and of the Chapter and Commandery of Knights Templar at Appleton.
RUSH WINSLOW, M. D.
RUSH WINSLOW, M. D., deceased. After many years of useful faithful service to the people of Appleton, Wisconsin, Dr. Rush Winslow, whose reputation as a physician, public-spirited citizen and conscientious city and county official, extended over the entire county, passed away December 27, 1902. Dr. Winslow was born November 7, 1843, in Koshkonong, Wisconsin, and was a representative of an old and honored family which traces its ancestry back to Kenelm Winslow of Kempsey, England. He was the owner of the estates of “Clerkenleap” and “Newport Place,” and his will, dated April 16, 1507, is still to be seen in the district registry at Worcester. He married Catherine, and their son, Edward Winslow, of Droitwich, Worcestershire, had nine children. Five of these, Edward, John, Kenelm, Gilbert and Josiah, came to the American Colonies, settling in New England, and there Edward became Governor of Plymouth Colony. The third son, Kenelm, born April 29, 1599, died September 13, 1672, at Salem, Massachusetts, and a part of his estate in Freetown, Massachusetts, is still owned by a descendant. He married Eleanor Adams who died in 1681, at the age of eighty-three years, leaving four children, Kenelm, Eleanor, Nathaniel and Job. Colonel Keneln, born in 1635 in Plymouth, Massachusetts, died in 1715 in Harwich, Massachusetts. On September 23, 1667, he married Mercy Warden, who died in September, 1688, at the age of forty-eight years, according to the gravestone still standing in the Winslow burying ground in Dennis, Massachusetts. His second wife, Damaris, survived him. He was the father of eleven children, of whom Samuel was the father of Thomas, who was the father of Samuel, who was the great-grandfather of Dr. Rush Winslow. Dr. Joseph Winslow, grandfather of Dr. Rush Winslow, was born July 22, 1778, in Petersham, Massachusetts, practiced his profession in Windsor, Vermont, and died October 20, 1815. He married Rebecca Fish of Barnard, Vermont, and they had five children. Their third son, Joseph, born February 25, 1810, was the father of Dr. Rush Winslow. Dr. Joseph Winslow II. practiced medicine at Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, was a member of the Wisconsin State Legislature, and died in January, 1883. He was married August 20, 1840, to Sarah Bingham of Palmyra, Pennsylvania, daughter of Rudolphus and Sallie (Kimball) Bingham. She died May 9, 1846, in Koshkonong, Wisconsin, leaving one son, Rush, born November 7, 1843.
Rush Winslow secured his early education in the public schools of Fort Atkinson and, after trying a business career, began the study of medicine in the office of his father. After graduating from Hahnemann and the Rush Medical Colleges at Chicago, he entered Bellevue College, New York, in 1870, receiving from that institution also the degree of M. D. He began active practice with his father in Fort Atkinson, but in 1873 located in Appleton and soon became one of the leading professional men of his city. Dr. Winslow was the type of physician that is rare in these days of commercialism–one whose thought for himself came second to his thought for those under his care. No call was too slight; no case was too insignificant; no patient too humble to secure his conscientious service. He labored along the lines that have made men honored in his profession, keeping himself abreast of the most advanced research of the day, by constant study. It was his hope that physicians might be more and more set free from the administering of drugs and devote themselves chiefly to the prevention of disease. Dr. Winslow’s second aim was to be a good citizen, and he believed that every man owed public service to his community. He was alderman for two years and in 1887 was elected mayor, serving in that capacity four terms, the time of his last election being the only instance of the republicans nominating a candidate to oppose him. He was a member of the board of visitors to the State University, elected by the State at large; was appointed a member of the State Board of Pension Examiners in 1893; was a delegate to the noted National Convention at Chicago that nominated Grover Cleveland for the Presidency; and was chairman of the Congressional Committee and a member of the State Central Committee. He was one of those who labored to establish St. Elizabeth’s Hospital, and as long as he lived was president of its staff. Although his professional and public work claimed most of his attention, Dr. Winslow’s judgment was valued in business circles also, and at the time of his death he was vice-president of the First National Bank. Esteemed by his co-laborers in the medical profession, honored by those who knew best his conscientious work as a public official, and beloved by those who came under his care, Dr. Winslow’s death was felt by many as a personal bereavement, and lost to Appleton a faithful servant who could not be replaced.
On November 25, 1878, Dr. Winslow was united in marriage with Minna Rogers, and two children were born to this union: Margaret, who was married in March, 1911, to Benjamin Russell of South Dakota; and Kenelm, who is connected with the Mitchell-Lewis Motor Company of Racine. Mrs. Winslow, who survives her husband, is a daughter of Benjamin Talbot and Sarah (Johnson) Rogers, natives of Pennsylvania and New York, respectively, who located in the Michigan copper region in the early fifties, and settled in Appleton in July, 1873. Mrs. Winslow is a member of Appleton’s leading social circles, and has always been especially interested in the cause of education.
ROBERT KUEHNE, one of the largest shippers of horses, cattle, grain and commodities of all kinds in Outagamie county, Wisconsin, who is doing business throughout this section of the state, has for a long period been located in the city of Seymour. He is a native of Outagamie county, born February 3, 1866, at Greenville, son of Fred K. and Wilhelmina (Weise) Kuehne. Fred Kuehne was born February 23, 1826, in Prussia, Germany, where his father, Andrew Kuehne, was a farmer. The family, which consisted of the parents, six sons and four daughters, came to the United States from Hamburg on the vessel Hobart which landed after a voyage of forty-nine days at New York, in the spring of 1850. Mr. Kuehne went to Newark, New Jersey, where he obtained employment and continued two months, and he then went to Milwaukee, where he entered the service of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad, then in the course of construction. Later he obtained work at threshing with a flail for one dollar a week. He was married in 1851 to Wilhelmina Weise, a native of Germany, and settled on a rented farm six miles north of Milwaukee. Two years later he added six acres to the original tract of two, but after one year more he settled in Winnebago county, taking with him his wife and three children: Fred; Louisa, who married William Sperck; and Mary, who married Albert Tesch. Mr. Kuehne lived in Winnebago county for eighteen months and then came to Outagamie county, settling in Greenville, where he bought forty acres of land, which he afterward traded for eighty acres, but after several years sold this and went to Grand Chute township, where he purchased a tract of eighty-one acres, and for some years he added to his property and then sold off. Later he removed to near Appleton, where he commenced the slaughter and sale of cattle, in conjunction with farming, and in this line he soon built up a large trade. Four children were born to Mr. Kuehne and his wife in Outagamie county, namely: Mrs. Minnie Giebish; Hattie, Robert and Avalt. His first wife died in 1868, and he was married in the following year to Amelia Paulson, who died in 1891 without issue.
Robert Kuehne secured his education in the public schools of Outagamie county, and when but fifteen years of age started out in life on his own account, his first work being in the butchering business, his next natural advancement being to the position of stock buyer. In 1893 he permanently located in Seymour, from whence he ships over 400 cars of stock and grain per year, and where he owns a fine farm. He also deals extensively in real estate, is the proprietor of a cold storage plant, vice-president of the Pulaski State Bank of Brown county and a director in the First National Bank and the Fidelity Loan and Trust Company, both of Seymour.
Mr. Kuehne was married in 1899 to Ella Wagner, who was born October 23, 1878, in Germany, daughter of Henry and Augusta (Reto) Wagner; and to this union there have been born six children: Earl, Albert, Emma, Myra, Christina, who died aged two years; and Richard, who died when eight weeks old. Mr. Kuehne is a republican in his political views and served as chairman of the town board of Seymour for three years.
FRED ROHLOFF, a progressive farmer and public-spirited citizen of Grand Chute township, who owns and operates a well improved farm of 100 acres is a native of Mecklenburg, Germany, where he was born February 3, 1848, and is a son of Fred and Louisa (Dettman) Rohloff, natives of Mecklenburg who never left the Fatherland. They had five children, of whom Fred is the oldest of the three now living, the other two being Charles, who lives in Germany, and Anna, who is the wife of Fred Leverenz, of Marion, Waupaca county. After his first wife’s death, Fred Rohloff married again, and there were three children born to the second union, of whom two survive: Lena, the wife of William Romlof, and John, who is street commissioner of Appleton. Fred Rohloff went to the schools of his native vicinity, and at the age of nineteen years began his service in the German army, which every youth of that country must undergo. He was in the army for three years, seeing service in the Franco-Prussian war, during which he was never seriously wounded, but was confined to the hospital for a time on account of sickness. After receiving his discharge, he went back home, where he became private coachman for a large landowner, who was a government forester, but after being thus occupied for a year, he decided to try his fortune in America and subsequently came to this country. On first locating in Appleton,, he was handicapped on account of not being able to speak the English language, and for a time was compelled to accept whatever occupations presented themselves, but he was quick to learn and his economy and frugality soon enabled him to accumulate enough money to buy a farm of forty acres in Grand Chute township, on which he lived ten years. He made a number of improvements on this property, and was able to sell it at an advance, and at that time purchased the farm on which he now lives. He now has 100 acres of finely cultivated land, having sold forty acres of his original purchase, and here he carries on general farming and stock raising. His buildings are substantial and modern, and include one of the handsomest residences in Grand Chute township, erected by Mr. Rohloff in 1907. Mr. Rohloff is a member of the Lutheran Church, and is independent in his political views.
On November 27, 1876, Mr. Rohloff was married to Louisa Longe, who was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, April 17, 1848, daughter of Henry and Louisa Longe, natives of that place who came to the United States in 1872 and located in Appleton, where they spent the balance of their lives in retirement, Mrs. Longe dying within a year after their coming, and her husband passing away in 1891. They had five children, of whom two are living: Mrs. Rohloff, and Henrietta, who is the wife of Fred Lilly, of Appleton. Mr. and Mrs. Rohloff have had five children; Martha, born May 4, 1877, who is the wife of Albert Culbach, engaged in the pump and well-drilling business in Appleton; Anna, born April 28, 1879, the wife of Otis Spriester, a butcher of Appleton; Paul, born June 9, 1883, is single and resides at home; Lizzie, born February 23, 1891, also single and at home; and Louie, born April 4, 1885, who died in 1898.
RT. REV. PETER JOSEPH LOCHMAN
RT. REV. PETER JOSEPH LOCHMAN, pastor of the Holy Cross Roman Catholic Church at Kaukauna, Wisconsin, and a man greatly beloved by his parishioners, is a native of the state of Wisconsin, birth occurring at Green Bay, August 20, 1857. August and Sophia (Bulich) Lochman were his parents. The father was a native of Holland, and mother was of German descent, and in 1848 the father came to the United States and located at Green Bay. There he followed his trade of carpenter and married, and when the disruption of the Union was threatened by the rebellion and threatened cecession of the South he joined the ranks of his adopted country and saw active service under Generals Sherman and Washburn. The early life of Rt. Rev. Peter Joseph Lochman was spent after the manner of the average boy, and, feeling that he would be of more service in the world in religious fields studied for the ministry. He attended Calvary College, near Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, and finished his theological training in St . Francis Seminary near Milwaukee. On June 26, 1881, he was ordained to the priesthood by Bishop Krautbauer, and after laboring in different localities, Clintonville, Freedom, Oconto and Marinette, he was, in 1904, appointed Vicar General of the Diocese of Green Bay. In the year 1908, he took charge of the Holy Cross congregation of Kaukauna. Much good has been brought about through the ministration of Father Lochman, and he is widely and favorably known throughout this community. In the year 1907, he was made Domestic Prelate of His Holiness.
FRANK KERN, who owns and operates an excellent farm of 120 acres, located in Greenville township, is one of Outagamie county’s successful agriculturists who have made their own way in the world, achieving success through the medium of their own efforts. Born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, May 5, 1856, Mr. Kern is a son of Andrew and Eva (Phillips) Kern, natives of Germany, where the father was born in 1818 and the mother one year later. They came to Milwaukee in 1843, Mr. Kern working in the city for some years and then locating on a small farm eight miles into the country, but after some years removed to Appleton and subsequently purchased forty acres of land in Center township, on which he resided until his death, in 1902. His wife had passed away there in 1889. They had a family of eleven children, of whom Frank was the ninth in order of birth, and of these seven are now living, as follows: Julia, wife of Charles Becker, a retired farmer of Black Creek; Theresa, the wife of Peter Schmidt, a farmer of Seymour township; Lena, the wife of Charles Karlofer, residing near Seymour; Agnes, the wife of John Stricker, proprietor of bottling works near Seymour; John, a farmer of Mackville, Center township; Andrew, residing at Hilbert a farmer; and Frank. Frank Kern received his education in the schools of Mackville, and until he was twenty-seven years of age he resided with his parents. He then went to Appleton, where for six years he was engaged in work for others, and at the end of that time purchased a farm in Grand Chute township northeast of Appleton, which was his home for thirteen years. Selling this property, Mr. Kern purchased his present farm of 120 acres, where he has since carried on general farming, and has occasionally followed the trade of mason, which he learned in his youth. He has been very successful in his operations, and is proud of the fact that his only assistant during the years of his hard labor has been. his wife. His property is well-cultivated, his buildings bear the appearance of being well looked after, and everything about the land points to the practical, thrifty agriculturist. Mr. Kern is a member of St. Joseph’s Catholic Church at Appleton, .and one of his most cherished and highly-prized possessions is a prayer book belonging formerly to his father, which has been in the family since the time of its purchase, in 1705. He is independent in politics, and has never aspired to public office, neither has he been a member of any fraternal association, his whole time and interest being taken up by his farming operations.
On November 17, 1885, Mr. Kern was married to Miss Anna Schmidte, who was born at Apple Creek, Grand Chute township, Outagamie county, Wisconsin, February 23, 1864, a daughter of Emrich and Elizabeth (Flick) Schmidte, the former born June 18, 1829, in Prussia, Germany, and the latter August 15, 1834, in Baden. Mrs. Schmidte came to the United States when sixteen years of age, and resided in Milwaukee until marriage. Mr. Schmidte was about twenty-four years of age when he came to the United States, and he worked in New York for a time, then coming to Milwaukee and securing work as a farm hand on the West property. Coming later to Outagamie county, he located on Apple Creek, where he cleared a property and later exchanged this for a farm near the town, but in his declining years gave up business activities and went to live with his daughter, Mrs. Kern, at whose home he died in 1899, his wife having passed away June 7, 1892. They had a family of seven children, of whom three survive: Katherine, the wife of Andrew Kern, a brother of Frank; Anna, wife of Frank Kern; and John M., residing in Appleton, where he is engaged in contracting. Mr. and Mrs. Kern had five children, namely: George, born December 18, 1886, is single and resides at home; Joseph E., born December 28, 1889, also resides at home and assists his father; Rosie Katherine, born January 11, 1892, married May 9, 1911, Ray Spreeman, a native of Cecil, Shawano county, and they are now living with Mr. and Mrs. Kern; Mary Elizabeth, born April 12, 1895, who died February 19, 1909; and. Henry, born October 22, 1900, who resides at home and is a. student in the public schools.
ANTONE J. VANDENBERG
ANTONE J. VANDENBERG, chairman of, the township board of Vandenbroek township, and one of the well known and successful agriculturists of this locality, is the owner of 104 acres of fine farming land. He is a son of John Vandenberg, who was born in Holland and came to the United States with his wife, Mary, landing at New York City, April 17, 1858. He came direct to Little Chute, Outagamie county, and secured employment on the Northwestern Railroad at twenty-five cents per day, work at that time being very scarce, and later was employed on the Government Canal at little better wages, but in a few years, by the strictest kind of economy and frugality he had saved enough to enable him to purchase thirty acres in Vandenbroek township, then known as Kaukauna township. He built a little log cabin on this property, but on account of lack of funds was compelled to work on the canal for a time longer. His first team was a pair of cows, with which he did his farming for the first few years, but he was a hard and consistent worker, and added to his equipment from time to time as his finances would allow, later adding ten acres to his home property and buying land in other parts of the township, and he eventually became known as one of the substantial men of his township, serving for a number of years as clerk of his school district. His wife died on the homestead farm, in 1889, aged sixty-three years, and Mr. Vandenberg passed away there in 1901, when seventy years of age. Antone J. Vandenberg was born January 24, 1864, on his father’s farm, one of a family of six children of whom five were boys. He received his education in the district schools of the neighborhood, and as a lad lived with his father, although he worked out a good deal to help the family, and assisted in erecting many of the buildings in South Kaukauna. At the age of twenty-five years he struck out on his own account, and with his brother John purchased 200 acres of land in Freedom township, which they sold after improving it, and Antone purchased another farm in what is now Vandenbroek township. On October 14, 1890, he was married to Matilda Boyle, who was born in Freedom township, daughter of Barney Boyle, and after marriage purchased his present farm He has built a good, modern home and substantial barns and outbuildings on this property, and later added to it by purchase, now owning 104 acres, all of which he has brought up to a high state of cultivation. Mr. and Mrs. Vandenberg have had twelve children, one of whom, Raymond, died at the age of nine months, while the others are: Arthur, Rose, George, Roy, Mary, Edward, Helen, Ethel, Anne, Ida and Toney. The family is connected with the Catholic Church of Little Chute. Mr. Vandenberg was on the side board for five years, has been clerk of his school district for four years, and was elected in the spring of 1911 to the position of chairman of the township board. For nine years he served as a director in the Hail and Cyclone Insurance Company.
CHARLES EICK, a prospering farmer and stockraiser of Outagamie county, Wisconsin, who owns forty acres of well improved land situated in section 17, Osborn township is the sturdy type of citizen that every community is glad to welcome. He was born in Pomerania, Germany, May 4, 1842, a son of Charles and Minnie (Krasses) Eick. There were seven children in the family: William, Henrietta, Charles, August, Herman and a son and daughter, both of whom died in Germany in infancy. In the little German home there was often talk about the opportunities offered in America to the industrious young man and at length Charles Eick announced his determination of crossing the Atlantic ocean and investigating for himself. In 1868 he reached the United States and after four weeks spent in Chicago, Illinois, he came directly to Osborn township, Outagamie county and bought the forty acres on which he lives. It was all wild land at that time and he had neither tools nor time to clear and put the land under cultivation, therefore he worked at farm work for two years before he began to improve it in any way. In the meanwhile his father and the other members of the family joined him. Mr. Eick was very systematic about preparing his home and first invested in a cow as a productive piece of property and soon after bought a second one, but a yoke of oxen was needed before he could make headway in clearing the land. He found an opportunity to secure the oxen by clearing fourteen acres of land for John Knox. His first house was a log cabin, 20×26 feet in dimensions and he built also a log stable and barn. His present improvements are substantial and attractive, his residence being commodious and comfortable, while his basement barn is a huge structure 38×70 feet in dimensions. His land is all cleared and under cultivation, he has an excellent grade of stock and raises poultry, having excellent accommodations for them.
In October, 1883, Mr. Eick was married to Bertha Krueger, who also was born in Germany, and they have the following children: Herman, who married Lena Stellmacker; Richard, who married a Miss Tokel; Walter, who married Miss Helms; Martha, who married Paul Heisler; Lydia, who married Charles Statler; George, who married a Miss Friback; Phillip, who remains at home; and Cora, who married a Mr. Collets.
WINFIELD GRISWOLD, one of Ellington township’s progressive and enterprising young agriculturists, is a member of one of the old and honored families of Outagamie county, members of which have risen to prominence in various lines of endeavor. His grandfather, Ransom P. Griswold, was born June 14, 1821, in Coventryville, Chenango county, New York, and in 1855 came to Dale township, Outagamie county, purchasing 160 acres of land, on which he was engaged in farming during the remainder of his life. On September 3, 1846, he was married to Persis J. Hackett, who was born October 1, 1820, in Oxford, Chenango county, New York, daughter of George and Mercy (Hall) Hackett, natives of Connecticut. Mr. Griswold died October 10, 1865, but his widow, a most remarkable lady, is still living, making her home at Hortonville. They had a family of ten children, of whom Hall Griswold was the fifth in order of birth. He was born November 24, 1854, and he has spent his entire life on the old homestead, where his wife, Amanda (Rierich) Griswold, who was born in Dale township, Outagamie county, July 17, 1862, is also living. They had eight children. Winfield Griswold was born March 19, 1885, in Dale township, receiving his education in the district schools of his neighborhood, and his boyhood and youth were spent in working on the home and adjoining farms. At the age of twenty-three years he went to Shawano, where he spent one year, and in 1910 he was married to Edith Campbell, daughter of Herbert and Julia Campbell. Mr. Campbell was born in Dodge county and his wife in Fond du Lac, the former coming to Outagamie county in 1883 and the latter the year following. Mr. Campbell bought the farm now operated by Mr. Griswold in 1889, operating it until 1909, when he purchased another property in Ellington township, and at present he and his wife are living in Hortonville. Mr. and Mrs. Griswold have had one son: Herbert Hall, born March 15, 1911. Mr. Griswold is a republican in politics. He has a very well cultivated property, well equipped with substantial buildings and modern farm machinery, and its general prosperous appearance shows that the agricultural skill of this family is not lacking in the third generation.
ANSON BALLARD, was born in Appling, Jefferson county, New York, December 20, 1821. He was graduated from Hamilton College, New York, in 1845. He was a member of the Psi Upsilon fraternity. After graduation he taught school in Maryland and Tennessee, spending his leisure studying law. He came to Appleton in 1850 and was admitted to the bar at Green Bay, October 9th of that year. He then formed a law partnership with Perry H. Smith, the firm being known as Smith & Ballard. Shortly after coming to Appleton Mr. Ballard began investing in real estate in Appleton and Outagamie county and later extended his purchases to adjoining counties. The abstracts of Outagamie county show that at the time of his death he was the largest land owner in the county. May 1, 1851, he married Harriet M. Story at Sheboygan. The following children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Ballard: Irving Ballard, Leda A. Ballard Clark (Mrs. Orlando E. Clark), Irene Ballard Orbison (Mrs. Thomas Orbison), Nellie Ballard Conkey, deceased, Fred Packard Ballard, deceased, and Pearl E. Ballard, deceased.
Mr. Ballard was a man of culture and refinement and was greatly interested in education and school affairs. His friendships embraced many prominent men throughout the country with whom he kept in close touch. In the early ’60s he founded a school based on the Pestalozzian system of education, which system was the forerunner of the kindergarten and was the kindergarten idea applied to advanced students. The first principal of this school was Prof. Sherwood. He was followed by David Starr Jordan, now president of Leland Stanford University. At first this school was located at the corner of Lawe and Durkee streets. It was later removed to the northeast corner of College avenue and Lawe street in the old National Hotel. In his last will he liberally provided for the maintenance and perpetuation of this school. By the construction of the will in court this bequest failed.
While Mr. Ballard took a keen interest in public affairs, he never sought office. However, in 1857, he was elected city attorney of Appleton, being the first person in the city to hold that office. He was re-elected in 1858. He also served as alderman of the city of Appleton in 1866 and 1867.
Mr. Ballard was a Mason and Knight Templar. He was a religious man and was a regular attendant at the Congregational church, of which he was one of the founders. He died at Appleton, April 4, 1873, and is buried in Riverside Cemetery.
ALBERT JENTZ, has been actively identified with the agricultural interests of Center township for a long period and is now ranked with the successful men of his section. He was born on his present property, September 29, 1872, a son of Frederick and Mary (Peters) Jentz, natives of Germany. Frederick Jentz came to the United States as a young man and for about a year rented farming property in New York, but decided there were more opportunities in the West and subsequently came to Outagamie county at a time when there was but one building in Appleton. He bought land, which was all in timber, cleared a small tract and built a log cabin, and soon had a crop planted. From that time on his advance was rapid, and at the time of his death he was one of the well known and highly esteemed men of his township. He added to his property from time to time, and was elected to positions of honor and trust by his fellow citizens, and when he died, May 8, 1901, the township lost a man whose place it was hard to fill. Mr. Jentz was married in New York State to Mary Peters, who was born in the Fatherland, and had come to this country with her mother some years before.
Albert Jentz received his education in the country schools of his neighborhood, attending during the winter months until he was twenty years old, his summers being claimed by the work of the home farm. He was married November 17, 1898, to Elizabeth Jenkel, daughter of John and Catherine Jenkel, who came from Germany to the United States, and settled near Greenville, where Mr. Jenkel became a prosperous farmer. He is now retired from business activities and is living at Center. Mrs. Jentz, who was born September 26, 1876, is one of five children. After the death of his father, Mr. Jentz came into possession of the old homestead, and here he has carried on general farming and dairying. His efforts have met with well-deserved success, as he has inherited from his father many of those sterling traits of character which go to make for success in any line of endeavor. Mr. Jentz is a democrat in politics, his father having been a stanch supporter of the principles of that party. With his wife he attends the Lutheran Church at Ellington. Mr. and Mrs. Jentz have five children; Richard, born October 8, 1899; Amanda, born August 26, 1901; Victor, born February 18, 1903; Martha born May 17, 1904; and Harold, born September 6, 1908.
HERMAN JENTZ, who is carrying on general farming and dairying on his fine property in Center township, has spent his life in agricultural pursuits here, and his activities have been confined to one farm, formerly owned by his father. He was born August 17. 1875, in Center township, Outagamie county, Wisconsin, son of Frederick and Mary (Peters) Jentz. Frederick Jentz was a native of Germany and came to this country when a young man, first settling in New York State, where for a year he rented a farm and operated it. He then came to Outagamie county, Wisconsin, and purchased a tract of wild timber land in Center township, which he cleared from the wilderness. Mr. Jentz was one of the leading farmers of his day in Center township, rising to a place of honor among his fellow citizens through honesty, integrity and upright living. He served for a number of terms as road commissioner, and both in public and private life was a. man of sterling traits of character. His death occurred May 8, 1901, when he was sixty-seven years old, his birth having taken place March 12, 1834. Mr. Jentz married Mary Peters, who was born in December, 1837, in Germany, daughter of Frederick and Maria Peters, the former of whom died in Germany. Mrs. Peters then brought her daughter to the United States, and she was married to Mr. Jentz in New York.
Herman Jentz secured his education in the district schools in Center township, and as was the custom of farmers’ sons at that time, he started to assist in the duties of the home place as soon as he was tall enough to reach the plow handles. He was reared to the life of an agriculturist, and he has put the knowledge gained by years of experience to good use, farming along scientific lines and profiting thereby. He is a democrat in his political belief, his father having been a supporter of the principles of that organization. His religious connection is with the Lutheran church at Ellington.
JACOB FREUND, who for many years has been promiuent in business circles of Seymour, Wisconsin, where he is now extensively interested in real estate, has also been closely identified with the public issues of the city and has held various offices within the gift of his fellow townsmen. Mr. Freund was born September 18, 1858, in Hessen Darmstadt, Germany, a son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Geck) Freund, natives of the Fatherland, the former of whom passed away in Germany in 1891, aged seventy-nine years, and the latter in 1882 when sixty-two years of age. Their children were as follows: Philip, who is a resident of Linn, New York; Jacob; Dorothea, who married Philip Gallner and resides in Germany; Christina, who married Michael Rothenberger and lives in Germany; and Barbara, who married George Schaefer and also resides in the old country.
Jacob Freund came to the United States when he was twenty-one years of age and for one and one-half years he was located at Cincinnati, Ohio, then for a few weeks at Toledo, Ohio, and eventually settled in Chicago, where he remained for four years. He was a locksmith by trade, an occupation which he had learned from his father as a youth, but he found so little demand for his services in this line that he followed different mechanical work until April, 1884, when he came to Seymour, Wisconsin, and purchased a partly improved farm of sixty acres, on which he built a house and barn and later improved his farm and added forty acres more to it. After some years spent on this property, he sold out to engage in the hardware business, under the firm name of Jacob Freund & Company, a style which continued for fifteen months, when he formed a partnership with a Mr. Droeger, under the firm name of Freund & Droeger, a connection that was continued from 1893 until 1902. In the latter year Mr. Freund embarked in the farm machinery business, but after two years turned his attention to the real estate field and since that time he has continued in the latter business, being associated with Mr. Bender.
In 1881, Mr. Freund was united in marriage to Mrs. Walbeurga Mathey, nee Dombocher, who was born in Germany and was the mother of one child by her previous marriage, namely Barnhardt Mathey, who is a resident of Green Bay, Wisconsin. One child has been born to Mr. and Mrs. Freund: Charles, cashier of the First National Bank of Seymour, who married Miss Mayme Myers, a former school teacher of Seymour.
Mr. Freund is independent in political matters, but he has been elected on the democratic ticket to the office of supervisor for eight terms, alderman for twelve years and street commissioner for six or seven years. He was a director for the fair association for one term, and he is now serving as a director in the First National Bank and the Seymour Loan and Trust Company.
IGNATZ GEORGE BERG
IGNATZ GEORGE BERG, dairyman farmer of Grand Chute township, Outagamie county, Wisconsin, where with his brother he is engaged in operating an excellent farm of 123 acres, was born in Hartland, Wisconsin, December 11, 1882, and is a son of John F. and Anna (Steffen) Berg, the former a native of Ashford, Dodge county, and the latter of Hortonville, Outagamie county. Early in life, John F. Berg learned the trade of carpenter, and this he followed during a long period, but in recent years he has been residing on a farm in Grand Chute township, although he does none of the hard labor, merely overseeing the work. He is also the owner of a milk route which is operated by his son. Mr. Berg has held various minor township offices and is respected and esteemed by all who know him. Mr. and Mrs. Berg had a family of seven children, as follows: Ignatz George; Laura, who married Louis Sager, a buttermaker of Appleton; Frederick, residing on the farm adjoining his brother Ignatz, married Alice Langanburg; Elmer, residing with his father; Leo and Louis, residing on the farm with Ignatz; and Harold, who attends school and lives with his father.
Ignatz George Berg attended school first at Bessemer, Michigan, and later at Hortonville. and worked at home on the farm until he was twenty-one years of age, at which time he went to Milwalukee and was employed at the Hotel Pfister for one year. He then returned to this county, and soon thereafter was employed in a laundry at Menasha, but after three years there started farming on his present property. He and his brother Frederick have a property comprising 123 acres, devoted principally to dairy farming, and they keep an average of forty cows, with an average of twenty head of young stock. Mr. Berg is a faithful member of the Catholic church, and in his political attitude takes an independent stand, acknowledging no party ties and voting rather for the man than for the organization. On January 27, 1904, Mr. Berg was married to Miss Pauline Drenks, who was born at Greenville, Outagamie county, February 23, 1886, daughter of Bernard and Katharine (Stroebe) Drenks. Mr. Drenks was born in Germany, September 9, 1845, and his wife in Milwaukee, May 10, 1846. Mr. Drenks came to America when quite young, with his parents, and became a land owner in Greenville township, Outagamie county, where he is still engaged in farming. He and his wife had eleven children: Nelson, who lives with his parents; Frank, a blacksmith of Center township; Josephine and Jesse, deceased; Charles, residing at home; Clara, wife of Adam Limpert, a contractor of Appleton; Emma and Hattie, deceased, the latter of whom was the wife of Ernest Hugie, of Anaconda, Montana; Louise, who is single and resides at home; Pauline, who married Mr. Berg, and Minnie, who is single and at home. Mr. and Mrs. Berg have had two children; Mildred Laura, born March 25, 1904, and Editha Louise, born February 16, 1906, both residing at home.
CHARLES E. RAUGHT
CHARLES E. RAUGHT, editor and proprietor of the Kaukauna Times, has been identified with the printing business since he was fourteen years of age, during which period, however, he has never become separated from the office wherein he started. He was born at Neenah, Winnebago county, Wisconsin, March 15, 1867, a son of George M. and Jane (Slover) Raught, and is descended on the paternal side from early Pennsylvania Dutch ancestry, and maternally is of French lineage, his mother’s grandfather having been a general under Napoleon Bonaparte and who, after the decisive defeat of his worshipped leader at Waterloo in 1815, left France and sailed for America, becoming what was afterwards known as a “York Stater.” George M. Raught was born in the east and came to Wisconsin with his parents when a boy, his early days being spent on the farm. He was a soldier for the Union during the Civil War, having enlisted August 29, 1863, in the First Wisconsin Heavy Artillery, and received his honorable discharge from the service at Nashville, Tennessee, September 21, 1865. Returning home after the war he took up the trade of paper maker and was one of the pioneers in this line, having been employed in the first paper mill built in the Fox River Valley. During his boyhood Charles E. Raught attended the public schools and when yet in early youth worked in a stave factory from 6 in the morning until sundown for 37-1/2 cents per day, and when pay day came around he felt like a banker at that. In 1881, on the day that the remains of the martyred President Garfield were laid to rest, he became an apprentice in a Kaukauna printing office, his first pay being at the rate of $2.00 per week. With diligence he mastered the details of the “art preservative,” and at the end of the first year was placed in charge of the mechanical department of the plant. In 1885, owing to the fact that back wages were not forthcoming, he was offered and accepted an interest in the printing establishment to square accounts. In 1887 his partner departed this life and upon taking financial inventory of the place it was found that the assets of the plant would not quite offset the liabilities. Undaunted by the apparent loss, Mr. Raught set about to reorganize the concern, and having won the confidence of the patrons of the office and the men of means of the city, was successful in keeping the, paper and the plant running–no issue of the paper having ever been missed, a new firm known as C. E. Raught & Co. being organized with Col. H. A. Frambach, president of the First National Bank, lending his name and financial support as the company end of the concern. In a few years The Times establishment was placed on a safe and sure footing and Mr. Raught assumed the sole ownership and management, which he still continues. He is a republican in political belief and shortly after attaining his majority was elected alderman from his ward, serving as such for ten years, then following as mayor of Kaukauna for the subsequent six years. In 1898 he was appointed postmaster of South Kaukauna by President McKinley and was twice reappointed by President Roosevelt, serving in all three terms or twelve years in the postal service. In many ways Mr. Raught has been closely identified with the commercial, educational and social growth of Kaukauna and Outagamie county. He is a director in the First National Bank and in the Kaukauna Building and Loan Association, and is connected with all of the local organizations looking toward the growth of his city. He is a member of the Masonic, Knights of Pythias, Elks and Eagles fraternities, having served as master of the former lodge for seven years. In 1891, Mr. Raught was married to Miss Minnie Claspill, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James Claspill, and they have one daughter, Grace, born May 26, 1898.
WILLIAM WEYENBERG, who has carried on agricultural pursuits in Outagamie county, Wisconsin, for many years, is now the proprietor of an excellent dairy farm of 100 acres, located in Grand Chute township. He was born in what is now Vandenbroek township, Outagamie county, February 26, 1865, and is a son of Martin and Ellen (Hayden) Weyenberg, the former born in Holland, March 9, 1834, and the latter in New Hampshire in 1841. They were married at Big Suamico, Wisconsin, in 1853. Mr Weyenberg had come to America when he was fifteen years of age, and the family had located at Lapeer, later moving to Little Chute township, where members of the family were employed by the Green Bay and Mississippi Land Company, digging the canal. When about eighteen years of age Martin Weyenberg went to work as a filer in a sawmill at Big Suamico, and rose rapidly in this mill, finally becoming head sawyer. On coming to Little Chute township, he purchased a farm, and this he continued operating until his wife’s death, June 13, 1874, at which time, or shortly thereafter, he accepted the position of buyer of hub timber for Captain Clark, of the Peer. He continued this for some time, and then entered the employ of Peter Rider Hub & Spoke Company, at Kaukauna, and after the lumber was exhausted at that point he was transferred to Rice Lake for the same company. In the meantime he had become a stockholder in the company. When the lumber had given out here, he retired from business activities and went back to the old homestead, which was being operated by his son, and there he died November 28, 1908. He served as assessor of Kaukauna township for fifteen consecutive years, and was also chairman of the township board, and held a like position in Vandenbroek township. He and his wife were the parents of nine children, as follows: Mary, the wife of Melvin Rohrer, engaged in the laundry business at Evanston, Illinois; Elizabeth, wife of William Smith, in the mercantile business at San Diego, California; Susan, the wife of James Strong, janitor of the University buildings, Evanston, Illinois; Harriet Frances, the wife of Reinhart Moritz, in the laundry business at Evanston; William; Anna, deceased, who was the wife of Peter Peters, in the oil business in Milwaukee; Katie, wife of Peter Beelen, employed in the paper mill in Little Chute; Francis, deceased, at the age of two years; Ellen, who married Reeder Shurman, a blacksmith of Los Angeles, California.
William Weyenberg attended the pubic schools of Little Chute township, to which he went until ten years of age, when, his mother having died the year before, and his father having left the farm, he took charge of the home place, and continued to operate it until 1906, at which time he purchased the old homestead of Mrs. Weyenberg’s father, in Grand Chute township, and here he has continued to operate successfully ever since. He has 100 acres in a fine state of cultivation, and gives most of his attention to dairy farming, retailing his product in Appleton. He keeps on an average of twenty-five head of thoroughbred Holstein cows, which are pastured in excellent feeding fields. Mr. Weyenberg is a democrat, but he has never aspired to public office, his farming operations demanding all of his time and attention. He is a member of the Roman Catholic church at Little Chute, and holds membership in the Catholic Order of Foresters. On September 27, 1892, Mr. Weyenberg was married to Katie Joosten, born on the farm where she now resides, February 27, 1872, daughter of Joseph and Nellie (Van Laanen) Joosten, natives of Holland, the former born January 21, 1838, and the latter May 20, 1840. They were married at Bay Settlement, Brown county, Wisconsin, in 1861. After a number of years spent in agricultural pursuits in Brown and Outagamie counties, Mr. Joosten removed to Washington county, Oregon, in 1897, and there his death occurred, January 9, 1908. His widow survives him and makes her home there, at Forest City. They had a family of nine children: Elizabeth, deceased, who was the wife of Joseph Van Handel, a retired farmer of Grand Chute township; Frances, widow of Walter Bernards, residing in the state of Oregon; Anna, the wife of Anton Hermanns, an Oregon farmer; Mary, deceased, who was the wife of John Verhagen, a farmer of Grand Chute township; Jane, the wife of a Mr. Hermanns, of Oregon; Katie, who married Mr. Weyenberg; Martin, a farmer of Rudolph, Wood county, Wisconsin; Christina, who married Adrian Verhagen, of Chili, Clark county, a farmer; and Maggie, who married Walter Van Dyke, a farmer of Oregon. Mr. and Mrs. Weyenberg have had five children; James Martin, born July 23, 1894; Ellen Marie, July 21, 1896; Joseph, August 24, 1898; Albert, September 15, 1900; and Frank, August 12, 1902.
JOHN THOMAS MCCARTHY
JOHN THOMAS MCCARTHY, a representative of one of Outagamie county’s pioneer families, carrying on operations on a fine tract of farming land in Center township, was born on his father’s farm in this township, October 10, 1883, a son of Stephen and Margaret (Stoffel) McCarthy. Stephen McCarthy was born in Ireland in December, 1811, and when twenty-seven years of age came to New York. There he spent ten years in faithful work, and in addition to sending money home to his mother to help support the family, the father having died some years before, he accumulated enough to purchase a tract of wild land in Center township, Outagamie county, and came here with a team of oxen, a wagon and other crude necessities, to try and wring a livelihood from the soil. Building a log cabin, he settled down to clear and cultivate his property, and when he died, August 11, 1891, he was one of the wealthy and respected citizens of Center township. On November 2, 1862, Mr. McCarthy was married to Margaret Stoffel, who was born January 25, 1842, in Germany, daughter of Michael and Margaret Stoffel, early settlers of Grand Chute township, where Mr. Stoffel followed farming for a long period. Mrs. McCarthy still survives her husband, and is making her home with her son John T. She and Mr. McCarthy had ten children.
John Thomas McCarthy was eighteen years of age when his father died, and he at once took up the management of the home place, later purchasing the property from his mother. His education was secured in the neighborhood schools and the Sisters’ school at Mackville, but as he had to work hard during his youth he could not attend as much as he would have desired. He now carries on general farming and dairying, raising good crops and finding a ready and profitable market for his produce. On November 24, 1908, Mr. McCarthy was married to Louise Weiss, daughter of Irwin and Agnes (Ebert) Weiss of Ellington township. Mrs. McCarthy obtained her education in the schools in the neighborhood of her father’s farm in Ellington township. She and Mr. McCarthy have had one child, Lucile, who was born September 16, 1909. In politics Mr. McCarthy is a stanch democrat, and with his wife he attends St. Edwards’ Catholic Church at Mackville.
FREDERICK W. WUNDERLICH
FREDERICK W. WUNDERLICH, who is engaged in general farming on a tract of 116 acres of highly improved land in Greenville township, Outagamie county, was born in Ellington township, this county, February 20, 1862, and is a son of Christian and Dora (Berg) Wunderlich, natives of Germany. Christian Wunderlich was about thirteen years old when he accompanied his parents to this country, the family first locating near Milwaukee, where the grandfather of Frederick W. Wunderlich spent the remainder of his life, and where Christian Wunderlich grew to manhood. There were five brothers in the family, all of whom became wealthy landowners, Christian Wunderlich acquiring an excellent property in Ellington township, whence he had moved shortly after his marriage, and this he continued to operate until his retirement, when the farm was sold to his son. In 1903 Mr. and Mrs. Wunderlich removed to Appleton, in which city they have since resided. Frederick W. Wunderlich was the oldest of his parents’ family of eight children, and his boyhood was spent in the manner common to farmers’ sons of that .day, his education being secured in the district schools of his neighborhood during the winter months when he could be spared from the farm. He remained on the home farm until his marriage, September 8, 1891, to Miss Tillie Winter, who was born in Germany in 1870, and came with her parents to America about 1873. They were Martin and Gustie (Stelter) Winter, and located on a farm in Center township, where Mr. Winter died, the mother living with her children until her death in March, 1911. They were the parents of nine children, and of these Mrs. Wunderlich was the third in order of birth. After his marriage, Mr. Wunderlich purchased a farm in Lyon county, Minnesota, on which he resided during the summer months for about four years after marriage and then moved there for the entire year for a period covering eleven years, after which he sold out and returned to Outagamie county, living in Appleton for one year and spending a like period on a Greenville township farm, and then purchasing his present property of 116 acres, which he operates as a general farm. He is one of the progressive agriculturists of his section, and during threshing seasons operates a machine among the farmers of his vicinity. He and Mrs. Wunderlich have had a family of seven children: Edwin, Arthur, Willie, Zerlina, Ida, Helen and Irvin. The family is connected with the Lutheran Church, and in political matters he is independent, having served on the school board in his present district.
FREDERICK W. HUTH
FREDERICK W. HUTH, who is the proprietor of the Seymour Creamery, one of the large business enterprises of Seymour, Wisconsin, was born in Germany, September 28, 1875, and is the son of Helmuth and Wilhelmina (Rohda) Huth, who came from the Fatherland to the United States in 1884, settling first in Illinois, but soon removing to Troy, Wisconsin. Mr. and Mrs. Huth, who still survive and are living on a farm near Troy, have been the parents of the following children: Frederick W.; August, who is a resident of Troy Center; William, whose home is in Detroit, Michigan; Carl, who is employed by his brother Frederick W.; Rosa, who married Floyd Dunham of Eagle, Wisconsin; and Frank, who still makes his home with his parents. The first three named of these children were born in the old country and the others in the United States.
Frederick W. Huth secured his early educational training in the schools of his native country, and this was supplemented by attendance at school after coming to America. At the age of twenty years he went to work on his own account, entering the employ of the Troy Creamery, with which he was connected for ten years and nine months, and he then went to Elkhorn, Wisconsin, where for four years he worked for the Grove Creamery. In 1909 he decided to go into business for himself, and purchased the Seymour Creamery, which was then known as the Otto Sons Creamery, which had a last annual output of $97,000. Under Mr. Huth’s management, during 1910, the output of the creamery was 720,000 pounds of butter, or nearly three times the amount of the former output. Mr. Huth is sole proprietor of this large business, which is growing steadily and fast becoming one of the leading creameries of the State.
In 1895, Mr. Huth was married to Luella Swoboda, who is a native of Wisconsin, and they have had five children, namely: Forrest, Esther, Alvin, Gerald and Claud, of whom Gerald died when two years of age. Mr. Huth is interested in the growth and development of this section of the State and has always supported movements which have for their object advancement along industrial lines, but he has never allowed his name to be put forward in the way of public preferment, preferring to give. his time and attention to his large business interests.
THE C. F. SMITH LIVERY AND TRANSFER COMPANY
THE C. F. SMITH LIVERY AND TRANSFER COMPANY, at Appleton, Wisconsin, was incorporated in March, 1905, for $10,000, and was later increased to $20,000. Henry Reuter purchased the controlling stock in the corporation, and to his business ability in the management of the affairs the concern is largely indebted for its phenomenal growth and success. This company took over the business established by Mr. Smith some twenty years ago. In 1906 the present building was erected, and is, in all probability, the finest establishment of its kind in the State of Wisconsin. It is of brick construction, 48×125 feet, three stories and basement. The latter, in which the horses are kept, is one-third above ground. The first floor is devoted to the office, harness and cleaning rooms, and in front is a wide entrance for driving in and out of the building. The second floor is the vehicle repository, and the third floor is used for the storage of feed, carriages, etc. The building is equipped with ah electric elevator and is modern and up-to-date in all respects. In addition to conducting a general livery business the concern operates seven hacks, a funeral car, cab and coach, furnishes employment for ten men and keeps an average of twenty-eight horses in use. The company, is noted for its excellent stock, and as an evidence of this secured first premium for the best single driver at the Fox River Fair Association in 1911. The officers of the company are, C. F. Smith, president, and Henry Reuter, secretary and treasurer.
HENRY WEYENBERG, a progressive and enterprising young agriculturist of Grand Chute township, Outagamie county, whose farm of seventy acres is in a high state of cultivation, was born in what is now the township of Vandenbroek, Outagamie county, Wisconsin, in November, 1878, a son of John and Mary (Johnson) Weyenberg, natives of Holland. John Weyenberg was born in 1837, and came to the United States in boyhood. He came to Wisconsin in 1849, and as a young man was chef in one of the leading hotels in Menominee for several years, but later purchased a farm, which is now located in the town of Little Chute, and here he continued to reside during the remaining years of his life, his death occurring in 1906. Mrs. Weyenberg survives him and makes her residence in Little Chute. They had a family of four children: Steenie, wife of Nicholas Hietpas, who operates the land adjoining that of Mr. Weyenberg; Jacob and William, farmers of Chippewa county; and Henry. Henry Weyenberg attended the schools in the village of Little Chute and lived at home until he was twenty-six years old, although at various times he worked out on farms of the surrounding vicinity. He then rented a farm from his father, which he operated until buying his present property, and here he has continued to operate in a general way, also raising some stock. His farm is excellently equipped, and his operations have been conducted along scientific lines, the latest machinery being used.
On June 9, 1903, Mr. Weyenberg was united in marriage with Katie Joosten, who was born in Vandenbroek township, February 24, 1882, daughter of Martin and Mary (Verhagen) Joosten, the former born January 27, 1832, and the latter January 26, 1842, both in Holland. They came to Outagamie county during the early fifties and engaged in farming, and both are now living retired in the village of Little Chute. They had six children: Francis, deceased; Mary, the wife of Henru Hietpas, a farmer of Little Chute township; Simeon, a farmer of Wood county; Martin of Grand Chute township; Katie, wife of Mr. Weyenberg; and John, living on the old homestead. Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Weyenberg; Johnnie, born May 21, 1904; Marie, born March 17, 1908; and Martin, born September 30, 1909. Mr. and Mrs. Weyenberg are members of the Catholic Church, and he is connected with the Catholic Order of Foresters. He is a democrat in his political convictions.
AUGUST JACOBS, farmer and stockraiser of Greenville township, Outagamie county, the product from whose excellently developed eighty acres denotes the fact that he is a skilled agriculturist, was born in Germany, September 20, 1856, and is a son of Fred and Sophia (Pulls) Jacobs, natives of Prussia, who came to America in 1865. On first coming to this country the family located on a farm in Grand Chute township, one-half mile east of the present home of August Jacobs, but after five years there moved to Greenville township, locating on a forty-acre farm, where Fred Jacobs died in 1901, his wife having passed away five years previous to that time. They were the parents of seven children, of whom five are still living, as follows: Sophia, the wife of John Huffman, residing on Spencer Road, Grand Chute township; Fred, who conducts the Poor Farm in Grand Chute township; August; John, engaged in teaming in Appleton; and Mary, the wife of Gerhart Lippin, a cement worker of Appleton. August Jacobs received a rather limited education in the schools of his native country, and at the age of eleven years began working for other people, although he always gave his earnings to his parents until he was twenty-six years of age. He was at that time married and began working at the masons trade, but two years later rented his present farm, and during the year following purchased it. He has given all of his attention to his farm work, allowing no other interests to interfere with the successful operation of his land, and he has made many improvements to the property, having a large, well-built barn, a handsome residence and substantial outbuildings. He is a member of the Lutheran Church and a republican in political matters. In July, 1885, Mr. Jacobs was married to Mary Buchholz, who was born in Prussia, November 25, 1869, daughter of Joseph and Dora (Kope) Buchholz, who came to America in 1872 and rented a farm in Greenville township for three years, later renting a farm in Grand Chute township for three years, and finally purchasing the property on which Mr. Jacobs now lives. They were the parents of two children: Lena, the wife of Henry Dunkard, a retired farmer of Neenah, Wisconsin; and Mrs. Jacobs. The latter died January 13, 1911, having been the mother of four children, all of whom live with their father: Lena, Herman, Ferdinand and Edward.
NICHOLAS HIETPAS, whose seventy-four acres of valuable farming land lie one and one-half miles from the city limits of Appleton, and a like distance from the village of Little Chute, in Grand Chute township, was born in what is now Vandenbroek township, Outagamie county, Wisconsin, April 15, 1874, a son of Albert and Harriet (Williams) Hietpas, natives of Holland, the former born in Galden, August 28, 1838, and the latter in Geinert, July 30, 1841. Albert Hietpas came to the United States with his parents in 1850, and immediately located in Outagamie county, where the grandfather became a landowner in Vandenbroek, then Kaukauna township, as did also Albert Hietpas, who spent the remainder of his life in agricultural pursuits there and died November 26, 1907, his widow surviving him until December 12th of that year. Albert Hietpas served seven months as a member of Company G, Thirty-eighth Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and although he never was wounded, he suffered a breakdown in health from which he never fully recovered. He and his wife had a family of twelve children: John, a fireman in the paper mills at Little Chute; Henry, a farmer of Little Chute township; Anton, an agriculturist of Vandenbroek township; Peter and Barney, twins, the former deceased, and the latter a millwright in the village of Little Chute; Nicholas; Frank, who is deceased; Dinah, the wife of Lawrence Sall, a resident of Little Chute, employed in the paper mills; Joseph, who is deceased; Mary, the wife of Anton Vervort, a Vandenbroek township farmer; Joseph, employed in the paper mills at Little Chute; and Albert, who is deceased.
Nicholas Hietpas received his education in district school No. 8, Kaukauna township, and as a young man started to work in the Kimberley mills, although he made his home with his father. When he had reached the age of twenty-eight years he had accumulated enough to purchase seventy-eight acres in Grand Chute township, later adding twenty-six acres, but he subsequently sold a tract of thirty acres, and now has seventy-four acres under cultivation, which he devotes to general farming. His land is well equipped with solid, substantial and modern buildings, and his property is well cultivated and very productive. Mr. Hietpas was married June 28, 1898, to Christena Weyenberg, who was born June 14, 1872, in Little Chute, daughter of John and Mary (Johnson) Weyenberg, natives of Holland, the former born in Braband, in 1837, and the latter in Gelderland in 1847. Mr. and Mrs. Hietpas have had four children: Dora, born June 19, 1899; John, born May 28, 1902; Jacob, born May 16, 1908; and Albert, born September 23, 1909. Mr. Hietpas is a member of St. John’s Catholic Church at Little Chute, and is connected with the Catholic Order of Foresters. He is a democrat.
GUST ASSMAN, who has a reputation as a judge of good horses that is second to none in the township of Grand Chute, has been a resident of this locality for many years, and has been prominently identified with public matters. Mr. Assman was born January 13, 1858, in West Prussia, Germany, and is a son of August and Mary (Schlurskie) Assman, the former born July 20, 1821, and the latter born May 5, 1822, both in Prussia.. They came to America in 1867, locating first at Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where Mr. Assman worked at the blacksmith trade, and later followed that occupation at West Granville, Wauwatosa and Appleton, in which latter city he located in 1874, and from which he eventually removed to Chicago, where he lived retired until his death, January 11, 1908. Mrs. Assman died May 4, 1905. They were the parents of eight children: Caroline, the wife of August Klein of Chicago; Johanah, wife of Christ Schiburskie of Milwaukee; Gust; Robert, a horseshoer of Appleton; Bertha, wife of Samuel Hoh, an employe of the Coated Paper Company of Appleton, and three who are deceased. Gust Assman attended the public schools of his native country, and later went to school in Granville, Wisconsin, and in his youth learned the trade of blacksmith with his father, with whom he worked, in addition to looking after the farm which he owned in Grand Chute township. Later he gave up blacksmithing to give his entire attention to the farm, but after two years sold out and purchased another property adjoining the city limits of Appleton. He carried on operations there for fourteen years, and located on his present eight-acre property which he had purchased two years previously. Since that time Mr. Assman has devoted most of his time to buying and selling horses. He is considered one of the best judges of horseflesh in the township, if not in the county, and he has also done much in the line of breaking colts. Mr. Assman is a director of the Farmers’ Home Insurance Company of Hortonville. In political matters he is independent, and is at present township supervisor, serving on the board with Assemblyman Ballard, in whose absence he acts as chairman. His religious connection is with St. Paul’s Roman Catholic Church.
On April 25, 1881, Mr. Assman was united in marriage with Katie Goebel, who was born in Michigan, November 11, 1857, daughter of Conrad and Katharine (Lochman) Goebel, natives of Hesse Darmstadt, Germany. They were married in Canada and for a time lived in North Tonawanda, later removing to Michigan, from whence they came to Outagamie county about 1860. Mr. Goebel was engaged in farming and speculating in Calumet county for a time, and about 1881 went to Minnesota, where he became an extensive real estate dealer, dying in Austin, October 30, 1909, his wife having passed away May 2nd of that year. They had four children: Mary, who is deceased; Katie, who married Mr. Assman; Edward, a resident of Austin, Minnesota; and Henry, who lives in the West. One child was born to Mr. and Mrs. Assman: Emma, born May 12 1872, who died aged about six months.
THOMAS B. REID
THOMAS B. REID, was born in Nunda, Livingston county, New York, December 15, 1844. He commenced the printing business when sixteen years old: He worked his way through the common schools and academy. In the spring of 1864 he came west and secured a position of reporter on the Dubuque Times. He made something of a record in writing up, for the press generally, a series of joint debates between distinguished orators in the last presidential campaign of Abraham Lincoln. Those literary efforts would be considered as lurid exploitations of a crude but fertile imagery. That they were given space is evidence that western pioneer journalism depended more on the javelins of withering invectives than rhythmic criticisms, to give tone to its columns. Mr. Reid moved to Wisconsin in 1865 and founded, with his brother, the Oconomowoc Badger. In the fall of 1867 he sold the Oconomowoc paper and purchased a half interest in the Waukesha Freeman. On March 10, 1869, he married Augusta Ray, daughter of the late Adam E. Ray of Waukesha. Mrs. Reid died February 10, 1886. One child was born to Mr. and Mrs. Reid, namely, Estelle Ray Reid. Mr. Reid remained as the editor of the Waukesha Freeman for nearly three years, when he aspired to a broader field of usefulness. He then disposed of his interest in the Freeman, formed a partnership with Col. J. A. Watrous, purchased the Weekly Conmmonwealth at Fond du Lac, then the second city of the state. The following year they established the Daily Commonwealth. This paper was recognized as one of force and character and influence in civic as well as in political campaigns. Mr. Reid remained with the Commonwealth until Fond du Lac commenced to deteriorate as a manufacturing and commercial center. He then disposed of his interests in the paper and moved to Menasha and Neenah, where he established the Press in the former city. This locality was rapidly becoming a railroad center. In manufacturing it had already acquired prominence. The consolidation of the two municipalities seemed all that was necessary to crowd the combination into metropolitan proportions. This proposition Mr. Reid vigorously advocated through the columns of the Press. His policy developed only riotous feeling in both towns, culminating in a perpetual fight that continued during the years of his labor in that field. Few feasts and many famines were the awards of his thankless toil. In 1875 Mr. Reid was elected assistant chief clerk in the Senate. In 1876 and 1877 he was elected sergeant-at-arms of the Assembly. In 1877 he was appointed Consul to Portugal. He returned home in 1881, entered the firm of the Post Publishing Company and, with his brother, became active in its business and editorial departments. Much of the prestige and influence which this paper admittedly wielded in state politics for the last quarter of a century was largely due to his ability and versatility as an editorial writer. In an argument with his opponent-political or otherwiseno one understood better than he the Daniel O’Connell art of sesquipedalian thunder.
In 1898 Thomas B. Reid was appointed by President McKinley as United States Marshal for the Eastern District of Wisconsin. This position he held for nine years. In fulfilling the duties of this difficult office he made for himself an enviable record. He showed himself a thoroughly efficient officer, upholding all the rights of the Federal Government; yet in attainment of these rights, he never lost sight of the element of clemency which never appears more enviable than in the administration of justice.
In a social way Mr. Reid is much sought for among his many friends, as his well known gift of anecdote and his inexhaustible fund of Irish wit and humor are sure to constitute the life and mirth of the festal gathering. While retired from the more active walks of life, he still maintains a keen interest in all the civic and political activities of the community and the state at large. He lives with his accomplished daughter in their beautiful home on the bank of the Fox river in the city of Appleton.
BERNHART DRINKS, who is devoting his energies to the cultivation of a well-improved farm of 120 acres in Greenville township, Outagamie county, was born September 9, 1845, in Saxony, Germany, and is a son of Fred and Anna (……… ) Drinks, both of whom were born in the Fatherland in 1813. After serving some time in the German army, and later engaging in agricultural pursuits, Fred Drinks brought his family to the United States in 1847, first locating at Granville, Milwaukee county, on a twenty-five-acre farm, and in 1862 removing to Outagamie county and purchasing the present farm of Bernhart Drinks. Here they resided during the balance of their lives, Mr. Drinks passing away in 1877, and his widow surviving until 1891. Of their five children, Bernhart is the only survivor. He received his education at Granville, where he attended school but one year, his services being needed on the home farm. He accompanied the family to Greenville township in 1862, and in 1864, when nineteen years of age, he enlisted in Company A, Fiftieth Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, for service during the Civil War, under Captain John C. Spooner. He served creditably for seven months, during which time he was not wounded, nor did he have any hospital service, and on his return home took charge of the farm, on which he has continued to live to the present time. His whole time and attention have been given to operating this property, and with the aid of his sons is now raising large crops. In June, 1868, Mr. Drinks was married to Katharine Strobie, who was born at Germantown, Washington county, Wisconsin, May 10, 1845, daughter of Gunder and Elizabeth (Wild) Strobie, the former born in 1800 and the latter in 1804, in Germany. They came to America in 1841, first settling on a farm in Washington county, Wisconsin, where they resided until 1868, at which time they purchased a farm in Grand Chute township. Mr. Strobie died four years later, and his widow passed away in 1878. Of their twelve children, three are now living: Louise, the widow of Edward Lite, a resident of Appleton; Joseph, who is retired and lives on the island; and Mrs. Drinks. Mr. and Mrs. Drinks had eleven children: Nelson, born June 24, 1869, a mason by trade, who is single and lives with his parents; Frank, born December 20, 1870, a blacksmith of the village of Center; Josephine, born August 7, 1873, who died in 1895; Jessie, born February 3, 1874, died September 12, 1910; Clara, born September 7, 1877; Charles, born November 14, 1875; Emma, born January 18, 1881, who died in February, 1900; Hattie, born January 18, 1883, who died September 29, 1909; Louise, born March 23, 1884, residing at home; Pauline, born February 23, 1886, the wife of James Berg a resident of Grand Chute; and Minnie, born September 15, 1888, residing at home.
CHARLES W. SCHULTZ
CHARLES W. SCHULTZ, who has been engaged in agricultural pursuits in Greenville township for the past quarter of a century, is now the owner of a thoroughly-equipped and well cultivated property. He is a native of Germany, born in Mecklenberg, March 15, 1851, a son of Frederick and Elizabeth (Schultz) Schultz, the former born November 22, 1815, and the latter March 15, 1818. They came to the United States in 1866, on January 11th of which year they arrived at Appleton, Wisconsin, where Mr. Schultz went to work for others in clearing land and at other occupations during the following two years. He then bought a farm in Greenville township, on which the family resided six years, at which time Mr. Schultz sold out to his son and bought the farm which Charles W. is now operating. Here the remainder of his life was spent, his death occurring here May 27, 1897, while his widow survived him until January 31, 1904. They were the parents of three children: Mary, the widow of Fred Hendricks, residing at No. 1107 Ryan street, Appleton; John, who is deceased; and Charles W. Charles W. Schultz attended school in Germany, and in 1872 was married to Lena Papka, a native of Prussia, born October 31, 1852, daughter of Frederick and Sophia (Rhoda) Papka, the former born August 31, 1819, and the latter July 20, 1820. They came to the United States in 1867, locating at Buffalo, New York, where Mr. Papka worked for others, and where both died, the mother in 1878, and the father September 18, 1909. They were the parents of four children; Mrs. Schultz; Minnie, the wife of Fred Lempke, of Bernwood, Wisconsin; Augusta, wife of Johann Wray, of Buffalo, New York; and Hannah, the wife of John Kraus, also a resident of the Bison City. Until he was twenty years old, Charles W. Schultz remained at home with his parents, and at that time he became a sailor on the Great Lakes. He was thus employed for two years, at which time he was married, and during the next seven years he was engaged in the coal yards of Buffalo. He then came to Wisconsin and operated his present farm for his father until 1888, when he purchased it, and now has 160 acres of fine farming land, on which are all modern improvements. Mr. and Mrs. Schultz have had six children: Minnie, the wife of Herman Brandt, a resident of Ellington township; Albert and Herman, residing at home; Emma, the wife of John Wolfgrahm, of North Dakota; Awalt, who lives in that state, and William, who lives on the home farm. Mr. Schultz and his family are members of the Lutheran church. He is independent in his political views, and has served five years as road commissioner and as constable six years.
REV. FRANCIS XAVIER STEINBRECHER
REV. FRANCIS XAVIER STEINBRECHER, pastor of St. Mary’s Roman Catholic church, is descended on his mother’s side from pioneer Wisconsin people. He was born at Cooperstown, Manitowoc county, Wisconsin, June 3, 1865, a son of Charles and Mathilda (Kirscher) Steinbrecher, who were natives of Germany and Wisconsin, respectively. The mother’s family located in Manitowoc county at the early period of 1847 and became prominent in that locality. Charles Steinbrecher settled there in 1860. He was a teacher, farmer and owner of a saw-mill, and was a man of wide experience and practical knowledge. As a boy Father Steinbrecher attended the public schools until the age of fourteen years, and from 1880 to 1884 was a student at St. Francis Seminary. He then attended the University of Salzburg, Austria, two years, and completed his schooling at the University of Innsbruck, Tyrol, from which he was graduated in 1888. Since 1888, with the exception of three years spent as secretary to Bishops Katzer and Messmer, at Green Bay, Father Steinbrecher has been a parish priest. In January, 1897 he was appointed pastor of St. Mary’s Roman Catholic church, at Kaukauna, which charge he has since held.
ARNOLD GLOUDEMANS, who has conducted a dairy farm in Grand Chute township for a number of years, is a son of Adrian and Hannah (Van Roy) Gloudemans, and was born in Little Chute, Wisconsin, December 6, 1864. Mr. Gloudemans’ father was born May 12, 1822, and his mother January 12, 1835, both in Holland, and they came to America in 1854, Mr. Gloudemans’ first employment being at the old Park Hotel at ——————, where he continued for one year. He spent a like period as a wheat buyer for a grain man, and then located on a farm two miles north of Little Chute, which he cleared from the wilderness, put in a state of cultivation and continued to farm for twenty years, at the end of which time he sold it to his oldest son, and moved to the village of Little Chute. He is still making his home there and is in the best of health despite his advanced years. His wife died October 20, 1910. They were the parents of ten children: John, in the shoe and hardware business in the village of Little Chute; Harriet, who died in 1904; Martin, who died in 1887, two years after his marriage; Arnold; Peter, who died in childhood; Peter (2), Anton and Dinah, triplets, the first a merchant of Little Chute, the second died at the age of three months, and Dinah the wife of Arnold Vendloape, a farner on Vandenbroek township; Mary, the wife of George Guerts, a farmer of Kaukauna township; and Henry, a merchant of Chilton, Calumet county.
Arnold Gloudemans attended school in Little Chute township, and until he was twenty-three years of age divided his time between the home farm and working in the woods. He then began to work for other farmers in the neighborhood of the homestead, and continued to do so until his marriage, when he engaged in the retail liquor business in Little Chute. One and one-half years later he gave up this business and for one year worked on the farm of his wife’s mother and succeeding which he was a coachman in Appleton for four years, when he bought the farm on which he now resides. He has eighty acres of land, most of which he devotes to dairy farming, having a fine herd of cattle, principally Holsteins, and he sells his product to a nearby cheese factory. He was married February 19, 1889, to Mary Hurkman, born in Little Chute township, November 23, 1867, daughter of Arnold and Henrietta (Bersen) Hurkman, natives of Holland, the father born May 5, 1828, and the mother March 15, 1836. They came to America in about 1852 and located in Appleton, where Mr. Hurkman worked for others one year and then purchased a farm in Kaukauna township, on which he lived for about five years. After renting this farm out, he bought another place in Little Chute township, where he continued to live for about twenty years, at which time he removed to another property in the same township, on which his death occurred in about 1886. His widow survived him a number of years, passing away December 27, 1910. They had a family of six children: Anna, the wife of Grego Deering, a resident of Kaukauna township; Mrs. Gloudemans; Nellie, who married Albert Vandenberg, a millwright of Little Chute; and John, Henry and Bennie, who are residing on the old homestead, engaged in farming and dairying.
Mr. and Mrs. Gloudemans have had eight children: Anna, born December 28, 1889; Ben, March 30, 1892; Celia, March 24, 1894; Martha, September 11, 1896; Frank, November 23, 1900; Theresa, January 7, 1903; Loretta, November 25, 1906; and Irene, April 10, 1909. Mr. and Mrs. Gloudemans are members of the Roman Catholic church at Little Chute. In political matters Mr. Gloudemans is a democrat, but he has been too busy with his farming activities to engage in public affairs to any extent.